Camp Hill, PA 
Creekside DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 177ft.   3 / 177ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A unique design

2-4    7/20/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Pretty park on a scenic creek (river) and looks very well kept
-Excellent signage with accurate distances and illustrations
- The plethora of O.B. and mandos on the course make the course much more technical than it would otherwise be which i suppose might be a con for some but i always like technical golf.
-multiple pin positions for a number of holes and multiple tees
-16 long was a true signature hole with a wooded fairway from a very elevated tee for your first shot. Then a throw down an O.B.-lined easement that finishes to a protected pin on the side of a hill.
-Club is very active and the locals i met were incredibly friendly.
Cons: -The negatives of this course are a product of the property that the club has to work with. While i don't mind courses with lots of O.B. i don't enjoy the O.B. being people's back yards as it is on a number of holes. I also would have trouble coming here for round after round of golf. Even with the lengths the club has gone to to make this short course more challenging, the front nine in particular is less than thrilling golf.
Other Thoughts: This is probably one of the best designs i've seen for a course as every inch of this property was squeezed for this design. I think if people had seen the land available before the course was installed they would have said you couldn't put a course here. The negatives about this course are an inherent part of having a course in this restricted space but i really respect the efforts to make a very decent course on this narrow strip of land. I didn't mention the tees above because i wasn't sure if they were a pro or con. They are a mix of concrete patches and asphalt paving (and i think 2 natural) and they often don't allow for a complete run up on the tee. Rather you have to start off the tee and use the small concrete patch just to plant and throw, which i did without difficulty. Overall i've enjoyed my rounds here and look forward to my next time out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Surprise

1    7/2/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: Brijac
Played: 39  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice park near a large stream that comes into play on quite a few holes. The front nine is mostly wide open, but the bit trees come in to play. Holes on the back nine become tighter and more creative. The 15th hole was extremely tough and had a great hanging basket at the end. The next hole had a breathtaking view from its elevated tee.
Cons: One hole was missing a basket and another hole missing a sign/tee box.
Other Thoughts: Definitely will play this course again the next time in the area.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great use of land

1    5/23/2009   5/23/2012
Review By: Airubus
Played: 35  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mix of left and righty (or backhand and sidearm shots) this course will temper you and make you learn to play with a large body of water next you you. great course for beginners. and the locals are very friendly, and Jeff is likely to join you for a round, then invite you back to his house for a campfire and dinner with his family. did i mention the tiki torches for GLOW GOLF??
Cons: There can be some crazy vegetation on the back nine. it IS a flood plane, and the crawdads can certainly show you pictures of baskets under water. some of the fairways will border eachother, so beware of oncoming discs. dont be afraid to creekwalk if you lose a disc!
Other Thoughts: My first ace EVER was on this course, hole number 1...and Jeff paid me $$$ for it!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/31/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1205  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.7 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Loved # 16 tee area from the top of the hill down and into the bottoms (which the whole park is located, near the river bottom or in this case the creek bottom).

Home made Elevated basket for # 18 (I personally like a few elevated baskets sprinkled around a DGC).

good tee signs and tee signs that tell ya where the next hole is (although it's not to hard to navigate the course without looking at the tee signs).

Most of the holes are challenging enough to have fun and still maintain an edge. Maybe some "BIG PRO's" or "BIG ARMs" might find this kind of DGC to lack this and that, but I found it to be a good DGC for all that likes and wants to play DG.
Cons: the "creek" (is big enough to think it's a river) is not to deep but is wide and has to be given respect when throwing along the sides of it.

After a decent rain there seems to be a lot of stagnet water.

Homes abutt the parks property and not all neighbors are DG friendly. (so be nice when your disc accidently goes into their property)

The mando hole was a bit extreeeme. I understand it's purpose but ......
Other Thoughts: Have to drive through neighborhood to get to park, so becarefull of your speed.

Not enough parking.

One porta john.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A nice course but beware the "mighty" Conodoguinet

5+    11/2/2010   11/13/2010
Review By: KAK3990
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Excellent use of the terrain available
-Active and friendly local club
-Nice variety of distances and shots called for
-Never too busy. and can play the back nine first if necessary
-They fit an 18 hole course into a park that you wouldn't think could handle it
-Hole #16 is the signature hole of this course
Cons: -High risk of disc loss, MANY holes border the Conodoguinet Creek, and if you play with a few people its more than likely someone is gonna have to go in the creek to get their disc
-Walking path throughout the course so beware of non-discers
-With the exception of "Monster Alley" 15 of the holes are pretty wide open
Other Thoughts: Creekside is a fun disc gold course located in Camp Hill, PA. They have an active local club presence and the members are generally friendly. The local club is also pretty serious about returning lost discs, which I have experienced personally. A fun course to play, not overly challenging but not simple either. If you do play here be aware that at some point you or your playing partner are probably going to have to go into the creek to retrieve a disc. A good, fun play but not necessarily a must play.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasantly Suprised

1    7/10/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located in a small but very pretty park. It has a very nice wide creek bordering the length of the course (cmon its called Creekside). For how small a park this is there is quite a bit in it. Disc Golf, Sand Volleyball, horshoes, a nice playground, basketball court and a baseball field.

This course is highlighted by the 3 hole turn around called Monster Alley. Holes 14 - 16. These are the signature holes of the course. They are the only holes that really require you to perform very technical shots and force you to pick your landing spots carefully. Hole 16 is the only hole on the course with any significant elevation.

The Creekside Crawdads. The local disc golf club are all a blast to play with and keep this course in great shape. You can easily tell that they are super active on this course. They are very big on returning lost discs that they find (and they have found tons), so put your name on it use the information provided on the fence near #9's basket if you lose one or find one.

There are two pins for 11 holes and there are three tees for quite a few holes. Both of which add some nice variety to the course.

Within the limitations of the course there is a pretty good variety of shots required but make sure that you are handy with a Buzz or Roc.

Older Disc Catcher baskets are still in good shape and there are a plethora of score cards at Hole #1's tee.
Cons: Mandos. This course by necessity has alot of mandos but I feel that courses with mandos just highlight the design flaws.

Hole Number 7. In the long position and obeying the posted mando it is just shy of impossible to get to this 200' hole. The only option I can see is a wicked cut roller. I would prefer just a short ace run rather that the current setup for this hole.

Tees. Every regular tee has a small patch of poured concrete which is nice to plant off even if your run up is a little difficult. The other two tees on each hole are thich soft mulch which is really difficult to drive out of. I think it would actually be better to throw off of grass or hard packed dirt.

Backyards lining one side of the course. Not really the fault of the course but I really feel bad that these people who live along the course have discs flying into their private property on a regular basis. It is depressing seeing a disc golfer jump a fence into a persons yard to retrieve their disc.
Other Thoughts: I was very pleasantly suprised by this course. From the previous reviews I thought every hole was going to be either an ace run or a lost disc. Instead I found a moderately difficult, if short course that with alot of OB and mandos that really made you think about your shots. I am extremly happy that I took the time to play this course.

I played in the Creekside Cooker III this past weekend and the Creekside Crawdads put on a great tourney. I had an absolute blast. I would recomend this annual tournament and this course to anyone in the area.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 2010 Cooker layout

1    7/10/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: mike
Played: 63  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was my first time venturing to Crawdad Country. I played in the 2k10 Cooker and played the long tees both rounds. I found the course to be quite challenging. From various pin positions that rewards daring shots to mandos which made a simple hole into a complex hole...all were great. Monster Alley...Hole 14-16 are wonderful! Hole 14 makes you really work on shot placement. Hole 15 two pin positions are both challenging with various lanes to get to the pins. Hole 16..from the elevated tee...was great! Again, shot placement was quite particular on this hole. The course had adequate navigation markings and the terrain other then hole 16 was quite flat.
Cons: The short tees are a challenge to use. They had added/extended with mulch which worked quite well. But the concrete pads need help. The playing next to backyards was tedious however with decent throws, there wasn't anything to worry about.
Other Thoughts: The Creekside did an outstanding job on utilizing the land they had. I would love to have a course like this in my backyard. I will be back! If you do head for a day of golf in/near Harrisburg, be sure to play here along with the Pinchot State Park courses.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Kind of disappointed

1    8/19/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: IAMGT
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I think the setting for this course is great. It is a really pretty park right on the creek and it has a very homey feel. You almost feel like you're in your backyard. I've always heard how creekside was pretty and a must play, and I agree it is a really cool pretty piece of land. 16's elevated tee was an awesome first shot. You don't get to play many holes like that where you are so high up above the fairway. The front nine on this course is pretty easy and it is not hard to shoot par. The course itself, was very well maintained, grounds people were really courteous as if you were on a ball golf course and would shut their mower off when you were about to throw.
Cons: Okay, so I had high expectations for this course after hearing so much about it. I'm not going to lie, I was a little disappointed. This course has/had a lot of potential, but the designers could have changed a few holes. Number 7 is a ridiculous par 3. I think that someone originally put it there and thought that it would be a really easy hole at only 100something feet...but then decided this was too easy, so they make you throw around some random mandatory tree that takes away all chance of throwing an ACE. I'm not bitter about the hole because I still did play it well, I just think it could have been designed better. 14 is just absolutely insane. I would love to be with someone who made par on this hole when it's in the furthest position. My buddy had 3 great shots to get himself only within 50 feet from putting. I'm not saying it's impossible...but I can't see many people parring, or ever getting a 3 on it. I would just like to see someone's plan of attack at parring that hole.
Other Thoughts: The majority of this course is pretty easy. Play smart when you are throwing near the creek, and you will be fine. Even if you go for it on some of the creek holes, you really have to shank it far into creek to not be able to retrieve it. The front 9 should not be much above par, or at all....but the back 9 is a different story, as 14 and 16 can both be really tough holes. FINAL THOUGHT: I drove from york to come up and play creekside today...If I'm doing this again, I would rather play both pinchot courses or drive south to codorus before I make the venture back to creekside.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 EEEK the CREEK!

1    8/6/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you like danger.....you will love this course. 8 of these holes run parallel for the entire fairway to the mighty Conodoguinet River. Thats a big deep wide swift moving river, sorry it's no creek. The basket positions often are just a few feet from the banks as well. Theres a hanging basket on hole 14, a pleasant surprise. Concrete tees, small but reasonable. Great signs. An elevated basket on hole 17. Nice low ceiling shuleless drives in a pleasant well maintained suburban park. It's a nice park with genuinely friendly people throughout. What made me really smile here was the amazing teepad for hole 16........after playing 15 flat holes I was instructed by a sign to follow a path to a staircase that rose high above the park.....eventually I was 30-40 feet above the ground and there was a tee pad shooting back down through a chute of trees to a long par 4 fairway. After driving it was down another staircase to the ground below. Remarkable! this really influenced me to boost the score for this course. There are shortie tees here that will help mitigate the risk for newbies. 18 finishes with a basket islanded by access roads. If it's not the river playing with your head then it's the backyards....Every hole has a true element of risk that could destroy your score and your bag as you often can lose discs here to the river. "Monster Alley" has some surprises and it's evident the locals are doing all they can to make the best of this tiny horseshoe shaped piece of land on the bend of the river.
Cons: The river really is a disc gobbler and often I found myself wimping out rather than lose my 3rd disc of the day....so at some points I wasn't really playing as much as I was just throwing little pooch drives despite the reachability of the baskets. If the creek and yards were not present this would be the perfect beginner course. But it's not...just too much risk on this tight sliver of land. No elevation outside of the mighty hole 16. Plinko along a river is really not fun on hole 14. Hit a tree go swimming....yuck. Walking path comes in play for most of front 9 increasing risk for OOB and the public.
Other Thoughts: This was a unique course that I would encourage people to play...there is some length and some fun to be had. I am not a fan of water holes so I listed much of that as a con....If you enjoy the danger and the high risk/reward element and don't mind losing a few discs you will really love this place.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.