Hudson, OH 
Hudson Springs Park Share
Uploaded By: Brall  
Lake View



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice course, enjoyable to play

1    7/20/2014   7/20/2014
Review By: mbradbourne
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Easy to navigate

*Fairly open

*Good variety of shots, from wide open to technical lines

*brand new baskets!

*Good tee boxes
Cons: *Pine trees can grab discs, so bring something to get them down with

*Signs needs some TLC in some cases


Other Thoughts: The front 9 is a great for beginners I think, Having been playing half a year I found the front to be a good test of my skills, and I was able to score some pars and practice some different shots. The back 9 , after the 11th hole, has some good challenges as you get in to the woods. My favorite hole is 17, throwing from the elevation. If you are int he area, it's worth checking out for sure.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hudson Springs

1    10/10/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: Sbartlebaugh
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -good signage on each hole and to next tee
-variety of holes (short, middle to long, open, tree alleys, hyzer/anhyzer, varied wind direction)
-not too muddy after recent rain
-concrete tee ads
Cons: -could use a few more longer holes
-narrow tee pads (fine by me)
- could use some elevation change. Makes good use of available elevation.
Other Thoughts: Best course I've played in northeast Ohio. Play the shorter front with beginners or for shots through the gaps or he longer back 9 with the trees.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 More updates coming

5+    8/28/2011   9/2/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 41  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Plenty of parking. There's the reservoir and canoeing and a playground for the kids.
- Nice disc golf sign directing you to the front and back nine
- Bathrooms by the parking area
- The map is very helpful
- Excellent practice basket located near Hole #1's Tee right by the parking lot. The basket also has distance markers.
- The Tee Signs on Holes 1-10 are helpful but could use some updating and repair. Tee Signs are still being updated on Holes 11-18 due to all the wonderful changes that have been done on this course lately.
- The course has a decent flow. It is more of two nine hole circles forming a figure-eight with a parking lot at the center. But Hole #18 does end near Hole #1 at the parking lot which is nice.
- Holes #1-11, 17 & 18 are mostly in the open but they still have a decent array of shots required to get around or over some of the obstacles. Holes #12-16 are located in the woods and will require more than a few technical shots.
- The scenery and landscape is very pleasing and the reservoir makes for a fantastic walk with the family. The holes in the woods are done very well, especially on Hole #15 which has a lot of decorative wooden posts along the path and a very nicely done bench.
- The distance on this course is longer than average which is nice. There are a few short holes and lots of ace opportunity on them but there are also some very long holes. The long and open holes provide you the chance to really rip some drives. The elevation adds to this with some long sweeping hills and bends. A few holes have narrow pathways through rows of trees that will test your accuracy.
- There are trashcans and the park is clean
- No vandalism
- General upkeep of the park is very nice.
Cons: - Hole #9's basket is near to #1's Tee which is next to the parking lot. Be extra careful! This park is usually very crowded with disc golfers and a lot of park visitors so there are always cars near where you need to throw for this hole.
- There are still a few very tiny concrete Tees left but since they are close to the ground you can at least start your run-up on the grass. The other Tees are either natural or gravel and are in semi decent shape but seem to collect water and are a bit uneven. Sometimes I just prefer to throw next to the Tee's if they are in rough shape.
Other Thoughts: - Old course and it does show. Established in 1986. Many of the baskets are old and rusty, but still workable and they are labeled
- One suggestion would be to have at least one more bench added to the front & back nine
- The front nine feel somewhat tight and confined until you get to Hole #8 and can really rip it. The back nine really opens up so you can stretch your arm a bit.
- This would be a decent course for beginners, however, a beginner may have a very hard time with a few of the holes in the woods. I cannot say that this course was challenging overall but I will say that the course had some challenging holes. A recreational player could easily score in the high 50's - low 60's here.
- The most challenging hole for me is #13. It is an easy hole to score a 4 on just by playing it very safe, but who wants to do that. There is a sharp turn to the right about 80-100' from the tee and it's a small opening to hit. Fall short like me and you are in some thick rough (this may get cleared out more but it's thick as of 08/31/11). This hole also has some overhand opportunity straight to the basket but that is above my pay grade at the moment. This is your Risk vs. Reward hole.
- My favorite hole is without a doubt Hole #15. A lot of work went into the decorations on this hole and it is beautiful. Nice wooden posts along the path and there's a fancy bench and Tee. This hole is a very long tunnel shot that turns to the left far down the path. You've got thick rough to the right and semi thick woods to the left. Fantastic hole that I really looked forward to the second round we played.
- Lately there have been vast changes to the park especially with the new holes in the woods and they are Beautiful! Huge thanks to all those that have put so many hours into making this course even better. I realize that the work is still continuing and that you have more planned to make this place ever more 'Gooder'!
- Bring the kids, play on the playground, have a picnic and make a day of it. I would not label this as a destination course (yet) to travel a long distance to play but I will say that anyone that lives nearby really needs to get to this course. Had a lot of fun and I look forward to going back.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 New Back Nine!

5+    7/24/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 49  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
• Easy to navigate
• Good mix of hole styles
• Good for beginners/novices while appealing to experienced players
• Full park with amenities for non disc golfers
• clean, well-maintained course/park
• friendly locals
Cons:
• tee pads (upgrades in process)
• signage (upgrades in process)
• some holes overlap other park activities
• park is near a major highway
• can get busy
Other Thoughts:
Quick Tips:

• Bathrooms are located to the right at the entrance of the parking lot
• A water fountain is located on the boat ramp turnaround
• Basic discs can be purchased from the manned entrance kiosk

Hudson Springs is my home course. Having played quite a few courses across the country (including top-rated Coyote Point, DeLaveaga, Stafford Lake, Deer Lakes), up until the recent back nine redesign I always considered Hudson Springs to be an average course at best. The new back nine changes that.

The front nine is for the most part the same as the previous layout. It has a decent mix of technical holes with wide-open fairways, but nothing too long save for the 500+ hole 8. It's challenging, but short. They did the best they could in the constraints of the area of the park it's located in.

The new back nine really ups the appeal to this course. 10 and 11 stay the same as the old layout, but holes 12-16 now take the player back into the wooded hills of the park. 17 is a bit of a reversal of the old 13, and the new 18 ends the course at the old 17, with a new tee pad location for 18. The old 18 basket is now a much-needed practice basket -- since everyone used it as such and it made finishing the round a pain at times.

The local Summit DGA club did an excellent job up bringing the course on par with some of the other great courses in the area such as Lincoln Park, Roscoe Ewing and Arboretum Spiker.

The new back nine offers mostly technical challenges, but nothing too extreme, and thankfully the wooded fairways were also cleared sufficiently to make stray drives less of a nightmare to find your disc than they could have been. The biggest plus to the back nine is the fairways no longer play through common areas of the park, which always led to frustration and delays on the old course. You'll have a slight bit of that on holes 10, 11 and 18, but it's far better than before.

Hudson Springs still suffers from old beat-up tee signs and tee pads, but both of these are in the process of being upgraded (I believe in summer of 2011) from the efforts of the local Summit DGA club. With these upgrades Hudson Springs will become a worthy course in Northeastern Ohio.

Some of Hudson Springs limitations are due to the park and location -- the park is located near a major highway, so you're always reminded of the traffic. And the course being situated within common areas of a public park brings the same limitations it would to any other course -- a lack of solitude, limited parking at times, and non discers cluttering up the fairways (although less of an issue now with the new back nine).

On the positive side, Hudson is an active course with friendly locals, in a clean, well-maintained park with an easy to navigate layout and a beautiful setting for the wooded back nine with enough challenges without making the course frustrating.

Players who love distance holes and extreme technical challenges will be disappointed, however the course still requires skill from an experienced player. New players, novices and casual players will also enjoy this course. If you've not played Hudson Springs and are in the area, you should definitely give it a round. If you've played before, you'll want to try the new course layout -- I think you'll be as impressed as I am.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.