Knoxville, TN 
Admiral Farragut Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #4 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 250ft.   -- / 299ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee: Into the gap in the trees



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Short and Fun...

1    8/19/2011   11/19/2011
Review By: kennedydm
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variation of hole layouts. A couple of holes you throw from elevated tee positions, also one going up a steep blind hill.
2 Concrete tee boxes for each hole (with enough variation for two rounds of play).
Good neighborhood.
Fun for all skill levels.
Cons: course is a little short (30-45 mins) if playing 9 holes alone. Course gets muddy after a good rain.
Other Thoughts: #6 hole warning, too hard of a throw past the basket and you will lose a disc in the river. A fun course that everyone should try.

The park is right by the Tennessee river ( perfect for cooling off after a hot round in the summer).

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Shorty but a goody

1    6/20/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: numbernine
Played: 59  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is shorter than a midget's pubis. However, that isn't necessarily a bad thing. This course has a ton of character and was super enjoyable to play.

Pads - two sets of concrete pads at every hole. Though some of them are a touch short, I am looking at you #1 long, at least all of them have some sort of pad for us.

Baskets - Every basket on this course caught like a champ and seemed to be in great shape.

Interesting variety - The longs and shorts are way, WAY different from one another and make it into a totally different course. 2 short is a straight ahead putter shot, while 2 long turns into a tunnel shot that leads into a sweeping right hand turn. Very cool when you play it. (Note to the guy that I almost killed on #2 long; LOOK BEFORE YOU WALK AROUND A CORNER TOWARDS A TEE PAD! A Firebird to the teeth would not have felt good!)

Misc - Great use of the terrain and natural obstacles on this little course. Nice downhill shots that play towards the river. Great uphill, longer shots that make use of the trees. Giant rock shelves that come into play.
Cons: This course was packed to the gills with people. I know this shouldn't be a con, but my group got thrown into no less than a dozen times, and we were NOT playing slow. Lots and lots and lots of people out there that had NO IDEA what they were doing. It became crowded in a hurry.

some of the tee pads are tiny. 1 long jumps out at me. we're talking maybe two feet long and two feet wide.

Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course that you could literally play in half an hour if you wanted to do the shorts and the longs in one round by yourself.
Not a ton of hard shots on the shorts, but the longs do offer some nice challenge. Go play this thing and have a good time. just watch your head for incoming discs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Admiral Farragut Park

1    5/27/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun little older 9-hole course that plays through a park situated right along the Tennessee River. There are two concrete tee pads on every hole, with most of the holes being tight and technical through the woods. There are a few holes that play in to and out of the woods, and the three finishing holes are in the open. The final hole has you throwing uphill about 400 feet into a small landing area where the basket is elevated on a ledge surrounded by natural rock formation--very nice! There is also one downhill hole with the river immediately behind the basket that requires a careful shot to avoid a splashdown.
Cons: The park feels a little bit run down, but it doesn't affect the playability of the course. Good course flow but the map on this website will be very helpful for navigation. The only amenity I saw was a portable toilet near the first tee.
Other Thoughts: This was a very fun course to play. Great place to get in a good quick round or for kids/amateurs to have a fun round along with the pros. It's not a destination type course, but it has plenty of challenges and interesting holes. A local mentioned this was the original disc golf course in Knoxville, and if so it has aged well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and rewarding

2-4    1/27/2011   3/9/2011
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice mix of technical holes that flows well throughout this small park. One amenity you don't see often is that you could literally take a boat from the other side of the lake alongside the course, pull up to the shore, jump out and play! Each of the 9 holes are imminently deucable...if you are accurate off the tee that is. :) Concrete pads.
Cons: It seemed that this park is a 'hang out' of sorts for local 'teens'; and possibly even 'druggies'; so I wouldn't feel comfortable here after dark. (NOTE: my son and I played three consecutive rounds here on a Sunday afternoon; and didn't feel threatened though.)
Other Thoughts: Fun, fun, & more fun! Of the four Knoxville area courses we played over two days, this was our favorite. True, 9 holes is rarely 'enough'; however this course gets the most out of it's natural resources; and you can play a round in no time flat. The first 6 holes are pretty tight through thick woods; yet accurate tee's can get you a birdie...or even an ace. The last three holes are generally open shots where you'll need a pretty good arm to get a deuce.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    1/9/2011   1/22/2011
Review By: Drifter3887
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the biggest pro's to this course is that is is 9 holes that are close together but not too close. If you want to play a quick game this is the course to go to. It is half and half on wooded vs. open holes. If you go to the course in the fall, winter, or early spring, the water trap on hole 6 is no danger. The area is used by joggers and and families but they stay off of the DG course and most of the dog owners are good about cleaning up after their pets. The advanced vs. the pro tee's completely change the way the hole looks and allows you to play 18 different holes.
Cons: It is very easy to lose your disc on this course in the most random places. If you over shoot the 1st hole your disc can actually roll all the way to the water (it has happened to me twice). At hole 3 there is a very large hole your disc can fall in, you can go and get it back but in most cases you can't tell if the disc is there until you are all the way down there. Hole 6 is the water trap and it is a down hill shot with the water about 5' behind the basket (though during fall and winter the beach is about 20'+ behind the basket). Hole 7 is right along a decently used back road, both my friends and I have lost discs in hoods, beds of trucks, and in the grill of cars.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course for almost 10 years now and it was the first I ever played. I recommend this course to anyone in the area that has never been to this park, and to those who work in the area. One 9 hole game in 30 mins without rushing yourself makes for a nice lunch break sometimes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: fun fun fun little course. can be challenging from the alternate tees. requires accuracy. easy flow. quick to play. not very crowded. good mix of holes. good mix of shots. one of the better 9 holes i've played.
Cons: short 9 hole course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Quick

2-4    8/15/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: maynes35
Played: 25  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course. Plenty of good scoring opportunities. The setting is nice being right by the lake. There is a good mix of holes (for only being 9 holes) with 2 somewhat long holes and the rest fairly short. I liked the downhill into the lake shot, it adds a little more trouble to an already tough turning downhill shot. Good for beginners or shorter arms because they'll be able to score well if they are accurate. Plenty of trees in play but for the most part, disc finding wasn't too tough if you got off the beaten path. Porta-potties on sight, which is nice. There is a practice basket toward the lake at the end of the loop road. Two tee pads-Advanced and Professional.
Cons: The tee pads, although concrete, were short and had huge drop offs on most holes (I rarely was able to do a full X-step). Watch those ankles if you go off the front. The signage was pretty bad, only a hole #, if even that, no distance or hole layout. It's only 9 holes so it can be repetetive if you are like me and want to play 36 anytime you go out. Also the 9 holes causes everyone to be on top of one another, with no room to get seperation. Sometimes the "Pro" tee pad was tough to find and was sort of rediculous where it was placed.
Other Thoughts: My wife liked the course more than me and really wanted it to be a 3.0 rating, but the cons section shows why I left it at a 2.5 rating. I really did enjoy the course but if I am being fair to all the other really nice courses I've played, I couldn't give it a 3.0 rating. I'm a player that is almost more about the extras- benches, trashcans, nice signage and hole layouts, long tee pads without much dropoff. I live in Knoxville now and will definately play it again, but I'm going to check out the other courses first.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short, fun course

1    8/5/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 8.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads. Baskets all in good condition. Well kept park setting. Easy to find and convenient to the interstate.

About half-open and half-wooded course, with some really nice lines.

My memorable holes:
1 - Memorable for almost being my first ace. Short-ish tunnel shot slightly downhill. My cryztal buzz hit dead center chains and just bounced right back out...DOH!.
6 - Downhill, gently right-turning ending at the pond/lake, basket about 10 feet shy. Don't overthrow, or you'll be a little lighter in the bag.
8 - Woods on the right, playing uphill, with trees just short of the basket guarding it. A good long flick gets around the trees just right.
9 - As much of a signature hole as this course has. Playing from open into the trees, the basket is slightly elevated in some rocky landscaping.
Cons: Older course that apparently sees it's share of traffic. Tee signs are sparse, and without the map on here you will end up spending some extra time finding next holes and knowing which tee is pro vs. am.

There was a good bit of trash when I played, and I didn't see too many trash cans, nor benches, etc. The only facilities on-site that I could find was a so-so porta-john. Parking seemed somewhat limited and if many people showed up at once you might not find a spot.

I played during the day, but according to a local and several of the other reviews, you don't want to play here in the evenings if hoards of teens drinking and puffing bothers you.
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 2.5 is indicative of this course being an older, shorter design that is somewhat worn down and somewhat lacking in upkeep/amenities. I don't want to say that it is not worth playing, it really is. I had a lot of fun playing here, and one bonus is the speed with which you can get a round done in, if there is no traffic.

If you are in the Knoxville area, I consider this a short fun course you definitely need to have on your list, but to keep it quick an easy, play during the day.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Easygoing Course

1    6/5/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: makisoccer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was decently easy to play and does not require a lot of endurance. It was an easygoing relaxing course with pretty views of the lake as you go through. There was pretty good variety of shots through woods and fields.
Cons: The baskets should be numbered as well bc there was some confusion on which basket to throw to. The next tee off should also be labeled better. There is one basket that is only a few feet away from the lake which discs could easily be thrown into.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course. It was a good course if you wanted to do a quick run with pretty scenery.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Ad Farragut

1    5/18/2008   5/18/2010
Review By: eaeastwood
Played: 69  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 21 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I played this course a ton while in school at UT, and I've last played it in spring of 2008 and it was pretty much the same as I remembered. Pretty short course for first 6 holes which require some very technical shots. The last 3 holes are pretty open. The alternate tees make it feel like a completely different course. I always' played the short tees to warm up and the longer tees after. Shoot, one reviewer said you could play a round in about 30 minutes which I agree with, I would almost always play 27 holes in about an hour and half.
Cons: Pretty small course with no real need for driver except the last 3 holes. Not a great use of the elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: Generally pretty fun course and great to bring newbies to learn as the course doesn't require long distances to keep up. Some people complained about being crowded and too many people. There were often many large groups playing there (because it was a fun course) and if they didn't let me play through, I would simply skip holes and come back and play those later. The course is on a pretty small footprint and easy to do this. Most of the time though, people let you play through. Just ask. When I return to Knoxville on future dates, I will play this course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.