Westville, IN 
Purdue North Central Share
Uploaded By: Jukeshoe Hole #4 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 415ft.   3 / 415ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Beginner Friendly

5+    6/3/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: cmchavis
Played: 25  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 33.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: PNC installed this course in 2011. The one of the designers was Allen Pier who runs Pieradise in Peru, IN. The course makes use of elevation changes and tree lined fairways for a lot of the holes and wide open field for the remainder.

The layout of the course is nice and flows well, except as other reviewers pointed out the 9 to 10 transition.

The concrete tees are nice and clean with great signage at each tee pad. The course is very well groomed and maintained very well. There are trash cans at most holes.

Being a college campus - they put up no alcohol or tobacco signs at a lot of the tees. Some don't consider this a pro, but this does keep some people from coming to this course. I think this helps keep the course cleaner too, even though there are plenty of beer cans in the trash cans on the course, so it some people don't follow the rule.

Holes are mostly straight shots, there are some alternate routes that can be taken on some holes.Elevation changes are not huge, but they do play into quite a few holes and adds some interest.

All the holes are pretty much wide open straight shots at varying distances to the basket except:

#6 - straight except there are trees guarding the basket - either low through them, or a hyzer around them.

#7 - straight shot, but a low tunnel shot

#8 - longest on the front 9. Basket not visible from the tee and there are pines blocking a straight shot and some smaller trees around the basket.

#15 - Probably the only RHFH hole on the course through some trees at the end of the run.

Hole #17 has an Am and Pro tee placement, the Am placement takes 300' off the hole distance.

Being wide open on most of the holes and not having a lot of 'rough' there isn't a big chance to lose a disc here. The only problem I've ever had was missing a disc in the field and walking right past it, only to spend 5 minutes looking for it in the wrong area.

Campus security regularly makes rounds through the parking lots and there are always people coming and going to the Vet Clinic at hole #1/#9 so parking is safe and lit.

Being a few minutes from where I live, I have been out there quite often and have only seen other players on the course a few times. I've never had to wait or play through or have even been within a hole or two of another player/group.
Cons: Being mostly straight shots, this course doesn't have a lot of variety, quite a few of the holes feel exactly the same - in fact #10 and #11 are pretty much the same hole. #12/#13/#14 all are pretty much alike also (although #14 has a sapling in the middle of the fairway that I like to hit) Anyone halfway decent will have drop-in 2s for most of the course.

The course doesn't punish bad shots, except for the pine trees, making par is relatively easy and the short length of a lot of the holes makes 2s easy for most players. The pine trees that line a lot of the front 9 and #10/#11 of the back nine will eat discs and not spit them out. The pines are fairly easy to recover discs from though, so losing a disc isn't a real threat.

Even the holes that have trees guarding the baskets only have at the most a single line - so for instance, hole 7 has a a tunnel real close to the tee, but even if you happen to nail a tree - as long as you drop out of the tree, there will be a clear shot to the basket. Hole 15 - the only real rhfh hole - has some trees guarding the basket also, but again - if you can make it to the trees or hit them - you will drop out to a clear shot to the basket to save par.

There are no signs indicating where the start is and the first time I went out, I stopped at the parking by the basketball courts since there is a tee for hole (#6) right at the end of the parking lot. The tee for #1 is by the large wood sign box at the top of the hill at the Vet Clinic parking lot by the sculpture.

If you've read the reviews here, the transition from 9 to 10 will be no big deal, but someone new to the course might have a problem finding it since 10 starts on the other side of the Vet Clinic down the private road.

Other Thoughts: Since I live so close to this course, I like to use it as field practice. The tees are nicer than going to the field to throw and the wide open fields don't punish working on your technique.

Having played Pieradise, I notice there are some similarities in the courses. While this course is not wooded at all, the wide open holes have the same feel as those down there.

I worked at PNC a long time ago, and unless things have changed, campus security is a branch of Westville Police Department - so people disobeying the no alcohol or tobacco signage could have a real issue with campus security - more than rent-a-cops.

PNC owns a lot of the woods that outline the back 9 of this course, it would be great if they expanded or added another course back in the woods to compliment this course.

Overall - if someone was just passing through the area, I would recommend paying to play Rogers Lakewood over this course. If someone is on a roadtrip on the toll road and time was tight - PNC is right at the exit so you can exit, play a round and get back on the toll road.

All the PNC buildings have vending if you forgot to bring something to drink. The building in the back of the campus is the LSF building and has a cafeteria.

Lastly, the course looks beautiful. It might not be a difficult course, but the maintenance is top notch.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad for a school course

1    12/11/2011   1/28/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays on a college campus, hopefully lots of college students are getting exposure to the sport. The grounds are nicely kept, with mowed grass and good amenities. The signs are excellent, with hole layout and distance, and the concrete tees are a fine size and texture. The baskets are brand new spiderwebs, some of my favorite baskets on the market. The course loops back to the parking lot after 9, always a nice perk.

The design does a good job with the space available to make things as interesting as possible. Most holes have some kind of elevation change, with some fun downhills and tough uphills along with a couple pin placements that offer good rollaway potential. A few pins are guarded by the scattered trees and make you plan your shot a little. There is some nice length variety with some short ace run type shots, some air it out holes, and one multi-shot bomber near the end where you really have to contend with wind and distance.
Cons: This course ends up feeling very open, and gets a little old with a ton of basically open field shots. I liked the use of the few spots with low ceilings and tighter gaps to hit, but those were few and far between. There is a long walk between the front and back 9s that's not immediately obvious, not a huge deal but it could be frustrating your first time through. There are some holes that play through prairie areas on the back 9, long grass rough is a big con for me as it only adds frustration not any real disc golf challenge. I would like to see a shorter set of tees on a course that should see a lot of beginning players, the distance here is a bit much for first time players to really enjoy.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this one pretty open and long, the wind and distance would likely frustrate many newer players especially when combined with the long grass. More experienced players will have the chance to rip some drives and work on their elevation and wind game, but this course won't really challenge any technical skills. I love seeing courses on college campuses, it's good exposure for the sport, but unfortunately this isn't the ideal layout to really get hooked.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    12/11/2011   12/18/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 446  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 12.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set on the large campus of this college. There is plenty of space to go around, so there should be no chance of any interference.
- Majority of the holes are set in the open, with a varying amount of trees involved. There are some holes with big patches of large trees to get around, like #1 and #4, and some with additional bushes to avoid. Other holes had a bigger amount of smaller trees, which demand a little more accuracy, like some low hanging branches off the tee on #7. A lot of holes are definitely RHBH hyzer friendly, while others need a RHFH or BH anny.
- Other holes are situated by dense woods to provide additional hazards. #4 to the left and #15 to the right especially punish shots that stray off the fairway.
- Some elevation changes are present here, with some longer sloping fairways and a few hills. The gentler holes still have trees to contend with, like the downhill on #16 or the uphill on #8. The steeper hills are more or less clear, like the drive on #9 and the upshot on #17. Adds good variety overall.
- Great variety in hole length. There are a few shorter ones around 250' or so, plenty around 300', a nice long one at 437' and an absolute bomber at 740'.
- A few baskets are protected, like the bushes and low hanging trees on #5, and some of the sloping terrain on #9 and #17. Nothing too extreme, but it does add some difficulty to these holes.
- Great signage, teepads, and baskets. Navigation is pretty easy, the back 9 is a little walk to the northeast of #1.
Cons: - The trees are used well here to make some interesting holes, but there are a lot of wide open shots that need a straight or slight hyzer throw. #3, #9, #10, #11, #13, and more are pretty brainless. Slight elevation changes help, but not too much.
- Most holes in general don't punish bad shots too badly. With the exception of a few holes by the forest, and the two longer holes, a bad shot can still be turned into a par without too much difficulty. The open landscape makes it easy to navigate.
- A few holes are close to each other, especially by #6, #7, and #8. Heads up if there are other people around.
- Some teepads are slanted, which is a shame. Some downhill holes have a teepad that slopes upward, yikes.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, the course has a pretty good fun factor with a decent amount of trees and some interesting lines. A wide range of holes from easy to pretty tricky, in terms of length and difficulty, or both. More experienced players will be able to carve this course up, but everyone else should have fun trying to score well here.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 So Fresh and So Clean!!

2-4    9/5/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: Emoney
Played: 59  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This well maintained course is a perfect fit for its location. The kids goin to school will love the convinience of it and people that come to play will enjoy the atmosphere and cleanliness. First off, everything is new! Teepads, baskets, signs , and benches are all in perfect shape. No litter to be seen and the grass was manicured like a ball golf course. Trash cans mounted to, probably, the best signs i have ever seen. Very informative and colorful. The teepads are nice and big and mostly level.The course is kinda short but that adds to the fun factor. They did well with what they had and it allows you to throw every shot you know( even a thumber or tommy hole#7). It gets real scenic on first few holes of the back 9 and it looks like they have room for more holes(please). This is a multi use area with basketball and tennis available and a vet nearby if ur disc dog gets into trouble. The course has gentle elevation and even a couple big holes for the big guns. Hole 1 is great with a open ceiling tunnel shot testing ur accuracy. Hole 5 has you throw towards a guarded basket with trimmed bushes and flowers. My fav was hole 16, it a great hole that only rewards a powerful well placed drive for a bird, if u hyzer out you have no putt, too far right and your in the trees.
I also liked that there was security watching the course the whole time to keep the trouble makes away. Very pretty clean area with a nice beginner/intermediate set-up. Porta-john near hole #6
Cons: My biggest problem with this course is that its has too many opportunities to hit someone. There are alot of holes that they put the basket too close to the previous holes teepad. Hole 2 has you throwing directly at 3 teepad . Hole 6 has you throwing at 5 teepad. Hole 7 at 8 teepad. Hole 16 at 17 teepad. These present a serious risk to other golfers so be careful when ur out there.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course on campus that will get alot of athletes involved and hopefully be a great exposure to the sport. I only wish they spread it out a little more seeing as they have plenty of space. Its def worth playing but be on ur best behavior because ur being watched.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    8/19/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For being a new course they really did a lot of things right at the beginning. Concrete tee pads, excellent Spiderweb baskets, and fantastic hole signs. The course it self was very easy to find on the campus and perfectly manicured. The landscaping there was just phenomenal. The land that they were given wasn't the most spectacular for disc golf, but the design was very methodical as they made sure to use the elevation and mature trees to create shots. I want to say there were elevation changes on at least 14 of the holes that I would consider a significant amount. There were several baskets that were well guarded by trees making holes that would normally be an easy two ones that required more precise planning. Hole 4 was a nice 415ft downhill shot that had the basket on the other side of a tree line; with some careful landscaping I can see this being the signature hole of the course. Hole 5 was another one of the magnificent holes that requires perfect planning off of the tee. Several holes implemented what I would call decision trees. On the back 9 there were a few holes that were also able to utilize tight fairways. The basket on 18 was placed on a side hill and I have great appreciation for those types of pins.
Cons: The first con that I really want to state is the flow from hole 9 to 10, there wasn't any clear signage and it isn't real obvious where you need to go after finishing hole 9. My second big con was the Pro tee on hole 17, while it was fun it didn't really seem to fit with the rest of the course. Some other things that I would like to see improved upon is the openness of the course. I was expecting a fairly open course being that it is a college course, but some of the shots felt like field shots. In the instance of hole three the basket is basically right in front of you but you can't see it, all they really need to do here is add a flag to the top so you have an idea of where to throw. Hole 8 was a little confusing to me at first when I looked at the sign, but after playing the hole it made more sense; just make sure you know where to throw before throwing. Holes 10 and 11 felt like the exact same shot to me; this can also be said about 12, 13 and 14.
Other Thoughts: The first thing that I need to mention here is the front and back didn't feel like the same design, they were both good and fun but just didn't feel the same. The course itself played very well and a lot of skill levels will enjoy the course. I did notice some OB on the course but not an overwhelming amount, it was used in perfect moderation from my point of view. Adding in a few bushes or trees on some holes to force certain types of shots would help the course in the years to come. Hole 12 has some plant life to the right of the tee that will need to be pruned tactfully to maintain the current shot but not inhibit it. I think PNC itself placed some limitations to the actual design of the course and I firmly believe that this course meets those limitations perfectly, however, if they would have allowed free reign on the design I think it could have been even better. The plan is for this course to be the start of another complex here in Indiana and this is a very huge first step to making it happen. Northern Indiana has another beautiful course to be proud of.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 La Porte County's First 18-Holer!

5+    8/1/2011   8/1/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 210  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2011
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - PNC's new course sprawls over the well-groomed, rolling, grassy hills of the southern part of campus. The design does a decent job of weaving around and occasionally through the many mature trees dotting the course. Several open holes allow for a grip-and-rip style of discin', while others encourage shot placement and accuracy, although nothing gets too tight.
-The front nine has no real schule to speak of except for a few well-trimmed bushes. Mature trees and rolling terrain provide the bulk of the challenge. The back nine has some holes that play through very dense prairie, with high grasses as well as trees. Hole length varies between 700+ (17 pro tee) and mid-200s. A good balance exists between the ups and downs available, as well as right- and left-turning holes, although nothing gets too crazy.
- Baskets are brand spanking new and painted a bright yellow that's easy to spot. Each basket has a numbered face-plate that greatly eases navigation. Freshly poured concrete tees have a slight brushing for traction. Tees are of good size. Descriptive tee signs. Brand new benches next to many holes.Trashcans on most holes.
- Located on a campus with many other amenities and sports facilities, although the course is a bit isolated on the southern edge of campus. Port-a-john near holes #'s 6 and 7.
- The course loops back around to the parking lot after the front nine, and gives the option of easily starting on the front or back nine.
Cons: - #'s 7, 8, and 3 are a bit bunched together and might see some safety issues with crowded course conditions. Likewise, #6 plays dangerously near the baseball field's bleachers, although several trees do provide some barrier. Mostly these spots only become an issue with shanked or horribly wayward discs.
- Poison ivy is EVERYWHERE on the prairie holes, exercise caution.
- I don't consider this a con, but others might: the entire campus, course included, is a tobacco free zone. I was scoped by campus security for the majority of the back nine, so be aware if you're a smoker and choose to break the law.
Other Thoughts: - The flow is a little awkward in a few spots. To find the course, look for the veterinarian center off of South drive. You'll see #9's basket on top of the hill near the parking lot. Climb the hill to find #1's tee (out of sight from the lot). After playing #9, #10's tee isn't immediately visible. The best bet is to enter through the gap in the trees past #1's tee, hang a left, and cross the road. If you pass the metal sculpture you've gone too far.
- PNC provides La Porte County with its second course, and first 18-holer. Open enough to be accessible to most beginning players, but with enough challenge to keep the attention of seasoned discers, PNC provides NW Indiana with another solid course.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.