Bailey, CO 
Bailey DGC Share
Uploaded By: slugwater Hole #16 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 546ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Best school course ever?

1    9/10/2014   9/19/2014
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This has got to be the best course I've ever played on school grounds and I was amazed at this large chunk of property they own. Not only do you get very decent views and a 'private course feel' on public land with great terrain for disc golf course but you get a ton of wildlife on this property as well. While playing here I saw an antelope, two deers and an overzealous hawk flying around like he was a turkey vulture. We played early in the morning with only one other (quiet) group so this may have been unique to us, hard to tell.

Bailey is another fine gem in this corridor of the mountains that include several other amazing but different courses. Bailey is the 'gold course' here and was build with open players in mind thus pushing distance as the main factor of difficulty for the course. There are several areas where you need to be accurate as well but if you don't have a big arm here you're not going to keep up well with the big boys. Being able to throw both up and downhill against and with the wind seems to be an extremely important skill to learn as well as there are several open down and uphill holes here.

The basket locations on this course seem to be chosen pretty well in making a good holes but are also placed in fun locations like rock outcroppings to add something unique and fun for every player. Although I recognize that this course is not build for players like me I can see what they were trying to accomplish with open players.
Cons: This course puts emphasis on being able to throw a long ways without having to also be accurate. I think pro players should be challenged to do either and both; if this is build for open tournament players in mind then more obstacles need to be involved for those players. I don't believe in distance competitions and probably 1/4 of this course is that.

Some of the shorter holes seemed way to easy for pro players in my opinion. I don't play tournaments anymore and when I did I played Intermediate and I can get par on some of the shorter holes on this course even with bad drives. If that's true for me then what are these holes for pros? Basically deuce or die holes right? I don't find that to be a true test of testing one's game and that's what this course is supposed to do. Seemed like you could take some holes out (how many holes on a course doesn't matter by the way) that were fillers or there for course flow and rearrange some others and make some stronger holes. For every great hole here there are three or four others that aren't up to par (so to speak) with a gold level course.
Other Thoughts: Although Bailey really isn't my cup of tee I had a great time here. There are enough sweet downhill holes here to make the $5 'donation' totally worth your time. You're going to want to empty your entire bag on hole one and I could see that if I was a local I could make hole one my driving range as it would be perfect with a big downhill shot and nothing but grass at the bottom and no need to search for your disc.

We talked to some local dog walkers before beginning our round here early in the morning and they could not have been more supportive of disc golf and the course being here. One of them even said she tried playing here but it was too hard for her. I recommended some other courses around that she would enjoy more and if you don't got the arm you may want to mosey on down the road as well. Hopefully the golfers out here will respect the land they have been given and keep the course litter and vandalism free.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Wow!

1    6/7/2014   6/7/2014
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 40  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 23.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Only mountain course in the area that has holes for you to really air it out

-Great mixture of shots: uphill, downhill, tunnel, left finishing, right finishing, short and tech, long and bombing...Literally everything but water

-Reasonable OB, none of it artifical

-Great views on nearly every hole, a truly unique experience all the way around

-Not a beginner course, but all skill levels will find something to enjoy
Cons: -Dirt tee areas are super slick and make it tough to really crank on a drive on longer holes

-Saw a lot of spit-outs, including me getting robbed of an eagle, on the Disc - In brand baskets.
Other Thoughts: Played here for the Bloom tournament and this course is simply amazing. A must play course, for sure. Don't miss it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A longer beaver

2-4    8/18/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 112  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 6.3 Years
20 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In short, this is a longer version of Conifer and shares many of the design similarities.

The first hole features a dramatic bomb over a little valley that is mostly open but with a few trees blocking the direct path. Bring your long distance S-shot. This is one of several exhilarating downhill shots where you need to consider your disc's stability fade more than you ever need to on a regular course. It's easy to go for a long S-shot and have it never come back, or to throw straight and watch helplessly as the disc fades way left.

The course uses the natural features really well. Hole 6 has a pretty double-mando (similar to the one at Conifer), throwing downhill to a basket sticking out of a crack in a huge boulder. Uphill putts onto boulders are used frequently in the courses around here, and I like it. Uphill putting is an underused skill, and the punishment is greater if you miss. Hole 9 forces your second shot under some trees to reach an elevated basket, and throwing too high or too low will cost you. Groves of aspens are used throughout, and getting caught in them may leave you in a bad place. A scenic, bad place.

Paulie has useful next tee signs on every hole, along with larger orange arrows indicating the hard-to-see positions (some are in the shadows) or around doglegs.
The elevation didn't seem as bad here, and the hike isn't as tough as at Conifer or Magic Meadows.

Scenery could be worse.
Cons: Distance is really emphasized here, more than you may think based on the stated distances. You generally need a long, accurate drive that puts you in a position to have an open look at the hole. This is a useful skill to have, but it doesn't make for my favorite sort of course. I could have used a few more deuce-or-die holes. I've played all the courses in the area with friends, and the biggest arms score better here (this isn't always the case at Phantom Falls or Magic Meadows)

Note that this was created as a championship caliber course for the state championships a few years ago, so the distance is understandable. And there are plenty of great courses in the area with shorter holes.

No tee signs here since the course isn't permanent. If I wasn't with friends who had played, I think I would have had trouble determining where some of the baskets were (not every hole has the orange arrows).
Other Thoughts: It's $5 to play, and the course is not open starting around October through the late spring. The main reason is that cattle graze in pastures in the offseason, and they like to scratch themselves on the baskets and end up damaging them. This is kind of funny to picture.
The Conifer/Pine/Bailey area has quickly become a disc golf destination. Come and play all the courses. I'll still rank Conifer at the top of the list just because it has so many signature holes, but you shouldn't be disappointed by any of these.

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Where to begin?

1    10/1/2012   10/2/2012
Review By: VeloRandy
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The location of this course is perfect and the overall layout was designed pretty well. There are plenty of trees and changes in terrain that make this an above average mountain course.
Cons: Where to begin? No really, where the heck is the first tee? No maps on table made this course a little difficult and we may have left if we didn't find a course map on the smartphone. Navigation was a bit tough at times but not impossible.
Other Thoughts: A little course and hole information would be nice. I know this is a new course and still a work in progress.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great tourney style course

1    8/14/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: Sandman1981
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome layout! Technical course that opens up for the long bombers in your bag. Holes are spaced great so as not to interfere with other players, it flows well and is adequately marked. A must play.
Cons: Cow patties suck whether they are dry or not. The seasonal aspect is not great, but its open for long enough that you have time to get up there. Did not enjoy going OBO 30ft from the pin, but throwers fault. Baskets need to be upgraded so donations above the recommended are welcome!
Other Thoughts: First time out kicked my butt as do any technical courses but I look forward to reducing my score the next round knowing the lines better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!!!

2-4    8/5/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 122  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of variety in the distance of holes on the course
-Good amount of elevation change, whether it is straight downhill, slight up or downhill, across a side hill or up a steep hill.
-Great use of the trees and rocks, and other natural features that this property has in abundance
-Map a the table where you pay
-This course is a lot of fun to play because of the fun hole design
Cons: Just a note before the cons, many of these cons are probably mostly due to the current non-permanence of the course
-Without the map or someone who has played the course before it can be very hard to find the next tee pad, as there are not much of a path between the holes and very few of the holes have tee-signs as mentioned before
-There are no bathrooms or benches or any other facilities
-As mentioned in the pros the tee pads are just dirt (they are in good shape for natural teepads)
-There is a motley assortment of baskets (including some innova travelers but all of the baskets work and catch the disc pretty well)
-The trees can easily eat a disc
Other Thoughts: This course is mostly definitely worth the $5 dollars to play the course. As stated above many of the cons are due to the non permanence of the course. I really hope this course eventually gets made permanent because it could easily be one of the best courses out there. Make sure you make a trip up to this awesome course before it gets pulled again.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.