Leonard, MI 
Addison Oaks County Park Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG   (Taken 3/2009)
"Next Tee" signs after every hole



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Missed potential...

1    12/2/2013   12/2/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through a large, very picturesque county park. area seems to be entwined with walking trails and a large (pointless) field.

Teepads-- great, in nice repair, rounded in the front for follow through. No foul lines present (like at Flip City). all but one in great shape. one had a tree across it.

Routing and nav-- easy. next tee signs were great and made the round easy to follow.

Baskets-- all in great repair. some had the little "badges" on top, which helped increase visibility, some did not.

Variety-- there is certainly some good and some bad here. up until hole 13 the variety is great. 14 and 15 are boring. the field holes did nothing for me. for the most part though, there is a fair representation of all hole types.

Challenge-- this course is challenging for the most part. the wooded holes are TIGHT, the opening hole is fantastic along with the rest of the water holes.

Upkeep-- great. the course was in exceptional shape when we were there. very little garbage. but then again the garbage cans were plenty.

Cons:
Variety-- (opinions) I found 14-22 to be a waste of time. the field holes are a complete buzz kill after the first 15 holes. there is no challenge in throwing in a field, seriously. 14 and 15 are just very bland holes.

Gators-- the dudes on the gators patrolling the park are seriously annoying. I understand policing, but these guys spend their whole day zooming up and down fairways. we seriously saw the same guy 10+ times on our round.

Signage-- oh my god. the worst possible tee signs. I don't know that any of the lines shown on the signage were accurate. distances were seriously flawed as well. hole #24 is a prime example. it has to be 600+ ft long but it's listed at 340? very distracting and annoying.
Other Thoughts:
I did enjoy my round but this course certainly does have some serious flaws.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Variety and challenge!

1    9/14/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + 24 diverse holes with an overall balanced layout
+ Very challenging off the tees and at the pins
+ Very well taken care of - nearly perfect condition
+ Fairly easy navigation, use the signs and the map for best results
+ Fairways are well-defined and thoroughly cleared
+ Swamps/water in play on several holes
+ Long, consistently good quality concrete tees
+ Great facilities at the start of the course
+ CLEAN, with good trash cans
+ Some aesthetic and serene parts of the course
+ Benches on a few holes (it's a long walk)
+ Hole #1 worth playing again!
+ Easy parking
+ Practice basket
Cons: - Signage was incorrect or not descriptive enough about half the time
- Surprisingly thick rough off the fairway in several spots, but in predictable spots
- A few holes play next to a walking path and through a park
- Hole topper signs not utilized or maybe vandalized
- #20 is a great example of a filler hole
- Course par is all par 3's
Other Thoughts: Three intermediate level throwers, played the longs on our first visit to this awesome pay-to-play course in early September. Conditions were perfect. No bugs, about ~10:30am to 1pm (yes, our round almost took 3 hours), 65-68 degrees.

We were really surprised, frustrated, and delighted with the difficulty level at various parts of the course. Starting with hole 3, we were like, woah, gnarly. All holes are par 3, but several would be par 4 at most top quality courses in Michigan. It doesn't matter in the long run, obviously, but the challenge of the course is elevated accordingly. Definitely helps with scoring. Anyway, the course is dynamic and transitions from mild to moderately hilly, and from heavily wooded to wide open. Every hole has a distinct fairway with multiple lines and approaches, though. There are quite a few shots off the tee that were intimidating due to the narrow lines you sometimes have to hit. A lot of pins are guarded by trees. Also, a lot of blind holes, some very thick rough spots, some water, and minor elevation changes. It's a long walk, but not really a workout.

There are a few things worth knowing before playing Addison for the first time. Firstly, this is not a course designed for beginners. I believe anyone can enjoy a round of disc golf almost anywhere, but the challenge level mixed with the possibility of losing discs and the length of the course don't add up to what I imagine would be a good time for new throwers (or solo throwers). At least not in season (probably quite a bit easier in the off-season). Other than that, there are several holes that are not accurately illustrated on the minimalist tee signs. For example, #10 looked like it was supposed to curve to the right (on the map and the tee sign), but the basket is actually straight ahead. Be careful not to shoot for the practice basket on #24 as the group behind us did. Even on several holes with accurate tee signs a spotter would be very helpful. Those holes are easy to pick out of the mix. Especially because of the many blind pin placements.

Overall, a major highlight of the fun of Addison Oaks is the diversity of the hole layouts. The variety of shapes, fairways, pin placements, and tree coverage was incredible and memorable. For that reason, our comments to one another like "interesting approach" or "interesting shot choice" were used so often that we started to make fun of ourselves. Also due to the variety of hole layouts and features, I can confidently say that this was one of the most challenging courses I've played. And that's the impression I'd like to leave with you. If you've played the course before, you know what I'm talking about. If you haven't, then I can't emphasize enough how fun this course was because of the variety it contains, but I also don't want to end without once again emphasizing how challenging it is either.

Thanks for reading!



Okay, fine, I'll tell you. I shot a +22 (the other guys I played with shot +10 and +13). And lost two discs. One on #10 (hit a branch, dropped into the water). The other was to the left on the first open field hole because I wasn't paying enough attention (blue VIP Sword).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Unforgivingly takes no prisoners

5+    7/28/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 164  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 10.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging course in a large, well maintained county park with camping and lots of other activities: fishing, swimming, mountain bike trails, and hiking trails. Despite a lot going on, course is pretty well isolated from other park activities. Outstanding shot variety includes:
• Wonderful terrain keeps you engaged and on your toes the entire round. Fairways run the gamut; flat, gently to significantly rolling, steep down hills. Others present little net elevation change from tee to pin, but play over a rise that hides the pin.
• Well wooded (to say the least), with a pocket of open holes and few moderately wooded holes sprinkled about. Open holes provide a nice break from playing lumberjack, but pose risks of their own. Playing along the edges of an open field with thick brush down the left flank, or behind the pin, they feature well -tucked pin placements. Tee shots must be fairly well placed to card 3's, with deuces conceded only to great accuracy. Add the possibility of wind to ratchet things up a notch.
• Nice mix of distances. Several near or under 200, several mid-upper 200's, plenty in the 300-400 ft range, several 400+ footers, and one over 500 ft (# 24 plays about 300 from the short. It's a good 200 ft between long and short tees, in the same direction to the pin. There's no way the 334' marker at the long tee is remotely correct).
• Great blend of L/R, straight and complex/ interesting fairway shapes. Combined with the above, Addison really tests nearly every aspect of your game.
• Quite a few ace and birdie opportunities, but you really have to earn them- nothing is given to you.
• Tricky pin placements include: sloped greens where you might want to layup rather than risk a nasty rollaway, drop-offs and thick vegetation close (but not too close) to the pin. How you play approaches could make or break a round.
• Bad shots are penalized, sometimes severely. Several holes set up such that a good tee shot makes par fairly straightforward, but a bad tee shot can have you playing from bad lie to bad lie and carding a 5 or 6.
• Now has nicely textured concrete tees on all holes, with new short tees (also concrete) on holes 2, 4, 6, 18, and 24. Rounded at one end to point toward the pin, they're nice, level and ever so slightly elevated to drain well and resist accumulations of sand/mud, yet allow for safe, seamless follow-throughs without fear of turning ankles. Surrounded by crushed gravel to keep immediate area around them from getting muddy and rutted in wet weather. VERY well done.
• Tee posts and Next Tee signs everywhere they're needed. Together with the scorecard/map navigation's pretty good. Well done given how long and arduous the course is, and how it traverses around adjacent sections of the park.
• Genuinely provides very good scoring separation.
Cons:
• Numerous stray & twiggy branches are hard to see in the shadowy woods from the tee. Too many tee shots got past the first several trees on a line that had everyone on the card thinking "that's the line you want," only to get deflected into trouble by a stray branch or twig protruding into the fairway. Some selective pruning would go a long way. I'm fine with well wooded holes that require a tight line to get down the fairway, but there's only so much information you can process when placing your tee shot. It's one thing to get punished for a bad shot, but particularly frustrating to execute the shot you want and get screwed. Seemed to leave too much to luck for my liking, but could be easily fixed.
• Hole 20 is an abomination. A blind 167 footer that's not feasible to play as designed. During the tourney, most players take a totally improvised spike hyzer/tommie route. I'm all for holes that offer different lines, but when all these experienced players refuse to play the hole as designed, what does that say about the design of the hole? Everyone I know hates it.
• Missing a big uphill, maybe even one where short drives have an uphill lie for the 2nd shot. With all the wonderful elevation and some great down-hills, you'd think it would have been quite doable, yet it was completely avoided.
• Rough is nasty in many spots. Spotters recommended; solo rounds not so much.
• High risk of disc loss on several holes (this seems to be part of the Championship Caliber Package).
• Not at all for beginners - wasn't intended to be (no ratings ding here, just informational).
• Unless you're a county resident, $10 entry fee for a solo round is pretty steep (but not so bad by the car load).
Other Thoughts: The most challenging course in southeast Michigan lives up to its nickname: Addin'some Strokes. Five times have I played here… five times have I been beaten like a dog who crapped the carpet for the last time.

This course is long and difficult. Don't come expecting a quick or friendly round - be prepared to spend a few hours and battle for your score (and quite possibly your disc's life). Don't be deceived by her beauty - she's a sinister and cunning mistress, with tricky fairways, punishing rough, and OB in the form of water, swamps, and paths.

• Starts with a beautiful hole that tests both courage and control. Plays about 320' on a moderate downhill grade to the water's edge, with another 150' or so to a pin placed toward the business end of a peninsula green. Green is attractively guarded by willows that enjoy rejecting big armed drives as well as approach shots from the safer (laid-up) tee shots - sometimes into the drink. There are openings to get through safely (but you gotta hit'em), along with a safer route around the trouble (which almost certainly requires another stroke).
• Finishes strong with a satisfying bomber that's not quite totally open to keep you honest. You could land in or under some well-placed evergreens for a particularly nasty lie, or fade into the wall of brushy rough along the left of the fairway, plus the wind can turn you over and send you toward the parking lot or into bushes.
• Hole 4 is another particularly inviting hole - greets you with a beautiful glade that rolls from right to left as you step to the long tee after the walk from 3. Finishes with a pin on an uphill slope, defended by a gauntlet of old growth pines. Gotta keep approaches low to earn a good look.

Having played here when the tees were just dirt and gravel, I couldn't have rated it higher than 3.5, as I was hampered by footing that was less than desirable given how demanding this course is off the tee. Because this course requires power and precision, and the new tees are truly superb, I'd give it a 4.25. Fix #20 and trim the hard to see branches cluttering many airways, and this is a solid 4.5, but until that happens I'm stuck at 4.0 …but it's the best 4.0 in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Creative Course

5+    5/2/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: LavaBoii
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has some very unique shots that you won't find near Addison. I love the diversity and it takes someone who really knows how to shape their shot with their discs that they can trust to go under par. A lot of the holes are going to be in some pretty deep wooded areas. There is a stretch of about 4 holes that are in the open and are very fun with some length. Not too much people play this course so you won't find as much casuals which is great!
Cons: It's pretty expensive if you don't live in Oakland County to play. It costs me $10 since I'm from Macomb every time to get in the park, so bring a few friends to cut down the price. You will always find some cops there too, be cautious! Bugs are always a problem when you're playing on a course that with some thick wooded areas. A few swamp holes, so don't be surprised if one of your shots get away from you and you lose a disc. The park is also a campground so there is a little traffic at times by some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it is a fun course to play that will challenge. A lot of holes so it is definitely worth a little traveling. Very over looked course. Give it a shot!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Gorgeous, Pro calibur course

1    6/16/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 65  Reviewed: 43
This review was updated on 8/27/2012
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: great variation, elevation, swamp hazards, woods, open fields, 24 hole course.
Cons: None except its a real challenge. bring your A game to addison oaks, or you will lose discs.
Other Thoughts: One of the greatest courses ever constructed, not to be missed!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite course

5+    4/29/2012   5/1/2012
Review By: GettinGreasy
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~Nice mix of technical holes, wooded approached, open fairways, and a disc eating hazard.
~Many people complain about the 5 straight open fairway holes, but I honestly love the placement, where one can easily skip all 5 by walking a few yards
~All cement tees with a curved end pointing you towards the pin
~For one of the best courses in the area, it typically stays less crowded than Stoney or Firefighters
Cons: ~Nothing Really but if I had to be picky...
~Bugs during the fall and hot summer months
~Can get crowded on weekends/nice days
Other Thoughts: ~Honestly my favorite course in the area, everyone I've ever encountered playing here has been nothing but friendly
~Love hole 10, definite do or die
~Have probably thrown a dozen discs into some very thick woods on some holes, and all have been pretty easily found (hole 10 being the exception) while most of the course is thick woods, it lacks the disc eating knee high grass, until very late in the year if their slacking on the trimming.
~Well worth the $5 parking fee

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Koz = Gay

1    7/19/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great hole design
the first five lead you into the woods and don't let go until #16. then it finally opens up into a huge field with the fairways skirting along the edge of the woods. great use of length and line keep the fairly static surroundings unnoticable. i was impressed with the shot options as we played through: tunnel shots, tight threads, water (swamp) hazards, ravines, bridges, hyzers, anhyzers, etc.
-outstanding accoutrements
great signage on every hole, marking hole # and distance. "next tee" signs in abundance as needed, and might have even been overkill. cement tee pads for every hole, and i love the way they were rounded off at the ends, pointing you towards the pin. trash cans throughout and the course was virtually litter-free. picnic benches strategically placed let you take a break while playing through, which you will take advantage of.
-challenging but fair
you will use these park benches because you will be tired. this course is long with no am tees. swamps/bogs come into play on a little over a quarter of the holes. you will use the majourity of discs in your bag, and while challening, it is fair. if you have a bad drive you will be punished and it will be hard to recover, but it is not a course in which you will need blind luck to succeed. the rough wasn't too bad when i played and aside from water hazards, you should'nt have a problem leaving with all the plastic you came in with, especially with a spotter.
-the park itself
awesome piece of land (campground, lake with boat launch, rock climbing wall, etc.) makes the oaks a destination for more than just DG. and there was a summer camp going on crowding hole #1 that let us play through - turns out the counselor was teaching the kids how to putt!
Cons: -mix it up?
i wish they would've been able to break up the surroundings a bit better. we kept waiting and waiting for the woods to break and they didn't until 16. then you were slapped with 5 bombers in a row.
-faded glory
while the signage was everywhere it seemed a bit outdated. a lot of them were faded from the sun and couldn't be read. some of the distances seemed wrong; either too short or too long. not sure if elevation played into this or not but i questioned more than a few. and per the graffitti on the posts, is seems like Koz and Cookie get around quite a bit! considering every sign had a derrogatory comment about the aforementioned, i figure my title for this review is fitting.
-something seems missing
i keep telling myself i'll know a 5-star course when i play it, and this was damn near. but it still felt like something was missing - maybe a real water hazard (not just bog/swamp)? maybe more than one signature hole? i'm not sure but throughout the round i couldn't shake the feeling that it could be better somehow.
Other Thoughts: Addison Oaks is awesome - plain and simple. it's the best i've played in the metro area, and is a destination course. this is an all-dayer; pack a lunch and bring plenty of fluids. it took four of us just over three hours to play all 24.
my favourite holes were #4 - an open drive hooking right with a harsh approach under giant pines, #10 - THE signature hole at the oaks, a shot off the top of the hill and over a marshy ravine with the pin on the far shore. (an absolute do or die hole), and #20 - no fairway (just a landing spot), then a right twist uphill to the hidden basket atop. #18 is the longest hole, at 692 ft., and you'll be dying to let 'er rip after the technical/placement shots in the woods.
i absolutely recommend playing this course - grab some friends and get lost... just watch out for "Monkey ****ting on Cookie's Chest"!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course!

1    4/30/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: Gyro
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice park, lots of variety in shots, and it wasn't crowded. Plenty of technical wooded shots, many water shots, and even a fair amount of open field shots as well.
Cons: Poor tee pads. Roughly half are cement and half are dirt. $10 to get in the park. Very easy to lose discs if you are not careful.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 toughest in the metro

5+    4/13/2011   4/14/2011
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Mix of landscape and holes. Features a creek, lake, peninsula basket, ponds, hills, pine forest, thick rough, tall grass, tunnel shots and more.
- Very well manicured with mowed fairways
- Cement on 2/3 holes now, tee signs, practice basket
- Tough, well though out design with challenging par 4's and some easy 2's
- Signature holes such as the 490? ft downhill 1st hole over a finger of water with water behind to the left and a row of willows blocking the attempted big-deuce, makes you play for score not show
Cons: -Park entry rules: apparently in the off season which is still going on though it's mid-April, you have to obtain a permit at the Valero 2 miles away (5/10$). There is only ONE, small, sign there I noticed that says anything about the need for a pass and how to get one, and it's on the same post as other, larger signs. Plus it doesn't even face the driver and isn't where you'd naturally look for information. There is no sign again warning you at the 1st tee, as there really should be.
- Doesn't flow well/or tough to navigate
Other Thoughts: - Hopefully they will adopt a pay-station to pay for your pass at the park in a drop-box like EVERY OTHER park in the friggin' world figured out already
- Detroit area MUST-play

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice

2-4    10/17/2011   9/1/2010
Review By: kw83028
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Makes you use a variety of shots, well laid out. Woods, fields, trees, lakes make it play tough if you like that kind of stuff! Wasn't busy at all there!

Got my first ACE on 10/17/11 on hole 13!!

Tees are all concrete now and it makes the course that much better!
Cons: Not really much Con action here now that the teepads are concrete!

I guess the only cons I could see are that you are in the woods forever then come out to some bombers in a field. It doesn't really bother me, but some people might find that annoying for some reason
Other Thoughts: Great course! Wish I lived closer!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.