Westville, IN 
Purdue North Central Share
Uploaded By: Jukeshoe   (Taken 8/2011)
Practice Basket #1

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Solid course!

5+    9/18/2015   11/19/2015
Review By: comeonbro73
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
Pros: It's a great first course. It's open enough so that you're not losing discs left and right, but technical enough that you're not going to shoot under par if you don't know what you're doing. It's free, well up kept, and has a really nice mixture of holes that do different things. The par is really realistic which I appreciate. There are birdies to be had, but a bogey free round is an accomplishment.
Cons: It's not especially creative. If you can throw a straight shot and a hyzer around 300' without problems, you'll be just fine here. I think this could a great course if they tweaked a few holes. I don't really know if this is a con, but it is really spread out, so you'll do quite a bit of walking. Other than that, the only complaint I have is that it can be hard to find the beginning of the back nine if you don't know where to look. It's two nine hole loops.
Other Thoughts: Solid! Not too much to complain about here. It is a nice course with a good set of tee signs and baskets. They do a really good job making it look nice. I don't see any tournaments happening here due to the basic layout of the course, but it makes for an enjoyable afternoon.

Looks nice, plays nice.

5+    5/22/2015   6/23/2015
Review By: Tony Koch
Played: 26  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.6 Years
Pros: -Free to play.
-Buckets are in good shape.
-Very pretty campus/area for a relatively small school.
-Lots of variation in terms of hole distances. There are short technical throws and a few "let er rip" holes.
-Hole 17 is fun. There are two tees and the furthest one is well over 700 feet, a straight bomb! Crazy side note-my friend once got a three playing the long tee on 17!
-Nice signage
-Easy to navigate for the most part.
-Hilly course which for me I enjoy because it adds extra variation.
-Concrete tees are still in good shape.
-A few tees have benches nearby to chill or set your bag on.
Cons: -Hole one can be difficult to find if you are playing here for a first time. After circling around the parking lot, walk up the hill by a piece of artwork and there will be a bench and the tee for hole one.
-Although they make the course look nice, the pine trees on certain holes, especially 2 and 8, are troublesome. If you shank a disc in one you will be searching for awhile most likely and get scraped up big time. My suggestion for a first timer-throw an orange or pink disc that is easy to find and don't try a "hero throw!"
-A few holes have some tall brush. I've lost a disc in there before after searching for a long time. Be careful. Tight fairways!
-The walk to the back 9 after hole 9 is sort of far.
Other Thoughts: -Overall this is a very well manicured course and has nice variation to it. I wouldn't say it is horribly challenging if you have been discing for awhile, but it isn't easy. A good place to have fun, enjoy the view, and work on your short AND long game.

Great Underrated Intermediate Course

2-4    10/17/2014   1/4/2015
Review By: ajbova
Played: 94  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an excellent Intermediate level course that will challenge all beginner and intermediate level players. Advanced players can fine tune their skills here, especially on the shorter, technical holes.

Baskets - 20 total highly visible Spiderweb 3 baskets at this course. Baskets are silver with the basket portion and the number sign at the top being painted yellow. 18 holes + 2 practice baskets. One practice basket can be a practice hole if played backwards from the long tee on hole 17.

Tees - Each hole has 1 large and grippy concrete tee. Hole 17 has two tees to help shorten the distance.

Signs - The signs at this course are fantastic. There is a billboard with course map at the start and also includes some info on disc golf. There is one sign at each tee that includes hole number, distance, par, and a map of the hole.

Variety - The holes here are either short and technical, medium length with narrow fairways bordered by trees and tall vegetation, or long and mostly open. 9 holes under 300. 6 holes between 300-400. 3 holes over 400 feet. There are enough younger trees (some pines) to change lines of holes and will require accurate throws. They can make or break your day. All holes have some sort of elevation change.

Elevation - Elevation plays a major factor at this course. There are multiple blind shots at the course due to elevation. The front 9 has more elevation changes than the back 9 but nothing is too extreme.

2 separate 9 hole loops. The two loops are both distinct in their own way.

Risky player have plenty of chances at an ace but would require accuracy.

Blind shots due to trees or elevation are a plus.

Easy to navigate holes 1-9 and 10-18. Can be an issue connecting the two loops if new to course.

Trash cans throughout the course help to keep it clean.

Enough benches to take a break every few holes.

Course is very clean and scenic, especially during fall when leaves change color.

Course is easy to get to from any direction. Immediately off of 421.

Trees will play more of a factor when they age.

Great compliment to nearby Lituanica Park. Both courses can be challenging in their own unique way. It is a very enjoyable course that is not too difficult yet provides enough challenge to make it worth stopping by. There is enough room to expand this course too!
Cons: With exception of hole 17, there is only 1 tee per hole. An additional tee per hole would completely change this course. A majority of holes could use a longer tee while the rest could use a different line.

Only one pin position per hole. Adding an additional pin location would enhance playability and increase difficulty. It would keep things fresh and could even add more blind shots.

Course needs to relocate one or both practice baskets near the start of the course. They are currently near the back 9.

Course could use a few more signs, or even an extra hole to connect holes 9 to 10. New players to the course may get confused.

Hard to park (for first timers). Go to the second lot on the right (the one past the baseball fields for hole 1). I have parked in the first lot and played entire course starting at hole 6 before. It worked but wasn't how course was intended to be played.
Other Thoughts: I love this course and have played it a few times. I have a lakehouse in Warsaw and play this course whenever I go to Michigan City to shop with my girlfriend (she enjoys the course too). I have played the front 9 four times but have only played the entire course twice. Being from Indy, the front 9 is more appealing to me due to the elevation changes than the back 9.

I would recommend this course to any beginner or intermediate level player in the area or passing through. It's not too far off of the highway. There are enough nearby courses to make a multiple course trip.

Alternate tees, pins, and some more trees could take this course to a 4 out of 5 in my opinion. Other than that, I do not have any complaints. Have never been disappointed here.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    7/13/2014   7/18/2014
Review By: Gizmotronx
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.7 Years
Pros: The pictures and other reviews give the impression of lack of variety, but I was pleasantly surprised by the holes. The lines were very thoughtfully designed around the immaculately kept trees. Lengths were good, and there is just enough threat of rough, without a real possibility of losing a disc.
Cons: No real good starting/ending place in the way of a club house, etc.
It was also not clear where to park, and where 1 was from the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing here. At about 1.5 hours away, I might consider making the trip just to play again.

 Not as easy as it looks

5+    8/18/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: halfbidfor5
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is on a college campus and is kept in tip top shape. It is beautiful out there!

Course is pretty wide open and allows you to really air out your shots and work your discs.

Very little traffic at all. For being such a nice course it has very little traffic. Mostly due to it being in the middle of nowhere for the most part. I enjoy playing here the most because it is so quiet and so nice. Great course to work on your game. Throw multiple discs. Rarely is there anyone else to worry about.
Cons: Holes 10-13 are pretty much the same shot going down and coming back all shy of 300 feet. People see these as the birdie holes and the thing that people who play the course regularly mention as the downside of the course BUT keep in mind not as easy as you think.
Other Thoughts: The real challenge in this course is not the layout but rather weather factors couple with challenging baskets. It is a prairie style course with lots of wide open shots and the wind out in westville is ALWAYS a factor and really adds to the difficulty to the course. When you couple the usually breezy/windy conditions with the baskets that have very heavy chains and HEAVY iron baskets the pars that should have been birds and the bogeys that should have been pars add up very quickly and will leave you saying wtf?

I consider this my home course as I play it the most and play leagues weekly there. If you have not played the course I highly recommend you do. It was designed well and with the exception of a few shots on the back 9 that are a bit redundant the handful of signature holes on this course more than make up for it. Also great mix of distances bring your destroyers, teebirds, and rocs!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging, but not hard. Nice course!

2-4    10/11/2012   10/11/2012
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 48  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Baskets in great shape.
- Interesting use of existing landscape. Especially the green (as one example) for #5. Very fast green and does not lend itself to a typical RHBH hyzer as it falls to the left.
- Beautiful concrete teepads with just the right rough finish. These pads were definitely put in by professionals.
Cons: - Signage is a little lacking in spots. The jaunt from 9 to 10 is a little mystifying even looking at the map posted near hole one. Some "next tee" signs would be helpful.
- Some holes are just filler with little or no challenge. #3 comes to mind. #17 is sort of in this category but what it lacks in interesting makes up for in length. It may only be 400' but plays like it's 600 or 700 with it going up hill.
- Prairie grass on hole #11 is just evil just opposite the roadway. Grip-lock into that mess and kiss your disc buh-bye. You will never ever find it. Don't ask me how I know.
- There is a sculpture that appears to have been recently placed in the #5 fairway. Not a big deal but it is in the way and will do some serious damage to errant throws.
Other Thoughts: My "cons" are a little picky admittedly. This is great course that I see myself playing over and over in spite of loosing my beloved Obex on #11. It is mowed and landscaped with interesting sculptures to look at all around. I can't believe there aren't more people playing here. While many of the holes are duece-able and certainly some ace potential it is just hard enough to give experienced players some fun and not overly frustrate the newbs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 rather boring golf

1    9/19/2012   9/19/2012
Review By: discNDav
Played: 328  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 29.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Most of the pro's are regarding the manicured grounds which are very well taken care. Trees have been planted in a field or prairie which frames a lot of the fairways.

The homemade baskets caught very well. It's hard to explain but the 2 sets of chains split into 3 rings near the their bottom. They were easy to spot with yellow painted bottoms and most have a yellow number plate on top.

Very nice tee signs with small trash cans at each one.

Set on a college campus, I've always liked this.

Slight to moderate elevation changes which provides more of a challenge.

Within 2 minutes of the highway, I-80.
Cons: I found the golf itself rather boring, almost every tee shot was the same. 17 of the 18 holes are easy threes for a non-beginner golfer.

Prairie golf can be repetitious, 10 and 11 were the exactly the same and wind can be a huge factor here.

A few next tee signs are needed between basket 9 and tee 10.
Other Thoughts: It's easier to use the 2nd entrance to the campus and park in the first lot on the right.

Seems odd that there are several signs indicating no drinking or smoking at the tee sign post yet a bench is provided only at these tees.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful landscaping and fun to play

1    7/13/2012   7/15/2012
Review By: crandellfamily
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros:

Although my son and I aren't beginners, we liked this course a lot as a beginner-friendly opportunity, with a bit more length to at least some of the holes. Grounds are beautifully maintained. Excellent use of the few trees on the course. Easy navigation from one hole to the next, as long as you notice that the front and back nine are on opposite sites of the Veterinary Center. Very clear tee signs.

Most of the trees appear planted and landscaped. It's a very different look from the typical natural disc golf park setting. I appreciate the overall view as an aesthetic change of pace.

Almost every hole offers an easy open landing area, but obstacles still exist for an errant throw, or anyone who tends to fall back on their most reliable shot at the expense of a safer route.

Favorite holes:

#1 a wide funnel, down and then back up from the tee. It sets the tone for the course very well. The overall look is green and open, but a few trees on either side of the fairway are enough to punish any shot that drifts.

#5 a low hedge line protects the basket to the left of the natural path for your drive. A gradual slope is enough to threaten a roll-off further left, if you're unlucky in playing a hyzer directly to the basket.

#8 slightly longer hole, the only danger is in a single line of trees that curl along the left side of the fairway. Basket is well placed on a gradual downslope.

#10 very short, but slightly uphill. Easy birdie for a lot of players, but the line of trees to the left and relatively tight OOB right will punish anyone who can't control a right-hand hyzer.

#15 good setup along the woods, with a late curl to the right.More scattered trees around the basket to bother your putt.

#18 slightly longer open downhill for a big drive. Basket is set near the top of a steep downslope. It's pretty easy to lose control of your putt and watch it roll away.
Cons: Not a huge challenge even for moderate players. But that's OK by me. Some of the holes are absolutely open. Just throw it close and you can claim your birdie.

Not sure why the designers didn't cut into the woods that border the back nine for a few holes. It looks like campus property. That would add a lot of variety to the course design, but it could also be a ton of work to clear it out and keep it clear.
Other Thoughts: Remember the sunscreen in summer. There's almost no escape from the sun, and the walks are long enough to make this a solid hour and a half in the open, depending on your pace of play.

There is one 700ft long bomb hole. It's entirely open - not my favorite design concept - but it adds variety and a bit of a challenge to the scorecard at least.

The Vet Center is at the south end of campus. As you arrive, the front nine is closer, with a large bulletin board, behind the Center. The back nine starts on the other side of the road, a bit of a walk from the parking lot.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Clean with great potential

2-4    7/4/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: ertai
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautiful scenery and a clean course
- Parking next to 1st tee
- Trashcans at most of the tees
- Some tees have benches, some don't (not really a pro or a con)
- Nice tee pads and signs
- Nice, colorful baskets
- A map is available at the first tee
- The course has a nice flow besides for the long walk between 9 and 10, with the front 9 looping back to the parking lot
- Good variety of lines (RHBH hyzer, straight, roller, sidearm)
- Decent mix of short and tight, long and open holes
- Good use of elevation (some hills to throw up and down)
- No overly punishing rough
- The poison ivy along the back 9 has been sprayed and is dead or dying
Cons: - No water, vending machines or restrooms
- The rough mostly only consists of tall, thick pines and some long grass - not punishing enough for an errant shot
- The bottom couple feet of the pine trees could be trimmed some
- I would like to see more left-to-right, tight fairways
- I would also like to see more use of trees to define tighter fairways with a few less straight, open shots
- There is a long walk between 9 and 10
- Some repetitiveness on 10 and 11, and 13 and 14
- Potential safety issue at 6 where a sawed-off shot could go into the baseball diamond or towards the bleachers; and, also between 5 fairway and 6 tee
Other Thoughts: While PNC doesn't have the luster that Rodger's Lakewood or Lemon Lake has, this course does have great potential to be a great course. If you're just traveling through and short on time, I would recommend one of the other two courses mentioned above. However, if you have more time I would recommend playing here. This course is more geared to beginners and intermediate players, with advanced/pro players not having much of a challenge. I would consider ranking this course as a 4-4.5 if the following were added: 1) more risk/reward opportunities, 2) added use of trees/ob to define lines, 3) less repetitive holes (mostly along the back 9) and 4) amenities (e.g., water, vending machines). Favorite hole: tie between 1 and 5 because of the tightness of 1's fairway and scenery of 5's fairway. Least favorite hole: tie between 2 and 6 because they're just straight and short.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very Nice Course!

5+    6/19/2012   6/30/2012
Review By: Water_Wind_Spirit
Played: 31  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/27/2014
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course, fun to play! I look forward to playing this course from time to time.
Cons: Would like to see the bottom of the pine trees trimmed up. Spend a lot of time looking for discs in the pine trees.
Other Thoughts: Would like to see more benches to sit down at.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.