Disc Golf Store
Algood, TN 
Church On The Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: prerube Hole #8 (Taken 6/2010)
-- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun little course

5+    7/2/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: Rower0296
Played: 33  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Recently put numbers on pin so you can see which pin to aim at, also very small area that was put to good use
Cons: Tee pads aren't marked and signs can be a little confusing
Other Thoughts: You have to throw over parking lot to get to 2 then back across for three then four is behind playground

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

1    3/17/2011   3/21/2011
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee signs for every hole

Good use of the small area of land
Cons: unmarked grass tee pads

throws over parking lots

two throws too close to playground

Baskets are not numbered
Other Thoughts: I started on #4 by the parking lot next to the church. It is the longest hole on the course and throws over the edge of the back parking lot of the church.

Most of the holes are pretty good as long as you are the only person at the church.

2 of the holes throw dangerously near the playground and one of my shots (#3) actually hit the fence with my kids 20ft away.

#2 is a HUGE anhyzer over the parking lot that I parked in. I missed my car at least :o)

In all, this was a fun little course to play. I would play here again if I was in the area. However the other course in Cookville is a much better course.

BTW, this is a private course on church property, please respect them if you play it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 open course on the hill.

1    6/23/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Decent tee signs (signs face sideways and do not clearly show which basket you are aiming at)
- Playground for the kids
- baskets in good shape
- Some elevation in play
- good variety in distances for such a small course.
Cons: - no real tee pad, just throw from next to the sign. Baskets should be labeled to prevent shooting at the wrong one.

- some safety issues: 2 throws over the road and parking lot. On hole 3, I had to throw towards my daughter on the playground and was not happy with how close the basket was to the children's play area. 4 was difficult to find and you had to throw over a parking lot once agains.
Other Thoughts: I couldn't find one at first, so I started at 7 then after 9 I was able to see 1 to finish the course.
Relatively open (pics added)
I am sure this course is great for introducing young kids too, it is probably very popular with youth groups, but this is not a course advanced players would seek out.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Parking Lots and Driveways

1    6/15/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Signs are nicely done and descriptive.

Takes good advantage of available space, elevation changes, and obstacles.

Practically no chance to lose a disc.
Cons:
Single (dirt) tee locations, single basket positions, baskets not numbered.

Many holes have you throwing across/along driveways and parking lots - not a good idea to play this course while some activity is taking place at the church.

Basket #9 is about 20' from the tee location for #1 - look out!
Other Thoughts:
To supplement bjreagh's course navigation/"map" guide:
- Basket #1 is NOT the closest - that would be #8. #1 is between three pine trees.
- Can't see basket #4 from the tee, but it is short and right of tee #5, which you can see.
- Can't see basket #6 from the tee, but it is to the right of the closest trees but left of the telephone pole

Holes range in distance from 156' to 412'. Ace or birdie opportunities on most holes.

Decent course for introducing people to the game, as long as no cars are about the premises.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/14/2009   2/14/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic 9 hole course on rolling hills on church property. Holes ranged from 150' to over 400' for a good mix. Mostly open with pretty good basket locations. Very nice tee signs (each include some Bible verse references if you want a mini religious experience before every hole!)

I had the course to myself (Saturday morning).
Cons: Natural tee pads were worn and muddy with many on a the side slope of the hill. No direction on the tee sign or basket for the next tee- made it confusing the first time through. Baskets aren't numbered and this being a fairly open course you can see multiple baskets from many of the tees.

#2 and #3 cross each other and also cross the long paved driveway. #4 tee was the hardest for me to find (it is behind the playground beside the main building). #7 and #9 baskets are practically on top of #8 and #1 tees.
Other Thoughts: This 9 holer is deceptively challenging the first time you play. The hills add some challenge to your drives, putts, and stances. However, after you play it once it should become very easy to any player with moderate experience. (I went from +4 to -1 between my 1st and 2nd rounds.) Many birdie opportunites and a couple of ace runs.

The best parking is in the gravel lot behind the house (church office/rec. center). #1 tee is in front.

As for 9 hole courses go, this is playable, but I would not want to play it more than a couple of times as it would begin to get really easy and boring.

Course Map- #1- in front of house. #2- long anhyzer around telephone pole across road. #3- straight back across road to open area. #4- beside playground and main bldg. down hill. #5 between hill and woods. #6- beside playground, throw across road past #3 basket into little trees. #7- Along driveway towards entrance. #8- uphill to middle of lawn. #9- Along exit driveway back to the house.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  nice course

2-4    11/19/2008   11/22/2008
Review By: BoneYardMan2
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a very nice open course. Like the pin settings.Was there on a thursday and not crowded. ( was cold out,lol) Great course for my experience.
Cons: Grass Tee Pad's
Other Thoughts: Me and my friend played till dark, A 8 to 10 point Buck ran across in front of us going back to the truck. That made our day. I do wish to thank the church for a course worth playing. I work on the road and will be back.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 nice

1    6/24/2008   6/24/2008
Review By: basmith42
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2008
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short 9 hole course on church grounds. It was quiet when I was there. The holes have little in the way of obstacles requiring strategy. However, elevation does come into play on every hole. This is a good place to bring a beginning player to get a taste of the game. The holes are straight forward enough to give a new player a taste of success.
Cons: The first tee was hard to find (its in front of the "house"). The holes are not incredibly challenging. There is very little need for shot-shaping to navigate these holes.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the neighborhood, stop by. Don't go out of your way for it, though.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.