Indianapolis, IN 
Eagle Eye DGC Share
Uploaded By: MacDaddy Hole #7 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 170ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Awesome Eagle Scout Project!

2-4    5/7/2016   5/9/2016
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 274  Reviewed: 257  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: On the beautiful ISBVI campus, just down the driveway to the right, by the track, is a pretty, parkland 'bowl' of mostly level grounds with nine yellow DisCatcher baskets, small concrete tee pads (or paved paths on 1, 7 & 8), and high visibility (high contrast) signage at each tee plus a course map by hole 1, down beside the Optimist building. The holes are not overly long (139 to 212 feet), but incorporate the park trees nicely to make your ace/deuce runs fun practice for your upshot game. And Williams Creek is tranquil and nice to enjoy after you hole out on 6.

The course won't challenge experienced disc golfers because it was conceived and installed as a recreational activity for the blind and visually impaired, and it fulfills that function very well. For the most part, the holes are straightforward and open, with very few places to lose a disc. There are a couple of opportunities to shape and control shots around trees (4 & 7) and under some low ceilings (1 & 3). And with the paved walkways in close proximity, you could call 'on or over' as OB, for added challenge.
Cons: The course has been in place for a little while now, and the bright yellow paint on the baskets is beginning to fade. Likewise, the ground is a little uneven and soft this spring, feeling like the course doesn't get a lot of play. But mostly, if you are looking for places to show off, your arm this ain't it. The place is tranquil, and the course fits that motif perfectly.
Other Thoughts: I must confess I played this 'private' course on a Saturday, and looked for someone on campus to ask permission, but didn't run across a soul while I was there. The gate says you must check in at the 'switchboard', but I'm not sure where that's at. I'm sure it is their intention to keep this private, for the safety of the visually impaired.

Reviewer Background as of this writing: played 264 courses and written 247 reviews, with skills hovering around a 900 rating, I started playing at 50 and am now 55. I don't throw far (300 footers feel like success), but am addicted to DG, and have played with folks ranging from age 7 to 87, so I try to write reviews helpful to all.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, great environment!

1    12/28/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: ajbova
Played: 100  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Purpose: This course is located at the Indiana School of the Blind and Visually Impaired. It is to teach these students how to become more independent. There is a great atmosphere at this course. Nice buildings, nice landscaping.

Tees: Concrete tee pads. 6 are individual pads while 3 throw spots are marked on a concrete path. Great signs too!

Trees: Great amount of trees on this course. Most holes have trees that alter the throwing path.

Very short but fun course: Longest hole is 212 feet. Each hole favors finesse over distance. Very easy to overshoot. Course helps with mid-range game.

Baskets: New baskets that are painted in bright yellow. Great concept to make these more visible for students who are visually impaired.

Design: Short, tricky shots that require accuracy. Very easy to navigate this course once you are inside the property.
Cons: This is a great course and it has a great purpose and there is not much that I would change about it. I wish it was open to the public more often.

The listed water hazard is only an issue if you overshoot hole 6. There were two picnic tables within 5 feet from hole 7.

Only one throw spot per hole.
Other Thoughts: I finally played this course after about two months of knowing of it. Due to it being on a private campus, it is rarely opened to the public.

This course would be 10 times better if it had alternate throw spots for each hole. The alternate throw pads would add variety for these students and would add that much more to the game play.

With the space provided, they did a great job with hole design. It has the look and feel of a high caliber course while being a short par 3 course.

This course would be a great beginner course for anybody but may be too easy for experienced players. Every hole has the potential for a hole in one. Very rare course that favors accuracy over distance. I would highly recommend this course to any disc golf lover.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 An Example of Why I Love Disc Golf

1    9/14/2011   9/14/2011
Review By: Chainrattler
Played: 120  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Pro of this course is the fact that a huge # of people, who otherewise couldn't, will be able to learn and love disc golf. The course is absolutely perfect for this need/concept.
Cons: There is no con to this course.
Other Thoughts: I went out of curiosity to just see the course. There were many students/people doing various activities. Some very nice and visually impaired people were standing by the 9th basket. I asked them if they had played disc golf yet. They replied they wanted to. I spent some quality time there, and got to explain the game and watched them enjoy the recreation. I loved it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Course is Decent/Typical, the location is not.

1    8/6/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 200  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 22.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Specifically designed for the Visually Impaired. With the Discatchers center pole and baskets painted bright yellow,for greater visibility. Set in an area of the Schools grounds,it's secluded and rather quiet. Dennis is working with Rose Hullman Institute of Technology. His goal is to find or develop audio technology for the disc. So the Blind can play! 6 concrete tee pads with the other 3 tees using the paved trail. Easy to read, large number tee signs with hole map and next tee,par and distance.
Cons: Could be a little boring for more experienced players, that are looking for a challenge. If you have the chance and are looking for ace runs and birdies,then you'll have fun here.
Other Thoughts: Hole #1 is the longest at 212' open drive with the DISCatcher surrounded by a handful of mature Trees. Hole #2 is a 181' Straight Shot. Hole #3 is 209' with a low canopy drive. Hole #4 a 145' with two large trees 15' to 20' from the basket. Hole #5 a 162' Straight shot with Marsh on the left. Also has a bench by the tee pad. Hole #6 a 139' Hyzer shot,DISCatcher behind a large bush. Hole #7-170' tee from the paved trail,with your choice of drives. Hole #8 201' Straight shot with the DISCatcher in the middle of two trees. Hole #9 177' an open drive with the DISCatcher surrounded by mature trees. Congtratulations Jacob,I hope you get your Eagle Scout badge!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome to a new world!

5+    8/6/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: MacDaddy
Played: 145  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 33 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice new DISCatcher baskets with hi-vis yellow paint on the baskets and poles, easy to see! Quiet, wooded setting, in the middle of the city. Compact design is easy to follow, nice signs, with new concrete tee-pads. Short, yet semi-technical holes with mature hardwood trees and thick rough off of the manicured fairways. If it's too easy for you, close your eyes and try it (no peeking)! Good course for new to intermediate level, or ADA players. Water and rest rooms are available during certain hours.
Cons: Not a challenge for advanced or pro players. limited access to the course. Limited access to water and restrooms.
Other Thoughts: Wow! It really "opens your eyes" to what is possible. This course could be the beginnnig of a whole new area of disc golf play and competition. Congrats to Jacob Ayers who did the fund raising, got material donations and provided most of the labor for the course as his Eagle Scout Project. Special thanks to the PDGA and all other donors for supporting this wonderful project.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.