Camp Hill, PA 
Creekside DGC Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #14 (Taken 7/2011)
4 / 509ft.   4 / 509ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Approach



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Water Hazards Galore!

1    3/31/2012   3/31/2012
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course plays in a park that is about as wide as a football field and obviously much longer. Holes 1-5 line the creek and the rest of the back nine hugs the other side of the park, which is lined by a bunch of houses. Back nine follows a similar pattern, except the holes get longer and slightly more technical (see below)

- There's a clear dichotomy between the front and back nine here. The front nine is more or less a pitch-and-putt course, which is great for beginners. The back nine has longer, more technical shots. When played together, the first half is a great warm-up for the second half.

- Decent signage leads you around the course, which is pretty intuitive to begin with. No real need for a map here.

- Water hazards and mandos make the course more interesting. The water hazards do intimidate you a little, but also force you to be more accurate. Fortunately the creek isn't too deep if you do launch one in there.

- Birdie city. I think I sank at least 7 birdies on this course due to the short holes and easy shot selection.

- Looks like the course has a good disc golf community, which is always nice to see. I'd like to play here when they light up the tiki torches!

Notable holes:

#8 - Low clearance throw off the tee must then pass a tree mando and go right of the target.

#11 - The one long-bomb open air shot in the course. A straight shot to the tee.

#12 - Well-placed shot that requires you to throw to the right of a tree. The trick here is getting around the mando without putting your disc in the drink.

#13-15: much longer holes (~400ft) that are in a very densely wooded section of the park known as "Monster Alley." The holes play very close to the creek and are much more challenging than the rest of the course. Hole #14 has a neat hanging basket, which is one of the coolest parts of the course.
Cons: - Lots of opportunities (due to the narrow nature of the park) for holes to cross. I had the whole course to myself so it wasn't an issue, but I can see this being a big problem if there were crowds playing.

- While holes #14-16 are tight, technical, and fun, they could also use some TLC. Tons of dead hanging limbs, flood debris, and overgrowth of vegetation on the path make it look more like a jungle than a disc golf course.

- Not much variety in the shots. Sure, some hug the river; others require right and left mandos, but aside from the notable holes above, it feels like you're throwing the same shot throughout the course.

- Not a fan of all the houses/private property by the course. I know this isn't the park's fault, but it's unnerving to think that an errant throw in someone's yard is technically trespassing.

- Tees are too short and don't allow for any run-up.
Other Thoughts: Even though there's nothing incredibly notable about this course, I'd definitely play it again. The limitations of the course are the limitations of the park: it's just too narrow and homogenous to have more variety and distance in the shots. Nevertheless, it's a great opportunity to practice accuracy on the forehand and backhand.

There's no better combination than going to Appalachian Brewing Company in Camp Hill then playing a round here; or vice versa.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/13/2011   9/13/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is made up of two 9-hole loops starting from the parking area. It plays through a limited strip of land between private properties and a large creek. It's a mostly open course. "Monster Alley" has 3 of the tougher holes of the course where it is tightly wooded.

Other Pros:

- not difficult to navigate
- reasonable tee signs
- risk/reward with the creek nearby on most holes
- not crowded on a weekend
- candle holders on top of the baskets is a nice touch
Cons: The concrete tee pads were a bit short. I suppose the creek could eat discs but the water was low when I played and retrieval was fairly easy.

Other Cons:

- no elevation
- limited variety
- errant throws could go in a fenced in backyard on one side and the creek on the other
Other Thoughts: I had a good time here and we had the place to ourselves. An ugly stray cat followed me around for 4-5 holes...wish I had some food for him.

You can make a quick round here and it's worth playing if you are nearby.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/31/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1180  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Loved # 16 tee area from the top of the hill down and into the bottoms (which the whole park is located, near the river bottom or in this case the creek bottom).

Home made Elevated basket for # 18 (I personally like a few elevated baskets sprinkled around a DGC).

good tee signs and tee signs that tell ya where the next hole is (although it's not to hard to navigate the course without looking at the tee signs).

Most of the holes are challenging enough to have fun and still maintain an edge. Maybe some "BIG PRO's" or "BIG ARMs" might find this kind of DGC to lack this and that, but I found it to be a good DGC for all that likes and wants to play DG.
Cons: the "creek" (is big enough to think it's a river) is not to deep but is wide and has to be given respect when throwing along the sides of it.

After a decent rain there seems to be a lot of stagnet water.

Homes abutt the parks property and not all neighbors are DG friendly. (so be nice when your disc accidently goes into their property)

The mando hole was a bit extreeeme. I understand it's purpose but ......
Other Thoughts: Have to drive through neighborhood to get to park, so becarefull of your speed.

Not enough parking.

One porta john.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A nice course but beware the "mighty" Conodoguinet

5+    11/2/2010   11/13/2010
Review By: KAK3990
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Excellent use of the terrain available
-Active and friendly local club
-Nice variety of distances and shots called for
-Never too busy. and can play the back nine first if necessary
-They fit an 18 hole course into a park that you wouldn't think could handle it
-Hole #16 is the signature hole of this course
Cons: -High risk of disc loss, MANY holes border the Conodoguinet Creek, and if you play with a few people its more than likely someone is gonna have to go in the creek to get their disc
-Walking path throughout the course so beware of non-discers
-With the exception of "Monster Alley" 15 of the holes are pretty wide open
Other Thoughts: Creekside is a fun disc gold course located in Camp Hill, PA. They have an active local club presence and the members are generally friendly. The local club is also pretty serious about returning lost discs, which I have experienced personally. A fun course to play, not overly challenging but not simple either. If you do play here be aware that at some point you or your playing partner are probably going to have to go into the creek to retrieve a disc. A good, fun play but not necessarily a must play.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasantly Suprised

1    7/10/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located in a small but very pretty park. It has a very nice wide creek bordering the length of the course (cmon its called Creekside). For how small a park this is there is quite a bit in it. Disc Golf, Sand Volleyball, horshoes, a nice playground, basketball court and a baseball field.

This course is highlighted by the 3 hole turn around called Monster Alley. Holes 14 - 16. These are the signature holes of the course. They are the only holes that really require you to perform very technical shots and force you to pick your landing spots carefully. Hole 16 is the only hole on the course with any significant elevation.

The Creekside Crawdads. The local disc golf club are all a blast to play with and keep this course in great shape. You can easily tell that they are super active on this course. They are very big on returning lost discs that they find (and they have found tons), so put your name on it use the information provided on the fence near #9's basket if you lose one or find one.

There are two pins for 11 holes and there are three tees for quite a few holes. Both of which add some nice variety to the course.

Within the limitations of the course there is a pretty good variety of shots required but make sure that you are handy with a Buzz or Roc.

Older Disc Catcher baskets are still in good shape and there are a plethora of score cards at Hole #1's tee.
Cons: Mandos. This course by necessity has alot of mandos but I feel that courses with mandos just highlight the design flaws.

Hole Number 7. In the long position and obeying the posted mando it is just shy of impossible to get to this 200' hole. The only option I can see is a wicked cut roller. I would prefer just a short ace run rather that the current setup for this hole.

Tees. Every regular tee has a small patch of poured concrete which is nice to plant off even if your run up is a little difficult. The other two tees on each hole are thich soft mulch which is really difficult to drive out of. I think it would actually be better to throw off of grass or hard packed dirt.

Backyards lining one side of the course. Not really the fault of the course but I really feel bad that these people who live along the course have discs flying into their private property on a regular basis. It is depressing seeing a disc golfer jump a fence into a persons yard to retrieve their disc.
Other Thoughts: I was very pleasantly suprised by this course. From the previous reviews I thought every hole was going to be either an ace run or a lost disc. Instead I found a moderately difficult, if short course that with alot of OB and mandos that really made you think about your shots. I am extremly happy that I took the time to play this course.

I played in the Creekside Cooker III this past weekend and the Creekside Crawdads put on a great tourney. I had an absolute blast. I would recomend this annual tournament and this course to anyone in the area.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 2010 Cooker layout

1    7/10/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: mike
Played: 63  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was my first time venturing to Crawdad Country. I played in the 2k10 Cooker and played the long tees both rounds. I found the course to be quite challenging. From various pin positions that rewards daring shots to mandos which made a simple hole into a complex hole...all were great. Monster Alley...Hole 14-16 are wonderful! Hole 14 makes you really work on shot placement. Hole 15 two pin positions are both challenging with various lanes to get to the pins. Hole 16..from the elevated tee...was great! Again, shot placement was quite particular on this hole. The course had adequate navigation markings and the terrain other then hole 16 was quite flat.
Cons: The short tees are a challenge to use. They had added/extended with mulch which worked quite well. But the concrete pads need help. The playing next to backyards was tedious however with decent throws, there wasn't anything to worry about.
Other Thoughts: The Creekside did an outstanding job on utilizing the land they had. I would love to have a course like this in my backyard. I will be back! If you do head for a day of golf in/near Harrisburg, be sure to play here along with the Pinchot State Park courses.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Park is overflowing with activity

1    6/13/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course starts out with an easy birdie hole on 1.
Hole 16 has an interesting elevated tee to create a signature hole, and hole 17 has a novelty elevated basket.
Each hole had tee signs, junior tees, and clear tee pads.
Large playground available for the kids while you play.
Aestetically pleasing course along a rushing river.
Baskets have holders for lights for night golf, but I think I'll pass, it's easy enough to lose a disc in the day light.
Cons: Tee pads were tiny 3'x 3' squares for most holes. No where near large enough for any type of throw.
No way to know what position the baskets were in.
Park has too much going on, people were always in the way.
Just an overall dangerous course, you are either avoiding water, park users or people's property lines. There are not many areas where you can safely let it rip. I saw a lot of people playing with 1 disc and thought, "That's probably the only disc they have left, the rest are in the river"

Several holes are dangerously close to property lines (especially on hole 6):
Hole 8 has a mando that forces you to play closer to the property lines.
From Hole 9's tee you are looking down on basket 1, the basket for 9 is actually up by the houses with a busy pavilion and horseshoe pit on right.

10 was a Risky shot with rushing water on right and a volleyball court and parking lot on left. I was actually hit with a disc a guy threw from hole 10 while I was standing in the parking lot.

14-16 were off in their own area, it was a long muddy walk back to the tee for 17.
Other Thoughts: If you play you need to get there before the park starts getting crowded. I had swimmers sitting by baskets 4 and 10, picnickers in the way on 1 and 9, and dog walkers in the way on a few holes.

Beginners need to stick with the junior tees because of the risk of disc loss in the water, potential property damage, and risk of hitting park visitors.

the water in play starts out exciting, but quickly feels redundant. I threw discs into the water on holes 12, 13, and 14 (I got them all back). I really wish the hanging basket would have been up for #14 instead of another blind basket by the water.

Porto-potty by hole 11.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Simple yet Fun

1    5/22/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: Zaminski
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is designed pretty well for the area it occupies. The river provides a good view. Most holes are fairly simple straight shots. Monster Alley is what sets this course apart from others though. Three holes in a very wooded area. I was shooting close to par before I entered the alley. Hole 16 has an amazing elevated tee, probably best elevation in central pa. Score cards provided and awesome course directories.
Cons: Every hole is pretty similar but fun to hit the pars and birdies. Hole 16 is the only elevation on the course. Tee pads are concrete but some are very short, I mean very short. Playing along backyards is always a con.
Other Thoughts: Seeing your disc in a backyard and knowing you can not get it always sucks. If you are in the area it is worth stopping in to play. The Crawdads do a good job of keeping the course nice. Would love to play at night on this course sometime.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worth Your While

1    3/27/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 4.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice setting along the Condoguinet River. Good use of available space and easy to navigate with wooden "next tee' signs affixed to the bottom of each basket. Multiple pin settings on some of the holes and good balance of open (front 9) vs. more technical (back 9) holes. The hanging basket on 14, the 35-40 foot high tee off area on 16 and the railroad tie/elevated tees on 10 and 17 are highlights.
Cons: Claustrophobic and tight, through no fault of the designer- it's just the way the land is. It is simply too narrow throughout much of the course, and several holes run parallel to one another out of necessity. Concrete tees a bit too short. Pedestrians, kids playing and peoples' back yards are a major factor. It looks as if a garbage dump litters the hill behind the houses bordering holes 15 and 16. Very soft and soggy in spots.
Other Thoughts: Designer Jeff "Crawdaddy" Manatt did a commendable job on this course despite little to work with. While it is not on a par with some of the "upper tier" courses in the central PA area, it is definitely an enjoyable play for people with varying ability levels. Make a day of it and play this course before going to Lewisberry to play Gifford Pinchot State Park.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Slight Arc

1    9/5/2009   9/9/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two 9-hole loops. Nice view of the river during most every hole. Easy course to navigate. Over half the holes have much-shorter alternate recreation-level tees. Next tee arrows on bottom of basket.
Cons:
Concrete tees a bit too short. Primarily single tee/basket. Many holes play similarly - about 275', fade left. Users of the baseball field, volleyball court, pavilion, walking paths, and/or open space could make several holes unplayable.
Other Thoughts:
Plays in a multi-use park which exists on a narrow strip of flat land located between a bend in the river and houses. A few open holes, most holes have a large tree or two mid-flight to avoid. #14-16, in a more unkempt part of the park, offer a slightly different challenge - many more trees to avoid, more turns to make, and much longer. Elevated on #16 really adds to the challenge of the hole.

Overall, a solid course, making the most of the land it had with which it had to work.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.