Camp Hill, PA 
Creekside DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 397ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
A decent course

5+    7/17/2012   8/2/2013
Review By: mSchmoe41
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like the mandos. I like the layout of the holes. I like how the course has 'monster alley' because you to get work on different shots The elevation of hole 16 and the staircase up I think is a nice addition to the course. Gives it some nice character and at that height, you can either have a great throw or you can be punished for a wayward throw. The people I met on the course are very welcoming and very nice. I think those that keep it up do a good job at it.
Cons: The last time I played, if I remember correctly the course either got hit with some heavy rain and it is a course that can affected by rain. The location for me because of the time I would normally be going, traffic is terrible and I don't like contending with the traffic to get there. Holes along the side of property line is not something I like. Even though 'monster alley' is on my pro comment section I have to put it on my con comment section because it is too drastically different from the rest of the course. I personally like a consistent variety over. drastic difference.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think it is good course to play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Course for All

1    9/23/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: el_duder
Played: 37  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tee Signs: I like the art on the tee signs, plus they're loaded with info regarding different tee locations, distances, pars. It'd be nice to get them all on posts, but they're still really nice signs.
-Scenery: A very nice park tucked into a suburban neighborhood with a nice stream providing a peaceful soundtrack to your round of golf, unless you toss a disc into the stream!
-Monster Alley: These three holes were great! They really gave the course a good bit of character after a ho-hum front nine.
-Maintenance/Facilites: Scorecards were available at tee one and a disc return box is located between 8 and 9. The park is well maintained and also offers a picnic pavillion, playground, baseball field and port-a-potty.
Cons: -Layout: The front nine don't offer much in the way of variety, but at least they aren't all straight shots to a basket in a field. Hole 10 would actually make me more nervous than the creek if the parking lot had been full.
-Tee pads: Concrete is nice but they're a little small almost to the point where a toe board would be better.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this was a pretty nice round of disc golf. The front nine were a little cramped and didn't offer much variety, but they were fun and the threat of hyzering a disc into the creek kept us on our toes. The course really picked up from 12 to 17 with the meat being Monster Alley. Hole 14 didn't treat me well, but I marked it as a favorite of mine just for the twisted trees, lumpy ground and hanging basket (It was in B position). We didn't get to play hole 5 due to construction nearby.

I'm glad we stopped to enjoy this course, it's probably not a course you'd drive to far to play at, but if we're in the area and have some time to kill, I'd like to play it again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Creekside

1    7/28/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 38  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Concrete tees
2. Tees have map, par, distance, alt tees
3. Pretty easy to follow
4. Uses the creek as a hazard well
5. Located on a nice park w/ portapotty
Cons: 1. Not great to play after rain
2. Maps can be hard to understand
3. I'm not a fan of the mandos
4. Bigger tees would be nice
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course and it had a unique layout. I enjoyed playing by the creek and being able to see the water. The front 9 holes were pretty easy and fun while the back 9 provided a more challenging play. Finding tee 14 was a pain, follow the trail further from the park. Overall this was a great fun course to play. The front nine was great for beginners while the back nine was great for the more experienced players. 15 hole A has been moved to the B location so look out for that. Again this was a good course and I would like to go play it again when it's dry. I'm giving it a 2.5 because there wasn't really anything that set it apart from any other course that I've played. Definitely recommend checking out though.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Water Hazards Galore!

1    3/31/2012   3/31/2012
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course plays in a park that is about as wide as a football field and obviously much longer. Holes 1-5 line the creek and the rest of the back nine hugs the other side of the park, which is lined by a bunch of houses. Back nine follows a similar pattern, except the holes get longer and slightly more technical (see below)

- There's a clear dichotomy between the front and back nine here. The front nine is more or less a pitch-and-putt course, which is great for beginners. The back nine has longer, more technical shots. When played together, the first half is a great warm-up for the second half.

- Decent signage leads you around the course, which is pretty intuitive to begin with. No real need for a map here.

- Water hazards and mandos make the course more interesting. The water hazards do intimidate you a little, but also force you to be more accurate. Fortunately the creek isn't too deep if you do launch one in there.

- Birdie city. I think I sank at least 7 birdies on this course due to the short holes and easy shot selection.

- Looks like the course has a good disc golf community, which is always nice to see. I'd like to play here when they light up the tiki torches!

Notable holes:

#8 - Low clearance throw off the tee must then pass a tree mando and go right of the target.

#11 - The one long-bomb open air shot in the course. A straight shot to the tee.

#12 - Well-placed shot that requires you to throw to the right of a tree. The trick here is getting around the mando without putting your disc in the drink.

#13-15: much longer holes (~400ft) that are in a very densely wooded section of the park known as "Monster Alley." The holes play very close to the creek and are much more challenging than the rest of the course. Hole #14 has a neat hanging basket, which is one of the coolest parts of the course.
Cons: - Lots of opportunities (due to the narrow nature of the park) for holes to cross. I had the whole course to myself so it wasn't an issue, but I can see this being a big problem if there were crowds playing.

- While holes #14-16 are tight, technical, and fun, they could also use some TLC. Tons of dead hanging limbs, flood debris, and overgrowth of vegetation on the path make it look more like a jungle than a disc golf course.

- Not much variety in the shots. Sure, some hug the river; others require right and left mandos, but aside from the notable holes above, it feels like you're throwing the same shot throughout the course.

- Not a fan of all the houses/private property by the course. I know this isn't the park's fault, but it's unnerving to think that an errant throw in someone's yard is technically trespassing.

- Tees are too short and don't allow for any run-up.
Other Thoughts: Even though there's nothing incredibly notable about this course, I'd definitely play it again. The limitations of the course are the limitations of the park: it's just too narrow and homogenous to have more variety and distance in the shots. Nevertheless, it's a great opportunity to practice accuracy on the forehand and backhand.

There's no better combination than going to Appalachian Brewing Company in Camp Hill then playing a round here; or vice versa.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/13/2011   9/13/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is made up of two 9-hole loops starting from the parking area. It plays through a limited strip of land between private properties and a large creek. It's a mostly open course. "Monster Alley" has 3 of the tougher holes of the course where it is tightly wooded.

Other Pros:

- not difficult to navigate
- reasonable tee signs
- risk/reward with the creek nearby on most holes
- not crowded on a weekend
- candle holders on top of the baskets is a nice touch
Cons: The concrete tee pads were a bit short. I suppose the creek could eat discs but the water was low when I played and retrieval was fairly easy.

Other Cons:

- no elevation
- limited variety
- errant throws could go in a fenced in backyard on one side and the creek on the other
Other Thoughts: I had a good time here and we had the place to ourselves. An ugly stray cat followed me around for 4-5 holes...wish I had some food for him.

You can make a quick round here and it's worth playing if you are nearby.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Park is overflowing with activity

1    6/13/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course starts out with an easy birdie hole on 1.
Hole 16 has an interesting elevated tee to create a signature hole, and hole 17 has a novelty elevated basket.
Each hole had tee signs, junior tees, and clear tee pads.
Large playground available for the kids while you play.
Aestetically pleasing course along a rushing river.
Baskets have holders for lights for night golf, but I think I'll pass, it's easy enough to lose a disc in the day light.
Cons: Tee pads were tiny 3'x 3' squares for most holes. No where near large enough for any type of throw.
No way to know what position the baskets were in.
Park has too much going on, people were always in the way.
Just an overall dangerous course, you are either avoiding water, park users or people's property lines. There are not many areas where you can safely let it rip. I saw a lot of people playing with 1 disc and thought, "That's probably the only disc they have left, the rest are in the river"

Several holes are dangerously close to property lines (especially on hole 6):
Hole 8 has a mando that forces you to play closer to the property lines.
From Hole 9's tee you are looking down on basket 1, the basket for 9 is actually up by the houses with a busy pavilion and horseshoe pit on right.

10 was a Risky shot with rushing water on right and a volleyball court and parking lot on left. I was actually hit with a disc a guy threw from hole 10 while I was standing in the parking lot.

14-16 were off in their own area, it was a long muddy walk back to the tee for 17.
Other Thoughts: If you play you need to get there before the park starts getting crowded. I had swimmers sitting by baskets 4 and 10, picnickers in the way on 1 and 9, and dog walkers in the way on a few holes.

Beginners need to stick with the junior tees because of the risk of disc loss in the water, potential property damage, and risk of hitting park visitors.

the water in play starts out exciting, but quickly feels redundant. I threw discs into the water on holes 12, 13, and 14 (I got them all back). I really wish the hanging basket would have been up for #14 instead of another blind basket by the water.

Porto-potty by hole 11.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Simple yet Fun

1    5/22/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: Zaminski
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is designed pretty well for the area it occupies. The river provides a good view. Most holes are fairly simple straight shots. Monster Alley is what sets this course apart from others though. Three holes in a very wooded area. I was shooting close to par before I entered the alley. Hole 16 has an amazing elevated tee, probably best elevation in central pa. Score cards provided and awesome course directories.
Cons: Every hole is pretty similar but fun to hit the pars and birdies. Hole 16 is the only elevation on the course. Tee pads are concrete but some are very short, I mean very short. Playing along backyards is always a con.
Other Thoughts: Seeing your disc in a backyard and knowing you can not get it always sucks. If you are in the area it is worth stopping in to play. The Crawdads do a good job of keeping the course nice. Would love to play at night on this course sometime.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worth Your While

1    3/27/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice setting along the Condoguinet River. Good use of available space and easy to navigate with wooden "next tee' signs affixed to the bottom of each basket. Multiple pin settings on some of the holes and good balance of open (front 9) vs. more technical (back 9) holes. The hanging basket on 14, the 35-40 foot high tee off area on 16 and the railroad tie/elevated tees on 10 and 17 are highlights.
Cons: Claustrophobic and tight, through no fault of the designer- it's just the way the land is. It is simply too narrow throughout much of the course, and several holes run parallel to one another out of necessity. Concrete tees a bit too short. Pedestrians, kids playing and peoples' back yards are a major factor. It looks as if a garbage dump litters the hill behind the houses bordering holes 15 and 16. Very soft and soggy in spots.
Other Thoughts: Designer Jeff "Crawdaddy" Manatt did a commendable job on this course despite little to work with. While it is not on a par with some of the "upper tier" courses in the central PA area, it is definitely an enjoyable play for people with varying ability levels. Make a day of it and play this course before going to Lewisberry to play Gifford Pinchot State Park.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Slight Arc

1    9/5/2009   9/9/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two 9-hole loops. Nice view of the river during most every hole. Easy course to navigate. Over half the holes have much-shorter alternate recreation-level tees. Next tee arrows on bottom of basket.
Cons:
Concrete tees a bit too short. Primarily single tee/basket. Many holes play similarly - about 275', fade left. Users of the baseball field, volleyball court, pavilion, walking paths, and/or open space could make several holes unplayable.
Other Thoughts:
Plays in a multi-use park which exists on a narrow strip of flat land located between a bend in the river and houses. A few open holes, most holes have a large tree or two mid-flight to avoid. #14-16, in a more unkempt part of the park, offer a slightly different challenge - many more trees to avoid, more turns to make, and much longer. Elevated on #16 really adds to the challenge of the hole.

Overall, a solid course, making the most of the land it had with which it had to work.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice use of land!

2-4    7/20/2008   2/20/2009
Review By: Jimb
Played: 73  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a pretty park setting with other facilities on the premises... playground, ball field, etc. Plus you can see a lot of different species of birds on the creek... cranes, ducks, etc.

Excellent use of the limiting, narrow tract of land that this park is on. Most holes are bordered by either a creek or private properties on one side or the other. The length isn't overwhelming so having these hazards to work around makes the holes a lot more interesting. The creek just calls out to you... feed me!

Most of the holes play through grassy fields with a few large trees dictating the path that you take to the pin. So the fairways are all clearly defined. The mandos make sense and really add to a couple of the holes that would otherwise play extremely short.

There are a couple holes that play in pretty thick woods. These help to break up the feel of the course a little.

The signage is OK and gets you around the course pretty well. I'd definitely recommend going to the courses site and printing their nice map too, though. There are concrete tees along with shorter natural tees on a lot of the holes. The baskets are nice and in good shape.

This course is a very nice beginner course. Even with the OB yards and creek, if you're not trying to get close to the pins on your tee shots, you can pretty easily avoid going OB. So the OB shouldn't suck in too many beginner shots as there is normally plenty of room to throw away from the OB. It just won't get you the best score that way.

The course should still prove interesting to experienced players looking for a quick 18. The creek provides some definite risk/reward opportunities if you really go for the pins to shoot for birdies.

Creekside is pretty close to a lot of different things to do around Harrisburg. Shopping, restaurants, etc. are all reasonably close.
Cons: Because of the limitations of the property, there isn't a big amount of variety to the holes. A lot of the holes feel pretty similar to each other, ie. nice grassy holes with just a couple trees to avoid. The course doesn't have much elevation in play. And you're never throwing over the creek, just alongside it. The course doesn't require a lot of technical or really creative shots. Other than the creek and the yards, there's not a whole lot of trouble that you can get into generally speaking, which seems to make the course play pretty easy.
Other Thoughts: I hope that my review doesn't come off as sounding too negative about this course. I had a really good time playing it. And given the opportunity, if I'm in the Harrisburg, PA area again I'll definitely be back.

#10 would have to be my favorite hole on the course. This is a big risk/reward hole, as I mentioned before. It's 293' long. I can drive a little over 300' consistently now, so this is within my driving range. However, my accuracy at 300' still needs some work. So with the creek lining the fairway almost the entire way on the right, and with an OB parking lot on the left when you get closer to the pin, you have a very narrow opening to thread to get close to the pin with your drive if you're trying for a birdie.

All in all, it's definitely worth playing a round here. Just don't go too far out of your way or set your expectations too high and you shouldn't be disappointed.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.