Mahomet, IL 
Brent Johnson Park Share
Uploaded By: skyfire   (Taken 8/2011)
Park Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Simple, but right off the highway

2-4    8/18/2016   8/18/2016
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 291  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This short, open nine hole course features quality concrete tee pads, adequate signage, reasonably easy course flow, and newer Discatchers for casual to recreational players to enjoy. There are a few trees and a path to navigate on the opening hole, which starts right at the course sign and water fountain, and fairly nearby a basic, clean-looking playground if you're traveling with the kids and need to fling a few.

Distances range from 170' to 385', and you have flexibility on almost every hole to shape your shot the way you want to. Folks above Recreational skill level might enjoy ace running most of these holes. Almost all flight lines are safely laid out and separated from one another, so it makes for a pretty good beginner course.
Cons: Unfortunately, the course only boasts one hole that will have you breaking out anything more than a mid or a putter. There is a little walk after hole 3 and a lengthier walk after hole 9. Hole 1 aims straight down the paved path amongst a set of about five trees, while hole 5 aims right at a fenced back yard, with its basket about 20 feet away, and only one lone pine to catch overthrows from your ace run, so caution is needed even on the shortest holes.

The design is OK, but I kept wondering if they were forbidden to utilize the small woods just to the right of hole 4. Might add some flavor to the course if they could add two or three holes in there. Finally, the park has a storm drainage run that looks like it could get marshy after a heavy rain, and that might come into play if you go long on 1, or right on 2 or 3.
Other Thoughts: Oddly enough, I chose to stretch my legs at Brent Johnson Park as I headed west along I-74 and ran into a traffic jam (construction). I got off at a McDonalds, changed into playing clothes, and found the park was an easy looking nine hole course that let me skip the two miles of construction. Little did I realize The Valkyrie Kid had just swung by here the day before joining up with me for a round at Idlewild. Small world!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Build The Course Now Or Wait Twenty-Five Years For The Trees To Mature?

1    8/15/2016   8/15/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1007  Reviewed: 957  Exp: 38.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brent Johnson Park is new little park in a housing sub-division. The park flat with quite a few trees have been planted. They'll be nice, for the park and he course, as they grow larger.

The course has first class amenities with nice, large concrete tee pads, a course sign with the rules of disc golf, new Discatchers with the yellow bands and #'s and tee signs with the hole # and distance. Distances range from two holes at 170' to # 8's 385'. So most players will bring out their driver for # 8. The only challenge beside the wind is threading your throws between a few of the smallish trees.

There is an ugly ditch along hole 2, thick rough along holes 3 & 4 and the # 5 basket is tucked right into the corner of the park with the rough on the right side and the neighbor's fence just a few feet past the basket. I don't believe this particular neighbor will be happy with disc coming into his yard. And no, I didn't get a chance to meet Spike, the wonder dog of the fifth hole. I hope he was at the vet being neutered.
Cons: # 5 hole sits too close to neighbor's fence. It wouldn't the course's integrity to move this basket away from said fence.

Course is flat and lacks challenges or more creative hole design. I think the designers did about as much as possible with very limited terrain to work with. Hard to design a hole with a dogleg over open lawns.

Windy! Blame the designer again.

Other Thoughts: No, it's not the most exciting design or the most challenging course but as the small trees become a mite bigger, the course will play a little more creatively.

And maybe the Beast (from the great baseball movie, "Sandlot") will eat all the disc golfers and the park will be left to the walkers and kite flyers and perverts and the homeless.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ideal for what it is: convenient.

2-4    7/29/2016   8/1/2016
Review By: Cool
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2016
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Conveniently located and viewed on Route 47 at the Thornewood subdivision in Mahomet, IL. Seldom used by others for disc golf (I have seen people running their unleashed dogs across the course, flying kites on it, and generally horsing around, but disc golf, not so much). Excellent baskets. Mowed regularly (weekly?) keeping it neatly trimmed and attractive. The signage on each hole is the best in the entire area, maybe all of central Illinois, which is a strange irony given the rather ho-hum nature of the course as a whole.

The entire small park is named after Brent Johnson, a 19-year old, from Seymour, IL, who attended Mahomet High School. He drowned in an unfortunate canoe accident on Cedar Lake nearly fifteen years ago now, and this is a memorial park for Brent. It would be appropriate and kind to think about the young man, and the gift of life and good health provided by this memorial park, while playing here.
Cons: No obstacles, the course appears to be a hodgepodge of concrete tee boxes and yellow baskets thrown onto a mildly undulating field. Hole #7 does have a moderately sized tree that forces a hyzer, and a couple other holes (#9, #3) have trees that, while not factoring into play yet, might someday grow to be challenging if not hit by lightning in the meantime. No trash cans, picnic tables, chairs. Dogs, dogs, dogs!
Other Thoughts: Hole #3 runs along a cat-tail ditch on the right. I drove with a putter and, thanks to an errant throw, lost a black Discraft Magnet in the 15 foot wide marshy ditch, perhaps the only fellow ever to lose a disc at Brent Johnson Park. There are some woods along holes #4 and #5 that might eat a disc, too, but none of this would be a factor if one plays toward the center of the field.

The hole that is too close to a house mentioned in other reviews, hole #5, now features an obstacle other than the backyard fence that is, literally, only 20 feet beyond the basket: a full-grown and quite loud chocolate Labrador. It is disarming to attempt that ace on this rather short hole knowing that your disc, should it go long, will be devoured by a beast that looks to enjoy high-end molded plastic as much as Cookie Monster enjoys Oreos. Were the dog quiet, I might not even mention him, but, given that he barks and dashes along the fence with enthusiastic leaps that will have you believing that it's only because of your nervous smile that he doesn't clear the thing altogether and wind up on your chest, I figured I'd mention it. That you can smell his Alpo breath while attempting to sink that easy putt for a deuce, even a man with cool water in his veins will get the yippes from this disobedient mutt. Those players who dislike dogs that weigh as much as they do might avoid the hole altogether, which I'm sure is the main objective of the homeowner, given the surly nature of his rather unattractive "pet".

Update: at least three other homes along the "back side" of this course now have dogs, one of which sports not one, but two, large chocolate Labradors that bark as though you had just walked up to their fence with a backpack full of raw steaks. Beware!

This is a superb course for practice. As there are few players ever on it, one could choose a hole or two and play them repeatedly to try discs or techniques. For instance, holes #6 and #7 run parallel, and would serve well for repeated out and backs.

All in all, a solid, small course for pitch and putt (and one long and flat open driver on hole #8). Of course, for those that know how great a nine-holer like PJ Irvin in Bloomington can be, this course will disappoint for actual competition. It is what it is, and that said, I'm a big fan of adapting one's game to the course they're presented with. Play it with only a putter (and try not to chuck it into the cat-tails like the last guy to use a putter). Play exclusively forehands. Use only the forgotten discs in your collection, only discs that you wish you never spent money on. Play it on the windiest days with your lightest discs, or in the rain with your slickest plastic. Play it without your sunglasses, on the brightest afternoon, after staring at the sun so that your fully-constricted pupils simulate a narrow approach to the basket. Play it after a snowfall in your cross-country skis. Play it in a rented tuxedo an hour before your best friend weds your ex-wife so that he can buy premium plastic discs with your alimony money. Well, you get the drift.

Each practice variant will improve your game, and each will make even the most pedestrian course pure fun. Enjoy!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 New to the game

2-4    4/24/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: DaveW
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide open course....good for beginners, and practice. Never crowded. Very well maintained. Nice concrete tees. New DISCatchers.
Cons: Can be very windy. Not much of a challenge if you are seasoned player.
Other Thoughts: I live in the neighborhood. New to the game. I had seen this go in in the last year. It is the reason I have picked up a basic set of discs. I am going to try to get out on it as many days as I can. Practice makes you better, and I plan on doing a LOT of practice at this course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Noob Review

1    8/31/2011   8/31/2011
Review By: Redleg
Played: 52  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2016
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a quiet course in a quiet neighborhood. Would be a great course for family play with smaller children or very new players
- all new Innova Discatcher pole holes
- very nice concrete pads
- Could be a great Ace Race course?
- easy to follow flow of course
- well maintained
Cons: -Short every hole could be Aced.
- all the holes with the exception of 2, 4, & 5 are strait and open.
- no hole signs
Other Thoughts: This would be a nice practice course to have in near your house but not one to go out of your way for. 2 has a gully with tall weeds, 4 & 5 are closely bordered on right side by woods, and there is one small tree I think on 7 are the only things to get in the way of your throws. I do not have a long drive and played all but 2 holes with a mid-range off the tee. If there had been less wind all but 1!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.