Leonard, MI 
Addison Oaks County Park Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #14 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 370ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Creative Course

5+    5/2/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: LavaBoii
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has some very unique shots that you won't find near Addison. I love the diversity and it takes someone who really knows how to shape their shot with their discs that they can trust to go under par. A lot of the holes are going to be in some pretty deep wooded areas. There is a stretch of about 4 holes that are in the open and are very fun with some length. Not too much people play this course so you won't find as much casuals which is great!
Cons: It's pretty expensive if you don't live in Oakland County to play. It costs me $10 since I'm from Macomb every time to get in the park, so bring a few friends to cut down the price. You will always find some cops there too, be cautious! Bugs are always a problem when you're playing on a course that with some thick wooded areas. A few swamp holes, so don't be surprised if one of your shots get away from you and you lose a disc. The park is also a campground so there is a little traffic at times by some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it is a fun course to play that will challenge. A lot of holes so it is definitely worth a little traveling. Very over looked course. Give it a shot!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Koz = Gay

1    7/19/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great hole design
the first five lead you into the woods and don't let go until #16. then it finally opens up into a huge field with the fairways skirting along the edge of the woods. great use of length and line keep the fairly static surroundings unnoticable. i was impressed with the shot options as we played through: tunnel shots, tight threads, water (swamp) hazards, ravines, bridges, hyzers, anhyzers, etc.
-outstanding accoutrements
great signage on every hole, marking hole # and distance. "next tee" signs in abundance as needed, and might have even been overkill. cement tee pads for every hole, and i love the way they were rounded off at the ends, pointing you towards the pin. trash cans throughout and the course was virtually litter-free. picnic benches strategically placed let you take a break while playing through, which you will take advantage of.
-challenging but fair
you will use these park benches because you will be tired. this course is long with no am tees. swamps/bogs come into play on a little over a quarter of the holes. you will use the majourity of discs in your bag, and while challening, it is fair. if you have a bad drive you will be punished and it will be hard to recover, but it is not a course in which you will need blind luck to succeed. the rough wasn't too bad when i played and aside from water hazards, you should'nt have a problem leaving with all the plastic you came in with, especially with a spotter.
-the park itself
awesome piece of land (campground, lake with boat launch, rock climbing wall, etc.) makes the oaks a destination for more than just DG. and there was a summer camp going on crowding hole #1 that let us play through - turns out the counselor was teaching the kids how to putt!
Cons: -mix it up?
i wish they would've been able to break up the surroundings a bit better. we kept waiting and waiting for the woods to break and they didn't until 16. then you were slapped with 5 bombers in a row.
-faded glory
while the signage was everywhere it seemed a bit outdated. a lot of them were faded from the sun and couldn't be read. some of the distances seemed wrong; either too short or too long. not sure if elevation played into this or not but i questioned more than a few. and per the graffitti on the posts, is seems like Koz and Cookie get around quite a bit! considering every sign had a derrogatory comment about the aforementioned, i figure my title for this review is fitting.
-something seems missing
i keep telling myself i'll know a 5-star course when i play it, and this was damn near. but it still felt like something was missing - maybe a real water hazard (not just bog/swamp)? maybe more than one signature hole? i'm not sure but throughout the round i couldn't shake the feeling that it could be better somehow.
Other Thoughts: Addison Oaks is awesome - plain and simple. it's the best i've played in the metro area, and is a destination course. this is an all-dayer; pack a lunch and bring plenty of fluids. it took four of us just over three hours to play all 24.
my favourite holes were #4 - an open drive hooking right with a harsh approach under giant pines, #10 - THE signature hole at the oaks, a shot off the top of the hill and over a marshy ravine with the pin on the far shore. (an absolute do or die hole), and #20 - no fairway (just a landing spot), then a right twist uphill to the hidden basket atop. #18 is the longest hole, at 692 ft., and you'll be dying to let 'er rip after the technical/placement shots in the woods.
i absolutely recommend playing this course - grab some friends and get lost... just watch out for "Monkey ****ting on Cookie's Chest"!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

A big course!

5+    8/10/2008   12/17/2008
Review By: donnyv
Played: 24  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/30/2013
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Extremely challenging during the full foilage period. The Oaks will do it's best to keep your game and ego in check.

1. Finally, concrete tee pads are in. Nice placement and unique shape. No more twisting ankles or slipping on mud.

2. Length. Woods aside, Addison gives you a chance to huk it for some nice D. No pitch and putt here.

3. Variety of shots needed. It has tight tunnel shots through overgrown woods and brush. Multiple over-the-water/swamp shots with disc swatting trees protecting the baskets. Beautiful rolling fairways carved out along the park. Open fields with waist high grass punishing errant tee shots. Heavily guarded baskets that make you think twice about taking a run at them.

4. Well maintained course. The grass is cut regularly making well defined fairways. Garbage cans and picnic tables on almost every hole. Tee signs (w/o pics) marking hole # and distance to basket. No trash lying around, but there is some grafetti here and there (which was in the process of being painted over.)

5. Crowd control. It never gets the ridiculous traffic other area courses seem to attract. Course difficulty, higher park entry fee, and middle-of-nowhere location, help keep the clowns off the course.

6. No extra fee to play DG. Just pay the $5/$10 daily fee to access the entire park. Buy at the Valero during the off-season or at the booth late May thru September.
Cons: No major cons now that the teepads are almost finshed. Just a couple things to keep in mind with a course like this.

1. OB is definately OB. The shule is thick and poison ivy/oak is hidden everywhere. You MUST keep it in the fairway if you want to escape unscathed. Addison WILL punish those bad shots via lost disc(s) in the swamps, tall grass, or super thick brush.

2. Bring the bug spray! This is not a city park by any means. It's a breeding ground for all kinds of nature. Standing water/nasty swamps surround the entire park. These little pests live to mess with the DGers.

3. Baskets. Not really a con here (they're all in great shape with double chains) but there is a mixture of Mach 3 and Mach 5/Chainstar type baskets. Some catch & deflect differently, so putt according to the basket type.

4. Course Flow. It really flows quite nice if you know the course and which way to the next tee. First-timers should grab a map/scorecard to find the basket placements and tees. Some require a little hiking but nothing major.

5. LARGE FINE FOR NO PARK PASS. Put that in all caps because the fine is no joke. We played here once during the off season and didn't get the pass. Big mistake because it was a $65 FINE PER CAR. So $65 times four cars full of friends = $260 for one round of DG. OUCH!!!!!
Just get the park pass because the Oakland County Sherriff patrols and checks EVERY CAR in the lot, EVERYDAY!

6. Holes in Large Field ~ These are probably the least liked holes on the course. You can get your D on since there are no trees, just 5' tall grass outside the fairways. Better than nothing but not real exciting. As a course designer myself, I know that we can't be too picky on land available and have to make due but If we're short on time or daylight, this would be the spot to pass over.
Other Thoughts: It used to be even better before the campgrounds expanded into the old course causing a redesign. It still is a good time though. Just remember to bring
1)Extra discs
2)Bug Spray
3)Park Pass

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 favorite course

5+    7/8/2008   9/18/2008
Review By: valking
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very challenging for beginners and seasoned players. variety of shots including woods, water, and open holes so you have the best of all worlds.
Cons: pretty much all the holes you need to be accurate or chance loosing a disc. even when the field isnt mowed you have a chance of loosing it in tall grass. its out in the middle of no where so you gotta be willing to drive a little
Other Thoughts: if you are in the mood to spend a whole day out in the park and play some disc golf this is the place for you. its got stuff for kids to do and they keep it clean.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.