Knoxville, TN 
Admiral Farragut Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #1
3 / --   3 / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A solid 9er

5+    12/9/2012   6/22/2013
Review By: sansho
Played: 43  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
Pros: -Concrete tees
-Two sets of tees
-Good variety of holes for a 9 hole course
-Amazing use of a very small piece of land
-Practice basket
-Water comes into play on 1 hole
Cons: -Concrete tees can vary in size (some are far too small)
-Baskets are old, catch just ok.
-Busy, busy.
-Some basket to next tee locations are a little too close for comfort
Other Thoughts: This course is truly a fun course to play, when there is no one there. This course/small park is one of the few things to do in Farragut, so you get a lot of kids/people hanging out and/or enjoying a casual round + the play 5+ times a week discgolfers. Lots of people for a small area, so its hard to play a quick solo or duo 9.
Since this course has two sets of tee, it makes it a great course for teaching, beginners, kids, etc.

I give this course a 2.5, but on a 1-5 scale of just 9-holers, it would have to be a 3.5 or 4.

Hole 1)Wooded fairway. From the long tee, it's a sharp RHBH hyzer ~200ft with low ceiling. Can't see the basket from the tee but you will when you walk past the short tee. Long tee pad is small! From the short it's a pretty short pitch as you can see the basket straight on through wooded fairway.

Hole 2)Wooded fairway. Slight RHBH anhyzer from the long tee. ~240ft. Short tee shot is similar to hole 1. Can see basket, mid range shot straight on. Wide fairway, but going right can be bad.

Hole 3) Wooded fairway to gap into open grass area. Slightly downhill. From long tee slight RHBH anhyzer. Short tee can see the basket straight on, but still shooting through gap. One of the tougher holes as if you mess up before the gap, getting your 2nd shot to the pin for a putt could prove difficult.

Hole 4) Wide open fairway. Both tees are same shot but long is just...longer. Slight downhill wide open shot with basket tucked in trees. A big RHBH hyzer, or strong RHBH straight shot with overstable disc to let fade in to gap which is left.

Hole 5)Wooded fairway. Straight, narrow, low ceiling. One of the harder holes. Tees are same shot. The long tee probably plays as the toughest hole on the course. ~290ft, narrow, trees everywhere both sides.

Hole 6)Tees give slightly different shots. But either tee allows a putter to be thrown on anhyzer or hyzer line. It's short, downhill, with a lake 2 ft past the basket. It's a very risk-reward shot. You always want to be shorter than long. I've gone sprinting down the hill to jump in the lake several times. Lucky thing is it's not too deep, so I have always come away with the disc I've put in the water.

Hole 7)This hole plays the longest on the course at the long tee. Wide open straight shot. Flat elevation. ~380ft. But the road is on your right and it's very easy to put a disc in the street and/or hit a car. The short tee is up the hill so it gives a slight downhill straight shot the basket. But too much power can still end up in street.

Hole 8)Most uphill hole on the course. This is a hole where the short tee might play harder than the long. The long is wide open RHFH flick hyzer for me. Wide open with usually a birdie putt. The short tee has a huge tree 40ft from tee making it a tight RHBH hyzer up the hill in between the tree and shrubs/trees/fence on the right. Or a super wide out flight hyzer around the left of the tree. Basically that tree makes the short tee much harder.

Hole 9)Open fairway with basket ~400ft from long tee. Shots play the same from both tees. Long is higher up hill so a little more a downhill shot. Maybe longer than 7, but doesn't play like it since it's downhill. Straight shot to the basket that is tucked into trees that start at ~300ft. Throwing to 260-300 and going far left or right will turn out bad. You'll be in the woods. Right is way worse, so don't throw right! Easy to lose discs in there.

I've played this course 15+ times and lost plenty of discs so here are some holes to watch out on: holes 3,5,6(water),9 are some of the easier holes to lose discs.

 Shorty but a goody

1    6/20/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: numbernine
Played: 45  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is shorter than a midget's pubis. However, that isn't necessarily a bad thing. This course has a ton of character and was super enjoyable to play.

Pads - two sets of concrete pads at every hole. Though some of them are a touch short, I am looking at you #1 long, at least all of them have some sort of pad for us.

Baskets - Every basket on this course caught like a champ and seemed to be in great shape.

Interesting variety - The longs and shorts are way, WAY different from one another and make it into a totally different course. 2 short is a straight ahead putter shot, while 2 long turns into a tunnel shot that leads into a sweeping right hand turn. Very cool when you play it. (Note to the guy that I almost killed on #2 long; LOOK BEFORE YOU WALK AROUND A CORNER TOWARDS A TEE PAD! A Firebird to the teeth would not have felt good!)

Misc - Great use of the terrain and natural obstacles on this little course. Nice downhill shots that play towards the river. Great uphill, longer shots that make use of the trees. Giant rock shelves that come into play.
Cons: This course was packed to the gills with people. I know this shouldn't be a con, but my group got thrown into no less than a dozen times, and we were NOT playing slow. Lots and lots and lots of people out there that had NO IDEA what they were doing. It became crowded in a hurry.

some of the tee pads are tiny. 1 long jumps out at me. we're talking maybe two feet long and two feet wide.

Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course that you could literally play in half an hour if you wanted to do the shorts and the longs in one round by yourself.
Not a ton of hard shots on the shorts, but the longs do offer some nice challenge. Go play this thing and have a good time. just watch your head for incoming discs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Quick

2-4    8/15/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: maynes35
Played: 25  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course. Plenty of good scoring opportunities. The setting is nice being right by the lake. There is a good mix of holes (for only being 9 holes) with 2 somewhat long holes and the rest fairly short. I liked the downhill into the lake shot, it adds a little more trouble to an already tough turning downhill shot. Good for beginners or shorter arms because they'll be able to score well if they are accurate. Plenty of trees in play but for the most part, disc finding wasn't too tough if you got off the beaten path. Porta-potties on sight, which is nice. There is a practice basket toward the lake at the end of the loop road. Two tee pads-Advanced and Professional.
Cons: The tee pads, although concrete, were short and had huge drop offs on most holes (I rarely was able to do a full X-step). Watch those ankles if you go off the front. The signage was pretty bad, only a hole #, if even that, no distance or hole layout. It's only 9 holes so it can be repetetive if you are like me and want to play 36 anytime you go out. Also the 9 holes causes everyone to be on top of one another, with no room to get seperation. Sometimes the "Pro" tee pad was tough to find and was sort of rediculous where it was placed.
Other Thoughts: My wife liked the course more than me and really wanted it to be a 3.0 rating, but the cons section shows why I left it at a 2.5 rating. I really did enjoy the course but if I am being fair to all the other really nice courses I've played, I couldn't give it a 3.0 rating. I'm a player that is almost more about the extras- benches, trashcans, nice signage and hole layouts, long tee pads without much dropoff. I live in Knoxville now and will definately play it again, but I'm going to check out the other courses first.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short, fun course

1    8/5/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads. Baskets all in good condition. Well kept park setting. Easy to find and convenient to the interstate.

About half-open and half-wooded course, with some really nice lines.

My memorable holes:
1 - Memorable for almost being my first ace. Short-ish tunnel shot slightly downhill. My cryztal buzz hit dead center chains and just bounced right back out…DOH!.
6 - Downhill, gently right-turning ending at the pond/lake, basket about 10 feet shy. Don't overthrow, or you'll be a little lighter in the bag.
8 - Woods on the right, playing uphill, with trees just short of the basket guarding it. A good long flick gets around the trees just right.
9 - As much of a signature hole as this course has. Playing from open into the trees, the basket is slightly elevated in some rocky landscaping.
Cons: Older course that apparently sees it's share of traffic. Tee signs are sparse, and without the map on here you will end up spending some extra time finding next holes and knowing which tee is pro vs. am.

There was a good bit of trash when I played, and I didn't see too many trash cans, nor benches, etc. The only facilities on-site that I could find was a so-so porta-john. Parking seemed somewhat limited and if many people showed up at once you might not find a spot.

I played during the day, but according to a local and several of the other reviews, you don't want to play here in the evenings if hoards of teens drinking and puffing bothers you.
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 2.5 is indicative of this course being an older, shorter design that is somewhat worn down and somewhat lacking in upkeep/amenities. I don't want to say that it is not worth playing, it really is. I had a lot of fun playing here, and one bonus is the speed with which you can get a round done in, if there is no traffic.

If you are in the Knoxville area, I consider this a short fun course you definitely need to have on your list, but to keep it quick an easy, play during the day.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun & quick

1    4/20/2010   4/27/2010
Review By: El Oso Peligroso
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fast rounds. If you play during the day you can easily fit in a round in 30 minutes tops. After school lets out it gets a bit more crowded but it's still a very fast play. Perfect for if you don't have a lot of time.

The fairways are fair, but still tight enough to give some challenge. It has a great balance of wooded and open holes, and even includes a water hazard on hole 6, though it is behind the pin.

Every hole is birdie-able, but I wouldn't call them all "gimmes" either, in fact only hole 2 stands out to me as a gimme.
Cons: Only 9 holes.

All the holes are pretty short save 9, and even that one won't have you reaching for more than a fairway driver.

After school lets out a lot of highschoolers show up to drink beer and smoke weed in the parking lot. Most of them don't play but a few do. I'd recommend playing during the day though.
Other Thoughts: It would be amazing if they could incorporate the trail that runs from Farragut Park to Carl Cowan Park as part of the course. I know it's probably just a pipe dream but that could easily be a world class course. It's beautiful. Take the time to walk it after your round, it's not long and well worth the walk.

This was the first course I ever played, and where I cut my teeth. I feel like my score and review are unbiased, it is a "decent/typical" park. It is a great place to learn the game though, since the holes are short and the fairways generous, but not overly so. It was great to play it again recently and blow my old record out of the water. If you haven't played it give it a shot, it won't take long and you won't regret it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice 9-holer

1    7/14/2009   1/29/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an enjoyable 9-hole course in a small but nice park along the river. There are 2 sets of tees so you can play it twice for 18 holes. The pro tees are more challenging as they are longer and/or play from different angles. The two sets of tees also make the course accessible to players of varying skill levels. The shorter tees are not real hard for experienced players, but the pro tees add a good bit of challenge.

There are some really nice holes on this course. There is a decent amount of skill needed as well- you will have to throw good tee shots for pars and birdies (this isn't just some easy, short, open 9 hole course).

The open grass fairways are lush, the wooded fairways are worn (both just as they should be.) There is a good mix of tight wooded holes, some open holes. You will have to throw hyzer, straight, and anhyzer from different tees. There is a little bit of elevation as well. Water does come into play behind a basket that is downhill.

I really liked #9 as a finishing hole with the basket surrounded by rocks- it makes the approach difficult to land under the basket.

There is also a practice basket near hole #1.
Cons: Navigation was a little tricky in a couple of spots, especially when you get out in the open because you can see multiple tees and baskets. (I accidentally played to # 7's basket off #4's tee- it makes for a great downhill ace/birdie chance! #4 plays back towards #3 but into the woods.)

The tees are little treacherous. They are small, many are elevated with a drop off at the end. I also played after a rain and they were very slick.
Other Thoughts: I played on a weekday morning and the course to myself. But I can see how this course could be pretty popular and 9-hole courses get crowded in a hurry.

Overall, I really enjoyed this course. It is one of the better 9-hole courses I have played.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Play this course early in the day!

1    5/14/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: Hophead724
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun layout with lots a variety. This is a great course for less experienced players. It's kinda short from the red tees but, it puts much more importance on accuracy than length. More experienced players will dig the pro tees (I know two 1000+ rated pros that call this course home). Oh yeah... The Mach II's are the Dank-tastic!
Cons: Too many groups of 13 inconsiderate teenagers playing together after the Day Cares close. Play this course early in the day.
Other Thoughts: I've been playing this course for more than 10 years and it has a special place in my heart. So, if you play there and see some trash...please pick it up! There are trash cans on this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Read my "Other Thoughts" First

1    7/20/2000   2/20/2009
Review By: Jimb
Played: 73  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: ***Please read my "Other Thoughts" below before proceeding with this review.***

Nice variety of holes. A couple of the holes play totally open in a grassy field. A couple play mostly in the open with the pin tucked into the woods. And the rest play deeper into the woods.

The open holes provide a nice opprotunity to just grip it and rip it, letting you air it out some. And the wooded holes definitely require accuracy. And if you get into the rough, you need to have a nice variety of shots in your arsenal to be able to get out of bad situations (tomahawks, thumbers, forehands, rollers, etc.). Some elevation changes do come into play. And the river comes into play on at least one hole. I remember being very afraid of the approach to #6 as the pin sits pretty close to the water.

I also remember really liking the raised green on hole #9. I thought that it was really a cool feature.

I can't comment on the course facilities, condition of the tees or pads, etc. as I simply don't remember. And even if I did my opinion might still not be valid.

This should be a good fun course for any level of player. Heck, I enjoyed myself playing with a real Frisbee after not having thrown at all for years. So there's your definition of beginner. And it seems like there's enough variety to make it interesting for an experienced player too.
Cons: It's really hard to say. I remember the underbrush being really thick in places, but check out other more recent reviews to see if that's still the case.

And this isn't really a fair negative, but I have to list something don't I? My best friend's wife got stung by a bee and put to rest all chances of playing a 2nd nine. She had to shoot up some Goodies Powder to get rid of the pain. It really hurt her for a couple of hours. So look out for the bees. ;-) Yes this is a silly con. I know that bees are everywhere... unless you're playing in an ice bowl that is. But I had a mosquito on my windshield today and it was only about 30 degrees out. So maybe you really do need to look out for the bees year round????
Other Thoughts: My perspective on this course is a little different than for any of the other courses that I've played and reviewed.

In the early 80s my best friend and I played our own game of target Frisbee golf. We just threw around town and around the local parks. We'd use trees, posts, trash cans, etc. for our "pins." We didn't even know that there was an official game of disc golf.

So when I had the opportunity to visit my friend and his wife in 2000 we decided ot give this "official game" a try. We just took or Whamo Frisbees out on the course to play. And I think that we laughed out loud when we saw our first group with a little golf bag full of funny shaped discs. We were like "What do you need all of that for?"

I didn't play again at all until 2007 when I got totally hooked. And my how my perspective has changed. Now I need two "little golf bags" to carry all of my discs. Actually, one big bag and one little one.

So I'd love to get back to Knoxville to play this course again in my current state of addiction. In any case, I've only ever played this course once. And it's been quite a while. And my game has totally changed.

So I'll do the best that I can from memory. The pics and maps that I had access to from this site helped refresh my feeble 41 year old memory some so hopefully I can do a reasonably good job of reviewing the course.

Thanks. Jim


6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Admiral Farragut Park

5+    11/27/2008   11/27/2008
Review By: warren1086
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good concrete tee pads, multiple tee pads ones called "advanced tee" more like beginner tees and the professional tees are a little more difficult but not too much. Good job with the landscaping, wooded holes have fairways some more tight than others. Some challenging holes but most of them are birdie able. Couple ace opportunities. Locals are pretty nice. Hole 6 plays right by the TN River. Great use of land in busy park. Practice basket located behind hole 1 with beautiful view of the TN river.
Cons: Trash and beer cans scattered over the wooded holes even though there are trash cans, stupid people decide to throw trash on ground, so I found myself picking up beer cans and walking 10 feet and throwing them away. Cages are a little out-dated with some minor rust but no big deal, they didn't spit out any of my putts so no complaints. Couple of spots can cross with other holes. A lot of groups and dumb people walking aimlessly on fairways.
Other Thoughts: Hole 6 is cool even though I skipped drive off the top of the basket and eventually went in the TN river but I fished it out. Overall pretty cool course and would definitely give it another visit.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Leave evrything but you putter

5+    9/14/2008   11/26/2008
Review By: jettaria
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 Tee pads
Beautiful setting
good for short, tight tee shots
18 holes in an hour
confidence builder
Cons: the punk @$$ kids
on a weekend or a pretty summer afternoon, forget about it, too crowded
Other Thoughts: its a fun course to play if you go early on a weekend day or when the kids are at school. it can be a good course to play when you are trying to get your approach shots tuned or if you are just in a funk. Not worth the trip alone, but with the other area courses it would be a good warm-up round.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.