Huntington, IN 
Memorial Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscGolfFreak Hole #17 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 182ft.   3 / 182ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
My Usual

5+    6/1/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: Boomdabah
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 6/19/2014
Pros: Love the way you have to play around the trees. Requires some long drives but pretty easy for seasoned pros. Nice concrete Tees except for Hole 10. Most holes have trashcans and the course is kept mowed.
Cons: One set of tees and one set of pin positions. Just starts to make the course boring after a while.

Watch out for the water on Hole 16 especially. I have already had to go swimming to retrieve my Dragon on this hole. I also lost a Discraft Stratus on Hole 7 as well. Some of the Amateur Pars for holes 7 and 8 are a little ridiculous to me but I'm not that good yet. The signs are a little bit funky with the maps but overall it is pretty easy to find the basket. The trees love to bat discs down.
Other Thoughts: Great course, I try to play about 2-4 times a week because its the closest and I like that it has 18 holes. Really good course for a challenge and to get used to the sport.

Beware of Water!

1    9/1/2012   12/21/2012
Review By: ajbova
Played: 73  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole Variety - Not only did hole distance vary, but the terrain varied. No holes are heavily wooded but there are moderately wooded holes. Water is the biggest hazard at this course. Over half of the holes have a water hazard of some sort. Nice elevation changes as well.

Baskets - The baskets were in good shape and were very grippy. Hole 12 has 2 baskets.

Concrete throw pads.

Water - As I mentioned, there are several water hazards on this course. It will make or break your day.

Atmosphere - Very peaceful park, more so the holes 5-13 (the new 9 holes). Those holes go around several connected ponds, creeks, and streams. Course has a community / family feel to it. The Army Tank and Jet also gave this course a unique feel.

Blind shots - There are several blind shots due to hills. Can be a pro or a con. Adds to the challenge.

Ace run / deuce - Most holes could be reached within a throw or 2. Can be a pro or a con.

Aesthetically pleasing - In addition to the atmosphere, this course was a beautiful course. Lots of places to rest and take in the views.

Easy to navigate.

Signage - There are signs for the holes but as you may have read by now, some of the information is inaccurate. Either way, the signs are helpful and keep the course going.

Practice Basket - It is not necessarily close to hole one but there is a practice basket.
Cons: Throw pads can be close to the basket from the prior hole. This seemed to be on the original holes. The newer holes were more spaced out.

Shot variety - Some players may think this course can become too repetitive. In my opinion, the water hazards kept me on my feet and I had to think before throwing (unlike some courses).

Danger factor - Some holes follow a walking trail, some holes are near the baseball field and horseshoe pit, proximity of throw pad and previous basket, and hole 18 (although amazing) flows right next to the basketball court where a non golfer can be hit.

Short holes - Most holes were very short and could be reached within a few throws.

A course map in the start of the course as well as the new addition to the course would have been helpful. A water fountain would have been helpful for the new addition.

Hole 18 could use a bridge halfway through the hole (creek runs parallel with the hole with a fairway on either side).
Other Thoughts: The new extension to the course is across the street from hole 4 between the original holes 4-5.

The water at this course will make you think.

Due to lack of woods, most holes are savable if there is a bad throw, Since it is short, if you are competing in a group or with a friend, you probably will not win the hole.

Well worth the drive from Indianapolis. I played this course on the way to my lakehouse in Warsaw and it was also well worth the detour from my normal drive.

Course could be played in an 18 hole loop or in 2 nine hole loops. Original course is 1-4 & 14-18, then the extension is 4-13. Each 9 hole loop is very different from the other.

I would recommend this course. It may be too simple for a professional player but they would still enjoy it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Diverse and fun course

5+    3/28/2012   5/4/2012
Review By: dombrosky14
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout of the holes is awesome! Both new and old nine for the most part are great holes. So glad it is now 18 holes, it is now worth the drive from Anderson. Holes are very diverse. course has good mixture of short, medium, and relatively long holes. Great park, in a great town! From what I hear they now have a local disc golf club which is great.
Cons: SIGNAGE, SIGNAGE, SIGNAGE!!! Signage on the old 9 was DECENT. But signage on the new is absolutely HORRIBLE! The new holes are frustrating enough because they are challenging(which is a good thing) but the bad signage puts the frustration level over the top. Some holes the baskets are not visable from the tee(again not a bad thing) but the signage is completely wrong which leads to making blind throws, thus adding strokes to ones game. Ex. #8 is around 500ft and lightly wooded, the sign says 182ft and shows a clear fairway with a par of pro 2 and am 3. again, adding strokes to ones game. I dont thing the great Avery Jenkins could get a 2 on that hole. The signs are not directionally laid out, to scale, or accurate whatsoever. Park lacks water fountains and trash cans.
Other Thoughts: Overall, just a GOOD course in a, GREAT park, in a GREAT town. Would love to see the course become GREAT like the park and town.

*I'm a little biased/maybe too hard due to the fact that my own father laid out the new nine. Parks dept needs to fix a few things to make it a Great course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Memorial Hills will be a Memorable DGC that I have played

1    11/4/2011   11/4/2011
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1180  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.5 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There we're a few holes we're I said to myself.... RU kidding me (but in a good way).
Very challenging layout. Though the water comes into play on more than half of the DGC, I thought this course was laid out remarkably well. I played this DGC with only 2 discs (150 class star sidewinder and and my Jesse Buryj avair putter) and played it just as the sun came woke up in less than 40 minutes (despite some misdirection of where the basket was).

Good mix or lefty righty straight holes

Loved hole # 18 with the winding creek in the center of the fairway. Wish every course had a hole like that one (especially with the creek being very low, lol.)
Cons: some baskets we're kinda close to tee pads (# 16 comes to mind. Don't understand why someone just doesn't get permission from the park dept. to get permission to cut down some trees and such and have this fairway go over the lake and have the green on the other side of the lake instead of the current basket position)

poor signage (But read that this is going to be corrected).

small tee pads

Other Thoughts: Huntington is a very nice community and I highly recomend that if your in the area to stop and play this DGC.

Near the Dan Quale (Former VP of the United States) Muesum (if that's your thing, it wasn't mine. but it was close to the park)

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hills/ponds/streams of Memorial and

1    8/15/2011   8/16/2011
Review By: zud00
Played: 119  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am glad to see this course is now a full 18 hole course. The new 9 holes (holes 5-13) add a new challenge to the existing 9 holes.
*There is plenty of variety available here at Memorial Hills. Many hillls come into play; you will have up hill shots, down hill shots, shots over hills, and side hill shots. These are not big hills, but the course makes great use of the available terrain.
*There is definitley a good range of distance now with the newly added 9 holes. Holes range anywhere from just under 200' to over 500'. However, there is maybe only one or two holes where you can air it out, many of the trees come into play and make you place your shot rather than just gun it down the fairway.
*I really appreciate the variety of left/right turning holes. In addition, many of the holes have multiple routes where you could go left or right.
*The water that comes into play may be a con for many, but for the experienced, it truely adds some difficulty. I believe two ponds are now in play and a stream that splits the park comes into play on many holes. More than likely, most discs that end up in the stream can be retrieveable.
*Baskets are all new and in excellent condition as well as tee pads and signs. Teepads are a bit small, but traction is good. The signs should all be installed shortly.
*The course has a decent flow, it is fairly easy to navigate; the tee to the next hole is nearby the previous basket, although sometimes it is to close.
*Practice basket(s) are available by the tank near hole 1 and by basket 12 I believe.
Restrooms are located near basket for hole 1, a waterfountain near tee for hole 1, and benches are scattered throughout the park.
*The park offers many other attractions such as a playground, tennis courts, horseshoes, ballfields, pavillions, sunken gardens, and a walking path.
Cons: *As I mentioned earlier, the water this course presents may be a bit intimidating for newer players. And for those wanting to wade in to retrieve a disc, good luck, the water is nasty and very weedy.
*Trash cans are limited, only a few are scattered throughout the park.
*Many of the holes play near a road, it is not a busy road, but with an errant throw, it could easily come into play. Also, there are several times where after you finish a hole, you may have to cross a park road to go on to the next few holes. This, however, is unavoidable I believe in order to have the complete 18 holes.
*I believe this is something that you will encounter in about any other course in a public park: a walking path. Many holes throw along or over a walking path. It isn't neccesarily a busy walking path, but it could mean you have to wait on some holes to tee off.
*I have always hated hole 14, formerly hole 5. It needs some tree trimming to give some sort of a line. Also, I'd say a few of the new holes could use some tree trimming as well.
Other Thoughts: Now with 18 holes, I would consider this course a must play if you are in the area. The variety this course offers will make you use an array of shots. Bring the family or play with your DG buddies, everyone (except the one who loses multiple discs to the water) will have a Memorable time at Memorial Hills.

**Edit**
I had to change my rating to a 3.5. This course has improved very much from the original 9. I have not played very much recently, but in just the past few days I have played a few courses, a few of which were better than Memorial Hills, making me remember/realize what a 4.0 course really is. This course lacks the technicallity that could make it a 4.0 course, so I'm dropping it to a 3.5, still a nice course by all means!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/1/2011   8/1/2011
Review By: J-MAN-57
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A wide range of holes to challege all players. Many short and long holes mixed in throughout the course. Tee pads that are installed are nice with good signs. Water fountain near hole one and two with restroom before the tee station of hole two.
Cons: Some holes can be a little challenging to beginners. The holes 5-18 do not have good signs. Maps for holes can be gotten from park department across the street. More trashcans and water fountains could be needed through park.
Other Thoughts: All in all a great disc golf course. Challenging but will improve your skill.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 No beach, but lots of water

5+    7/30/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: DiscGolfFreak
Played: 25  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/2/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has been upgraded to a full 18 holes. Holes 5-13 are new. What were holes 5-9 are now 14-18.

This is a well laid out course using the terrain with some uphill and downhill shots. Trees can be in play on most holes, causing to use a variety of shots. The additional nine brings in some holes that play to the advantage of those that can turn it to the right.

Use the first 5 holes to get warmed up, because water comes into play on 10 of the last 13 holes. Two ponds and a stream come into play on those holes making for some challenging and interesting shots.

Hole 12 has two pin positions, playing the longer pro pin makes for a more challenging hole and also bringing water into play a second time on the hole.

New baskets in great condition. Tee pads on the additional 9 holes (5-13) are now completed. Although backfill dirt is very soft, but that is to be expected until grass takes hold.

You can pick up a map of the additional 9 in the park office across the street from the tank during business hours to make it easier to navigate until the completion of the signs.

Good signage with par listed for amateur and pro on each of the original 9 holes, excellent baskets and concrete tee stations with good traction. Easy to follow course layout that starts and ends near basketball court.

Convenient restrooms and drinking fountain near hole #1.

Cons: The first 4 holes are not overly technical, mostly straight shots without too many obstacles, which could be a plus for beginner and intermediate players.

Signs for additional 9 are yet to be completed, but should be in within the next couple of weeks.

Water comes into play on 10 holes (4 on streams and 6 around the two ponds), for a more experienced player this could be a plus.

Could use a few more trash cans throughout course.

A lot of trimming has been done, but still could use a few trees cut back.

Other Thoughts: Very fun course. The additional 9 holes have added several technical shots that the course was lacking, along with several longer holes.

Now, well worth the drive to play the new course.

Park offers many other activities (tennis, horseshoes, basketball, playground, baseball diamond, sunken gardens, pavilions and several grills).

I will re-evaluate in a month or so, when signs are in and everything is complete.

Update on 2-2-12... Signs are in, but very disappointed with the accuracy of the maps on each sign. The old signs were much more accurate. Overall the course was in good sharp for the middle of winter though.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.