Knoxville, TN 
Admiral Farragut Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #2 (Taken 12/2004)
3 / --   3 / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee: Short drive across a slight valley through some trees. Bad rough to the right & left.



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great for beginners

2-4    7/1/2014   7/9/2014
Review By: Jurd269
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two pads per tee, short and long. On some holes the long tee changes the shot type increasing the replay value of the course. Great course for beginners as the course is short and calls for control and finesse over power.
Cons: More experienced players will be frustrated with how short the holes are. Hole 6's basket is 3 feet from the edge of the Tennessee River. It's not worth the risk to really go-for that hole. I've personally lost a disk on hole 6.

There's also some heavy underbrush in this course if your throw is errant.

Hole 7 is parallel to a fairly busy road which is nerve-wracking for both parties.

The park in general is a hangout for local teens so be prepared for the occasional bout of roudiness and general lack of etiquette if there is a crowd.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun, short course with enough shot variety to keep things interesting.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A very fun little course.

5+    5/6/2013   5/26/2013
Review By: Jmorri67
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great little course, especially if you want to work on your approach/short driving game. You don't have a chance to air out your drives, but there are plenty of chances for aces, and the course provides you with a multitude of different types of shot selections.

The course itself is very well taken care of, although I'm not totally sure who takes care of it.

Its very convenient to get to, just take I-40 to exit 376 towards Maryville. Take exit 5 towards Northshore Drive, then turn right off of the exit and drive about two miles and the course is on your left.

Honestly, take the time and play this course if you're in the area. It will take you an hour or two max, and you'll definitely have a good time.
Cons: I have only two qualms about this course. The teepads, while nice, are a bit short. Thankfully, with this course it's not that big of a deal since you don't need any real monster drives.

The only other thing I "dislike" about the course are the baskets. They're in good condition, but I prefer DiscCatchers. It really is more of a personal issue than anything.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is the shortest hole on the course, at about 150 feet from the short tee, 180 or so from the long. The "fairway" is scattered with a bunch of trees, but there are several lines you can take, and with even a decent shot you'll be in great position for a birdie.

Hole two is another short one, at 180/210ish. The short tee is a direct line to the basket, with about a 10 foot gap over a small ravine to the basket. The long tee offers a much harder line. It's set about 20-30 feet back and down to the right. To set yourself up for a putt, you need to either throw a long anhyzer line or forehand shot to get into the fairway.

Hole three gets you out of the woods (literally!). The short tee is a clear shot through a nice big opening in the trees, with the basket slightly to the right. The long tee requires a bit more difficult shot. The opening in the trees is a fair bit smaller, but puts the basket at a bit easier angle to get to. A RHBH shot with a slightly overstable driver/well thrown midrange will put you in good position for a putt.

Hole four is slightly easier. It's a slight downhill grade, with the short tee being about a 330' shot around the woods towards the basket that's set in the edge of the treeline. The long tee for the hole is further up the hill, allowing you to see the basket. Nothing super special about this hole. Just requires a decent drive and avoidance of the treeline.

Hole five is a lot like hole two. Slightly longer, but with the same general format in that the short tee is a straight shot to the pin over a small dip in the landscape. The long pin for the hole is back and ever so slightly to the right, though not at the same hard right angle as hole two.

Hole six is downhill, through a fairway full of trees. The pin is backed by a lake (about 5-10 feet back) so be careful with your drive. The short pin requires either a RHBH anhyzer or RHFH shot. The long tee is a ways back to the left of the short tee, but is a pretty direct shot to the pin. Honestly, I usually just try to lay up and hit par on this hole. A birdie isn't worth losing a disc/going swimming.

Hole seven is one of the two open holes on the course. Short tee is on the hill next to the treeline, at about 280'. The long tee is down to the right at the very edge of the road, about 310'. The biggest problem with this hole is the road; it runs parallel to the hole, about 50 or so feet from the pin. Shouldn't be an issue, but if you let one sail on you you're going to have a rough time.

Hole eight is a bitch. It's at the bottom of a steep hill, with a very thick stand of trees to the immediate right of the short pin, and two large trees in the middle of the fairway. The long tee is a bit further back, making it a bit easier to avoid the trees, but still requires a nice long anhyzer to get within sight of the basket. Definitely the toughest hole on the course.

Hole nine lets you air it out a bit. It goes over an open fairway to a basket on top of a rock outcropping. There a few trees in front of the basket, but nothing that makes it too difficult to get to the pin. The short tee makes it about a 350ish foot shot, while the long tee is about 30 or 40 feet behind it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Fun...

1    8/19/2011   11/19/2011
Review By: kennedydm
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variation of hole layouts. A couple of holes you throw from elevated tee positions, also one going up a steep blind hill.
2 Concrete tee boxes for each hole (with enough variation for two rounds of play).
Good neighborhood.
Fun for all skill levels.
Cons: course is a little short (30-45 mins) if playing 9 holes alone. Course gets muddy after a good rain.
Other Thoughts: #6 hole warning, too hard of a throw past the basket and you will lose a disc in the river. A fun course that everyone should try.

The park is right by the Tennessee river ( perfect for cooling off after a hot round in the summer).

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Admiral Farragut Park

1    5/27/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun little older 9-hole course that plays through a park situated right along the Tennessee River. There are two concrete tee pads on every hole, with most of the holes being tight and technical through the woods. There are a few holes that play in to and out of the woods, and the three finishing holes are in the open. The final hole has you throwing uphill about 400 feet into a small landing area where the basket is elevated on a ledge surrounded by natural rock formation--very nice! There is also one downhill hole with the river immediately behind the basket that requires a careful shot to avoid a splashdown.
Cons: The park feels a little bit run down, but it doesn't affect the playability of the course. Good course flow but the map on this website will be very helpful for navigation. The only amenity I saw was a portable toilet near the first tee.
Other Thoughts: This was a very fun course to play. Great place to get in a good quick round or for kids/amateurs to have a fun round along with the pros. It's not a destination type course, but it has plenty of challenges and interesting holes. A local mentioned this was the original disc golf course in Knoxville, and if so it has aged well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: fun fun fun little course. can be challenging from the alternate tees. requires accuracy. easy flow. quick to play. not very crowded. good mix of holes. good mix of shots. one of the better 9 holes i've played.
Cons: short 9 hole course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Easygoing Course

1    6/5/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: makisoccer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was decently easy to play and does not require a lot of endurance. It was an easygoing relaxing course with pretty views of the lake as you go through. There was pretty good variety of shots through woods and fields.
Cons: The baskets should be numbered as well bc there was some confusion on which basket to throw to. The next tee off should also be labeled better. There is one basket that is only a few feet away from the lake which discs could easily be thrown into.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course. It was a good course if you wanted to do a quick run with pretty scenery.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Ad Farragut

1    5/18/2008   5/18/2010
Review By: eaeastwood
Played: 69  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I played this course a ton while in school at UT, and I've last played it in spring of 2008 and it was pretty much the same as I remembered. Pretty short course for first 6 holes which require some very technical shots. The last 3 holes are pretty open. The alternate tees make it feel like a completely different course. I always' played the short tees to warm up and the longer tees after. Shoot, one reviewer said you could play a round in about 30 minutes which I agree with, I would almost always play 27 holes in about an hour and half.
Cons: Pretty small course with no real need for driver except the last 3 holes. Not a great use of the elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: Generally pretty fun course and great to bring newbies to learn as the course doesn't require long distances to keep up. Some people complained about being crowded and too many people. There were often many large groups playing there (because it was a fun course) and if they didn't let me play through, I would simply skip holes and come back and play those later. The course is on a pretty small footprint and easy to do this. Most of the time though, people let you play through. Just ask. When I return to Knoxville on future dates, I will play this course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 B = be a bery nice 9 holer!

5+    8/14/2007   6/6/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == B
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.
Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage?if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.
I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me?.that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful scenery - confusing layout

1    11/2/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: aubuchon
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Pretty park - really nice scenery. Old cedar trees make up the majority of the woods, and large rock formations add interest. The course runs along the Cumberland river.
Cons: Slightly confusing layout for a newcomer. We had to guess at the routing.
Other Thoughts: I'd like to play this course again and become more familiar with the routing.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Technical beauty

5+    10/24/2010   8/20/2008
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 90  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pretty lakefront park setting. Practice putting basket. Slight elevation & easy walk. Picnic tables with port-a-johns & good paved parking. Good mix of tight woods & open shots. Benches on most holes. Long & short (concrete) teepad locations add variety to the hole. Mix of (mown) grass & dirt fairways.
Cons: The tee pads are small & there is a high drop-off on the edge making run up difficult. During the afternoons & on weekends the place is packed with teenagers. Some are playing golf. Some are just 'hanging out' in the parking lot. Older style baskets.
Other Thoughts: It's easy to get 9 holes in so playing here at lunch or after work is easy! Water in play on one hole. Litter & graffiti cleaned up quite a bit from last time I played there.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.