Berea, OH 
Baldwin-Wallace College DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #8 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 246ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Forgetable

1    4/7/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 140  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.3 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice campus
Well taken care of
Cons: Plain
Short
Forgetable
Other Thoughts: Fairly short course that plays around a college campas. Normally I don't like colege campus courses but there are a few exception I enjoyed Miami of Ohio, OSU Disc Golf course and I love love love Hocking college. This one however is one of the ones I don't care for. If your a student here, hit it up between classes. If you not a student here, don't go out of you way for it.

Don't get me wrong, it's not all bad. It's a pretty campus and there's nothing wrong with giving the students something to do. The land it's built on was designed for sharpening of young persons mind not their Disc Golf game.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Better than Beer Pong

1    10/22/2011   10/24/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 43  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very urban environment with your stereotypical college setting (manicured yards, benches for studying and lounging, beautiful brick and stonework buildings). This small city landscape is very flat and tightly packed with no extra room for a grip-locked full-armed rip.
- A nice scorecard is provided for you in the Lou Higgins Center Recreational Facility on the desk inside the second set of doors to the right (in the main entrance off of the parking lot).
- The Baskets are in good condition
- There were a few benches and trashcans along the way
- Plenty of parking
- There is a baseball field if you want to practice your drives
- This area is easy to get off the highway (I-71)
Cons: - Very little in the way of a mix of shots. Almost all throws are just a light toss to an open Basket slightly ahead of you.
- It's a putt-putt course
- The scorecard lists the first 8 Holes as the Yellow Course and the other 8 Holes as the Brown Course (Baskets are color coded at the top) so this actually plays like two 8 Hole courses with a long walk in between them. The flow does not work well as you really jump around a lot within each of those courses. Parking seems to be best if you do so at the Lou Higgins Center so that when you finish all 16 Holes you are near the parking lot.
- Only a few Tees are marked by small yellow cubes. It's total guesswork as to where the rest of the tees could possibly be.
- Baskets are not labeled. No clue which basket the scorecard was even referring to.
- An official map is sorely needed. There was a scorecard at the front desk but when I asked about a map the lady had no clue what I was speaking of. If someone gets their hands on an official map please post it here.
Other Thoughts: - Keep safety in mind as you play this course. You will have to keep an eye out for traffic when you are near the busy roads and for people when you are by the multiple walkways.
- The upkeep of the grounds is done very well. Doesn't seem to be much upkeep of the course though since most of the Tee markers were missing and nothing was labeled.
- Low traffic from disc golfers, high traffic from everyone else
- There is not much a challenge here but I would not recommend this to a beginner because of the safety factor on a few Holes
- There are no challenging Holes but the hardest Hole is the one that heads East, next to the tennis court on E. Center St (Hole # 11 I think). It's a tight area with the court on one side and the road on the other and a row of trees blocking the basket.
- Do not take my review in a negative manner because I think it's great that the college kids have a course here. I am rating this review as it compares to the average course. This is NOT your average course so it's tough to rate. The course is really just a few baskets for the college kids to use and for some public use. I can tell you that I would have made one hell of a drinking game out of the 6 baskets located in the area behind Lang & Findley Hall back in my college days.

I would not recommend making plans to hit this course unless you really had nothing else to do but my hope is that this course gets a lot of college folk interested in disc golf, and that's always a plus. So thank you to those that have put this course together!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Baldwin-Wallace DGC

1    10/10/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: JoseCafe704
Played: 29  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 13.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Considering the course does in fact wind through a sizeable chunk of the campus, good use was put forward. The 16 hole course is divided into the "Yellow Course" (front eight), and the "Brown Course" (back eight). Despite the fact that it does weave between residence and lecture halls, the tees and baskets seem to be placed in a manner that cuts down on conflict of interest (ie: People walking to and from class). If you haven't seen Baldwin-Wallace's campus, this is a great way to see a lot of it!
Cons: That being said, when you have a course that is embedded amongst college buildings, there are often people everywhere. I had to revise my tee shot at hole #8 to avoid a girl studying in the fairway. Many of the holes (2, 11, 12) play right along sidewalks and/or parking lots, leaving the player with a dangerous window if there are a lot of people about. There are huge gaps between a lot of holes (2&3, 8&9, 12&13, 13&14, 14&15) with no on-course direction as to where the next tee lies. The front nine tees are clearly marked with yellow tee boxes, but after that there are few tees marked with anything more than some white spray paint on the grass/concrete. The holes play incredibly short. Hole #9 plays across what seems to be the lacrosse practice field. A guy was practicing right next to a basket when I approached. He was nice enough to move, but if the whole team is there, #9 may be a no go.
Other Thoughts: Though the cons outweigh the pros in my book for this course, it is obvious thought was put into it. When you place a disc golf course smack-dab in the center of a college campus, it won't be easy to just rip through it in 45 minutes. Even though there are huge gaps between the front 8 and back 8 (front eight being North of E. Bagley Rd, back eight, South), they are presented as two seperate entities in that they are named the yellow and brown courses, respectfully. That was a nice touch and a way to make the course unique to Baldwin-Wallace. The 15th would make a great short hole with three small evergreens protecting the front approach to the basket, but once again, a building just to the right leaves little chance of a RHBH approach. If you haven't played the course before, definitely stop in at the rec center right across the street from the Kleist Center and pick up a map and a scorecard there. They're right at the front desk.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/7/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: vcole21
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very easy course so you will most likely end with a very good score which build confidence for newer players like myself. Most of the course is wide open, very little trees in your way except on a few holes. Very forgiving of mistakes so you can recover for par even if you didnt have a great drive. The course is maintained well since it is on a college campus and the baskets are brand new. I actually aced a hole too!
Cons: Very, very easy. I would say a professional could have a chance to ace half the holes on the course. There are no true tee boxes and the markers for the tee boxes were taken out due to people stealing them so it is difficult to know where to play the holes unless someone who knows the course is playing with you. there are long walks between some holes so it doesnt flow as well as other holes. some holes are very very short, at least three are less than 175 feet.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course and i have played it many times since I am a student at the college. its a quick round (by yourself you can finish in 45 minutes) and helped me fall in love with the sport since I wasn't shooting +15 all the time. It does not help you grow much as a player since it does not punish you much for uncontrolled throws but its a lot of fun to shoot under par.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.