Salisbury, NC 
Ellis Park Share
Uploaded By: jedwards Hole #13 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 248ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee (the tee is back and to the right about 50' from this spot)



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Two courses for the price of one!

5+    4/24/2013   6/19/2012
Review By: coachedge
Played: 56  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: With the addition of the 9 new holes, this course is now complete. It will suit the beginner and advanced player alike. The "front 9" can be played in about 30 minutes; the "back 9" offers a challenge--it can be tough to beat par sometimes.

All-in-all, a very fun, balanced course with long, short, easy, difficult, uphill, downhill, left-turn, and right-turn holes.
Cons: The gap in the razor-wire fence down the left side of the fairway of hole #1 has been repaired--don't mis-throw anything you want to keep.

Although Poison Ivy has been contained on the fairways and greens, there is still plenty of Poison Ivy throughout the rough areas.
Other Thoughts: Although some of the "front 9" holes border other activities, there is really no danger of being interupted/interupting others. Horseshoe pits, badminton courts, and bocce courts are rarely in use in the afternoon/evening.

Most of the holes are easy to figure out in regards to reaching par/birdie.

Mis-thrown discs on hole #1 can still be retrieved with a partner's help (you won't do it alone without damaging the fence) by scooting under a lifted fence on the back side. I prefer to birdie this hole by flicking an overstable disc over the fence on the left side and letting it fade back over the fence to the basket.

Hole #3 can be easily birdied by backhanding a putter to the right of the front tree.

Hole #7 has a new tee placement and is brutal! It runs about 80' to a tight gap then inside the gap, the fairway "tunnel" doglegs left and slightly uphill to an open green where the basket is slightly right of the opening. To par this hole, you practically have to lay up to the small gap with your tee shot.

Hole #8 can be parred by right-handers by flicking on a hyzer or by flicking an overstable disc. My buddies who backhand this rarely reach par here.

Hole #10 is an easy par/birdie by tomahawking your drive up the hill to the basket.

Hole #13 is another easy par/birdie with a strong tomahawk drive over the wooded area. Using the horseshoe-right turn is tough without lucking into a roll.

Believe it or not, hole #14--a straight, tree-filled, short, uphill hole--can be tomahawked as well. I rarely tomahawk when I don't have to, but this course has three holes where it can be used to an advantage.

Hole #15 requires much finesse to reach par. This tight, tunnel fairway esses right and then left, moving slightly downhill. Too hard, too soft, too early, or too late and you're into the treeline.

The first time I played #18, I was excited to play a great shot right to the basket pole. Unfortunately, it was the basket for hole #2--the #18 basket is off to the right another 50'. To birdie this hole, you'll need to go long and right off the tee.

The park staff has stated repeatedly that they don't mind if you play past the park's closing time. They will barricade the entry, but allow you to drive around this to exit the parking lot.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A slow afternoon

1    4/28/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: jcphenom
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beginner course: with the exception of a few tight fairways and doglegs through the woods, this course is a simple yet fun way to spend an afternoon. A good mix of open, obstacle, and wooded fairway shots.
Cons: Lack of next tee signage. The course tends to cross near (or through) a lot of park attractions: fields, horseshoe pits, bocce courts, picnic sheleters, etc... I agree with jedwards that this feels like two distinct courses, an entirely amateur intro and outro with a 9-hole tough intermediate thrown in the middle.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course keeps things relaxed with a few twists and turns through the middle section. A few more signs for navigation would be nice, but it's a pretty easy place to get around. Just make sure to go when the park isn't crowded.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 WOW!

1    3/1/2012   3/4/2012
Review By: chefjeff315
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I like the mix of the easier holes in the beginning and end of the course, and the much tougher ones in the middle. This course, with it's elevation changes, will give your legs a good workout on the newer holes. Benches throughout the course are a great idea, especially for catching your breath after scaling the ups and downs the new holes have to offer.
Cons: Navigation could be better throughout the entire course. We almost could not find the 15th tee; there were 2 different directional arrows guiding us and there was a fairly long trek through the woods to find it.You have to cross the road to find the middle holes but this isn't much trouble as it's on a fairly straight road and easy to see approaching vehicles. Almost lost a disc on 1st toss from #1 tee, wind caught it and over the fence it went. Staff in office were no help, so my gf/playing partner called the Dept. of Parks and got in touch with a very nice man, also a disc player, named Jeff who was very helpful. He called the State dept. responsible for the reservoir and got a guy to come out and retrieve our brand new disc for us. This only cost us about 30 minutes of playing time and we were very grateful.
Other Thoughts: We will be playing this course again. It has a lot to offer a beginner; you'll warm up on 1-6, go mad on 7-15 and then calm down and cool off on the final holes. Some of the first and last holes go around the softball parks and bocce courts so there was a fair amount of other users to lookout for in close proximity, but that's not really a big deal for me. You really do feel as if there is nothing else in the world when you are on those damned wooded hills on the newer holes, which I like.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 9+9=18

5+    11/7/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: scottlarson
Played: 38  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Feels like two, 9 hole courses. Beginners will enjoy 1-6, and 16-19 and experts will enjoy the middle 9. Ams will get a good warm up, get trashed, and then try to salvage their score at the end. Well maintained. Good variety in hole type - each hole is fairly distinct. #7-16 are secluded. Map is accurate - use it!
Cons: No pads. Holes #11 and #12 are next to an equestrian center and the field can be a minefield. Try putting with a fresh pile behind the basket if you miss. Very difficult to find the next tee on several holes; I printed out jedwards' review (excellent) and took it with me so this wasn't really a con for me. The fairway/walkability of #13 is a joke (still fun). I don't want too reiterate some of the other "Cons" that are frequently mentioned because for all of them I think, "YES, BUT..." (see "other thoughts")
Other Thoughts: YES, hole 1 has a big scary fence, BUT nobody I've been with has ever permanently lost one (there may/may not be a gap to slide under 3/4 or the way down). YES, hole #4 has a horseshoe pit in the middle, BUT they look like nobody ever plays there. YES, hole #6 plays through boccee courts, BUT I've never seen anyone over there. If you like courses that loop back the the parking lot in the middle, drive past the park entrance and use the gravel lot on the left. That way you can start on #16 and have a easy front 9 and cross the road to the hard back 9.
When you are standing on the tee for #18 you cannot see the basket on the far right of the field; the basket for #2 is in plain sight and first timers will think it is #18.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/17/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: ABFutrell
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
Pros: The new holes #7 - #15 add quite some challenge to this course. #7 and #12 are par 4's.
#8 is listed as par 3, but it is a tough 3 if you are RHBH. The hole is a dogleg right downhill with a narrow window from the pad. Come out wide/early trees, cut in early/griplock trees, get it through the gap but fade out, KUDZU! There is a landing area but it is not easy to find throwing backhand. I put this is pros because it adds to the challenge.
Cons: I still do not like tee placement on hole #1. I'm only 5' 7" and after playing this hole the other day with guys taller than myself I see a big disadvantage for disc golfers my height or shorter. I have to throw the disc up high and let it fall out before getting close to the fence or cutting into the tree line. While the hill in front of the tee-pad adds challenge to the hole, it seems a bit unfair since shorter players are forced to release at a positive angle while taller players can release at a negative angle (which is ideal for using the back fence as a backstop.
Other Thoughts: In all I believe this course serves the community surrounding it well.

Perhaps signage for the pseudo-beginner loop for those just starting to know to go from hole #6 to hole #16?


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.