Disc Golf Store
Bailey, CO 
Bailey DGC Share
Uploaded By: andylibrande Hole #6 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 385ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Comparison to Beaver Ranch

1    6/13/2014   6/13/2014
Review By: RDHan
Played: 39  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Visiting from Illinois we had a chance to play Beaver Ranch and Bailey this week.
Here are some hints if you can only choose one to play.

First off they are both great courses. Two of the best I have ever played. In terms of the actual courses they are both a ton of fun and well designed and laid out. Bailey has more consistently longer holes, however, so much greater need to be able to drive longer distances. This was a bit frustrating for my wife who found herself skipping more holes just because they were so long. Both courses can be strenous with lots of uphill and downhill. You will find the need for lots of different types of shots and discs at both courses. Though it is possible to lose a disc, for the most part neither is so overgrown that even in errant disc cannot be found with a little searching. Both had holes that required accuracy but it was alway clear that there was a line to take to the whole (unlike some courses where you sometimes feel your only option is throw and pray it can find a way through). Both course are very worth the $5 donation and it is obvious those donations are going back into the courses to continue to make improvements. Both courses are in beuatiful locations with great scenery.
Cons: In comparison with Beaver Ranch you will find the following as cons at Bailey. At this point Bailey has no one to welcome you, just a box for donations and a couple chairs out in the open. It has dirt tee pads. They are hoping to bring these improvements to the course in the coming year, however. The lack of these things did not decrease the fun or challange of the course for me (but if it is after a large rain the tee pads might not be so easy to use). As mentioned, for beginners some of these are very long holes (though you might just see this as more opportunity to practice throwing).
Other Thoughts: Another recommendation. If you are not as in shape make sure to get a map at the beginning of each course. Each course has an extreme downhill shot followed by a few holes where you have to climb all the way back up. If you refer to your map, however, these holes can be bypassed which will help save legs.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    7/30/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: fireodie
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This is a great course with long shots and great holes. The walk through the meadow and up the ridge is nice.
Cons: The map could be updated. Also a better marker for the first hole would have saved me twenty minutes of wandering around the mountain (Its not the path west of the parking lot). The Tee boxes are a work in progress and when completed they will make the course stellar.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

An Awesome Colorado Mountain DG Course

5+    10/2/2012   2/24/2013
Review By: paulrothley@msn.com
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2013
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very Long and challenging course that incorporates many of the natural rock outcroppings and elevation to it's advantage. This is a VERY well designed, and Uber-fun course. The new GOLD Disc-In baskets are awesome. If you come up to the DG utopia knows as the 285 corridor, this is one of the "must plays" along with Conifer/Beaver Ranch, Phantom Falls, Magic Meadows, and Bucksnort DG courses.
Cons: Seasonal opening (June to Oct)
Other Thoughts: 5 high quality DG courses in the Colorado mountains all within 14 miles of each other make for an AWESOME DG destination vacation.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Almost There

1    10/15/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 347  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful Mountain scenery, great western feel.
-Awesome downhill shots. Hole 1 and 20 are some of the better downhills I have seen. Elevation is one of my favorite things in a disc golf course.
-Great variations of shot length. Some ace runs and some long shots. Some shots are left, some are right, some are straight. Only one tee shot was really easy and it was labeled as an ace run on the scorecard. Every hole is different and all were interesting to me.
-Near Conifer Park and Phantom Falls, a true disc golf destination.
-This course is quite challenging with the elevation, trees, rocky areas around the greens and fast greens.
-Foothill flyers is a great club and I'm sure this course will continue to get better and better.
-Map/scorecard at the start
Cons: -There is every kind of disc golf basket out there. Mach-14, Mach-IV, Disccatcher, and a bunch that I didn't recognize.
-Natural tees are ok with me but these are getting very dusty. They could be a huge mud pit if it rained.
-Navigation was ok, I think it would be ok if I played again but the first time it was a bit hard.
-This course is a bit rougher around the edges than BR/CP. It was easier to lose a disc or get lost. I expect that this will improve as time goes.
-Great courses can be crowded, this one didn't seem to see quite as much traffic as CP.
-It is a temp course so make sure it is open before you play. They were open this past weekend and were hosting a tourney next weekend. It has good southern exposure so it should be open pretty long.
-Signage could be better and like other areas- I'm sure it will be.
Other Thoughts: -This course does request a donation of $5 as they rent the land and I'm sure they would like to make improvements- tees and baskets.
-If you do play another one of the quality courses around here, have water and a snack or two. It can get long and tiring.
-I hope to get back and play this course a few times while I am living in Wyo. If I play again and they have made improvements I might have to adjust the rating to a 5. They layout is legit but to truly be perfect they will need better baskets, tees, signs, etc.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Bailey!

1    0/0/0000   10/15/2012
Review By: ryanbutel
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2012
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This couse was fun as hell! Not many people playing which made it more relaxing and feel the least bit rushed! The pin placements were sooo creative and so fun to throw! Definitely requires a good amount of different discs from your bag. A long fun hike. Dog Friendly.
Cons: - loose dirt at the tee pads
- 33 mi from Denver
- non descriptive tee pad signs
Other Thoughts: Loved It!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  AWESOME!

1    8/25/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: bmanacana
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course offers players long drive shots that must take precision every time. Also the baskets are set up in a way that is unique and challenging. Heck, one whole on recollection was behind a mound of boulders that you cannot see from tee box. Tough shot!
Cons: Playing with a lot of people can get distracting. You might loose your disc. Really, there are none, this course is amazing.
Other Thoughts: Please donate every time you play. This course is one of the best in Colorado so treat it as such.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing championship level course

5+    8/18/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: EvergreenJC
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 8/22/2012
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has everything you could want. Challenging course with a great layout. You'll have a few ace opportunities as well as a few holes that you can give it all you've got. 3 major bomber holes!! The views are great. The donations go right back into the course.
Cons: Needs a few upgrades to 3-4 baskets which will happen soon with continued donations.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the trip to play this course. Maybe not for first time golfers but everyone else will really enjoy this course.

First timers to this course should allow for 2.5-3 hours to play and as you learn the course it can be played in 2 hours.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/16/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 63  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Some of the coolest shots I've ever seen. Huge elevation change, excellent basket placement, tight tree shots. Every kind of shot you can ask for.
Cons: Would like to see concrete tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Great addition to the area. Much more accessible than conifer and phantom falls.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great course!

5+    7/4/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: andylibrande
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a big mountain course that essentially is an advanced version of the Beaver Ranch course. The views of the surrounding mountain vistas are top-notch as you really get to see the rock formations that make up the South Platte. The course is full of aspens and huge pine trees and once you get off of the first couple holes you are nicely isolated.

The logical choice is to compare against Beaver Ranch (ie Conifer), however Bailey is a completely different course. It is significantly longer (avg hole length ~370 ft vs ~280 ft at Beaver Ranch), total length is huge (7,400 ft vs ~5,600 ft), at least 10 holes you are driving uphill, 14 holes above 300ft (vs ~9 at BR), and has several par 4 holes. I have played Conifer a lot over the last 3-4 yrs and this course kicked our asses the first time but it was awesome.

Some other perks are the are 3 bomb holes which are a lot of fun (think hole #17 at Conifer x3), great dirt tee-pads in some unique locations, incredible pin placements on most of the holes (tucked into rocks, or in tree groves, or in front of incredible views), more rocks and boulders on the course, and a mix of different foliage depending on the holes.

Signage was adequate and the provided maps work really well; directions on the course were helpful considering everything is temporary. Trails between holes are becoming more established. Most holes you can spot the pin from around the tee-pad but some require scouting them.

Takes only 10 mins longer to drive there then Beaver Ranch
Cons: Facilities or toilets are non-existent which is totally fine with me but be prepared.
Other Thoughts: First time took us 2:30 to 3 hrs to complete course as a group of 4.

There is a loaf'n jug gas station just past the turn-off on Rosalie that is easy to get in and out of and has reasonable gas prices.

Baskets currently are a mix from nice permanent baskets to mobile temporary baskets, to homemade(?) rebar baskets.

No problems finding discs but the course was incredibly dry due to lack of rain. If we get any rain I could see the grasses growing quite a bit making it hard to find discs.

NOTE: On the map that is online the tee and basket are flipped on #13 and #15, being that the tee should start where the basket is labeled on both of those holes. At the parking lot should be maps and those show the correct tee-locations so follow that.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Wow what a course!!

2-4    7/12/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: wildwalter3
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Where to begin. Huge drives, well thought out holes, great fairways, and killer pin placements. The tees are in great condition and the holes are easy to find and follow. The pins were placed where I would have placed them if it were my land. Truly a challenging and amazing setup! A must do!!
Cons: The seasonal thang .
Other Thoughts: If you are tired of the hoo-hum courses of the front range then this course if for you. It's top 3 for me and was super fun to play. Just be ready because it will bring every shot out of your bag for sure!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.