Disc Golf Center
Bailey, CO 
Bailey DGC Share
Uploaded By: andylibrande Hole #20 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 512ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #20 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Amazing

1    7/23/2016   7/23/2016
Review By: Parataxis
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Everything.
Long bomber drives.
Good mix of uphill and downhill drives.
Good selection of tree runs.
Beautiful setting.
Best in the area for the price (please actually donate $5!)
Cons: I'm really scratching my head on this one... I guess the one thing that comes to mind is the tees. I actually am happy that they're not cement (this is a mountain course after all) but some have gotten a touch eroded.
Other Thoughts: This course is amazing. It has wide open downhill drives that will make you grin as soon as you take them in, short tree runs, long tree runs... I think I found my favorite course in the front range, hands down.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tee Pads would put this course over the top

1    7/3/2016   7/3/2016
Review By: jcardozo
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A great mix of elevation change holes, tight fairway shots, birdie opportunities, and a few wide open shots. This course was challenging but absolutely beautiful. Signs pointing to the next hole are very helpful and the course is well maintained with no real disc losing opportunities. I rate it higher than beaver ranch for that reason... plus, better mountain views!
Cons: First of all, as the title suggests, there are no cement tee pads. Tees are clearly defined but can get a little slippery/muddy after a rain day. Secondly, I'd advise you to go with someone who has played before. A couple shots dog leg in a way that makes the pin impossible to see from the tee. Walk it out if you're unsure!
Other Thoughts: This pay to play is definitely worth it but bring exact change. There's no guy collecting money (and therefore you can't get change). it's just a lockbox.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

jaw dropping views

1    9/13/2015   9/14/2015
Review By: blazerico
Played: 234  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 11.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: what a great view you have while playing. not sure what that knob is called, but it makes a great backdrop to some awesome disc golf. I had the place to myself on a sunday, which I thought was really strange considering how great this place is, but I didn't mind one bit. 1,16,20 are huge bomber holes mixed in with a bunch of short to average length, technical holes. gladly donated $5 to play here
Cons: the map and hole length info doesn't match up on a few holes, #5 in particular, map shows dogleg right and 350', but it is straight and probably 400+. the walk up to hole one is brutal for someone that lives at sea level, but it makes for possibly the most epic starting hole in dg.
Other Thoughts: I would give it a 4.75 if I could, but can't justify 5/5 after playing beaver the other day

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Epic Disc Golf

1    7/8/2015   9/9/2015
Review By: k9disc
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Huge elevation changes. Spectacular views.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to back off on your overstable discs here. They don't fly well at elevation. You should be in good shape as well. The mountain hike is physically challenging.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Long Bomb Mountain Course

1    6/6/2015   7/8/2015
Review By: SteLaG
Played: 75  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome mountain course that pretty much has it all. Lots of super long bombs that really make the course a challenge. A lot of the pins are tucked into these really cool natural rock formations. These types of holes really make the course a special place. This course was one of the more challenging courses I have ever played, but I consider that a good thing.
Cons: I realize that the course is newer, but I am not huge fan of the dirt tee pads. Some of the tee pads have already eroded away which makes this course even more challenging than it already is. For a course this long something more permanent should really be installed. They have no way of checking that anyone has actually payed to play the course. One sign says something about a donation and another says $5.00 to play, which one is it? If they really want to charge people they should make it clear, and have some sort of envelope system that gives you a receipt. Besides the tee pads the course really has no cons.
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome, but it could be better with some minor updates. They should really get that pay box situation figured out so they can actually generate the money to make the improvements. If people read the sign as a donation, I doubt they will put any money. If they read it as I have to pay to play and I get this receipt to prove it, they will make much more money and the course will be better off. I hope whoever manages this course can fix the situation. It has potential to be a very special place!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best Rocky Mtn courses around!

5+    4/12/2015   4/20/2015
Review By: gratefulart
Played: 77  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Shot diversity. After a hike up to the tee on hole 1 to get your blood running, an epic steep down hill cliff shot awaits you. Then immediately your approach shot to the pin is uphill and into the woods. After hole 1, which is usually played as a par 4, hole 2 is a tightly wooded, low canopy hole that some can reach with a putter. The entire course changes continuously in this way. No way you can get bored. 3 different cliff shots. Open fields. Tight woods. Up and over, low canopy. Its all there. Even straight up hill near the end to test your stamina.
+Fairways do not overlap
+Baskets. In good condition. Catch well. Level in their placements. Strategic, challenging, and visible in their placements as well.
+Big arms come one come all. The O.B. around the course is the fence line on certain holes that occasionally come into play. But most of the course plays long. More holes than not give you the ability to stretch out your drives, which isn't that common for playing up in steep altitude.
+It is easy to omit holes if you are in a hurry or whatever. Multiple locations on the course allows you to skip holes without have to hike excessively to reach your desired tee.
+Elevation change. Stretch your legs, you will be in for a hike.
+Mountain views. Epic to say the least. I don't need to explain why such views make disc golf more enjoyable.
+Easy to navigate course. Go yellow arrows!
+Clean +Nice people +Dogs are allowed +Near the highway
Cons: -NO SEASON PASSES ?!? As a local who lives 7 minutes away, I could and sometimes do play this course 4-5 times a week. That will get unreasonably costly over the year. thats easily over $50 a month! Something needs to be done about this, for locals at the least.
-Tee pads. They really aren't all that bad unless it rains heavy. But put some concrete tee pads on this course and it will be easily be one of the best courses in the state if it isn't already.
-No smoking/ drinking policy. I understand it is part of school property, but it's still nice to burn one when you want and/or drink a beer if desired.
Other Thoughts: I don't think its fair to add "Windy" to the con list since it is common, especially in Colorado. But the wind here is often extreme. So bring all your disc and equip your bag when you assess the wind after you get there.
This is the most challenging course for me up in this area. Be prepared for your skill to be put to the test. Have fun!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic and just $5

1    9/27/2014   9/27/2014
Review By: chips n salsa
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Minimal voluntary donation of $5 gets you on the course, awesome layout, beautiful views, challenging holes, map and scorecard available, killer course.
Cons: This is the mountains so bring a rain jacket or at least an extra layer. Started raining on me halfway through. Stretch beforehand and know now how to hike up and down steep terrain. Long drive (almost an hour) from Denver to Bailey.
Other Thoughts: This course is a nice hike even if you aren't throwing.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Big boy mountain golf!

1    8/6/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 253  Reviewed: 188  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2015
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -phenomenal layout in an amazing, picturesque, mountain setting
-tons of challenging holes over a variety of distances (mostly longer)
-huge elevation that is used to great effect off the tees, in the fairways, and on the greens
-requires accurate distance & line shaping to score well (not easy at 8k feet!)
Cons: -ephemeral nature of a private course, and limited availability
-natural tees (in good condition)
-no signs

the cons mainly stem from the fact that the course is on private land and it is unavailable a better part of the year. it almost seems like the course exists in a partially unfinished state. if you can see past that, live with the natural tees (that work great!), and play with a guide then the course experience is perfect.

-mostly longer holes, or at least it feels/plays that way at this altitude, but there are 6 holes under 300' and plenty of local courses nearby that do the par 3 style golf better anyway
-mixed baskets but they are all in good condition and it didn't bother me a bit
-it's a serious hike, good shoes are a must and you'll need to be in decent condition
Other Thoughts: Wow! Now this is the course that I expected out of Colorado mountain golf and was disappointed until finally making it here. Bailey is a big boy course set in the most perfect, picturesque mountain setting, like a Texas course in the Rocky Mountains.

Pulling up to the course and seeing the huge slopes through the mountain valley, the peaks beyond, large swaths of mature trees, and even the odd deer really got me excited about this round and stepping up to the first tee quickly accelerated that mood. The course opens with a ridiculous 700' hole off the side of a hill with an enormous elevation drop (100' or more?). It sets the tone for the round and will also quickly teach you a thing or two about throwing a disc at 8,000'. You had better have brought your understable plastic!

The course proceeds through a wide variety of elevation changes up, down, and across, running the gamut of fairway shapes, and always challenging you with tricky, well-thought greens. The elevation provides challenges off the tee and on the green and also affects where you want to land in the fairway for your next shot. I really can't say enough good things about how the elevation, trees, and rocky outcroppings are used to great effect on this course.

The one area where Bailey lacks is in the finishing touches. The pads are natural but in good condition. There are no signs and navigation can be tricky without a guide. This is the result of the course's temporary nature and limited availability. I am curious to see how things go in the future since the reopening of the course.

I really want to rate this course a 5. Personally, amenities are not a big deal to me so long as I'm not tripping on rocks or roots on uneven natural tees. The quality of the golf and the beauty and secluded feel of the setting far outweigh the trimmings and this course delivers big time on design, challenge, and aesthetics. Maybe someday it will get the tees and signs and I'll be back to change this rating to a 5.

So far, this is my favorite course I've played in Colorado and easily in my own top 10. It is definitely a destination course on it's own but it's a no brainer with Beaver Ranch, Phantom Falls, and Bucksnort in the same area. Bigger arms will love this course. Out of state people who think Colorado courses are short will love this course. If you play disc golf and have a pulse you will love this course.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Comparison to Beaver Ranch

1    6/13/2014   6/13/2014
Review By: RDHan
Played: 97  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2014
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Visiting from Illinois we had a chance to play Beaver Ranch and Bailey this week.
Here are some hints if you can only choose one to play.

First off they are both great courses. Two of the best I have ever played. In terms of the actual courses they are both a ton of fun and well designed and laid out. Bailey has more consistently longer holes, however, so much greater need to be able to drive longer distances. This was a bit frustrating for my wife who found herself skipping more holes just because they were so long. Both courses can be strenous with lots of uphill and downhill. You will find the need for lots of different types of shots and discs at both courses. Though it is possible to lose a disc, for the most part neither is so overgrown that even in errant disc cannot be found with a little searching. Both had holes that required accuracy but it was alway clear that there was a line to take to the whole (unlike some courses where you sometimes feel your only option is throw and pray it can find a way through). Both course are very worth the $5 donation and it is obvious those donations are going back into the courses to continue to make improvements. Both courses are in beuatiful locations with great scenery.
Cons: In comparison with Beaver Ranch you will find the following as cons at Bailey. At this point Bailey has no one to welcome you, just a box for donations and a couple chairs out in the open. It has dirt tee pads. They are hoping to bring these improvements to the course in the coming year, however. The lack of these things did not decrease the fun or challange of the course for me (but if it is after a large rain the tee pads might not be so easy to use). As mentioned, for beginners some of these are very long holes (though you might just see this as more opportunity to practice throwing).
Other Thoughts: Another recommendation. If you are not as in shape make sure to get a map at the beginning of each course. Each course has an extreme downhill shot followed by a few holes where you have to climb all the way back up. If you refer to your map, however, these holes can be bypassed which will help save legs.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/30/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: fireodie
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This is a great course with long shots and great holes. The walk through the meadow and up the ridge is nice.
Cons: The map could be updated. Also a better marker for the first hole would have saved me twenty minutes of wandering around the mountain (Its not the path west of the parking lot). The Tee boxes are a work in progress and when completed they will make the course stellar.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.