San Bernardino, CA 
Glen Helen Regional Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #3 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Straight Out Of The Twilight Zone!

1    3/22/2016   3/23/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 865  Reviewed: 815  Exp: 37.9 Years
Pros: As I drove up to the sprawling Glen Helen Regional Park, I noticed a general lack of activity and there was temporary fencing completely encompassing the park. The first two park exits I passed were closed. As I drove up to the main gate, the entrance was gated, no-one was manning the little entrance shack but the exit was open. Checking carefully to make sure I didn't puncture the tires on my rental car, I drove on in. The park was mostly deserted. There were two maintenance guys working so I asked them if the park was open. In broken English, they assured me it was. I located the firs tee pad and started my round. I quickly noticed that every inch of lawn in the park had been painted into parking space sized squares, which were numbered. What the hell? My entire round I was wondering what was going on here. To quickly end this dissertation, after I finished my 18 hole round and was in my car leaving, I happened upon a security guy. He informed me the park was indeed closed. It did, in fact, cost $8 to get in and all those painted markings on the grass were for a RAVE that had been held there the previous weekend. They had been painted as camping spots for the RAVE attendees. To summarize, the Valkyrie Kid, got a free admission to the park and an answer to his puzzling question about the fencing and the painted squares on the grass.

Now for my review, Glen Helen is another of thes huge regional parks with all sorts of activities for everyone, lakes, playgrounds, etc. The 18 hole course has nice sized concrete tee pads and simple signs with the hole #, distance and par. The baskets, like every course around these parts, are Innova Discatchers with yellow bands and a small # on them.

The course plays 1-3 in the first section of the course, then 4-9 cross the street and then you return and play 10-18. There is a nice variety of distances ranging from two around 245' to two in the neighborhood of 550' and # 10 at 720'. # 7 is on of fun downhills on this course. The tee is set atop this steep little hill and the basket was 390'. # 10 is the other downhill throw although it's a little tight off the tee. There are opportunities to roll, some open holes and a couple where accuracy is more important.

Cons: I didn't particularly think # 12 was a well designed hole. The easy and obvious route is to throw a hyser out over the exit road and let it hyser back through the trees to the basket. Better players could approach it from the anhyser side. I could see this hole being a problem with less experienced players or those teens or don't always think.

It was windy which made a couple holes not so enjoyable.

$ 8 entry fee is pricey.
Other Thoughts: Other than being scary and lonely here. Oh sorry, I guess that's not the norm. Players with bigger arms than me will like this course more. It's pretty wide open and kind of set up for those bigger arms. I kind of felt that my wimpy 300' drives were lacking here, leading to a lot of boring pars when a player with a 375' drive could be thinking ACE on half of the holes and probably getting lots of birdies. Guess that's my problem for being old! And Eva Longoria's probably not going to be going out with anytime soon!

But I did get to play for FREE!

Nice Course

1    10/23/2015   10/23/2015
Review By: jakramer6
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Staff very friendly, gave a course map when I entered. About 4 fun holes. Mostly flat grass, trees here and there. Hole 5 through 7 on side of park and you get to shoot up and then off the hill. Hole 10 par 4 you get to test your arm 690 ft. Good course to go play but nothing spectacular. Would recommend to go play once. Probably won't go back though.
Cons: Mostly flat, a lot of benches/ pedestrians.Course not worth paying $8.00 entry fee for but ok to go play once.

Well Worth It!!

1    6/14/2014   6/24/2014
Review By: tommyUnitas
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I enjoyed playing Glen Helen. Flat grassy park, which was nice, as I had played SkyHigh earlier in the day, which was mostly dirt and hills. Plenty of parking, restrooms, and water. Pay to enter park. This course has three nice par 4's (two of which I bogeyed). The course seems to be pretty new, and is in great condition. Navigation was easy, signs on all tee pads.
Cons: Not much cons from me. 10bucks for car entry on weekend seems kind of steep.
Other Thoughts: Nice baskets and tee pads, couple of long par 4's, some shorter birdieable par 3's, well manicured grass throughout, flat with trees. Overall, I liked it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a Visit

5+    8/14/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 79  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The course sits on a well maintained regional park. Equipped with restrooms, picnic areas and water fountains.
- Course maps are available at the font gate and navigation is pretty easy using the map.
- The course layout makes good use of the land available. With a bunch of long holes that really let you air it out. Including three par 4 holes.
- A couple fun downhill drives on 7 and 10 that stand out as memorable holes.
- Howling wind most of the time to keep things interesting.
- The course if very lightly used, you will find other disc golfers on the course, but you shouldn't have to be waiting around on every hole.
Cons: Most holes are wide open leaving you to chose whatever line you like. Other than OB, there are no significant hazards to speak of.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a nice addition to the courses in the area, and the distance makes it a tournament worthy destination. However it just doesn't have the "wow factor" to make it a destination course. It gets kind of repetitive as you can RHBH hyzer the majority of the holes if you want to.

WARNING: Before you drive out here be sure to check for course closures!!. I showed up on a Saturday morning only to have the course closed for some non-DG event. Then depending on the time of year they close early, Seriously you are going to kick everyone out at 5pm in May????? And even in the summer I think it is only open until 7.

It's good to have another course in the area and it is worth checking out. But if I'm going to travel and pay to play, I'm going straight to Wrightwood.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice well kept course.

5+    2/20/2013   2/21/2013
Review By: ChubbieRooster
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Course is very well kept.
Long distance holes give you the chance to really let things fly.
Pay per car to enter so its nice to fill up a car and just pay a few bucks to enter.
Trees being put in to add more obstacles.
Cons: This course can feel very straight forward after a while. This course has gone through the trouble of putting in trees to make things more difficult, but we just jave to wait a few years for them to actually come into play.
Other Thoughts: Over all a fun course not ever crowded and can getting really windy which throws in a new aspect to your game. Definitely worth a try!

 Wide open

1    1/18/2013   2/18/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays in a well-kept multi-use park. The fairways are grassy with decent turf mowed short and there are scattered trees on most holes. Several holes have a tree somewhat near the tee to force shots in a particular direction. Elevation comes into play on a few holes in the front 9 adding a little variety and a couple fun downhill shots.

There is decent distance variety, with several reachable shots, several more that are longer but still within range for many players, and a few where you really get to open up and throw a drive or two. The tees are nice concrete pads, and the signage is adequate.
Cons: The course is wide open for the most part, the scattered trees aren't enough to make any interesting line shaping challenges or tight gaps to hit. This also means little punishment for missing your line, even the worst shots have a fairly easy recovery for 3 on most holes.

There isn't any directional signage, so in a few spots it's difficult to know where to go next. This is made worse by a few odd layout quirks that make for long and not at all intuitive walks. There are some safety concerns, with roads and paths in play on several holes. A few picnic areas are also brought into play.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course approachable, but pretty long for throwers without much distance. More experienced players won't find a whole lot of interesting challenges or enough variety to make it worth much of a trip. It's a good spot to practice open drives in the wind, but not a destination course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 totally decent

1    11/20/2012   11/20/2012
Review By: adazm
Played: 30  Reviewed: 29
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: pleasant course. nothing too special.not as much elevation change as one would want.more leaves on trees will make it more fun in summer. if not way hotter.
Cons: too flat.less trees than hoped for.
Other Thoughts: if you are in the area, play it.nothing worth going out of way for. better that prado...

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/3/2012   6/6/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 86  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 13 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The grounds here are very well kept. The grass was mowed and the area was free of litter.

The courses makes use of the little bit of elevation change well. Holes 7 and 10 are really fun downhill tee shots.

This course is pretty open and fairly long, so the big arms really get a chance to air it out.

The scenery here is amazing. The course offers some very nice views of the nearby mountains.
Cons: Without a whole lot of varied terrain and vegetation, there isn't a great deal of intrigue. To counter that, the designers brought a road into play as OB, and even have a fairway playing over a park sign. This makes these holes feel somewhat forced.

The back nine in particular can get really repetitive. Most of them are just over 300' over flat ground.

With the exception of a couple holes, there is very little punishment for bad tee shots. For most holes, it's just a question of whether or not you can put a shot into putting range from the tee using your own preferred line. If you can't, you'll likely end up with a three.

Navigation can be a bit tricky. The flow of the course is not entirely intuitive.
Other Thoughts: This is certainly not a bad place to play. With the upkeep of the park, the course is in very good shape.

A round at Glen Helen is certainly enjoyable, but won't be overly challenging. On most holes you can choose the line that works best for you, rather than letting the course dictate the best line.

Be prepared for wind, it can really howl through here.

Given the opportunity, I would definitely return to this course. Just not on a regular basis.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

inland Empire Disc Golf

1    2/19/2012   2/20/2012
Review By: Mark R
Played: 90  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 13.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2015
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice cement tees. Has a couple of terrific holes with elevated tees (7 and 10). Also has a couple of the longest holes in the area (4, 5 and 10). Newer innova baskets. Has at least two rest rooms nearby. The park lies in the San Bernardino foothills and has a nice vista of the surrounding area. Has many opportunities for bigger throwers, such as the 720' Hole 10.
Cons: No signage means very iffy navigation for the first timer. Winding road mandatories seem like too much of a compromise on Holes 4 and 5. Hole 12 is a cheap hole with awkward road out-of-bounds areas. Holes 4, 7 and 10 can be diffcult to locate and are a fairly long distance from previous holes. Ten dollars for a weekend pass seems a bit steep. Starts a bit weak but is great once you pass Hole 5 until Hole 12.
Other Thoughts: Thematically similar to Prado DGC (another San Bernardino county park), with several holes over rolling plains that provide a number of fun drives. Slightly more challenging but less consistent than Prado, but also more difficult to find your way around in. However, a course map is available at the front office. No discs or refreshments for sale on-site, but there are a few water fountains around.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 happy i went there...

1    2/1/2012   2/2/2012
Review By: pasitalredy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/6/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This place is big and vast .and I also loved how it has its designated disc golf area and the park on its other side...love the hole lay out and the fact that it has yellow crown discather baskets.!..it has great views.and the walk is way fun!.moderate hills and great fairways..I personally loved this course now and was way worth the drive...its like going to hang out with prados little brother!..if you've played prado you'll understand.hole seven was my favorite hole .and I can most likely speak for anyone on that:)
I'm glad that the inland empire is building there courses up...we need that!.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.