Grand Ledge, MI 
Fitzgerald Park Share



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Just OK

1    7/4/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: foehammer
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.1 Years
Pros: -A good variety of shots, will test your finesse and strategy.
-Very nice area; this course is on some beautiful land.
-Many holes good for beginners
Cons: -Very difficult to find your way around, course "map" is almost useless.
-No actual tees, just painted rocks (sometimes) marking where you should throw from
-Some baskets appear to be in poor condition. A good portion of these look like they were built in someone's basement.
Other Thoughts: I was a bit disappointed that a park charging admission didn't have a better course.

The map was very difficult to understand, and my group ended up missing holes 11-15, which was a bit disappointing. I did enjoy hole 1, 3, 4, 8 and 18 for their variety or openness; but the rest of the course seemed very crammed in.

Compared to other courses in the area, this is poorly executed. However with some investment in new baskets, better tee markings, and a new map, this would be a much much better course.

Fun to play, hard to navigate

5+    5/19/2013   5/21/2013
Review By: leindecjoeld
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: Great use of elevation- Holes 3,8,9,10 all utilize the park's hills quite well. I really like throwing hole 3, because the hill allows me to finesse a disc near the basket nicely. Also, hole 8 allows for the same sort of finesse with a forehand throw.

Scenic Park- The grand river has carved a beautiful park with nice elevation changes, and the disc golf course weaves through it nicely.

Nice variety in hole length- Two holes under 200 ft, ten holes 200-300 feet, five holes 300-400 feet, and one hole +400 feet.

Good mix of wooded and open holes- The course starts and ends on open holes, and the majority of the middle holes play through the woods. I like this because the first few holes warm up the arm nicely before you start the finesse shots in the woods.
Cons: Hard to navigate- as the other reviewers stated, it is hard to find your way around the first time you play the course.

Tee pads suck- The tee pads are marked by painted rocks... sometimes. Other times you are left guessing by the worn in spots others seem to have thrown from.
Other Thoughts: Once you learn your way around this course it is a very fun course to play. The hole variety is nice, but the course will not wear out your arm. With only six holes over 300 feet you will rely more on finesse throws than power throws, but the terrain and foliage make even the short holes challenging.

Annoyingly Beautiful

1    8/7/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aesthetic-Beautiful locale. I have loved Grand Ledge for a long time (since I lived in Lansing) and marrying two of my loves in one day was kind of cool.

Variety-There was quite a bit of variety here. wide open, tight wooded, short, long, up, down, water.
Cons: Baskets- Ugh, most of the baskets seemed to be single chained homemade junk, rusted all to hell and without any sort of consistency. Varying heights and low visibility were thoroughly annoying.

Routing/Nav- even with the map, this course is damn near impossible to route on. I managed to play all 18 but was tempted several times to quit because I spent so much time trying to figure out where to go. the maps provided (while it's nice it's provided) suck. they DO NOT MAKE ANYTHING EASIER!! also, the arrows spray painted on the rocs DO NOT MAKE ANYTHING EASIER!!

Lines-some of the lines here are insane. number 8 (down the sled hill) and 9 across the sled hill are stupid. 9 sticks out to me as particularly odd. you throw from the road (by the water treatment) across the sledding run over a barracade and down in a little bowl clearing.

Teepads/signs-or the lack thereof. finding them was hard enough, but the disappointment of the ruts and roots that covered the teepads was depressing to say the least. Teepads are marked (sometimes) with spray painted rocks or little orange flags that were usually knocked over. #16's teepad was on the concrete top of something marked with an orange line. #15's was just a little indent in the woods.
Other Thoughts: I was glad to finish this one up, that was the only thing I felt accomplished on this course for doing, making it through 18 holes here.
the potential here is phenomenal but the execution is so poor, it's wasted.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Good variety course and beautiful location

5+    4/7/2012   4/10/2012
Review By: brzylstra
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery - woods, river, ravine.
Variety of shots and difficulty. Some holes to the right, others left. Long and short holes. Every hole has trees to contend with (except 18), making it challenging.
Great upkeep and wise course changes from past layout. They've modified it so you no longer play through park walking paths or near playgrounds.
Score cards and course map provided.
Cons: Course needs clear markings for tee boxes, rather than painted rocks or worn foot paths (especially 3, 6, and 8 - 16).
They've made quite a few course changes lately, and I constantly see people throwing from old tee offs. I don't even know where to tee off for #16.
Some of the thick woods holes (12, 13) are ridiculously difficult and only luck will get you through.
Sewer smells - the water treatment plant is in the park.


Other Thoughts: They've made a lot of great changes over the years and I'm hoping the progress continues. I enjoy the difficulty and challenge of the holes (with the exception of (12 & 13). If you're planning on going by yourself, be sure to ask a local where to go for some of the holes. The map on the scorecard isn't the best guide.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A great course ruined by liabilty issues.

5+    7/28/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: Griplock
Played: 54  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice variety of shots.
-Fairly little foot traffic.
-Pleasent scenic atmosphere.
Cons: -Occasional events / Construction block holes or have pins removed entirely.
-Easy to lose discs on several holes due to water.
-No pads.
-Hard to navigate, even as a local favorite of mine, because they keep changing it and don't update their maps.
Other Thoughts: I'm mainly reviewing this course to update the new changes. Once my favorite local course, now it's a decent round at best. Old 3, 4, and 5 are gone. All great holes. Old hole 6 (now 3?) had the 'pad' and pins moved, no longer the unique line it was. New 7 plays over a road, don't drop your disc in it or the water treatment people will 'break them in' with their trucks. Old 13, the signiture 'Down the cliff' hole is gone entirely. One pin is missing on New 11. New twelve and thirteen are in the woods and offer little to no playable lines. New 17 and 18 are a joke. One plays dead parallel with the park entrance road around a straight line of pines, play the line too close and its tire fodder. The other plays over in open field. Both fail to make use of the hill many locals use for drive practice, even though its dead center between one pad and the other pin. Epic fail.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.