Bailey, CO 
Bailey DGC Share
Uploaded By: andylibrande Hole #20 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 512ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #20 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
One of the best Mountain Courses

5+    10/12/2014   10/17/2014
Review By: Dan13LP
Played: 45  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Phenomenal layout. This course will make you throw every shot in your bag. There are long holes, short holes, open holes, tight holes, RHBH hyzers, flick shots, it's got a great variety of everything.
-Even though this course is "temporary" and on private land, it is marked incredibly well. There are tee-signs from past tournaments, and yellow arrow markers everywhere that make following the course very easy.
-All of the baskets are in great condition and catch well.
-Lot's of elevation change, which offer up some amazing huge, downhill bomber shots, not one, but three on holes 1, 16, and 20!
-Unique/awesome basket placements on several holes. 3, 6, 9, and 17 come to mind. All of these baskets are placed in between boulders/on the side of a mountain. This is actually one of the benefits of being able to use non-permanent baskets!
-Although the tee pads are all natural pads, they are in really great condition. They're all very flat, and plenty long. It's easy to get good footing on those holes where you really need to let it rip.
-This goes with the first pro, but the course design is incredible. The front 10 for the most part (excluding 2 and 8) are mostly longer, open holes, and on the back 10 for the most part, it tightens up a bit. I feel this adds a good balance for players who favor huge long holes vs. those whole like tight, accurate shorter holes. There's something for everybody here.
-The views on this course are incredible! When you're up at the highest point on some of those huge downhill shots, you can see for miles on a clear day!
Cons: -There really aren't any cons here. I could complain about the natural tee pads, and the fact that there aren't any benches or things like that, but the sheer caliber of this disc golf course out weighs any cons.
Other Thoughts: Since this is a "temporary" course that is owned by the school district, this is a pack it in, pack it out course. The only trash cans located on the course itself (other than at the check-in area) are on hole 10, right in the middle of the course. So if you have any trash, hold onto to either hole 10, or the very end, or better yet, pack it in, and pack it out. This course is $5 pay to play, and all of the money goes directly toward keeping the course open and general maintenance. If you are in the area, and love to play disc golf, this is a must play course!!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Bomber Course

1    9/13/2014   10/2/2014
Review By: xskatx
Played: 16  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely fantastic. Truly a beautiful area of CO to play and this course is very spread out. The things I liked most about the course is that it is very challenging with long holes and elevation changes, yet the hike isn't bad at all. Some great courses are well designed and cool but the hike is so intense it makes playing less enjoyable; not the case with this course. We went out on a Sat afternoon and didn't see anyone else the whole day. Very cool layout and awesome scenery to enjoy while you play.
Cons: The only bad thing I can say is that some of the hole layouts weren't the best. I enjoy the possibility of being able to get though trees without just hacking though them. This happened on a few holes that I thought they could have easily placed the basket in a better location. It's hard enough of a course as it is. Otherwise the pros greatly outweigh the cons

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Big boy mountain golf!

1    8/6/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 214  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -phenomenal layout in an amazing, picturesque, mountain setting
-tons of challenging holes over a variety of distances (mostly longer)
-huge elevation that is used to great effect off the tees, in the fairways, and on the greens
-requires accurate distance & line shaping to score well (not easy at 8k feet!)
Cons: -ephemeral nature of a private course, and limited availability
-natural tees (in good condition)
-no signs

the cons mainly stem from the fact that the course is on private land and it is unavailable a better part of the year. it almost seems like the course exists in a partially unfinished state. if you can see past that, live with the natural tees (that work great!), and play with a guide then the course experience is perfect.

-mostly longer holes, or at least it feels/plays that way at this altitude, but there are 6 holes under 300' and plenty of local courses nearby that do the par 3 style golf better anyway
-mixed baskets but they are all in good condition and it didn't bother me a bit
-it's a serious hike, good shoes are a must and you'll need to be in decent condition
Other Thoughts: Wow! Now this is the course that I expected out of Colorado mountain golf and was disappointed until finally making it here. Bailey is a big boy course set in the most perfect, picturesque mountain setting, like a Texas course in the Rocky Mountains.

Pulling up to the course and seeing the huge slopes through the mountain valley, the peaks beyond, large swaths of mature trees, and even the odd deer really got me excited about this round and stepping up to the first tee quickly accelerated that mood. The course opens with a ridiculous 700' hole off the side of a hill with an enormous elevation drop (100' or more?). It sets the tone for the round and will also quickly teach you a thing or two about throwing a disc at 8,000'. You had better have brought your understable plastic!

The course proceeds through a wide variety of elevation changes up, down, and across, running the gamut of fairway shapes, and always challenging you with tricky, well-thought greens. The elevation provides challenges off the tee and on the green and also affects where you want to land in the fairway for your next shot. I really can't say enough good things about how the elevation, trees, and rocky outcroppings are used to great effect on this course.

The one area where Bailey lacks is in the finishing touches. The pads are natural but in good condition. There are no signs and navigation can be tricky without a guide. This is the result of the course's temporary nature and limited availability. I am curious to see how things go in the future since the reopening of the course.

So given these shortcomings, how did I rate this course a 5? Personally, amenities are not a big deal to me so long as I'm not tripping on rocks or roots on uneven natural tees. The quality of the golf and the beauty and secluded feel of the setting far outweigh the trimmings and this course delivers big time on design, challenge, and aesthetics.

So far, this is my favorite course I've played in Colorado and easily in my own top 10. It is definitely a destination course on it's own but it's a no brainer with Beaver Ranch, Phantom Falls, and Bucksnort in the same area. Bigger arms will love this course. Out of state people who think Colorado courses are short will love this course. If you play disc golf and have a pulse you will love this course.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in Colorado!!

2-4    8/18/2013   9/18/2013
Review By: blazo
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.6 Years
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Bailey is an absolutely phenomenal disc golf course. I've played over 100 courses around the country and Bailey is EASILY in my top three, maybe even number one.
Cons: Eventually you'll have to leave this mountain paradise and go back to your boring local course.
Other Thoughts: I'll add more to this review soon, but for now I just wanted to get this out there. Bailey DGC is epic enough for me to strongly recommend booking a flight to Denver as soon as you can! If you live in Colorado, make the drive already!!

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

An Awesome Colorado Mountain DG Course

5+    10/2/2012   2/24/2013
Review By: paulrothley@msn.com
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2014
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very Long and challenging course that incorporates many of the natural rock outcroppings and elevation to it's advantage. This is a VERY well designed, and Uber-fun course. The new GOLD Disc-In baskets are awesome. If you come up to the DG utopia knows as the 285 corridor, this is one of the "must plays" along with Conifer/Beaver Ranch, Phantom Falls, Magic Meadows, and Bucksnort DG courses.
Cons: Seasonal opening (June to Oct)
Other Thoughts: 5 high quality DG courses in the Colorado mountains all within 14 miles of each other make for an AWESOME DG destination vacation.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Bailey Bliss

5+    7/16/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: Brookslord
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I have waited to review this course and I can wait anymore. What can be said about perfection! Its perfect, by far the best course I have played here in Colorado. For five bucks you can not beat the solitude and openness of this gem. The holes are long and technical. Bailey is a hiking course so be prepared to be out there 2-3 hours and bring lots of water, even for the dog, no streams or water hazards. Hole three basket is one of the best, I love the straight shot to the rock outcrop, so cool.
Cons: Are not may Cons to this course. Bring water. The holes on top of the ridge can be a little tuff to navigate so it's a good place to spot your basket before you tee off.
Other Thoughts: Please pay the five bucks to play this place it's really worth every penny. I just want this place to be more than just a summer course, it was wicked depressing when they took it down last . End of summer must have been September or the end of August. So pay the $5 so we ca enjoy this Colorado treat year round!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/4/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: Scottty
Played: 56  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/19/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: So much fun. One of the best courses in the state for sure. Technical, long, elevation, views, it has it all. Plus there are three huge downhill drives (#1,16,20) that make the course worth playing just to unload your bag on these holes.
Cons: Not really a con, but it can be a pain to drive to from Denver. I would Trade the time in the car for waiting at a tee pad at crowded city courses any day of the week though.
Other Thoughts: Bring plenty of water as there is hiking required. It would be awesome if it were permanent. Since it's not please respect the rules of the course (mainly don't smoke out there). Don't be 'that guy' ruined it for everyone and had it pulled.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.