Salisbury, NC
Ellis Park Share
Uploaded By: jedwards Hole #11 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Disc Golf-ul

1    5/29/2013   5/30/2013
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 94  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good Discatcher baskets. The holes across the road aren't all terrible. Tee signs tell you hole # and distance but that's it. Um, plenty of bocce ball courts?

Some signs on the holes across the road keep you from getting terribly lost.
Cons: This is basically an 18 hole course that was squeezed into a park more suited for a 9 holer. The first 6 holes (and #s 16-18) should be surrounded by yellow caution tape. Squeezed into the business end of the park, practically every hole has a major design flaw or safety hazard. Probably the worst part is that the holes that aren't inherently awful (by being beside a ball field or barbwire fence) are made un-fun by the dumbest tee locations imaginable and/or impenetrable rough.

The course would be pretty hard to navigate if I didn't have a map or a guide. The transitions have no rhyme or reason to them sometimes. Some holes have blind baskets and some holes have only the wrong basket visible from the tee, making it pretty easy to throw to the wrong basket. A few holes have fairways that can't be navigated by a disc in flight.

Maybe my biggest critique of this course is that it isn't suitable for anybody. Good players won't like it b/c it's just short and dumb and beginners won't like it b/c it's unfair and chaotic. A tweaking of most of the holes could conceivable make it at least a fun pitch & putt for most people, would be the best case scenario.
Other Thoughts: #1 has that infamous razor wire fence but it's actually not the worst hole on the front 9. The tee needs to be moved left IMO. Try a roller if you're scared of going over the fence.
#s 2-3 are crappy short holes using a walking path for the fairway.
#4 has some hit a bystander potential.
#5 is a crime against humanity, volleyball court directly in fairway as well as tennis courts.
#6 challenges you to avoid parking the basket without killing someone playing bocce ball or smacking a car in the parking lots.
#7 is one of the most WTF?! holes I've seen in a while. The tee asks you to hit a small doorway sized gap some 100' away with the added bonus of having a 95% chance of being in terrible rough if you make it. Then it's a driveway sized tunnel slightly uphill with the impenetrable rough on both sides. Probably one of the least fun holes you can design. At the very least the tee needs to be moved to a less FUBAR location.
#8 and 9 are decent.
#10 needs serious limb removal to provide a fairway worth trying. I opted for the spike hyzer over the top like Stallone.
#11 is fun but the basket or tee should be moved to raise the low ceiling of that nice oak tree. As it is, if you want to reach the basket you need to use a driver or be a pro.
#12 is cool but I'm not crazy about the pin placement. #13 is arguably one of the worst holes I've ever seen. It had to be designed by someone that has never played DG before. Extremely tight, sharp, downhill horseshoe. I tried a roller b/c there is no way to get anywhere down the fairway through the air.
#14 needs thinning out, isn't fun at all b/c it's straight uphill.
#15 similar to # 7 needs to have its rough thinned out and fairway widened a little but at least it's downhill unlike #7.
#16 has big potential to hyzer out and hit an outfielder. Big arms risk going past the barbwire fence directly behind the basket.
#17 dares you to kill bocce players, fitness enthusiasts or people watching the softball game. The basket is guarded by the left by a large sign advertising the Senior Games and that barbwire fence on the right.
#18 has more ball field chaos and tempts you to throw towards #2's basket.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

An interesting course

1    4/22/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: nalu222
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course on my trip through Salisbury. All in all I would say it has potential to be an ok course with a little work. The pros are most of the holes have decent length and require a lot of technical throws. The baskets are in good shape and are in decent positions. 7 - 18 shows the courses potential. The holes follow the walking trail and have alot of nice elevation changes.
Cons: Where do I begin. The course design is horrible. The first 6 or so holes are in multi use areas. If there is any kind of gathering going on you would not be able to play them. Hole 1. Lose your disc over the fence an its gone forever. I had a difficult time finding the tees, in some cases had to walk over 100ft to find the next one, alot of needless wandering went on. Fairways are very tight through 7-18. 6ft at best.Give or take. Bees were everywhere on the back 9. If your allergic definitely bring your epipen lol.. Over all a bad experience.
Other Thoughts: This course has potential to be fun... It needs to be redesigned to where all the holes are across the road, the land is there. The fairways need to be opened up to allow the disc to fly. And I would recommend putting in some rubber or concrete tees. Also an illustration of the holes on the signs would be very helpful.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Drive on by...

1    11/11/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: aggreen
Played: 129  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great elevation variance on the back 9, which is really utilized by #8 (into a risky and protected pin position), #10 (a uphill OH or spike hyzer shot) and #11 (a smooth shorter downhill drive with some risk of a tree). A fun bunch of holes and the only highlight of this course.
Cons: Fairways are in multi-use areas (#2 is actually a walking path, #16 along the outfield of a ballfield, #17 over a horseshoe pit and bocce court) and if activities are occurring there, it makes the hole unplayable. A dad and son were walking on #2 and I was the only other one in the park.

This course needs clearing and maintenance in the worst way - debris from fairway clearing on the back 9 is just left on the side of the fairway. Any sightly errant throws often end up in this debris (#7, #8, #13, #14 and #15 were prime examples) making footing and actual shot making difficult.

The design is awful - period. Standing on #1's tee area summarizes what is to come - barbed wire fence on left and in back of fairway. I assume the designer had some limited options in terms of clearing, since he has designed some much better courses (Creekside, North Carrabus). #7 is a disaster. A 400'+ hole that goes about 100' into a wall of trees, except for a 10' gap. Throwing over seems like the best option, only no landing zones (into debris from clearing) or a 15' wide fairway up the hill to the basket. Like another reviewer stated - looking like a Bobcat just drove through the woods and...bam...fairway. I understand that this course was expanded to 18, but sometimes is getting a full 18 in really necessary if the design and flow is greatly flawed? I walked out of here thinking "Northeast Park" - not the same type of course, but both had some similar feel to it - just thrown in and left.
Other Thoughts: This park really has some great amenities - bocce, ballfields, playgrounds - it is really a fun park - but it seems like they tried to cram 18 holes into a park that has so much else going on. Holes in the main part of the park are almost not necessary and more attention may have been spent on making 9 good/great holes.

I didn't put the typical comments about signs being a positive, since there are many blind shots here and signs with some detail would help a first timer. Yes, after playing once or twice - it isn't an issue, but still would have been a great help.

In reading the reviews and comparing this course to others with similar ratings, there is no way this is a 3 (at the time of my rating). It is barely a 2 with about 4-5 fun holes.

From a road trip perspective (Raleigh to Charlotte), this is not worth the stop at all. Not playing Kelsey or Catawba College, I couldn't make a comparison in the immediate area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Two courses for the price of one!

5+    4/24/2013   6/19/2012
Review By: coachedge
Played: 53  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: With the addition of the 9 new holes, this course is now complete. It will suit the beginner and advanced player alike. The "front 9" can be played in about 30 minutes; the "back 9" offers a challenge--it can be tough to beat par sometimes.

All-in-all, a very fun, balanced course with long, short, easy, difficult, uphill, downhill, left-turn, and right-turn holes.
Cons: The gap in the razor-wire fence down the left side of the fairway of hole #1 has been repaired--don't mis-throw anything you want to keep.

Although Poison Ivy has been contained on the fairways and greens, there is still plenty of Poison Ivy throughout the rough areas.
Other Thoughts: Although some of the "front 9" holes border other activities, there is really no danger of being interupted/interupting others. Horseshoe pits, badminton courts, and bocce courts are rarely in use in the afternoon/evening.

Most of the holes are easy to figure out in regards to reaching par/birdie.

Mis-thrown discs on hole #1 can still be retrieved with a partner's help (you won't do it alone without damaging the fence) by scooting under a lifted fence on the back side. I prefer to birdie this hole by flicking an overstable disc over the fence on the left side and letting it fade back over the fence to the basket.

Hole #3 can be easily birdied by backhanding a putter to the right of the front tree.

Hole #7 has a new tee placement and is brutal! It runs about 80' to a tight gap then inside the gap, the fairway "tunnel" doglegs left and slightly uphill to an open green where the basket is slightly right of the opening. To par this hole, you practically have to lay up to the small gap with your tee shot.

Hole #8 can be parred by right-handers by flicking on a hyzer or by flicking an overstable disc. My buddies who backhand this rarely reach par here.

Hole #10 is an easy par/birdie by tomahawking your drive up the hill to the basket.

Hole #13 is another easy par/birdie with a strong tomahawk drive over the wooded area. Using the horseshoe-right turn is tough without lucking into a roll.

Believe it or not, hole #14--a straight, tree-filled, short, uphill hole--can be tomahawked as well. I rarely tomahawk when I don't have to, but this course has three holes where it can be used to an advantage.

Hole #15 requires much finesse to reach par. This tight, tunnel fairway esses right and then left, moving slightly downhill. Too hard, too soft, too early, or too late and you're into the treeline.

The first time I played #18, I was excited to play a great shot right to the basket pole. Unfortunately, it was the basket for hole #2--the #18 basket is off to the right another 50'. To birdie this hole, you'll need to go long and right off the tee.

The park staff has stated repeatedly that they don't mind if you play past the park's closing time. They will barricade the entry, but allow you to drive around this to exit the parking lot.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

1    6/1/2012   6/2/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 174  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/14/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very Nice DiscCatcher Baskets

Navigation was very easy and the teesigns were very nice.

The new holes 7-15 are well designed and have promise to be solid buuuttttt(see Cons)

I really like holes 9-12
Cons: No Trashcans or benches.

The original 9 holes are still there and I know that there was little to work with in this part of the park but that does not make it a good course. The issues with holes 1-6 &16-18 are that they throw very close to many other activities in the park.

4- Over a Horseshoe pit

6- over bocce courts and close to a parking lot.

17- the basket is right next to a fitness center and there is a sign for that center only 5-10 feet away.

There is a large razerwire fence that means a stray shot on hole 1 can lead to a non retrievable disc. Also while on the topic of barbed wire there is more that is right behind the basket of 16 and to the right side of the fairways on 17 and 18.

Now for the new holes 7-15. Most of these holes look like someone took a bulldozer and ran it through the woods and didnt follow up with trimming or anything. The holes need Major trimming because limbs are now encroaching many of the gaps and fairways.

The rough is very bad and there are very large drag piles practically on the fairways in many places.

Hole 8's entire green is covered in what I believe was poisen Ivy.

Other Thoughts: I had been told about all of the improvements that the new 9 had made to the course and that it was sooooo much better(including one claim that it was better than Charlotte courses) however I was VERY disappointed.

The course has been shown little love and is in a very poor state. I had very little if any fun due to the fact that the lines on the new holes were nonexistant and I had to search for my discs forever in the nasty rough. The original 9 wasnt that great in the first place and it is still a part of the course.

The Design of the new part of the course has lots of potential but the course needs major work

This course is in my opinion the second worse Complete 18 hole course I have played thus far(behind Fun Junktion.) I would not recommend that anyone go out of there way to play this course unless they are a courses played junky.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A slow afternoon

1    4/28/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: jcphenom
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beginner course: with the exception of a few tight fairways and doglegs through the woods, this course is a simple yet fun way to spend an afternoon. A good mix of open, obstacle, and wooded fairway shots.
Cons: Lack of next tee signage. The course tends to cross near (or through) a lot of park attractions: fields, horseshoe pits, bocce courts, picnic sheleters, etc... I agree with jedwards that this feels like two distinct courses, an entirely amateur intro and outro with a 9-hole tough intermediate thrown in the middle.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course keeps things relaxed with a few twists and turns through the middle section. A few more signs for navigation would be nice, but it's a pretty easy place to get around. Just make sure to go when the park isn't crowded.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 WOW!

1    3/1/2012   3/4/2012
Review By: chefjeff315
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I like the mix of the easier holes in the beginning and end of the course, and the much tougher ones in the middle. This course, with it's elevation changes, will give your legs a good workout on the newer holes. Benches throughout the course are a great idea, especially for catching your breath after scaling the ups and downs the new holes have to offer.
Cons: Navigation could be better throughout the entire course. We almost could not find the 15th tee; there were 2 different directional arrows guiding us and there was a fairly long trek through the woods to find it.You have to cross the road to find the middle holes but this isn't much trouble as it's on a fairly straight road and easy to see approaching vehicles. Almost lost a disc on 1st toss from #1 tee, wind caught it and over the fence it went. Staff in office were no help, so my gf/playing partner called the Dept. of Parks and got in touch with a very nice man, also a disc player, named Jeff who was very helpful. He called the State dept. responsible for the reservoir and got a guy to come out and retrieve our brand new disc for us. This only cost us about 30 minutes of playing time and we were very grateful.
Other Thoughts: We will be playing this course again. It has a lot to offer a beginner; you'll warm up on 1-6, go mad on 7-15 and then calm down and cool off on the final holes. Some of the first and last holes go around the softball parks and bocce courts so there was a fair amount of other users to lookout for in close proximity, but that's not really a big deal for me. You really do feel as if there is nothing else in the world when you are on those damned wooded hills on the newer holes, which I like.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

9+9=18

5+    11/7/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: scottlarson
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Feels like two, 9 hole courses. Beginners will enjoy 1-6, and 16-19 and experts will enjoy the middle 9. Ams will get a good warm up, get trashed, and then try to salvage their score at the end. Well maintained. Good variety in hole type - each hole is fairly distinct. #7-16 are secluded. Map is accurate - use it!
Cons: No pads. Holes #11 and #12 are next to an equestrian center and the field can be a minefield. Try putting with a fresh pile behind the basket if you miss. Very difficult to find the next tee on several holes; I printed out jedwards' review (excellent) and took it with me so this wasn't really a con for me. The fairway/walkability of #13 is a joke (still fun). I don't want too reiterate some of the other "Cons" that are frequently mentioned because for all of them I think, "YES, BUT..." (see "other thoughts")
Other Thoughts: YES, hole 1 has a big scary fence, BUT nobody I've been with has ever permanently lost one (there may/may not be a gap to slide under 3/4 or the way down). YES, hole #4 has a horseshoe pit in the middle, BUT they look like nobody ever plays there. YES, hole #6 plays through boccee courts, BUT I've never seen anyone over there. If you like courses that loop back the the parking lot in the middle, drive past the park entrance and use the gravel lot on the left. That way you can start on #16 and have a easy front 9 and cross the road to the hard back 9.
When you are standing on the tee for #18 you cannot see the basket on the far right of the field; the basket for #2 is in plain sight and first timers will think it is #18.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/17/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: ABFutrell
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
Pros: The new holes #7 - #15 add quite some challenge to this course. #7 and #12 are par 4's.
#8 is listed as par 3, but it is a tough 3 if you are RHBH. The hole is a dogleg right downhill with a narrow window from the pad. Come out wide/early trees, cut in early/griplock trees, get it through the gap but fade out, KUDZU! There is a landing area but it is not easy to find throwing backhand. I put this is pros because it adds to the challenge.
Cons: I still do not like tee placement on hole #1. I'm only 5' 7" and after playing this hole the other day with guys taller than myself I see a big disadvantage for disc golfers my height or shorter. I have to throw the disc up high and let it fall out before getting close to the fence or cutting into the tree line. While the hill in front of the tee-pad adds challenge to the hole, it seems a bit unfair since shorter players are forced to release at a positive angle while taller players can release at a negative angle (which is ideal for using the back fence as a backstop.
Other Thoughts: In all I believe this course serves the community surrounding it well.

Perhaps signage for the pseudo-beginner loop for those just starting to know to go from hole #6 to hole #16?

 Multiple Personality Disorder

1    8/17/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: jedwards
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 23.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brand new baskets in a well maintained park. Several of the new holes provide for a welcomed challenge from the previous layout (see detailed hole description below).
Cons: While I totally understand the reasoning for changing the hole numbering for holes 7, 8 & 9 (course flow - so you can still start and end at the parking lot) it kind of leaves you with a feeling of despair. There are plenty of courses where the front 9 holes are more beginner friendly, then the back 9 are more challenging thus providing the option of either playing the 9 "easier" holes or the 9 "challenging" holes. This is not the case with the new Ellis Park layout. What they have done is given you 6 starting holes at a Rec. level (at best), then hit you with holes 7-15 that require a totally different skill set, then take you back on the Rec. course for holes 16-18 leaving you with the same feeling you had when playing the old layout. I feel that the quality of some of the new holes are tarnished by the lack-luster original 9 holes (holes 1-6 & 16-18). I think a complete redesign of the original 9 holes would have made a huge difference, but I understand that might not have been possible. The lack of tee pads becomes even more of a con with the additional holes. Some are very difficult to find. I never found the tee for hole #12 (I have since discovered it is to the right of the basket for #11 on the far side of the small covered picnic area).
Other Thoughts: The new holes will have the same style tee signs as the previous layout (hole #, distance & par). A new map is in the works and I will upload it as soon as it becomes available. It is still best to park in the lot closest to first tee - it is to the left and behind the park office. The park office allegedly has starter sets available for around $20. I raised my rating because of the addition of the new holes. Some are actually pretty good, however, those original 9 holes will forever keep me from rating this any higher. I enjoyed playing the course and will come back but I still don't know how to categorize this course since it has multiple personality disorder. Do I recommend it to beginners? They will find the new holes too challenging. Do I recommend it to experienced players? They will find the original 9 holes too easy.


Detailed Hole Description:
Hole #1: Remains the same as original layout. A 10-15 foot fence topped with razor wire lines the left side of the fairway, so beware. The same fence is also behind the basket to the left. Hole plays slightly downhill to the right.

Hole #2: Remains the same as original layout. A short dogleg left hole in the opening just after the tree line. No danger here.

Hole #3: Remains the same as original layout. Hard to find a "good" route for this short hole, that said just pitch one up and pray since it is only 140ish feet. No real danger here either.

Hole #4: Remains the same as original layout. Another very short slight dogleg left hole. Beware of the horseshoe pits.

Hole #5: Remains the same as original layout. Open hole next to the tennis courts.

Hole #6: This hole is hard to find without a map. After finishing #5 go left and walk toward the small building. The tee is behind the building. There are some sort of bocce ball "courts" or something directly in front of the basket but I have never seen them in use. Hole plays fairly straight ahead.

Hole #7: To find the tee - walk across the street (beware of traffic as the speed limit is 45 mph on this road and people tend to add 10 or so mph to that). Look for the "Nature Trail" sign and walk down the gravel path - the tee will be on your left. This is the first of the new holes and is a dramatic difference from the 6 you just played. Hole plays dogleg right and there are a few good-sized landing zones mid fairway. Basket is in a pretty big clearing.

Hole #8: After finishing #7 go right and walk down the gravel road a good 200-300 feet, the tee will be on your left. Hole starts dogleg right (very similar to the previous hole) then makes a slight left downward turn to a tree-protected basket. Watch out for rollaways behind the basket if you want to par this hole.

Hole #9: After finishing #8 walk across the covered bridge and go left. The tee is behind the kudzu. Hole plays dead ahead. Easy par.

Hole #10: Tee is currently behind and to the left of the basket for #9. Hole plays over the gravel road and uphill, slight dogleg left. The hill is a little more steep than it looks.

Hole #11: After finishing #10 walk left in to the clearing. Allegedly there will be a mando (or so I've heard) but not sure which tree you have to stay left/right of. Basket is straight and slightly left of the tee.

Hole #12: After finishing #11 walk right and go toward the small covered picnic area to find the tee. Aim between the two large trees and the basket is dead ahead. Hole plays slightly downhill, then back up.

Hole #13: After finishing #12 go left in to the small clearing in the woods. Hole plays dogleg right down a very steep hill. If you play this hole after or during a good rain just "Pete Rose" slide headfirst down the hill because you will not stay on your feet and you might as well go down with style.

Hole #14: After finishing #13 go left to find the tee. Hole plays fairly straight ahead up a very steep hill. If you are lucky enough to park this hole I advise that you walk around and to the right of the fairway up the gravel path to get to the basket as the hill is pretty steep. However, since avoiding the two small trees in front of the tee is no easy task prepare to brave the hill.

Hole #15: Currently you have to go back out to the gravel road and walk a good 400-500 feet to get to the tee on the left. A trail will be cut from #14 basket to #15 tee in the near future. Hole plays dogleg right then left with fair landing zones along the way.

Hole #16: After finishing #15 walk back across the street and go right to find the tee for #16. Hole plays straight ahead, right side of fairway lined with trees, left side lined with softball fields. This hole might not be playable during a softball game so beware. This used to be hole #7 in the old layout.

Hole #17: After finishing #16 go left. Hole plays straight ahead, right side of fairway lined with barbed wire fence. This used to be hole #8 in the old layout.

Hole #18: After finishing #17 walk left and toward the parking lot. Tee is a little past the covered picnic area. Hole plays fairly straight ahead. Most will choose the anhyzer route (right handers) along the left side.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.