Mount Vernon, OH 
Thayer Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: m1shootr Hole #1 (Taken 10/2014)
4 / 253ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Field work

1    6/28/2016   6/30/2016
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 285  Reviewed: 269  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Thayer Ridge park disc golf course teases you with a nice practice basket by the parking area, and a wooded lane walk out to hole 1. Then you'll find that six or so of the nine holes are in a breezy, open field with 12' wide mown fairways and field grass rough to keep you focused on throwing accurate shots. Decent signage shows general layout, hole number and distances (which differ slightly from the 'GPS'd' distances here on DGCR), and baskets are decent quality DGA's. Distances range from one tight 200 footer to a couple in the 400 foot range.

Hole two finishes up a small slope at the woodline, 3 plays right to left back to the woodline, 5 plays left to right into a small grove of pines, and 6 is a dastardly tight lane shot layup out of that grove, if thrown as intended (but I'm sure locals throw overhands over the top for the blind ace run!). The rest are pretty much open and may make for some interesting practice on windy days.

Overall, the course plays in the Recreational range of difficulty, and it should be recommended for beginners to watch discs all the way to the ground when the field grasses are up.
Cons: Tees are natural turf with a single brick embedded to indicate a foul line. The tees for 3 & 6 are easily in range for shots from the previous holes. The field consists of a lot of sandy, gravelly washout soil, so the greenery doesn't get too lush, but you're near a landfill, and there are a lot of bugs in the summer, so horsefly and tick repellent might be wise. The hole distances and obstacles likely won't bee too much of a challenge for players from Intermediate and up, but it seems to be a reasonable layout for beginners.
Other Thoughts: There is a map at the course kiosk, which I adapted for here on DGCR. The address to navigate to is technically 7077 Thayer Road, so I updated that (it was '1000'). Finally, as of June, 2016, the bridge on Thayer Rd at 36 was out, so you have to angle out along the detour from town temporarily.

Reviewer Background as of this writing: played 270 courses and written 254 reviews, with skills hovering around a 900 rating, I started playing at 50 and am now 55. I don't throw far (300 footers feel like success), but am addicted to DG, and have played with folks ranging from age 7 to 87, so I try to write reviews helpful to all.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    1/8/2015   4/17/2015
Review By: m1shootr
Played: 53  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It has baskets. The road to the course is paved. When the sun shines it is sunny.
Cons: Mostly bare ground narrow fairways( old dump site), weeds and plenty of Ticks in the rough. I picked up several Ticks during my round.
Other Thoughts: I would rather practice in my back yard. This could be a better course if Knox County Parks took some interest in it. Evidently they figure that putting a few baskets up in a closed dump site is enough.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I wouldn't come here if I were you...

1    3/30/2015   3/30/2015
Review By: Billy K2
Played: 34  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/27/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I can't really say much about Thayer Ridge, and that's usually a bad thing. I guess the course had decent baskets? The 6th hole tee was interesting.
Cons: No elevation, few trees, and a whole lot of rough. That really describes the course. It just wasn't a fun course, that's all there is to say. This isn't necessarily a con, but it was a lot windier on the course than the city because it is so wide open.
Other Thoughts: In conclusion, Thayer Ridge just wasn't very fun. The lack of elevation and trees really made this course a 0 disc course. I wouldn't recommend this course.

Overall Grade: 0.0/5 (Absolutely would not recommend)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    11/8/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: munky
Played: 43  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nice new baskets.
overview map of the course.
Cons: this course needs redone. there is potential here.
fairways are too narrow.
Other Thoughts: maybe install some 5' tall stakes along the fairways for reference when looking for lost discs/

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    9/10/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1381  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 28.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 9 holes are better than ZERO holes.

there's potential at this park, it just wasn't used to it's full advantage with this DGC.

friendly neighbors, I GPS this DGC and found the DGC another way other than the directions and had to travel a mile or so on a gravel road. I stopped and asked on of the neighbors to the park where the park was and as it turned out, He (Allen or Allan) stopped doing his lawn to play the first 6 holes with me with one of my discs. So he wasn't only helpfull pointing out where the park was, but he wanted to learn how to play as well (very cool).
Cons: some teeing areas adjacent to the basket.

And some of the tees point in the wrong direction of the hole, so if your playing without a guide you might be throwing to the wrong area, whoopsie (I hate it when I throw to the wrong area when the tee sign point you in the wrong area, aka. # 6).

former landfill, which isn't really a con, but the surface isn't plush grass but more rocks with some grass.

the fairways are brush hogged wide or a little wider, but not much. Ya get off the fairway and you'll be looking as there's not to many trees on most of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Located on an old landfill, this DGC needs redesigned. I would use the dirt mounds that are further in the park than what the DGC is currently using

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.