Disc Golf Store
Knoxville, TN 
Admiral Farragut Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #1 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / --   3 / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach: Roll away hill behind basket.



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 One of the Best

5+    1/14/2012   1/20/2012
Review By: Chris H.
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I like this course because it offers the player with less power the opportunity to play with some of the bigger arms. The course will be muddy if it has rained, but is still playable.
Cons: The only bad thing about this course is that it takes a long time to play if you get behind someone, because with the thick underbrush it can be hard to locate disc. So on some holes you have to wait for the players infront of you to locate disc.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and rewarding

2-4    1/27/2011   3/9/2011
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice mix of technical holes that flows well throughout this small park. One amenity you don't see often is that you could literally take a boat from the other side of the lake alongside the course, pull up to the shore, jump out and play! Each of the 9 holes are imminently deucable...if you are accurate off the tee that is. :) Concrete pads.
Cons: It seemed that this park is a 'hang out' of sorts for local 'teens'; and possibly even 'druggies'; so I wouldn't feel comfortable here after dark. (NOTE: my son and I played three consecutive rounds here on a Sunday afternoon; and didn't feel threatened though.)
Other Thoughts: Fun, fun, & more fun! Of the four Knoxville area courses we played over two days, this was our favorite. True, 9 holes is rarely 'enough'; however this course gets the most out of it's natural resources; and you can play a round in no time flat. The first 6 holes are pretty tight through thick woods; yet accurate tee's can get you a birdie...or even an ace. The last three holes are generally open shots where you'll need a pretty good arm to get a deuce.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    1/9/2011   1/22/2011
Review By: Drifter3887
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the biggest pro's to this course is that is is 9 holes that are close together but not too close. If you want to play a quick game this is the course to go to. It is half and half on wooded vs. open holes. If you go to the course in the fall, winter, or early spring, the water trap on hole 6 is no danger. The area is used by joggers and and families but they stay off of the DG course and most of the dog owners are good about cleaning up after their pets. The advanced vs. the pro tee's completely change the way the hole looks and allows you to play 18 different holes.
Cons: It is very easy to lose your disc on this course in the most random places. If you over shoot the 1st hole your disc can actually roll all the way to the water (it has happened to me twice). At hole 3 there is a very large hole your disc can fall in, you can go and get it back but in most cases you can't tell if the disc is there until you are all the way down there. Hole 6 is the water trap and it is a down hill shot with the water about 5' behind the basket (though during fall and winter the beach is about 20'+ behind the basket). Hole 7 is right along a decently used back road, both my friends and I have lost discs in hoods, beds of trucks, and in the grill of cars.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course for almost 10 years now and it was the first I ever played. I recommend this course to anyone in the area that has never been to this park, and to those who work in the area. One 9 hole game in 30 mins without rushing yourself makes for a nice lunch break sometimes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good course during the daytime

5+    1/19/2010   1/20/2010
Review By: Musicaldelial
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course to play during the day time. I play it during the break in my classes at a local college. There is a good variety of shots for a 9-hole course: in and out of the woods, wide open and fully wooded areas. Hole 6 does add a water hazard, which is a nice touch. There are two concrete tees for each hole, so if you get tired of one tee, or if it becomes too easy, you can move to the other for a different spin on the hole. The general flow of the course does well with the space it is given. If you aren't familiar with the course, finding the tees for 5 is a little tricky if you don't notice the path. There's also a practice hole near the picnic area that is useful for warming up on your putting before you play as well.
Cons: During the evening hours, there are TONS of people there, so it becomes very crowded and you end up waiting to play, so it takes away from the flow of your game. Also, the parking is kinda limited. That has posed a problem a time or two when I went and played in the evening. There is a little bit of trash here and there, but I have seen worse courses. There aren't any distance markers that i can remember, and sometimes it's hard to find the alternate tee.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course to play when you want just a casual game. Once again, i wouldn't recommend it during the evening, but if you don't mind to wait, you should be fine.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.