Leonard, MI 
Addison Oaks County Park Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #15 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 262ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Missed potential...

1    12/2/2013   12/2/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through a large, very picturesque county park. area seems to be entwined with walking trails and a large (pointless) field.

Teepads-- great, in nice repair, rounded in the front for follow through. No foul lines present (like at Flip City). all but one in great shape. one had a tree across it.

Routing and nav-- easy. next tee signs were great and made the round easy to follow.

Baskets-- all in great repair. some had the little "badges" on top, which helped increase visibility, some did not.

Variety-- there is certainly some good and some bad here. up until hole 13 the variety is great. 14 and 15 are boring. the field holes did nothing for me. for the most part though, there is a fair representation of all hole types.

Challenge-- this course is challenging for the most part. the wooded holes are TIGHT, the opening hole is fantastic along with the rest of the water holes.

Upkeep-- great. the course was in exceptional shape when we were there. very little garbage. but then again the garbage cans were plenty.

Cons:
Variety-- (opinions) I found 14-22 to be a waste of time. the field holes are a complete buzz kill after the first 15 holes. there is no challenge in throwing in a field, seriously. 14 and 15 are just very bland holes.

Gators-- the dudes on the gators patrolling the park are seriously annoying. I understand policing, but these guys spend their whole day zooming up and down fairways. we seriously saw the same guy 10+ times on our round.

Signage-- oh my god. the worst possible tee signs. I don't know that any of the lines shown on the signage were accurate. distances were seriously flawed as well. hole #24 is a prime example. it has to be 600+ ft long but it's listed at 340? very distracting and annoying.
Other Thoughts:
I did enjoy my round but this course certainly does have some serious flaws.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your A game

1    7/19/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: m_jank
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Makes you use every shot in your bag
-hole 4 is pretty amazing dogleg into a field and then uphill approach to basket surrounded by pines
-24 holes
-usually empty during the week, very light traffic on weekend
-the rest of the park is really nice, large lake
Cons: -no teepads, just dirt runoffs
-layout might be confusing if you don't have a guide
-the open field holes are not very imaginative
- deep brush, easy to lose disc
-LOTS of standing water = mosquitos
-water/swamp comes into play on five or six holes
Other Thoughts: Probably the most difficult course I have played. Even though its shorter than Stony, it plays much harder. Big risk/reward.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 An oldie but a goodie

5+    4/19/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 72  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 16.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety is the spice of life and this course is VERY spicy. Long-short, open-narrow, this place has all the shots plus elevation changes and water hazards that will eat you up. Accuracy and patience will pay dividends. Not much room for error anywhere on the course.
Cons: Tee-pads are rudimentary at best. Some signs are missing. Next-tee situations are very tricky at times. Print a map. Bring bug spray and liquids. Don't pollute. Look out for the Sheriff. He's a bad man.
Other Thoughts: A great course that needs to be maintained a little better. Its not dirty, it just needs to jump into the 21st century. If there isn't anybody collecting at the park gate, the party store at 32 mile and Rochester sells park passes. Buy one. They will ticket you without a pass. They also sell plastic and adult beverages. You will need plenty.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nick named Adding some strokes

12/23/2007   1/30/2008
Review By: dscglfgeo
Played: 42  Reviewed: 3
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tough course with lots of risk reward type shots, 2 signature holes add to the appeal of the course. Water on multiple holes, mostly in the trees, with a couple of field holes for big arm fun.
Cons: Would be rated higher but the park entry fee is high if your not a resident, dirt/slag tee pads, only some tee signs
Other Thoughts: Drinking water availabe and cops ride horses right down some of the fairways helping to keep vandalism down.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.