Bailey, CO 
Bailey DGC Share
Uploaded By: andylibrande Hole #12 (Taken 9/2012)
4 / 384ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 AWESOME!

1    8/25/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: bmanacana
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course offers players long drive shots that must take precision every time. Also the baskets are set up in a way that is unique and challenging. Heck, one whole on recollection was behind a mound of boulders that you cannot see from tee box. Tough shot!
Cons: Playing with a lot of people can get distracting. You might loose your disc. Really, there are none, this course is amazing.
Other Thoughts: Please donate every time you play. This course is one of the best in Colorado so treat it as such.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Amazing championship level course

5+    8/18/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: EvergreenJC
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 8/22/2012
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has everything you could want. Challenging course with a great layout. You'll have a few ace opportunities as well as a few holes that you can give it all you've got. 3 major bomber holes!! The views are great. The donations go right back into the course.
Cons: Needs a few upgrades to 3-4 baskets which will happen soon with continued donations.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the trip to play this course. Maybe not for first time golfers but everyone else will really enjoy this course.

First timers to this course should allow for 2.5-3 hours to play and as you learn the course it can be played in 2 hours.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/16/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Some of the coolest shots I've ever seen. Huge elevation change, excellent basket placement, tight tree shots. Every kind of shot you can ask for.
Cons: Would like to see concrete tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Great addition to the area. Much more accessible than conifer and phantom falls.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great course!

5+    7/4/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: andylibrande
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a big mountain course that essentially is an advanced version of the Beaver Ranch course. The views of the surrounding mountain vistas are top-notch as you really get to see the rock formations that make up the South Platte. The course is full of aspens and huge pine trees and once you get off of the first couple holes you are nicely isolated.

The logical choice is to compare against Beaver Ranch (ie Conifer), however Bailey is a completely different course. It is significantly longer (avg hole length ~370 ft vs ~280 ft at Beaver Ranch), total length is huge (7,400 ft vs ~5,600 ft), at least 10 holes you are driving uphill, 14 holes above 300ft (vs ~9 at BR), and has several par 4 holes. I have played Conifer a lot over the last 3-4 yrs and this course kicked our asses the first time but it was awesome.

Some other perks are the are 3 bomb holes which are a lot of fun (think hole #17 at Conifer x3), great dirt tee-pads in some unique locations, incredible pin placements on most of the holes (tucked into rocks, or in tree groves, or in front of incredible views), more rocks and boulders on the course, and a mix of different foliage depending on the holes.

Signage was adequate and the provided maps work really well; directions on the course were helpful considering everything is temporary. Trails between holes are becoming more established. Most holes you can spot the pin from around the tee-pad but some require scouting them.

Takes only 10 mins longer to drive there then Beaver Ranch
Cons: Facilities or toilets are non-existent which is totally fine with me but be prepared.
Other Thoughts: First time took us 2:30 to 3 hrs to complete course as a group of 4.

There is a loaf'n jug gas station just past the turn-off on Rosalie that is easy to get in and out of and has reasonable gas prices.

Baskets currently are a mix from nice permanent baskets to mobile temporary baskets, to homemade(?) rebar baskets.

No problems finding discs but the course was incredibly dry due to lack of rain. If we get any rain I could see the grasses growing quite a bit making it hard to find discs.

NOTE: On the map that is online the tee and basket are flipped on #13 and #15, being that the tee should start where the basket is labeled on both of those holes. At the parking lot should be maps and those show the correct tee-locations so follow that.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Bailey Bliss

5+    7/16/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: Brookslord
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I have waited to review this course and I can wait anymore. What can be said about perfection! Its perfect, by far the best course I have played here in Colorado. For five bucks you can not beat the solitude and openness of this gem. The holes are long and technical. Bailey is a hiking course so be prepared to be out there 2-3 hours and bring lots of water, even for the dog, no streams or water hazards. Hole three basket is one of the best, I love the straight shot to the rock outcrop, so cool.
Cons: Are not may Cons to this course. Bring water. The holes on top of the ridge can be a little tuff to navigate so it's a good place to spot your basket before you tee off.
Other Thoughts: Please pay the five bucks to play this place it's really worth every penny. I just want this place to be more than just a summer course, it was wicked depressing when they took it down last . End of summer must have been September or the end of August. So pay the $5 so we ca enjoy this Colorado treat year round!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wow what a course!!

2-4    7/12/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: wildwalter3
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Where to begin. Huge drives, well thought out holes, great fairways, and killer pin placements. The tees are in great condition and the holes are easy to find and follow. The pins were placed where I would have placed them if it were my land. Truly a challenging and amazing setup! A must do!!
Cons: The seasonal thang .
Other Thoughts: If you are tired of the hoo-hum courses of the front range then this course if for you. It's top 3 for me and was super fun to play. Just be ready because it will bring every shot out of your bag for sure!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/4/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: Scottty
Played: 56  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 12/19/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: So much fun. One of the best courses in the state for sure. Technical, long, elevation, views, it has it all. Plus there are three huge downhill drives (#1,16,20) that make the course worth playing just to unload your bag on these holes.
Cons: Not really a con, but it can be a pain to drive to from Denver. I would Trade the time in the car for waiting at a tee pad at crowded city courses any day of the week though.
Other Thoughts: Bring plenty of water as there is hiking required. It would be awesome if it were permanent. Since it's not please respect the rules of the course (mainly don't smoke out there). Don't be 'that guy' ruined it for everyone and had it pulled.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Better Than Beaver?

2-4    7/3/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 95  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 6 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some amazing views on a great piece of land that truly makes for a gem of a course. There are some great hills that are well used by the layout including a 700'+ downhill bomb to start with on hole 1. There is a great mix of long and short holes with great challenges including some tight tunnels. The layout is really quite amazing. The locals around this course are amazing and the local club there is working really hard to make this course even better than their first go with Beaver Ranch. This course is only going to get better with time.
Cons: This is a temporary course which means it can only be played for short periods of time each year. It has all the feel of a temp course including rough tee pads, a lack of signage and mixed baskets. But none of those things really seem to matter. You do have to pay to play but that is because they rent the land for this course to be there.
Other Thoughts: I really think I should giv ethis course a lower rating because there is still so much work to be done on this course but everytime I am there I cannot help but think how much more I like the course than its cousin at Beaver Ranch. Be prepared to hike, up and down hills most of the time. Go with a map as there are a couple of holes that are not intuitive to find. You will definately want to walk any hole that you do not see a basket on. Typically if you are playing this course when it is open during the Colorado summer, be prepared for for the sudden and random isolated afternoon storm.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great tourney style course

1    8/14/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: Sandman1981
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome layout! Technical course that opens up for the long bombers in your bag. Holes are spaced great so as not to interfere with other players, it flows well and is adequately marked. A must play.
Cons: Cow patties suck whether they are dry or not. The seasonal aspect is not great, but its open for long enough that you have time to get up there. Did not enjoy going OBO 30ft from the pin, but throwers fault. Baskets need to be upgraded so donations above the recommended are welcome!
Other Thoughts: First time out kicked my butt as do any technical courses but I look forward to reducing my score the next round knowing the lines better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!!!

2-4    8/5/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 118  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 5.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of variety in the distance of holes on the course
-Good amount of elevation change, whether it is straight downhill, slight up or downhill, across a side hill or up a steep hill.
-Great use of the trees and rocks, and other natural features that this property has in abundance
-Map a the table where you pay
-This course is a lot of fun to play because of the fun hole design
Cons: Just a note before the cons, many of these cons are probably mostly due to the current non-permanence of the course
-Without the map or someone who has played the course before it can be very hard to find the next tee pad, as there are not much of a path between the holes and very few of the holes have tee-signs as mentioned before
-There are no bathrooms or benches or any other facilities
-As mentioned in the pros the tee pads are just dirt (they are in good shape for natural teepads)
-There is a motley assortment of baskets (including some innova travelers but all of the baskets work and catch the disc pretty well)
-The trees can easily eat a disc
Other Thoughts: This course is mostly definitely worth the $5 dollars to play the course. As stated above many of the cons are due to the non permanence of the course. I really hope this course eventually gets made permanent because it could easily be one of the best courses out there. Make sure you make a trip up to this awesome course before it gets pulled again.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.