Sankt Thomas am Blasenstein, Austria 
KUMM Discgolf Parcours Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers   (Taken 8/2011)
Course Art & Bench



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Truly enchanting course

1    6/15/2014   7/4/2014
Review By: gibster
Played: 43  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 22.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The hole design is phenomenal. You will need to bring your whole game to this course - there are holes that test your forehand, backhand, accuracy through trees, and distance throws.
There are short technical holes (2, 6), mando holes (3, 8, 17), holes with OB (9, 13, 17), really long holes (13, 17), blind holes (3, 4, 5, 11, 14, 16, 17), and the rest are really memorable as well (first hole - the "fort", hole 8 - double mando through gates, the "raised" hole 15, little memorial on the way from 16 to 17, etc.)
There is a driving range and putting practice area, as well as a groovy clubhouse, and of course, the extremely cool wood carvings throughout the course that add an air of mystery and wonder.
The grass looks to be mowed regularly, so other than a few holes mentioned in the cons below, it's relatively easy to find your discs.
I loved the layout of the course - it winds around the main hill, occasionally scaling neighboring hills. From the clubhouse, people can walk around the main hill, and watch other players on several holes.
Players are given an excellent map (color satellite image) with a scorecard, very easy to follow.
Cons: There is potential to lose the disc on some holes - we had to do some disc searching on 7, 11, 16, and 17 due to (ahem) inaccurate throws.

The tees were, I believe, red clay, mostly adequate, some seemed a little short and a bit uneven, but for the most part they worked fine.

Hole 17 is maddeningly difficult to get right because of the tight dogleg with trees and OB - we failed miserably on our only try - with some practice I'm sure it can be navigated successfully, but it is definitely a monster that beats you up. Maybe not necessarily a con, but unconventional design...

The course is pay-to-play, price is a bit steep (if one is used to free US courses :), but well-worth it for the experience.
Other Thoughts: This was one of the courses my son and I wanted to experience on our European trip. As we were heading towards the course, we were guided by our GPS driving on crazy 1-car-wide winding roads, all through a beautiful hilly countryside.
We arrived pretty late (7:30pm-ish), and I was worried we would not be able to play, as I think the course is formally open only until 6:30pm. Thankfully, the owners graciously let us play, and we had just enough daylight to complete a round.
There were several people there, who I believe just finished their rounds. As we were playing, they cheered us and applauded good shots - I must say that was really neat to experience!
After we were done with our round, there was a young local teenager waiting for us to finish. I think the course was scheduled to have a visit from a pro from the US the day after we arrived, and he heard that we were also from the US, so he wanted to see us play and meet us. It was incredible to see the passion and joy of the game in this young man, and among the people we met at the course - this was an experience we will not soon forget!
Even though we have beautiful courses in my home state of Colorado, this is one course I wish I could visit regularly. It was great fun and a privilege to be able to play here, keep up the great work!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

great

5+    3/3/2013   3/6/2013
Review By: Sumo
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Really challanging course, where you need all types of throws. You can make easy birdies but if you don't be attentive you will find many bogeys on your scorecard.
Trimmed grass
beautiful area
great baskets
nice people
great view over the landscape

Cons: some holes are in my opinion a little bit too short and tricky.


0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Gorgeous and challenging

2-4    9/19/2012   10/5/2012
Review By: funnystance
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely gorgeous. This course is on the kind of land you drive past and fantasize about how great a disc golf course could be on that kind of property. And they made it. Incredible views of surrounding rolling Alpine hills. The guy who made it also has so much enthusiasm for the sport it is totally contagious. He is a woodworker and has carved a bunch of distinctive disc golf figurines all over. The course itself is very good: hole 1 is an homage to the usdgc's bamboo barricade thing, just with supremely better views and the word DISC mowed into the ground in gigantic 30 foot letters on the side of a mountain in the Alps! Hole 2 is a short technical uphill shot, hole 3 is a narrow wooded shot with a vicious mandy, hole four starts in woods and finishes in open and is very well designed with tricky S shots possible for both lefties and righties, hole 5 is a minidogleg left that punishes if you go too far left but is wide open to the right. the angle makes a birdie not easy but doable (especially if you can putt from 30 ft.) , hole 6 is a great downhill wooded shot that you can flick or throw a putter on. hole 7 is absolutely spectacular - big downhill that is also sorta long and has a very interesting series of openings that demand that you curve the disc somehow. also very punishing hill if you go too far. just gorgeous. hole 8 is the double mandy (that is also height protected) and i think its a great skill shot. hole 9 is a tough hole that slopes left to right with OB on the right and well positioned trees to mke all alleys tricky. while we are back at the clubhouse, let me just say again how great the guy is who runs this place and all the folks I met playing. not only that - they have beer! it was super cool to see so many families and people of diverse ages and skill levels playing all day! hole 10 is another of my favorites, slight downhill and tricky paths with well positioned obstacles. hole 11 is open on the left with pin up the hill on the right and buried on very steep hill and surrounded by bushes and trees. hole 12 starts in the woods and you have to hit one gap and then it is totally open to gorgeous mowed circle green on a hill. hole 13 is excellent par 4 that goes straight downhill and then back up with basket behind funky set of bushes. 3 feels good here (I know!) hole 14 is righty backhand uphill and around a bush, sorta like hole 14 at riverview in n. augusta if you know it. hole 15 is open shot to raised basket over a hill. hole 16 is awesome monster of a shot straight thru a gap then after 270 feet up over a 50 foot wall and to the basket on a hill with multilpe trees. huge rocks on the left, big downhill to the right. hole 17 is very interesting par 5 - fairway curves to left and narrows, slopes left to right all the wau, then opens up and a mandy tree on left and goes up the hill to open fairway but wih hills and basket eventually on edge of woods. the slope is there all the way. last hole is uphill 330 foot shot with basket protected from the left and in front by bushes and trees. very doable 2.

the thing to keep in mind about the whole course is that you are on a mountain. there is barely a hole where the fairway doesn not slope.

the views are just amazing. i played in the afternoon, late afternoon and again early in the morning. blissful
Cons: the one review said it is in over st. thomas. that might be true but it is MUCH easier to approach this course from Rechberg and follow the signs. I recommend staying at gasthaus haunschmid there - they were super friendly and really excited to have a couple visiting from los angeles. and they gave very good directions to the course. if you try to get there from st. thomas or ober st. thomas, the gps on your phone will not work and it will be very tricky.
Other Thoughts: they get a lot of school groups during the days of the week, which is awesome - kids from all over the region were coming and learning the sport - DURING school! how awesome is that?! I took the time to coach a couple of groups and the kids were awesome.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for All Levels

2-4    10/19/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: sbinwien
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front 9 has 2 sets of tee boxes. The course is great for beginners and advanced players.
Back 9 is for big arms. One par 4 and one par 5.
Great use of the terrain. Trimmed grass, rolling hills, trees.
Nice club house. Serves drinks now and should have some food in the future.
Cons: Not a fan of the man made double "Tor" (Goal) on hole 8.
Hole 2 is very short.
Tee boxes on back 9 are not finished yet, but this should be fixed soon.
Hole 14 is just an open uphill backhand that could be better.
Other Thoughts: Course is actually in Ober St. Thomas am Blasenstein, west of St. Thomas.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

1    9/17/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: Dr.Motzko
Played: 36  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: mix of short technical and long big arm holes
2 loops of 9 holes
beautiful area
excellent baskets
nice tee pads
good tee signs
Cons: short grass but not golf lawn
Other Thoughts: interesting artwork along the course
beautiful views
nice owner

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.