Bailey, CO
Bailey DGC Share
Uploaded By: disc dunker Hole #20 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 512ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #20 Basket



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Best Course in Colorado!!

2-4    8/18/2013   9/18/2013
Review By: blazo
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.9 Years
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Bailey is an absolutely phenomenal disc golf course. I've played over 100 courses around the country and Bailey is EASILY in my top three, maybe even number one.
Cons: Eventually you'll have to leave this mountain paradise and go back to your boring local course.
Other Thoughts: I'll add more to this review soon, but for now I just wanted to get this out there. Bailey DGC is epic enough for me to strongly recommend booking a flight to Denver as soon as you can! If you live in Colorado, make the drive already!!

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

A longer beaver

2-4    8/18/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 103  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 5.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In short, this is a longer version of Conifer and shares many of the design similarities.

The first hole features a dramatic bomb over a little valley that is mostly open but with a few trees blocking the direct path. Bring your long distance S-shot. This is one of several exhilarating downhill shots where you need to consider your disc's stability fade more than you ever need to on a regular course. It's easy to go for a long S-shot and have it never come back, or to throw straight and watch helplessly as the disc fades way left.

The course uses the natural features really well. Hole 6 has a pretty double-mando (similar to the one at Conifer), throwing downhill to a basket sticking out of a crack in a huge boulder. Uphill putts onto boulders are used frequently in the courses around here, and I like it. Uphill putting is an underused skill, and the punishment is greater if you miss. Hole 9 forces your second shot under some trees to reach an elevated basket, and throwing too high or too low will cost you. Groves of aspens are used throughout, and getting caught in them may leave you in a bad place. A scenic, bad place.

Paulie has useful next tee signs on every hole, along with larger orange arrows indicating the hard-to-see positions (some are in the shadows) or around doglegs.
The elevation didn't seem as bad here, and the hike isn't as tough as at Conifer or Magic Meadows.

Scenery could be worse.
Cons: Distance is really emphasized here, more than you may think based on the stated distances. You generally need a long, accurate drive that puts you in a position to have an open look at the hole. This is a useful skill to have, but it doesn't make for my favorite sort of course. I could have used a few more deuce-or-die holes. I've played all the courses in the area with friends, and the biggest arms score better here (this isn't always the case at Phantom Falls or Magic Meadows)

Note that this was created as a championship caliber course for the state championships a few years ago, so the distance is understandable. And there are plenty of great courses in the area with shorter holes.

No tee signs here since the course isn't permanent. If I wasn't with friends who had played, I think I would have had trouble determining where some of the baskets were (not every hole has the orange arrows).
Other Thoughts: It's $5 to play, and the course is not open starting around October through the late spring. The main reason is that cattle graze in pastures in the offseason, and they like to scratch themselves on the baskets and end up damaging them. This is kind of funny to picture.
The Conifer/Pine/Bailey area has quickly become a disc golf destination. Come and play all the courses. I'll still rank Conifer at the top of the list just because it has so many signature holes, but you shouldn't be disappointed by any of these.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


1    7/30/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: fireodie
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is a great course with long shots and great holes. The walk through the meadow and up the ridge is nice.
Cons: The map could be updated. Also a better marker for the first hole would have saved me twenty minutes of wandering around the mountain (Its not the path west of the parking lot). The Tee boxes are a work in progress and when completed they will make the course stellar.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

An Awesome Colorado Mountain DG Course

5+    10/2/2012   2/24/2013
Review By: paulrothley@msn.com
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2013
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very Long and challenging course that incorporates many of the natural rock outcroppings and elevation to it's advantage. This is a VERY well designed, and Uber-fun course. The new GOLD Disc-In baskets are awesome. If you come up to the DG utopia knows as the 285 corridor, this is one of the "must plays" along with Conifer/Beaver Ranch, Phantom Falls, Magic Meadows, and Bucksnort DG courses.
Cons: Seasonal opening (June to Oct)
Other Thoughts: 5 high quality DG courses in the Colorado mountains all within 14 miles of each other make for an AWESOME DG destination vacation.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Almost There

1    10/15/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful Mountain scenery, great western feel.
-Awesome downhill shots. Hole 1 and 20 are some of the better downhills I have seen. Elevation is one of my favorite things in a disc golf course.
-Great variations of shot length. Some ace runs and some long shots. Some shots are left, some are right, some are straight. Only one tee shot was really easy and it was labeled as an ace run on the scorecard. Every hole is different and all were interesting to me.
-Near Conifer Park and Phantom Falls, a true disc golf destination.
-This course is quite challenging with the elevation, trees, rocky areas around the greens and fast greens.
-Foothill flyers is a great club and I'm sure this course will continue to get better and better.
-Map/scorecard at the start
Cons: -There is every kind of disc golf basket out there. Mach-14, Mach-IV, Disccatcher, and a bunch that I didn't recognize.
-Natural tees are ok with me but these are getting very dusty. They could be a huge mud pit if it rained.
-Navigation was ok, I think it would be ok if I played again but the first time it was a bit hard.
-This course is a bit rougher around the edges than BR/CP. It was easier to lose a disc or get lost. I expect that this will improve as time goes.
-Great courses can be crowded, this one didn't seem to see quite as much traffic as CP.
-It is a temp course so make sure it is open before you play. They were open this past weekend and were hosting a tourney next weekend. It has good southern exposure so it should be open pretty long.
-Signage could be better and like other areas- I'm sure it will be.
Other Thoughts: -This course does request a donation of $5 as they rent the land and I'm sure they would like to make improvements- tees and baskets.
-If you do play another one of the quality courses around here, have water and a snack or two. It can get long and tiring.
-I hope to get back and play this course a few times while I am living in Wyo. If I play again and they have made improvements I might have to adjust the rating to a 5. They layout is legit but to truly be perfect they will need better baskets, tees, signs, etc.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Bailey!

1    0/0/0000   10/15/2012
Review By: ryanbutel
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2012
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This couse was fun as hell! Not many people playing which made it more relaxing and feel the least bit rushed! The pin placements were sooo creative and so fun to throw! Definitely requires a good amount of different discs from your bag. A long fun hike. Dog Friendly.
Cons: - loose dirt at the tee pads
- 33 mi from Denver
- non descriptive tee pad signs
Other Thoughts: Loved It!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Where to begin?

1    10/1/2012   10/2/2012
Review By: VeloRandy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The location of this course is perfect and the overall layout was designed pretty well. There are plenty of trees and changes in terrain that make this an above average mountain course.
Cons: Where to begin? No really, where the heck is the first tee? No maps on table made this course a little difficult and we may have left if we didn't find a course map on the smartphone. Navigation was a bit tough at times but not impossible.
Other Thoughts: A little course and hole information would be nice. I know this is a new course and still a work in progress.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 AWESOME!

1    8/25/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: bmanacana
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course offers players long drive shots that must take precision every time. Also the baskets are set up in a way that is unique and challenging. Heck, one whole on recollection was behind a mound of boulders that you cannot see from tee box. Tough shot!
Cons: Playing with a lot of people can get distracting. You might loose your disc. Really, there are none, this course is amazing.
Other Thoughts: Please donate every time you play. This course is one of the best in Colorado so treat it as such.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Amazing championship level course

5+    8/18/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: EvergreenJC
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 8/22/2012
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has everything you could want. Challenging course with a great layout. You'll have a few ace opportunities as well as a few holes that you can give it all you've got. 3 major bomber holes!! The views are great. The donations go right back into the course.
Cons: Needs a few upgrades to 3-4 baskets which will happen soon with continued donations.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the trip to play this course. Maybe not for first time golfers but everyone else will really enjoy this course.

First timers to this course should allow for 2.5-3 hours to play and as you learn the course it can be played in 2 hours.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    8/16/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Some of the coolest shots I've ever seen. Huge elevation change, excellent basket placement, tight tree shots. Every kind of shot you can ask for.
Cons: Would like to see concrete tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Great addition to the area. Much more accessible than conifer and phantom falls.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.