Camp Hill, PA
Creekside DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 260ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 EEEK the CREEK!

1    8/6/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 11.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you like danger.....you will love this course. 8 of these holes run parallel for the entire fairway to the mighty Conodoguinet River. Thats a big deep wide swift moving river, sorry it's no creek. The basket positions often are just a few feet from the banks as well. Theres a hanging basket on hole 14, a pleasant surprise. Concrete tees, small but reasonable. Great signs. An elevated basket on hole 17. Nice low ceiling shuleless drives in a pleasant well maintained suburban park. It's a nice park with genuinely friendly people throughout. What made me really smile here was the amazing teepad for hole 16........after playing 15 flat holes I was instructed by a sign to follow a path to a staircase that rose high above the park.....eventually I was 30-40 feet above the ground and there was a tee pad shooting back down through a chute of trees to a long par 4 fairway. After driving it was down another staircase to the ground below. Remarkable! this really influenced me to boost the score for this course. There are shortie tees here that will help mitigate the risk for newbies. 18 finishes with a basket islanded by access roads. If it's not the river playing with your head then it's the backyards....Every hole has a true element of risk that could destroy your score and your bag as you often can lose discs here to the river. "Monster Alley" has some surprises and it's evident the locals are doing all they can to make the best of this tiny horseshoe shaped piece of land on the bend of the river.
Cons: The river really is a disc gobbler and often I found myself wimping out rather than lose my 3rd disc of the day....so at some points I wasn't really playing as much as I was just throwing little pooch drives despite the reachability of the baskets. If the creek and yards were not present this would be the perfect beginner course. But it's not...just too much risk on this tight sliver of land. No elevation outside of the mighty hole 16. Plinko along a river is really not fun on hole 14. Hit a tree go swimming....yuck. Walking path comes in play for most of front 9 increasing risk for OOB and the public.
Other Thoughts: This was a unique course that I would encourage people to play...there is some length and some fun to be had. I am not a fan of water holes so I listed much of that as a con....If you enjoy the danger and the high risk/reward element and don't mind losing a few discs you will really love this place.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Great for new players.

5+    3/22/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: gorydon
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for beginners and recreational players. The front nine are quick and enjoyable with the only big challenge being avoiding the creek. The back nine are a bit more challenging, especially the section called Monster Alley (holes 14,15,and 16). Not too crowded but the people that do play are friendly as are the other pedestrians in the park. The park is well maintained and they often have some kind of tournament or other event going on in the warmer months. They also play some night games every once in a while. If you live within an hour of the place you owe it to yourself to check it out.
Cons: The creek can be a disc graveyard. It's easy enough though to fish your disc out if the water isn't moving too fast and you don't mind getting wet.
Other Thoughts: My friend bought a house on Erford Rd last summer so this course is literally in his backyard. We started playing shortly after and now play this course at least once a week. I've only played on two other local courses so I might not be the greatest judge but this is the best around IMHO. Nice park with a relaxed feeling and no hiking up big hills or wandering around the woods looking for your disc. Great place to bring players new to DG.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice use of land!

2-4    7/20/2008   2/20/2009
Review By: Jimb
Played: 66  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a pretty park setting with other facilities on the premises... playground, ball field, etc. Plus you can see a lot of different species of birds on the creek... cranes, ducks, etc.

Excellent use of the limiting, narrow tract of land that this park is on. Most holes are bordered by either a creek or private properties on one side or the other. The length isn't overwhelming so having these hazards to work around makes the holes a lot more interesting. The creek just calls out to you... feed me!

Most of the holes play through grassy fields with a few large trees dictating the path that you take to the pin. So the fairways are all clearly defined. The mandos make sense and really add to a couple of the holes that would otherwise play extremely short.

There are a couple holes that play in pretty thick woods. These help to break up the feel of the course a little.

The signage is OK and gets you around the course pretty well. I'd definitely recommend going to the courses site and printing their nice map too, though. There are concrete tees along with shorter natural tees on a lot of the holes. The baskets are nice and in good shape.

This course is a very nice beginner course. Even with the OB yards and creek, if you're not trying to get close to the pins on your tee shots, you can pretty easily avoid going OB. So the OB shouldn't suck in too many beginner shots as there is normally plenty of room to throw away from the OB. It just won't get you the best score that way.

The course should still prove interesting to experienced players looking for a quick 18. The creek provides some definite risk/reward opportunities if you really go for the pins to shoot for birdies.

Creekside is pretty close to a lot of different things to do around Harrisburg. Shopping, restaurants, etc. are all reasonably close.
Cons: Because of the limitations of the property, there isn't a big amount of variety to the holes. A lot of the holes feel pretty similar to each other, ie. nice grassy holes with just a couple trees to avoid. The course doesn't have much elevation in play. And you're never throwing over the creek, just alongside it. The course doesn't require a lot of technical or really creative shots. Other than the creek and the yards, there's not a whole lot of trouble that you can get into generally speaking, which seems to make the course play pretty easy.
Other Thoughts: I hope that my review doesn't come off as sounding too negative about this course. I had a really good time playing it. And given the opportunity, if I'm in the Harrisburg, PA area again I'll definitely be back.

#10 would have to be my favorite hole on the course. This is a big risk/reward hole, as I mentioned before. It's 293' long. I can drive a little over 300' consistently now, so this is within my driving range. However, my accuracy at 300' still needs some work. So with the creek lining the fairway almost the entire way on the right, and with an OB parking lot on the left when you get closer to the pin, you have a very narrow opening to thread to get close to the pin with your drive if you're trying for a birdie.

All in all, it's definitely worth playing a round here. Just don't go too far out of your way or set your expectations too high and you shouldn't be disappointed.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 That's a deep creek!

1    9/28/2008   9/30/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The creek really does come into play on many holes. Took a pal for her first round, and she put one of my aviars right into the water behind hole 2 (couldn't retrieve it even though I could see it). Plenty of hazards to make things tricky... I only got 1 bird and many bogies for such a short course. Concrete tees plus many shorter tees for beginners, and a few alternate pin positions (only 1 basket per hole). Beautiful little park setting. Hanging basket on 14 (in b position). Hole 10 has elevated basket in a tree nook. Pin 17 uses a tree stump, though it's not elevated. Strong signage.
Cons: Holes 14/15/16 nearly unplayable after a rain. Hole 14 is way too long and narrow for my taste, especially against the creek like that... I just threw my Rhyno 4 times to get it within putting distance. Concrete tees way too short. Fairways too close to one another, can get dangerous especially since there were a lot of people out there! Hole 10 is nice but it's so close to the parking lot, it's a bit scary.
Other Thoughts: I would say it's a good course to bring beginners to, but they better bring extra discs because of that creek. Longer tees good enough for intermediates to not get bored. Not a bad local course, and worth a stop if you're passing on the turnpike.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

7/21/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: JoshC
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: the course makes use of the land that is provided... A few of the holes on the back nine are challenging due to layout, setup, and terrain. there are nice views of the crrek that provides a border to the park.
Cons: the course has to make use of the land provided, which isnt much. there are some mundane throws as the course runs in a loop, so terrain and shots are duplicated quite a few times throughout.

concrete tees are VERY short in length and a few were positioned in precarious places (two feet behind two manhole covers, not very safe)
Other Thoughts: could be a MONSTER 9 hole course given teh land that is there, instead holes are short and somewhat packed in utilizing a few weird mandos.

fun to play ifd in the area, wouldnt travel any large distance for a round.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Front 9

7/6/2008   7/7/2008
Review By: Asvetic
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The front nine play rather quickly, with some nice open shots and some either more demanding accuracy shots. It might seem like a beginner's course with the ultra easy first hole. It's not. Picturesque hole 5 has a beautiful view of the creek.
Cons: Several holes were unnecessarily challenging with awkward pin location and annoying obstacles. Most notable were hole 2 (Pin location sits extremely close to creek edge), Long hole 3 (huge tree on right side of pad hinders natural long shots and forces drives to left, potential creek shot) and hole 7 (unnecessary mandatory). Pin height seemed low, lots of shots ended up ricocheting off yellow chain holder at top of basket.
Other Thoughts: It was a balmy 83 degrees when I played. I played through the front 9 twice (picnickers on the back 9). Almost lost my driver (Star Teebird) in the creek both times I threw on hole 2. This course demanded more of me, than I was expecting. I need to venture back with friends.

This course could use some alt. pin placements.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Drowning my discs in the Condoguniet

1    1/20/2010   5/6/2008
Review By: adlacro
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/20/2010
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 18 holes with DIS cathcer baskets, easy to see. Some longer holes mixed in with shorter deuce runs. Lots of challenge with the Condoguinet lurking in 11 of the 18 holes. Lots of OB between the creek and the backyards, making for tighter play. Short jr. tees makes it easier for kids to pick up the game as well as making it harder for them to get wet. Well marked, with arrows below the baskets. Easy to find, not far from 11/15 and the closest course to the state capital, Harrisburg. Glad they got rid of the mando on seven. The elevated 16th tee is a killer, an "empty your bag" downhill. Ropes are provided, and steps are well crafted. Course mostly plays away from pedestrians and playground, but still take care when throwing.
Cons: Did I fail to mention the Condoguinet? Being a riverside course, the course is often marshy in lots of places. I'd bet if they would have no rain for a week, then you'd go, it would look like it just downpoured yesterday. If the parking lot is crowded, it might be tight squeezing out of there, but it probably would only be tight for tournaments.
Other Thoughts: They made several changes since my May '08 visit. Several new challenges have been added, they eliminated that "roller shot" on 7 (thankfully, in my opinion), and the new 16th tee is the bomb. Great work on the course, and may the Condoguinet be spared any more plastic.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My "home."

3/18/2008   4/3/2008
Review By: BubbaThrewIt
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is the course I play the most on. Has a great variety of length and terrains. Well maintained in all aspects. Kudos to Jeff and all the others for keeping it "up to snuff."
Cons: A few of the fairways and holes are really close to the creek edge so maybe isn't the best for a beginner.
Other Thoughts: That darn creek has six of my discs!!! Play and learn I suppose.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Don't fear the creek

2/2/2008   2/3/2008
Review By: matt30556
Played: 65  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 17.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Although not a "big arm" course it is enough to frustrate and challenge any golfer. The Conodoguinet Creek has a never ending hunger for plastic but the local club (Creekside Crawdads) perform frequent creek walks for those who don't like to get wet or if the creek is high, as long as your name and number are on your discs they make every effort to get them back to their rightful owners. It's an easy course to navigate with tee signs and basket arrows pointing where to go. Six holes have alternate pin locations and two holes have alternate tee positions offering different looks and challenges.
Cons: There are concrete tee pads on every hole but they could be a bit bigger. For those who love elevation changes, you won't see it here.
Other Thoughts: It's a great course for beginners and experts alike from hole 1's ace run shot to the hanging basket on the long and difficult hole 14. With it being more open it makes for excellent GLOW golf, with the baskets being equipped to hold tiki torches to light up the night. The reader board at the parking lot has contact information for the "lead" Crawdads who live right off the course, give em a call when you're there as they love to throw with new comers to the park.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Got to experience the "Creek"

1/28/2008   1/28/2008
Review By: Crawdaddy
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course to challenge accuracy. The fairways are squeezed in between the Conodoguinet Creek and the houses of the residents who live on Erford Rd. The longest hole is #14 in the long, 509'. Big arms can work on their midrange-short game as there are 8 holes under 300'. 9 play between 300-465' and of course 14. Beautifully laid out in a 16 acre township park, the designers have made the most of what they were given.
Excellent signage for tees and arrows pointing the way to the next basket make it very easy to navigate the course from 1-18. Good mix of lefty and righty holes. Tee sign for #1 has a well stocked scorecard box. The pavilion acts as tournament central when Creekside holds events.
Cons: The Creek has a nasty habit of catching the errant throw. It is not a big arm course, even in the long positions the course average is 320' at 5756'. Built on a flood plain there is not a lot of elevation change. Not a lot of parking, only 21 spaces to be shared by all who visit Ridley Park discers and non-throwers, but there is street parking on Erford Rd. Because of the narrowness, mandatories for safety make some fairways tight.
Other Thoughts: From the course map in the reader board at the parking lot and inside the scorecards, peolpe new to the course could easily get a round in about an hour. Great course for Glow golf as well. Weekly tag matches offer a chance to throw with a group, if you don't already have one. For those that do offer up a sacrifice or two to the Creek, there is a "recovered discs" box on the fence near #9 basket. Marking your discs with a name, phone #, email help to get your discs returned to you. All-in-all Creekside is just a fun course play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.