Loomis, CA 
HCP DGC Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #3
3 / 65ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Cool little course!

1    9/27/2014   9/29/2014
Review By: Taz Michael
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 25.4 Years
Pros: This course was level enough for me to play (with a bad back), yet challenging enough for me to work on my short game. Shaded, heavily wooded, marked, clean and well maintained; this course was a blast to play!
Cons: Can't park on private roadways.
Other Thoughts: I have a bad back: this course is short and pretty flat, so I was able to play it... twice.

ok

1    7/11/2014   7/11/2014
Review By: brad3626
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Some of the older reviews mention hole 1 was missing a basket, it is no longer missing.

Good for distance putting practice.

Tons of trees make it shady all day
Cons: Tee pads are to small for more than an x-step (lol)
Other Thoughts: Leave the drivers at home, putters and midranges will be all you need.


2-4    1/20/2014   1/21/2014
Review By: rudge
Played: 40  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: while only one of the holes comes close to 200 feet in distance, the volume of trees really makes for some technical shots. You can play this course 3 times in less than an hour.
Cons: it is on the back end of an elementary school, so it can only be played during non-school hours.
Other Thoughts: this is a great place to practice that mid to short game. I recommend this course if you happen to be in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Do You Like Dunking On 8 Foot Baskets?

1    8/25/2012   10/6/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The HCP Disc Golf Course (HCP stands for the woman who the elementary school is named after, Helen or Harriet Clarke Powers) plays around the athletic field at the elementary school.
The course is another of these courses in miniature, designed for elementary kids. The holes range from 65' to 182'. It has excellent tee signs giving the hole #, distance, par and a sponser. The smaller concrete tees are very adequate for the shots needed here. You're playing in the woods so it's nice and shady.
Basket # 1 is missing and it seems to have been missing for quite some time.
Hole #'s 3, 5 and 9 are the only really easy ACE looks. The other holes, although short, are mostly just easy birdie ops.
Cons: The missing # 1 basket is a shame. The course doesn't loop but finishes with # 9 at the far end of the fields. I threw numerous rounds here chasing that cheap ACE mostly concentrating on 3, 5 and 9. I hit chains, poles, trees but no ACES.

If you're looking for a challenge or a workout, this probably isn't the course for you.
Other Thoughts: This is no destination course but it's a great place to bring the newbie, girlfriend, or to come chasing ACES. Replacing # 1's 75' ACE run basket would certainly add to the course's appeal.

This course might be a little overrated (cough, cough.....giggle, giggle) thanks to a couple of 5's given but ignore that and enjoy it for what it is. A fun little course designed with elementary kids in mind.

Do you like playing hoops on 8 foot baskets and imagining you're in the NBA? Makes you feel like Dwight Howard dunking on those, right? Yeah, we all do! Well hitting chains off the tee on this course makes me feel like I'm Dave Feldberg playing in a pro event. Same idea!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hard to not overshoot...

1    7/15/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: humchris85
Played: 114  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 9.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good for the kids at the school
- Easy aces to be had
- Concrete tees
- Tee signs with distance on them
- Map at the beginning, though not super necessary
- Course was deserted on a sunday afternoon (aside from some kids playing with firecrackers in the playground)
- Baskets on 8 of 9 holes
- All you need is a putter to play it
- Good amount of trees around to make it more challenging
Cons: - Hole 1's basket is missing, they put up a peice of PVC to replace it, but it's not a very good replacement.
- Holes are all super short ranging from 55' to 182'
- It's hard to not over shoot most of the holes here with your putter.
- Garbage on the course, most of which looks like it's from the school children
- Tee signs are lacking maps (though they are not needed as you can see every basket from the tee.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a place to take your kids golfing or to pick up some quick cheap aces this is probably the place to hang out, otherwise I would suggest going somewhere where you need more than just your putter to play a round. The holes were all super short, but nicely wooded, making it more of a challenge than you would think with the short hole lengths. I could have given this course a 1.5 if it wasn't missing that first basket.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Super fun time.

5+    6/15/2012   6/16/2012
Review By: FatLarry
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2012
2 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: No one but us chickens on a Friday afternoon. Just the right amount of frustration. Random kid on a golf cart gave my buddy and I a ride from 9 back to 1, I would highly recommend everyone playing here.
Cons: Basket one is missing. It is on a elementary school grounds.
Other Thoughts: The PVC pipe for hole one is missing now.

2 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 best putter course ever!

5+    6/15/2012   6/15/2012
Review By: swampdisk
Played: 36  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.8 Years
2 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: tight putter course that challenges the best putters....nice course to go by your self or with a friend because no one is there......fast speed of play
Cons: no basket on hole 1
Other Thoughts: played 11 rounds today with an ace and 15 ace runs so much fun

2 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Hard Core Practice

1    2/21/2012   2/23/2012
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice baskets and teepads for such a short and obscure course. Great use of what is otherwise just a backdrop to the large baseball field. Great way to introduce youngsters to the woodsy DG, especially since it's on an elementary school grounds.
Cons: Basket #1 is missing, with only a tall PVC pipe as a replacement. Pretty dusty grounds with tons of dried up leaves everywhere.
Other Thoughts: Great place to practice & really hone-in short woodsy approaches and putts. Neat little track, but can't really see myself coming back or even recommending it to anyone. Santa Anita is way better as a short course.
=================
Uniqueness: B+ (not enough courses like this out there)
Difficulty: B (very short; densely wooded)
Fun Factor: B- (can get tricky with the trees)
Aesthetics: B- (low maintenence; some refuse)
-----------------------
Overall: B

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 great putter practice course

1    7/6/2010   1/31/2012
Review By: Jaerex09
Played: 43  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: good short course, perfect for mid range, upshot and putter practice.
This course is tucked into a very small area however that renders great practice for specialty mid range shots. this course is all baskets and has a few challenging holes.
Cons: very short and parking lot does come into play on a few holes.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.