San Antonio, TX 
Tejeda Middle School DGC Share
Uploaded By: Guru10 Hole #10 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 White Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Great course for beginners and advanced players alike.

5+    6/17/2016   6/20/2016
Review By: SA TX 210
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.1 Years
Pros: The baskets are all nicely kept and marker free besides #8 leans toward the tee now. Just showed up one day and it was like that. Like someone tried to pull it out of the ground with a truck but there were no tracks. Anyway the course is wide open after hole 5 so you can't lose a disc. There are some trees in play but only like one hole where you have to throw level and one where it's s field goal off the tee. (10) but that one is only 205 from the back so it's a putter. After a heavy rain this is the only course I know worth playing. It's mostly limestone under the soil and just never sogs out. Also the holes are varied. Some finesse shots and a couple wide open full driver throws. Lastly, you can get through the 12 holes in a short time and easily walk over and play 8-12 again from a different tee if you wanted. That's what I always do. Fun course.
Cons: The fact that you have to wait to play till school is out (except in the summer). The tee pads are dangerous and rocky, although a standing throw is all you really need. The lack of trees on the back 5 holes. I learned to play disc golf here so I don't have a lot of cons about it.
Other Thoughts: Holes 2-6 need constant string trimmer work which the school won't do but it makes it fun. Just be careful of the rattlesnakes down in those holes.

Keen! Neat! Cool! Bitchin! Rad! Bad! Middle School Course!

1    4/2/2015   4/2/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 924  Reviewed: 866  Exp: 38.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tejada Middle School's disc golf course starts way back yonder beyond the far football goal post. Then # 12 finishes up by the tennis courts. 9/12 holes have two tee signs and two tee pads (I use that term loosely). Each tee sign has both distances on it. Both the signs and the Discatcher baskets with the yellow rings are in nice shape. On most of the holes with two pads, the two pads give you a different look, not just 25 feet longer like some courses.
#'s 2, 3, 4, 8 and especially, # 11, at a wide open 115', are ACE runs all the way. But then again, is this not a course on a middle school campus? Only # 1 at 400' from the long and # 7 at 330' top the 300 foot mark.
I like the fact that the course forces you to think a little bit and throw an anhyzer here and there and keep a couple tee offs low under some branches.
Cons: The tee pads are pretty sketchy. They sure as hell aren't going to get broke in as this course gets more play-Most of them are built over rocky surfaces and rocks don't usually break down!
Yep, the distances are short. Think how big the average 7th grader is.
Other Thoughts: First my congrats to the course designer! I think you've done a fine job of blending the needs of two target groups here, the public and the middle school students. The dual tee pads really go a long way to meeting both groups needs. As least it was great for this old rec player.

Secondly, I wish to congratulate the students of Tejada Middle School. Normally, when I see a course anywhere in the vincinity of a high school or middle school, I'll see lots of trash and vandalism. I observed no evidence of either here. None of the 21 signs had been tagged or trashed. The baskets are in great shape. I'm impressed. Maybe there's no hope for our youth after all!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/16/2013   3/28/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 162  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think this course accomplishes what it sets out to do. It definitely is an easy course for young gets to learn on and get excited about disc golf. I really liked the good tee signs and nice DISCatchers. The course makes use of all the elevation that it has( which isn't very much). The first 3 holes, 5and 6 make uses of the trees that are on the property. I like how there are some tight lines to get to the basket. I like how hole 1 is a little bit longer and lets you watch something fly.
Cons: It was a little difficult to find the first hole I had to walk back from the middle holes to find hole 1. I wish they installed teepads because some of the footing was not very good. I realize this is a middle school course but there are some ace runs, like it becomes a pitch and putt on the final couple of holes. By the way, after hole 5 walk back by the fence for hole 6's tee pad.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent little course but no real challenge is presented. I realize it is a middle school course so i'm not expecting it. If you are wanting to get some birdies and maybe an aces this course is for you.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect Middle School Course

1    8/13/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 171  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 21.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New Basket & Signs
Seneral baskets are perched with elevation directly behind or around them. Makes for some interesting putts
Great distance for middle school kids, this will generate more players!
Cons: Doesn't start and end in same location.
On school proptery so can only play during off hours
Tee locations are rocky
Other Thoughts: Please be respectful of the fact that this course is on school property. No smoking, No Alcohol, don't be an idiot and respect the administrators.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 great course

2-4    8/11/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: Guru10
Played: 39  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -new baskets
-some choice pin placements keep the course interesting
-nice mix of open and technical holes
-established for the school P.E. program, expanding the sport to the younger crowd
Cons: -doesn't end where it starts (long walk from 12-1)
-tees are rough and uneven on some holes (this is course was finished the day i played it, so i know this will be solved as more people play it)
Other Thoughts: great course for beginners and experienced players alike. newbies can learn the basics and experienced can work on their short game from the white tees and the blue tees will keep the experienced interested. like i said, this course was finished the day i played, so tees are rough and there isn't a map or tee signs (yet) but i know the school and the surrounding community will enjoy this course, thanks to all the golfers who installed this course and braved the heat.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.