Bailey, CO 
Bailey DGC Share
Uploaded By: andylibrande Hole #9 (Taken 7/2012)
4 / 385ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket - big uphill hole to tricky basket



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
One of the best Rocky Mtn courses around!

5+    4/12/2015   4/20/2015
Review By: gratefulart
Played: 41  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Shot diversity. After a hike up to the tee on hole 1 to get your blood running, an epic steep down hill cliff shot awaits you. Then immediately your approach shot to the pin is uphill and into the woods. After hole 1, which is usually played as a par 4, hole 2 is a tightly wooded, low canopy hole that some can reach with a putter. The entire course changes continuously in this way. No way you can get bored. 3 different cliff shots. Open fields. Tight woods. Up and over, low canopy. Its all there. Even straight up hill near the end to test your stamina.
+Fairways do not overlap
+Baskets. In good condition. Catch well. Level in their placements. Strategic, challenging, and visible in their placements as well.
+Big arms come one come all. The O.B. around the course is the fence line on certain holes that occasionally come into play. But most of the course plays long. More holes than not give you the ability to stretch out your drives, which isn't that common for playing up in steep altitude.
+It is easy to omit holes if you are in a hurry or whatever. Multiple locations on the course allows you to skip holes without have to hike excessively to reach your desired tee.
+Elevation change. Stretch your legs, you will be in for a hike.
+Mountain views. Epic to say the least. I don't need to explain why such views make disc golf more enjoyable.
+Easy to navigate course. Go yellow arrows!
+Clean +Nice people +Dogs are allowed +Near the highway
Cons: -NO SEASON PASSES ?!? As a local who lives 7 minutes away, I could and sometimes do play this course 4-5 times a week. That will get unreasonably costly over the year. thats easily over $50 a month! Something needs to be done about this, for locals at the least.
-Tee pads. They really aren't all that bad unless it rains heavy. But put some concrete tee pads on this course and it will be easily be one of the best courses in the state if it isn't already.
-No smoking/ drinking policy. I understand it is part of school property, but it's still nice to burn one when you want and/or drink a beer if desired.
Other Thoughts: I don't think its fair to add "Windy" to the con list since it is common, especially in Colorado. But the wind here is often extreme. So bring all your disc and equip your bag when you assess the wind after you get there.
This is the most challenging course for me up in this area. Be prepared for your skill to be put to the test. Have fun!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic and just $5

1    9/27/2014   9/27/2014
Review By: chips n salsa
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Minimal voluntary donation of $5 gets you on the course, awesome layout, beautiful views, challenging holes, map and scorecard available, killer course.
Cons: This is the mountains so bring a rain jacket or at least an extra layer. Started raining on me halfway through. Stretch beforehand and know now how to hike up and down steep terrain. Long drive (almost an hour) from Denver to Bailey.
Other Thoughts: This course is a nice hike even if you aren't throwing.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Big boy mountain golf!

1    8/6/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 220  Reviewed: 167  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2015
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -phenomenal layout in an amazing, picturesque, mountain setting
-tons of challenging holes over a variety of distances (mostly longer)
-huge elevation that is used to great effect off the tees, in the fairways, and on the greens
-requires accurate distance & line shaping to score well (not easy at 8k feet!)
Cons: -ephemeral nature of a private course, and limited availability
-natural tees (in good condition)
-no signs

the cons mainly stem from the fact that the course is on private land and it is unavailable a better part of the year. it almost seems like the course exists in a partially unfinished state. if you can see past that, live with the natural tees (that work great!), and play with a guide then the course experience is perfect.

-mostly longer holes, or at least it feels/plays that way at this altitude, but there are 6 holes under 300' and plenty of local courses nearby that do the par 3 style golf better anyway
-mixed baskets but they are all in good condition and it didn't bother me a bit
-it's a serious hike, good shoes are a must and you'll need to be in decent condition
Other Thoughts: Wow! Now this is the course that I expected out of Colorado mountain golf and was disappointed until finally making it here. Bailey is a big boy course set in the most perfect, picturesque mountain setting, like a Texas course in the Rocky Mountains.

Pulling up to the course and seeing the huge slopes through the mountain valley, the peaks beyond, large swaths of mature trees, and even the odd deer really got me excited about this round and stepping up to the first tee quickly accelerated that mood. The course opens with a ridiculous 700' hole off the side of a hill with an enormous elevation drop (100' or more?). It sets the tone for the round and will also quickly teach you a thing or two about throwing a disc at 8,000'. You had better have brought your understable plastic!

The course proceeds through a wide variety of elevation changes up, down, and across, running the gamut of fairway shapes, and always challenging you with tricky, well-thought greens. The elevation provides challenges off the tee and on the green and also affects where you want to land in the fairway for your next shot. I really can't say enough good things about how the elevation, trees, and rocky outcroppings are used to great effect on this course.

The one area where Bailey lacks is in the finishing touches. The pads are natural but in good condition. There are no signs and navigation can be tricky without a guide. This is the result of the course's temporary nature and limited availability. I am curious to see how things go in the future since the reopening of the course.

I really want to rate this course a 5. Personally, amenities are not a big deal to me so long as I'm not tripping on rocks or roots on uneven natural tees. The quality of the golf and the beauty and secluded feel of the setting far outweigh the trimmings and this course delivers big time on design, challenge, and aesthetics. Maybe someday it will get the tees and signs and I'll be back to change this rating to a 5.

So far, this is my favorite course I've played in Colorado and easily in my own top 10. It is definitely a destination course on it's own but it's a no brainer with Beaver Ranch, Phantom Falls, and Bucksnort in the same area. Bigger arms will love this course. Out of state people who think Colorado courses are short will love this course. If you play disc golf and have a pulse you will love this course.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Comparison to Beaver Ranch

1    6/13/2014   6/13/2014
Review By: RDHan
Played: 52  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Visiting from Illinois we had a chance to play Beaver Ranch and Bailey this week.
Here are some hints if you can only choose one to play.

First off they are both great courses. Two of the best I have ever played. In terms of the actual courses they are both a ton of fun and well designed and laid out. Bailey has more consistently longer holes, however, so much greater need to be able to drive longer distances. This was a bit frustrating for my wife who found herself skipping more holes just because they were so long. Both courses can be strenous with lots of uphill and downhill. You will find the need for lots of different types of shots and discs at both courses. Though it is possible to lose a disc, for the most part neither is so overgrown that even in errant disc cannot be found with a little searching. Both had holes that required accuracy but it was alway clear that there was a line to take to the whole (unlike some courses where you sometimes feel your only option is throw and pray it can find a way through). Both course are very worth the $5 donation and it is obvious those donations are going back into the courses to continue to make improvements. Both courses are in beuatiful locations with great scenery.
Cons: In comparison with Beaver Ranch you will find the following as cons at Bailey. At this point Bailey has no one to welcome you, just a box for donations and a couple chairs out in the open. It has dirt tee pads. They are hoping to bring these improvements to the course in the coming year, however. The lack of these things did not decrease the fun or challange of the course for me (but if it is after a large rain the tee pads might not be so easy to use). As mentioned, for beginners some of these are very long holes (though you might just see this as more opportunity to practice throwing).
Other Thoughts: Another recommendation. If you are not as in shape make sure to get a map at the beginning of each course. Each course has an extreme downhill shot followed by a few holes where you have to climb all the way back up. If you refer to your map, however, these holes can be bypassed which will help save legs.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    7/30/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: fireodie
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This is a great course with long shots and great holes. The walk through the meadow and up the ridge is nice.
Cons: The map could be updated. Also a better marker for the first hole would have saved me twenty minutes of wandering around the mountain (Its not the path west of the parking lot). The Tee boxes are a work in progress and when completed they will make the course stellar.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Almost There

1    10/15/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 352  Reviewed: 345  Exp: 6.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful Mountain scenery, great western feel.
-Awesome downhill shots. Hole 1 and 20 are some of the better downhills I have seen. Elevation is one of my favorite things in a disc golf course.
-Great variations of shot length. Some ace runs and some long shots. Some shots are left, some are right, some are straight. Only one tee shot was really easy and it was labeled as an ace run on the scorecard. Every hole is different and all were interesting to me.
-Near Conifer Park and Phantom Falls, a true disc golf destination.
-This course is quite challenging with the elevation, trees, rocky areas around the greens and fast greens.
-Foothill flyers is a great club and I'm sure this course will continue to get better and better.
-Map/scorecard at the start
Cons: -There is every kind of disc golf basket out there. Mach-14, Mach-IV, Disccatcher, and a bunch that I didn't recognize.
-Natural tees are ok with me but these are getting very dusty. They could be a huge mud pit if it rained.
-Navigation was ok, I think it would be ok if I played again but the first time it was a bit hard.
-This course is a bit rougher around the edges than BR/CP. It was easier to lose a disc or get lost. I expect that this will improve as time goes.
-Great courses can be crowded, this one didn't seem to see quite as much traffic as CP.
-It is a temp course so make sure it is open before you play. They were open this past weekend and were hosting a tourney next weekend. It has good southern exposure so it should be open pretty long.
-Signage could be better and like other areas- I'm sure it will be.
Other Thoughts: -This course does request a donation of $5 as they rent the land and I'm sure they would like to make improvements- tees and baskets.
-If you do play another one of the quality courses around here, have water and a snack or two. It can get long and tiring.
-I hope to get back and play this course a few times while I am living in Wyo. If I play again and they have made improvements I might have to adjust the rating to a 5. They layout is legit but to truly be perfect they will need better baskets, tees, signs, etc.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Bailey!

1    0/0/0000   10/15/2012
Review By: ryanbutel
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2012
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This couse was fun as hell! Not many people playing which made it more relaxing and feel the least bit rushed! The pin placements were sooo creative and so fun to throw! Definitely requires a good amount of different discs from your bag. A long fun hike. Dog Friendly.
Cons: - loose dirt at the tee pads
- 33 mi from Denver
- non descriptive tee pad signs
Other Thoughts: Loved It!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  AWESOME!

1    8/25/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: bmanacana
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course offers players long drive shots that must take precision every time. Also the baskets are set up in a way that is unique and challenging. Heck, one whole on recollection was behind a mound of boulders that you cannot see from tee box. Tough shot!
Cons: Playing with a lot of people can get distracting. You might loose your disc. Really, there are none, this course is amazing.
Other Thoughts: Please donate every time you play. This course is one of the best in Colorado so treat it as such.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing championship level course

5+    8/18/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: EvergreenJC
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 8/22/2012
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has everything you could want. Challenging course with a great layout. You'll have a few ace opportunities as well as a few holes that you can give it all you've got. 3 major bomber holes!! The views are great. The donations go right back into the course.
Cons: Needs a few upgrades to 3-4 baskets which will happen soon with continued donations.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the trip to play this course. Maybe not for first time golfers but everyone else will really enjoy this course.

First timers to this course should allow for 2.5-3 hours to play and as you learn the course it can be played in 2 hours.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/16/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 73  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Some of the coolest shots I've ever seen. Huge elevation change, excellent basket placement, tight tree shots. Every kind of shot you can ask for.
Cons: Would like to see concrete tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Great addition to the area. Much more accessible than conifer and phantom falls.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.