Burnsville, NC 
Simple Pleasures DGC Share
Uploaded By: mx23ang Hole #8
4 / 250ft.   4 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Simple and pleasurable course

1    5/20/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 52  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Andy has put a lot of time into this course. He's still tweaking the layout, which is great because he's trying to get it right--lots of options out there. A bunch of big downhill shots, some tight through the woods shots, an island hole, a cow pasture. This course has it all. Super fun time and the guys are real friendly.
Cons: It's a big rough around the edges, with the homemade baskets and such, but it's all part of the experience. Legit discatcher baskets are like $300 each so you're welcome to donate some!
Other Thoughts: If you want a super unique NC mountain experience, give this place a shot, it's bound to be a good time.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasuring is simple

5+    10/21/2013   10/24/2013
Review By: skoallong12
Played: 33  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Right from the start you get the feeling that this course is not just going to be a walk in the park. The side hill landing areas and the sidewinding ace runs make the hairs stand up on my neck every time I begin my round. The view from hole 4's fairway is just breathtaking but yet a right challenging hole.
Cons: The only cons I can think of is that this isn't a course you want to bring a beginner to. Not saying this course is impossible to score on because you can definitely have a great round but there are right fairways with unforgivable greens that will make you think to go for it or lay up and get par.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  This is Mountain Golf

1    10/1/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: leftyBUZZ
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The diversity of this course really stood out to me over anything, I seriously used almost every disc in my bag!
The carpeted teepads were super grippy even in damp conditions and they did not mess with my run-up, You can tell Andy has put some work into this place as almost every teebox was framed with a retaining wall. He was given a sweet piece of land for disc golf but boy is it steeply sloped and hats off to Andy for digging out nearly 3' deep in some places to get a level place to throw from
Some of the landing zones at Simple Pleasures make you think you are playing ball golf and will alter your shot to make it a smarter play
On #1 for instance you can go for the ace around a grouping of poplar trees or play smart and lay-up with a mid-range on the level landing zone Andy chunked out of the hillside, really cool and picteresque!
Elevation comes into play so much out here and #14 is one of the best top-of-the world shots in NC that I have seen
Cons: The cows sometimes get in the way of your line and the presents they leave around are not a pro but its also a unique aspect of the course
OB! Stroke and Distance is so hard out here so if your going for the course record keep it between the fences!!
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best homemade courses I have played and its only going to get better with time. Andy has got an 18 hole layout designed but he is waiting on $$ for more baskets. He filled me in on the Gold layout and some of the shots and all I can say is good luck to anyone man enough to play them!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/9/2012   4/10/2012
Review By: KrazyKrusada
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of elevation both with ups and downs (you will leave with a slight burn in the thigh area after the newly designed 12 hole layout
Great mix of par 3s that offer some birdie opportunites and some that offer a challenging 3, I was extremly happy with a 3 on both 11 and 12
Carpeted teepads were quite comfortable, and even in the rain they were super grippy
Cons: Some of the sidehill lies I encountered really altered my shot. For instance on #1 you are on a really steep right to left slope and the basket is heavily guarded by several massive popular trees. On a normal flat slope you could pick your way thru multiple gaps but the steep lie forced me to play an anyzer over OB, a very scary shot to say the least
Since Andy is updating the course, currently he has a nicely done 12 hole layout from what I understand is gonna comply with the future 18 design. So as of now there is quite a steep walk back to the car from the end of #12
Other Thoughts: Simple Pleasures is a great homemade disc golf course that utilizes the natural landscape provided really well. With several more holes coming in the summer of 2012 I hope to make a trip back to check them out! Andy filled me in on his plans for #17, a 1,000' valley par 5 over, thru and under a white pine forest..

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Good experience

1    10/8/2011   10/15/2011
Review By: BillWoody
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I had just came off of a broken leg when i played this course, and the terrain was friendly enough to where I could easily enjoy playing it. I still got a pretty good workout as well. There are alot of good lines in this course and the basket locations arent impossible, but they arent easy.
Cons: The only cons I can think of was just a slight hike in between two holes, and some unlevel tee boxes. Those two cons will be fixed within the next year or so though.
Other Thoughts: This was a fairly difficult course. I am beginnner and I would have little chance parring the course by myself, but with a relatively skilled partner playing with me, we were able to shoot right around par. I love this course!!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

12 of life's Simple Pleasures.. on the verge of closing :(

5+    7/22/2014   8/6/2011
Review By: mx23ang
Played: 48  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Super tight par 3s that are not gimme birdies, along with a couple of ace runs. Every hole except one has some sort of elevation change/risk factor that just adds to the strategy here. Many holes cross the sides of steeply sloped hills which leads to many unexpected rollers, kicks, and if you are hyzering on the wrong side of the hill well lets just say you will probably be calling an "optional rethrow." These sidehill lies also come into mind on your run-up, actually scrach that, there are very few run-up opportunites @SP which could also be looked at as a con. Oh well Stand and Deliver. There are two sets of tees for a challenge to the advanced player yet begginer pads(currently on the small side) offer enjoyment for the ladies and children. Several hanging baskets provide that "go for broke or the glory" shot. Multiple lines through dense hard and softwood forests. A few rich cove plant communites, dry heath communities, and pasture plant communities. OB in play on 8 holes (stroke and distance if you really want a challenge) , and a wide open hole with a pond in play(#6) . The course is set up for an 18 design, and three sets of tees but they are not quite completed yet. This course requires you to use every shot, and nearly every disc, in your bag. While the front nine is not terribly long, the back 9 (becoming known as 'the north side') is full of loong mountain field shots scattered with white pines and low-lying bushes, many of which are prickly *see cons.
Two sets of tees(three in the near future) give big diversity to the course and offer new lines on a 2nd or 3rd go around.
A quick run through of the holes- 1) Dont go left off the tee, its thick and really out of bounds in tournament play, favor the right side the entire hole and make your sure you hit your putt or you will probally have a rollaway
2) steepest uphill climb on the course, it favors a thumber or tommy because there are several small trees guarding against a backhand or flick. This will be the first chance you have to go for birdie, risking rollaway hoping for a bogey coming back up, or lay-up on the well-defined and constructed green
3) One of my favorite holes on the course, super tight line off the tee that defiantly favors the RHBH player who can throw straight
4) The hardest hole on this 9, some could consider it the signature because of the view from the fairway but others consider 6 the signature, anyway there are soo many trees on this hole. You can get sneaky through them but you really want ultra precision this entire hole. A par 5 here is very respectable, dont be a hero.. play smart golf here
5) The steepest downhill shot on the course, keep your tee shot low to make the arched tree 'Mando' and the tendencay here is to rise to the top of some huge pines. This hole favors a RHBH anny and would be regarded as an ace run hole if you keep it low
6) My friends say this is the signature hole I guess because it is the only open hole on the 9. The pin is tucked about 10 ft from a small pond (A position) that seizes anything short and right off the tee. This hole now has two positions, one located next to the pond and another that makes it play a 350' RHBH spike hyzer :)
7) An uphill dog-leg right with a mando in play off the tee. The distance here is borderline hard par 3 easy par 4 so I stuck a mando and call it a par 4 for the average player, there is still a lot off trees off the fairway so a 3 is not guaranteed but should be achieved
8) Good luck getting through the first gap off the tee, its about 3ft wide lol. It really is unfair but this course is so short you have to have some sort of challenge. If you make it through, you should have a look at birdie even though it is another hanging basket
9)This hole gives you many different options. Ive played a flick, anny, hyzer,thumber (my personal favorite) and the tommy on this hole. Its kinda short but there are many guardian trees so a two here should be grabbed
10) This is a great little downhill ace run right around the 200' range. For the RHBH player put a little anny on a putter and you should be parked if you can sneak it through the well-defined gap
11) This is the epittimy of disc golf especially at Simple Pleasures. You step up to the tee as your group members relax on the nice bench and you go over what is in front of you. You see a small white flag in the distance tucked into a grouping of Abies fraserii (fraser fir-christmas trees!) a drastic sloped hole from right to left, and several overhanging tree limbs seizing anything that is thrown to high. My advice on this hole, pull out the understable driver, release it on a hyzer and hope the wind doesnt turn it over into a cut roller lol. Even though it is a 441' field hole, a mid-range will more likely keep you in bounds (or my personal favorite the firebird flick
I enjoy and love really all the holes but here is my run through of my favortie to last
1-#16
2-#2
3-#4
4-#1
5-#11
6-#12
7-#6
8-#3
9-#10
10-#7
11-#13
12-#9
13-#8
14-#15
15-#14
16-#5
Cons: The Landowners are on the verge of closing it down to all which is a huge con to even the designer folks, if you come please be respectful. Some teebox's are located in the fairway of either the previous or next hole, while I realize this would be a major flaw in the design of a crowded park style course it doesnt really come to mind at Simple Pleasures because if you are able to play the course you wont see any other groups out there, and you will have the entire fairway all to yourself, me and possibly midnight rider (R.I.P Posey Dog). Some teebox's are on the small side, I made them as my run-up worked so your's may not. Digging through clay not only causes major erosion but is quite difficult so that is why you will not see many 15'x5' concrete tees. I love concrete teepads but I simply dont have the money for them at the moment. I personally think the teepads work at Simple Pleasures, others may have issues with the averaged 12'x4' retaining walled pads with carpet. Because my grandad insists on having cows and horses on my course (lol totally the other way around, because I owe him so much due to those cows) many holes cross a barbed wire fence that is keeping the cows in. I have installed a walk-thru and a ladder at two locations but it is still possible to have your shirt/pants ripped by a barb, keeping that in mind loose clothing may not be the best thing to be wearing when you play Simple Pleasures.
Along the newer additions to the course (holes 13-18) there are still many random prickley plants that will poke, stick and jab ya. Among the dreaded species present are Hawthornes, Japanese barberry, Rosa multiflora and wild raspberries (not a terrible thing for that late round crash however)
While the hole type is mixed throughout, overall all baskets are fairly consistent (besides #2, it is the only basket I have seen or built that requires an extra bit of "touch" to stick). It is private and because I work in three different counties it is only open on the weekends and holidays. All of the baskets currently only have one set of chains, while they still catch OK I realize that two or even three loops of chains will do amazing things and whenever I get that $$ my baskets will catch just as good as an Innova DISCatcher!!
Other Thoughts: As of this day (7/31/14) the course is closed, maybe one day I can open it back up to the public.
Donations are accepted and would be lovely so I can put the money back into the course. I have big ideas for this place but I will not be able to complete that goal without funding coming from somewhere
So with this essay stated.. please make some time to "Pleasure yourself Simply" on a well-manicured 12 hole private mountain farm :)

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.