Hudson, OH 
Hudson Springs Park Share
Uploaded By: Brall   (Taken 8/2011)
Practice Basket with distance markers

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2

1    10/15/2015   10/15/2015
Review By: stellar732
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I have always loved this course. It was the first one I ever played. And, I must say that the new layout plays better than the old one.
Cons: Although, I did say the layout plays better, the front nine is almost too easy now that some trees have been cut down.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid Course in a Beautiful Park

1    10/11/2015   10/11/2015
Review By: Billy K2
Played: 31  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hudson Springs was a very enjoyable course that played through one of the most beautiful and family friendly parks in northeast Ohio. This course is the definition of variety. The front nine, which I will call "The Family Nine", is mostly open with some obstacles. Most of the holes on the front are made for beginners, as most of them are around 210-300 feet, with one par four over 500 feet. The back nine turned this course from a 2.5 to 3.5. Most of the holes are wooded and long, which appeals to a good disc golfer who felt rather bored with the front nine. There were many unique touches throughout, adding a fun twist to the course. The park itself is stunning, especially during October when the leaves are bright oranges, reds, and yellows. There are many things to do in the park for non-disc golfers including a fishing lake, kayak and canoe rental, pavilions, an extremely nice playground, volleyball, and much more! The tee signs were great, and were in terrific shape. All of the tees were concrete, and were in perfect shape. Many of the tees were surrounded to unique items like boulders, rocks, and logs. Navigation was easy(Almost too easy, see cons). There were many signs pointing the way from hole to hole, and both nines looped back towards the info board and parking lot. There is a permanent restroom next to the parking lot. There are also many trashcans throughout the course, therefore the course was one if the cleanest I have played on. Hudson is one of the safest, friendliest cities in all of Ohio. You can tell the locals really care about the park and course, because it is extremely clean and beautiful.
Cons: The front nine can be boring for more advanced players, so advanced players might want to skip the front nine if they don't really care about reviewing the course. The front nine is really squeezed into the open space, so there are a few holes with fairways that almost overlap each other, which causes the possibility of injuries. While navigation was easy, many tees were extremely close to the previous basket. While there is a lot of variety, there are only two holes where water comes into play, and it's a shallow, mucky creek. It's a shame the course couldn't have at least a couple holes playing next to the lake. Some areas of the course get really crowded on the weekend, holes #1, #9, #10, #17, and #18 in particular. Parking is a struggle on the weekends as well.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed Hudson Spings. The variety throughout the course was awesome, and attracted both young begginers and older professionals. I think it would be awesome if somehow the island next to the #17 tee could be cleared and they could put the #16 basket on it, which would probably make it a 400 footer and the signature hole on the course. I really recommend you play this course and enjoy the beautiful park. If you have kids, this would be a great place to take them because of the seemingly endless amount of fun activities throughout the park. Ignore the previous reviews that say the tees, signs, and baskets were in bad shape. They are all pretty much new now, and in great shape. Happy discing!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

First time Hudson Review

1    9/27/2015   9/28/2015
Review By: Redwingsrox5
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Well maintained
- Easy to navigate
- Variety of shot selection
- varies in difficulty on front nine compared to the back to offer something for different skill levels
- Nice baskets!
Cons: - Front 9 is very easy. I've only been playing 2 months and I carried a +1 through 9.
- Don't assume the basket you can see is the basket to throw at. A couple holes the baskets are tucked in.
- Beware of walkers/joggers on the back 9 as you'll throw past/into/around them.
Other Thoughts: Overall it was a nice course to play on a Sunday. Wasn't too difficult and the back 9 made up for the easy front 9. It's worth a shot if you're in the area to play it at least once. Being that it was well maintained made the course more enjoyable to play.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice course, enjoyable to play

1    7/20/2014   7/20/2014
Review By: mbradbourne
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2014
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *Easy to navigate, the layout makes sense, where the signs are in disrepair

*Good variety of shots, from wide open to technical lines.

*brand new baskets!

*Good tee boxes
Cons: *Pine trees can grab discs, so bring something to get them down with

*Signs needs some TLC in some cases

*Basket that is visible, it's always the basket you are shooting at... be sure and scope out the shot, based on the sign.

Other Thoughts: The front 9 is a great for beginners I think, Having been playing half a year I found the front to be a good test of my skills, and I was able to score some pars and practice some different shots. The back 9 , after the 11th hole, has some good challenges as you get in to the woods.
My favorite hole is 17, throwing from the elevation. If you are in the area, it's worth checking out for sure.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hudson Springs

5+    10/15/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: Meesta_Bleesta
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads and decent signage on all holes

-Good variety of shot types needed

-Pretty easy to find and navigate for the most part

-Practice basket and restrooms at the main parking lot, which is revisited for a perfect loop between holes 9 and 10
Cons: - Baskets as of Oct. 2013 are in poor shape. All are rusted and can cause spit-outs. Still playable but definitely due for an upgrade, which I heard might be happening soon, but who knows.

-Holes 10 and 18 are pretty close to a often busy playground

-Hole 17 is really close to an often busy walking path

-Hole 1 is really close to the main parking lot, if the wind catches your disc wrong or if you just throw badly you could hit somebody's car

-Some uninspired holes - for instance, 10 and 11 are basically the same thing twice in a row, and 18 is just a wide open 675 footer.
Other Thoughts: I like the feel of this course: it can be a quick round if you want it to be, and it's good for what it is. It's like an old Corolla; worn in and by no means flashy, but reliable, and gets the job done. Maybe it has a hubcap missing, but that doesn't mean it doesn't work.

The front nine are generally really short, around 250' or less, and utilize moderate elevation. The back nine are longer and mostly wooded, with more technical lines available. My personal favorite is probably hole 4 - about 250 feet, but downhill and with trees directly in your path to the basket, forcing you to throw either a big hyzer, a big anhyzer, or a roller - any can be played with similar effectiveness. Huge arms only really get to stretch out on a few, like holes 8 and 18 - relatively open, and 500+ feet. Altogether, you're gonna have some straight shots, some big right-hand shots, some big left-hand shots, some tight windows, some ups and some downs and some trees. I wouldn't qualify any of it unfair, but it can be challenging at times.

As mentioned above, this is a multi-use park with a playground relatively nearby for a couple of holes - which is especially busy during the summer. It doesn't usually limit play, though, just a tad too close for comfort. The walking path near 17 can hold up play on busy days for a couple of minutes if you don't want to risk nailing somebody in the face.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hornet Radiator

1    7/12/2013   7/24/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 420  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Two 9-hole loops. Excellent blend of tech-light (primarily front nine), open bombing (part of back nine), and woodwork (newest holes on re-designed back nine).

Excellent long-n-wide concrete teepads, a major improvement.
"Tee X too close to Basket Y" is something that applies to several holes.

Navigation is fairly straight forward, but note:
- most visible basket from tee-1 is basket-8 (basket-1 is left, hidden by tree)
- most visible tee from basket-1 is tee-3 (tee-2 is to left, near road)
- most visible basket from tee-10 is basket-18 (basket-10 to left, near treeline)

Some might find the highway noise distracting.
Other Thoughts:
Courses plays on the gently rolling land of a pretty public park that backs up to I80. Beginner/intermediate appropriate, while advanced players should have plenty of birdie opportunities. Minor elevation changes on most every hole. The front nine is on the lighter-technical side, with plenty of small trees, mini-forest, and elevation changes to force shot-shaping, although only #8, open until the end, has much length to it. The back nine is longer, with about half the holes open, as long as you don't go too far left too early. The newer holes, 13-17, are the best, with 13-16 twisting through large hardwoods, and favourite number-17 heading downslope, while turning right, and funneling towards the finish.

Very convenient for a traveller to play - close to the interstate, food/petrol options nearby, easy to navigate, low chance of disc loss, good variety, quick to play, pleasant surroundings - certainly worth a visit if passing by.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hudson Springs

1    10/10/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: Sbartlebaugh
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -good signage on each hole and to next tee
-variety of holes (short, middle to long, open, tree alleys, hyzer/anhyzer, varied wind direction)
-not too muddy after recent rain
-concrete tee ads
Cons: -could use a few more longer holes
-narrow tee pads (fine by me)
- could use some elevation change. Makes good use of available elevation.
Other Thoughts: Best course I've played in northeast Ohio. Play the shorter front with beginners or for shots through the gaps or he longer back 9 with the trees.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/29/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: trumpetman330
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Very well groomed course
-Wide variety of holes
-Holes laid in woods are taken care of and manageable
-Each hole has an accurate and easy to read hole layout
-Practice tee before 1st hole
Cons: -Small teeboxes
-Inconsistancy between pars on holes and on scorecards
Other Thoughts: This course is my favorite due to the fact that it's well maintained and about 20 minutes from my house. The course is well worth an hour drive, but I wouldn't drive any longer than that. The woods section of the course is manageable and offers fun challenges. Many good holes to "grip it and rip it" juxtaposed nicely to challenging shots provided in the woods. Overall a great course and well worth the time to play 18!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  New Layout Good... Terrible Condition

5+    10/22/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: lsbaker
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: New layout moves and improves pin position on #12 and adds 4 holes (#13-#16) which play through the woods and back toward the lake with some elevation change and more challenging fairways.

New layout for #17 plays back toward old tee for #13 making for a great overhand ace run.

Practice/#19 basket is in excellent condition .
Cons: Front 9 presents little to no challenge and can be played with a putter with the exception of #8.

#2 tee has been moved off of the hill and now sits level with the pin, eliminating what used to be a somewhat challenging blind shot.

Baskets are rubbish.

Tee pads are rubbish.

Signs are rubbish.

The old layouts for #13, #14, and #16 were excellent just the way they were.

New holes/layouts should have been placed in addition to the existing course, as opposed to replacing them altogether.

More effort should have been made regarding the improvement of existing course/structures/conditions before completing any design development.
Other Thoughts: Muddiest round I have played in my entire life.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 More updates coming

5+    8/28/2011   9/2/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 43  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 7.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Plenty of parking. There's the reservoir and canoeing and a playground for the kids.
- Nice disc golf sign directing you to the front and back nine
- Bathrooms by the parking area
- The map is very helpful
- Excellent practice basket located near Hole #1's Tee right by the parking lot. The basket also has distance markers.
- The Tee Signs on Holes 1-10 are helpful but could use some updating and repair. Tee Signs are still being updated on Holes 11-18 due to all the wonderful changes that have been done on this course lately.
- The course has a decent flow. It is more of two nine hole circles forming a figure-eight with a parking lot at the center. But Hole #18 does end near Hole #1 at the parking lot which is nice.
- Holes #1-11, 17 & 18 are mostly in the open but they still have a decent array of shots required to get around or over some of the obstacles. Holes #12-16 are located in the woods and will require more than a few technical shots.
- The scenery and landscape is very pleasing and the reservoir makes for a fantastic walk with the family. The holes in the woods are done very well, especially on Hole #15 which has a lot of decorative wooden posts along the path and a very nicely done bench.
- The distance on this course is longer than average which is nice. There are a few short holes and lots of ace opportunity on them but there are also some very long holes. The long and open holes provide you the chance to really rip some drives. The elevation adds to this with some long sweeping hills and bends. A few holes have narrow pathways through rows of trees that will test your accuracy.
- There are trashcans and the park is clean
- No vandalism
- General upkeep of the park is very nice.
Cons: - Hole #9's basket is near to #1's Tee which is next to the parking lot. Be extra careful! This park is usually very crowded with disc golfers and a lot of park visitors so there are always cars near where you need to throw for this hole.
- There are still a few very tiny concrete Tees left but since they are close to the ground you can at least start your run-up on the grass. The other Tees are either natural or gravel and are in semi decent shape but seem to collect water and are a bit uneven. Sometimes I just prefer to throw next to the Tee's if they are in rough shape.
Other Thoughts: - Old course and it does show. Established in 1986. Many of the baskets are old and rusty, but still workable and they are labeled
- One suggestion would be to have at least one more bench added to the front & back nine
- The front nine feel somewhat tight and confined until you get to Hole #8 and can really rip it. The back nine really opens up so you can stretch your arm a bit.
- This would be a decent course for beginners, however, a beginner may have a very hard time with a few of the holes in the woods. I cannot say that this course was challenging overall but I will say that the course had some challenging holes. A recreational player could easily score in the high 50's - low 60's here.
- The most challenging hole for me is #13. It is an easy hole to score a 4 on just by playing it very safe, but who wants to do that. There is a sharp turn to the right about 80-100' from the tee and it's a small opening to hit. Fall short like me and you are in some thick rough (this may get cleared out more but it's thick as of 08/31/11). This hole also has some overhand opportunity straight to the basket but that is above my pay grade at the moment. This is your Risk vs. Reward hole.
- My favorite hole is without a doubt Hole #15. A lot of work went into the decorations on this hole and it is beautiful. Nice wooden posts along the path and there's a fancy bench and Tee. This hole is a very long tunnel shot that turns to the left far down the path. You've got thick rough to the right and semi thick woods to the left. Fantastic hole that I really looked forward to the second round we played.
- Lately there have been vast changes to the park especially with the new holes in the woods and they are Beautiful! Huge thanks to all those that have put so many hours into making this course even better. I realize that the work is still continuing and that you have more planned to make this place ever more 'Gooder'!
- Bring the kids, play on the playground, have a picnic and make a day of it. I would not label this as a destination course (yet) to travel a long distance to play but I will say that anyone that lives nearby really needs to get to this course. Had a lot of fun and I look forward to going back.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.