Cullowhee, NC
Jackson Rec. DGC Share



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Beginner course

5+    8/4/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: Sersan43
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9
Pros: Great for a beginner with very short holes.
Good warm up course if you want to play the WCU course 5 mins away afterward.
Good place to practice putting and approaches.
Cons: Too short for experienced players to have much fun beyond the first time. The last 6 holes are unplayable during school hours (on elementary school grounds)
Other Thoughts: For a beginner, this is perfect for you to get aquainted with the game. Intermediate to advanced players will leave this course itching to go bomb one solid drive, as none of the holes really require any power.

A Putt and Approach Course

5+    8/10/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: das1330
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: -Flat, easy to walk, simple course
- Great for starting out
- Quick to play
- If you don't have an ace, sooner or later, you will get one here.
Cons: I-Nothing ultra challenging.
- Park can be crowded during soccer season, making a few holes unplayable.
Other Thoughts: The entire course is short and many of the holes are short or wide open (and still short), it's a great course to introduce people to the game, and to hone your approach and putting basics.

I've seen several first times players par or get a few over par the first time out, great confidence builder and a place to try new throws and work on bad parts of your game.

Short course with decent fun factor

1    5/18/2012   5/22/2012
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 148  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 9.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jackson Rec. has one thing going for it: a good fun factor. If you throw in the scenery of the mountains all around you, then you have two.
- The beginner of all beginner courses. Pick two of the following three options - short, open & straight - and you can describe pretty much every hole here. This is the course you want to bring your kids or anyone who has never thrown a disc before.
- For anyone above the recreational level, most holes are going to be mid-range shots. If you need to work on throwing your Roc, Buzz, putter, etc, you'll get plenty of practice here. There aren't any hole distances listed, but most are in the 150 - foot range. The only holes that seemed to have some distance were #4, 5 & 15.
- Because of short distances, this is a great course to play a fast round. The only semi-long walks you have are going to #1, the transition from #12 to #13 (going from rec center to school) and #18 back to parking lot.
- Course does have a big fun factor, especially if you get creative. This is a great course for an ace race, skins match, birdie-fest, etc. You should be seeing lots of red numbers here.
- This is a very nice, have everything rec center - ball fields, playground, walking trail, nice river plus everything inside the building. Who knew rec centers had workout rooms inside of them?
- There are some nice holes, both in layout and scenery.
#4 is a shot around several trees (or you can try to squeeze a shot between or over them).
#9 is a nice, slight uphill shot to a basket. You tee off near the water to a basket partially protected by baseball fence.
#11 is a tee shot around a tree to a basket right in front of a small pond.
#12 is a short hole, throwing over the same pond to a basket in front of thick rough. These last two holes, with the pond in play, present the best visuals on the course.
#14 is a shot around several trees that protect the basket. This is a tricky, short shot.
#15 is the 'toughest' hole on the course, the only one I had to work for a par. This is the most wooded hole, forcing you to either have some skill (or luck) or through a major hook around them to the basket.
Cons: Tee signs and tee areas aren't on the same page. The tees areas are marked by green tee signs, so you at least know which direction to head. The natural tees are marked by red mini discs in the ground. The problem is the tee signs and mini-discs aren't consistent in their relationship to each other. Some are right next to each other; some are 30 feet away; some (mini disc tee pads) are either missing or hidden. This shouldn't be a major issue, because if you can't find the mini-discs, just throw from the sign.
- The last six holes are on school property and aren't accessible during school hours. The school property is just on the other side of the creek, behind #12. Playing 18 holes versus 12 holes does have an impact on the quality of the course.
- The short, open repetition of holes will be a major deterrence for some. More experienced players are going to get bored playing this course real fast. Even though I mentioned the shortness as a fun factor, I do think if this was my local course, it'd lose some of its luster playing it week after week. The lack of obstacles/challenge is a definite deterrent here.
Other Thoughts: You know what you're getting into when you play at Jackson Rec. It's not great, but it's solidly decent. It's weird, but if the course were longer (holes averaging 250 - 300 feet instead of 200 feet), I'd hate this course. 18 straight holes of throwing driver, then putt is much less appealing to me then throwing Roc then putt.
- For having so many hills around the course, one has to wonder how the course ended up so flat.
- I don't see any room for the course to improve unless you move more holes to the school property. And, if you do that, that will result in more holes being unplayable during school hours. It's better to remain a family friendly, beginner friendly, short course.
- As mentioned, #11 & 12 is the nicest two-hole stretch, if only for the view. The water is clear and shallow, so any disc in there should easily be retrievable. You have a higher lost disc chance if you end up in the thick brush to the left of #11 and behind #12.
- Based on the course layout alone, this would only be a 1.0. Throw in the fun factor I had playing, I'll give the course a bump. It's not worth driving out of your way to play here; however, if you're in the area, stop by for a quick round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Short and Fun

5+    3/31/2012   4/7/2012
Review By: McFer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very quick course to play. Great place to take the kids - play a round, stop at the playgrounds to take a break and let the kids romp. Great way to work on your short game, as the holes are mostly approach distance, though the last 6 holes at the elementary school are a little longer. Nice, new baskets. For the space they were working with and the goal of the course (get kids into the game), the staff of the Rec Park did a nice job keeping things as interesting as possible given the multi-use nature of the park. One of the things that I like is that there are often walkers or kids who come up and ask about disc golf, they're legitimately intrigued by the game. That's a great way to grow the sport, and it's multi-use facilities like this that give the sport some extra exposure. Looking for your first ace? This is your place.
Cons: The course is short - I use my putter to drive on all of the holes. Distances are unmarked. Tee pads are grass, and can be wet. The course is very flat, and there's often standing water on the flat areas after a rain. High levels of pedestrian traffic at peak usage times (weekends during the day), but if you go during a weekday you're not supposed to play the last 6 holes at the elementary school because it's in session.
Other Thoughts: In a county with a population of 40,000 people, we're lucky to have two options in terms of disc golf courses. While I much prefer the course at Western Carolina University, the Jackson County Rec Park course has become a nice mix-up, and it's where I go if I go out with just my kids, as they can be entertained while I get a quick round in. Don't travel for miles to play this course, but if you're in the area, it's worth playing a quick pitch & putt round here after you've already played WCU's course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great for Beginners

2-4    9/13/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: JoeDubb
Played: 103  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very short course, appropriate for anyone new to disc golf. The course has a fun little layout that goes around the Jackson Rec department and a little corner of a middle school that is right next door. Each hole has a wooden post to mark each tee-pad. And some of the major pro's about this course is it can be played in a very short amount of time. The facilities are very nice; there are soda machines, bathrooms, and friendly Rec. Department people inside the main building to point you in the right direction. And there is plenty of room to create a larger course layout.
Cons: The course runs along a walking path, playgrounds, baseball and soccer fields so you have to be careful not to hit anyone. It is a really short course, there are no tee pads, or any indication of the length of the holes.
Other Thoughts: I have been playing the course from the original tee-pads and then I play a round from the long tee-pads that I created. From the shorts I average around 10 under par, but from the longs my scores change dramatically, barely shooting even. So maybe this course just needs two sets of tee-pads fore each hole to improve it for the more seasoned player.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.