Bailey, CO 
Bailey DGC Share
Uploaded By: disc dunker Hole #20 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 512ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #20 Basket



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
One of the best Mountain Courses

5+    10/12/2014   10/17/2014
Review By: Dan13LP
Played: 45  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Phenomenal layout. This course will make you throw every shot in your bag. There are long holes, short holes, open holes, tight holes, RHBH hyzers, flick shots, it's got a great variety of everything.
-Even though this course is "temporary" and on private land, it is marked incredibly well. There are tee-signs from past tournaments, and yellow arrow markers everywhere that make following the course very easy.
-All of the baskets are in great condition and catch well.
-Lot's of elevation change, which offer up some amazing huge, downhill bomber shots, not one, but three on holes 1, 16, and 20!
-Unique/awesome basket placements on several holes. 3, 6, 9, and 17 come to mind. All of these baskets are placed in between boulders/on the side of a mountain. This is actually one of the benefits of being able to use non-permanent baskets!
-Although the tee pads are all natural pads, they are in really great condition. They're all very flat, and plenty long. It's easy to get good footing on those holes where you really need to let it rip.
-This goes with the first pro, but the course design is incredible. The front 10 for the most part (excluding 2 and 8) are mostly longer, open holes, and on the back 10 for the most part, it tightens up a bit. I feel this adds a good balance for players who favor huge long holes vs. those whole like tight, accurate shorter holes. There's something for everybody here.
-The views on this course are incredible! When you're up at the highest point on some of those huge downhill shots, you can see for miles on a clear day!
Cons: -There really aren't any cons here. I could complain about the natural tee pads, and the fact that there aren't any benches or things like that, but the sheer caliber of this disc golf course out weighs any cons.
Other Thoughts: Since this is a "temporary" course that is owned by the school district, this is a pack it in, pack it out course. The only trash cans located on the course itself (other than at the check-in area) are on hole 10, right in the middle of the course. So if you have any trash, hold onto to either hole 10, or the very end, or better yet, pack it in, and pack it out. This course is $5 pay to play, and all of the money goes directly toward keeping the course open and general maintenance. If you are in the area, and love to play disc golf, this is a must play course!!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Bomber Course

1    9/13/2014   10/2/2014
Review By: xskatx
Played: 16  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely fantastic. Truly a beautiful area of CO to play and this course is very spread out. The things I liked most about the course is that it is very challenging with long holes and elevation changes, yet the hike isn't bad at all. Some great courses are well designed and cool but the hike is so intense it makes playing less enjoyable; not the case with this course. We went out on a Sat afternoon and didn't see anyone else the whole day. Very cool layout and awesome scenery to enjoy while you play.
Cons: The only bad thing I can say is that some of the hole layouts weren't the best. I enjoy the possibility of being able to get though trees without just hacking though them. This happened on a few holes that I thought they could have easily placed the basket in a better location. It's hard enough of a course as it is. Otherwise the pros greatly outweigh the cons

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic and just $5

1    9/27/2014   9/27/2014
Review By: chips n salsa
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Minimal voluntary donation of $5 gets you on the course, awesome layout, beautiful views, challenging holes, map and scorecard available, killer course.
Cons: This is the mountains so bring a rain jacket or at least an extra layer. Started raining on me halfway through. Stretch beforehand and know now how to hike up and down steep terrain. Long drive (almost an hour) from Denver to Bailey.
Other Thoughts: This course is a nice hike even if you aren't throwing.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best school course ever?

1    9/10/2014   9/19/2014
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This has got to be the best course I've ever played on school grounds and I was amazed at this large chunk of property they own. Not only do you get very decent views and a 'private course feel' on public land with great terrain for disc golf course but you get a ton of wildlife on this property as well. While playing here I saw an antelope, two deers and an overzealous hawk flying around like he was a turkey vulture. We played early in the morning with only one other (quiet) group so this may have been unique to us, hard to tell.

Bailey is another fine gem in this corridor of the mountains that include several other amazing but different courses. Bailey is the 'gold course' here and was build with open players in mind thus pushing distance as the main factor of difficulty for the course. There are several areas where you need to be accurate as well but if you don't have a big arm here you're not going to keep up well with the big boys. Being able to throw both up and downhill against and with the wind seems to be an extremely important skill to learn as well as there are several open down and uphill holes here.

The basket locations on this course seem to be chosen pretty well in making a good holes but are also placed in fun locations like rock outcroppings to add something unique and fun for every player. Although I recognize that this course is not build for players like me I can see what they were trying to accomplish with open players.
Cons: This course puts emphasis on being able to throw a long ways without having to also be accurate. I think pro players should be challenged to do either and both; if this is build for open tournament players in mind then more obstacles need to be involved for those players. I don't believe in distance competitions and probably 1/4 of this course is that.

Some of the shorter holes seemed way to easy for pro players in my opinion. I don't play tournaments anymore and when I did I played Intermediate and I can get par on some of the shorter holes on this course even with bad drives. If that's true for me then what are these holes for pros? Basically deuce or die holes right? I don't find that to be a true test of testing one's game and that's what this course is supposed to do. Seemed like you could take some holes out (how many holes on a course doesn't matter by the way) that were fillers or there for course flow and rearrange some others and make some stronger holes. For every great hole here there are three or four others that aren't up to par (so to speak) with a gold level course.
Other Thoughts: Although Bailey really isn't my cup of tee I had a great time here. There are enough sweet downhill holes here to make the $5 'donation' totally worth your time. You're going to want to empty your entire bag on hole one and I could see that if I was a local I could make hole one my driving range as it would be perfect with a big downhill shot and nothing but grass at the bottom and no need to search for your disc.

We talked to some local dog walkers before beginning our round here early in the morning and they could not have been more supportive of disc golf and the course being here. One of them even said she tried playing here but it was too hard for her. I recommended some other courses around that she would enjoy more and if you don't got the arm you may want to mosey on down the road as well. Hopefully the golfers out here will respect the land they have been given and keep the course litter and vandalism free.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Big boy mountain golf!

1    8/6/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 214  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -phenomenal layout in an amazing, picturesque, mountain setting
-tons of challenging holes over a variety of distances (mostly longer)
-huge elevation that is used to great effect off the tees, in the fairways, and on the greens
-requires accurate distance & line shaping to score well (not easy at 8k feet!)
Cons: -ephemeral nature of a private course, and limited availability
-natural tees (in good condition)
-no signs

the cons mainly stem from the fact that the course is on private land and it is unavailable a better part of the year. it almost seems like the course exists in a partially unfinished state. if you can see past that, live with the natural tees (that work great!), and play with a guide then the course experience is perfect.

-mostly longer holes, or at least it feels/plays that way at this altitude, but there are 6 holes under 300' and plenty of local courses nearby that do the par 3 style golf better anyway
-mixed baskets but they are all in good condition and it didn't bother me a bit
-it's a serious hike, good shoes are a must and you'll need to be in decent condition
Other Thoughts: Wow! Now this is the course that I expected out of Colorado mountain golf and was disappointed until finally making it here. Bailey is a big boy course set in the most perfect, picturesque mountain setting, like a Texas course in the Rocky Mountains.

Pulling up to the course and seeing the huge slopes through the mountain valley, the peaks beyond, large swaths of mature trees, and even the odd deer really got me excited about this round and stepping up to the first tee quickly accelerated that mood. The course opens with a ridiculous 700' hole off the side of a hill with an enormous elevation drop (100' or more?). It sets the tone for the round and will also quickly teach you a thing or two about throwing a disc at 8,000'. You had better have brought your understable plastic!

The course proceeds through a wide variety of elevation changes up, down, and across, running the gamut of fairway shapes, and always challenging you with tricky, well-thought greens. The elevation provides challenges off the tee and on the green and also affects where you want to land in the fairway for your next shot. I really can't say enough good things about how the elevation, trees, and rocky outcroppings are used to great effect on this course.

The one area where Bailey lacks is in the finishing touches. The pads are natural but in good condition. There are no signs and navigation can be tricky without a guide. This is the result of the course's temporary nature and limited availability. I am curious to see how things go in the future since the reopening of the course.

So given these shortcomings, how did I rate this course a 5? Personally, amenities are not a big deal to me so long as I'm not tripping on rocks or roots on uneven natural tees. The quality of the golf and the beauty and secluded feel of the setting far outweigh the trimmings and this course delivers big time on design, challenge, and aesthetics.

So far, this is my favorite course I've played in Colorado and easily in my own top 10. It is definitely a destination course on it's own but it's a no brainer with Beaver Ranch, Phantom Falls, and Bucksnort in the same area. Bigger arms will love this course. Out of state people who think Colorado courses are short will love this course. If you play disc golf and have a pulse you will love this course.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Comparison to Beaver Ranch

1    6/13/2014   6/13/2014
Review By: RDHan
Played: 47  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Visiting from Illinois we had a chance to play Beaver Ranch and Bailey this week.
Here are some hints if you can only choose one to play.

First off they are both great courses. Two of the best I have ever played. In terms of the actual courses they are both a ton of fun and well designed and laid out. Bailey has more consistently longer holes, however, so much greater need to be able to drive longer distances. This was a bit frustrating for my wife who found herself skipping more holes just because they were so long. Both courses can be strenous with lots of uphill and downhill. You will find the need for lots of different types of shots and discs at both courses. Though it is possible to lose a disc, for the most part neither is so overgrown that even in errant disc cannot be found with a little searching. Both had holes that required accuracy but it was alway clear that there was a line to take to the whole (unlike some courses where you sometimes feel your only option is throw and pray it can find a way through). Both course are very worth the $5 donation and it is obvious those donations are going back into the courses to continue to make improvements. Both courses are in beuatiful locations with great scenery.
Cons: In comparison with Beaver Ranch you will find the following as cons at Bailey. At this point Bailey has no one to welcome you, just a box for donations and a couple chairs out in the open. It has dirt tee pads. They are hoping to bring these improvements to the course in the coming year, however. The lack of these things did not decrease the fun or challange of the course for me (but if it is after a large rain the tee pads might not be so easy to use). As mentioned, for beginners some of these are very long holes (though you might just see this as more opportunity to practice throwing).
Other Thoughts: Another recommendation. If you are not as in shape make sure to get a map at the beginning of each course. Each course has an extreme downhill shot followed by a few holes where you have to climb all the way back up. If you refer to your map, however, these holes can be bypassed which will help save legs.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wow!

1    6/7/2014   6/7/2014
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 23.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Only mountain course in the area that has holes for you to really air it out

-Great mixture of shots: uphill, downhill, tunnel, left finishing, right finishing, short and tech, long and bombing...Literally everything but water

-Reasonable OB, none of it artifical

-Great views on nearly every hole, a truly unique experience all the way around

-Not a beginner course, but all skill levels will find something to enjoy
Cons: -Dirt tee areas are super slick and make it tough to really crank on a drive on longer holes

-Saw a lot of spit-outs, including me getting robbed of an eagle, on the Disc - In brand baskets.
Other Thoughts: Played here for the Bloom tournament and this course is simply amazing. A must play course, for sure. Don't miss it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Baskets need to be brighter

1    5/3/2014   5/7/2014
Review By: kindofabuzz
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: Very beautiful scenery.
Cons: It's hard to see the baskets. They need to put some paint on them or a flag or something. If you've never played the course you will not know where most of the baskets are located.

0 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in Colorado!!

2-4    8/18/2013   9/18/2013
Review By: blazo
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.6 Years
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Bailey is an absolutely phenomenal disc golf course. I've played over 100 courses around the country and Bailey is EASILY in my top three, maybe even number one.
Cons: Eventually you'll have to leave this mountain paradise and go back to your boring local course.
Other Thoughts: I'll add more to this review soon, but for now I just wanted to get this out there. Bailey DGC is epic enough for me to strongly recommend booking a flight to Denver as soon as you can! If you live in Colorado, make the drive already!!

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

A longer beaver

2-4    8/18/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 120  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 6.6 Years
20 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In short, this is a longer version of Conifer and shares many of the design similarities.

The first hole features a dramatic bomb over a little valley that is mostly open but with a few trees blocking the direct path. Bring your long distance S-shot. This is one of several exhilarating downhill shots where you need to consider your disc's stability fade more than you ever need to on a regular course. It's easy to go for a long S-shot and have it never come back, or to throw straight and watch helplessly as the disc fades way left.

The course uses the natural features really well. Hole 6 has a pretty double-mando (similar to the one at Conifer), throwing downhill to a basket sticking out of a crack in a huge boulder. Uphill putts onto boulders are used frequently in the courses around here, and I like it. Uphill putting is an underused skill, and the punishment is greater if you miss. Hole 9 forces your second shot under some trees to reach an elevated basket, and throwing too high or too low will cost you. Groves of aspens are used throughout, and getting caught in them may leave you in a bad place. A scenic, bad place.

Paulie has useful next tee signs on every hole, along with larger orange arrows indicating the hard-to-see positions (some are in the shadows) or around doglegs.
The elevation didn't seem as bad here, and the hike isn't as tough as at Conifer or Magic Meadows.

Scenery could be worse.
Cons: Distance is really emphasized here, more than you may think based on the stated distances. You generally need a long, accurate drive that puts you in a position to have an open look at the hole. This is a useful skill to have, but it doesn't make for my favorite sort of course. I could have used a few more deuce-or-die holes. I've played all the courses in the area with friends, and the biggest arms score better here (this isn't always the case at Phantom Falls or Magic Meadows)

Note that this was created as a championship caliber course for the state championships a few years ago, so the distance is understandable. And there are plenty of great courses in the area with shorter holes.

No tee signs here since the course isn't permanent. If I wasn't with friends who had played, I think I would have had trouble determining where some of the baskets were (not every hole has the orange arrows).
Other Thoughts: It's $5 to play, and the course is not open starting around October through the late spring. The main reason is that cattle graze in pastures in the offseason, and they like to scratch themselves on the baskets and end up damaging them. This is kind of funny to picture.
The Conifer/Pine/Bailey area has quickly become a disc golf destination. Come and play all the courses. I'll still rank Conifer at the top of the list just because it has so many signature holes, but you shouldn't be disappointed by any of these.

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center