Caddo Valley, AR 
DeGray Lower Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: dogbetter Hole #16 (Taken 1/2013)
3 / 225ft.   -- / --   3 / 225ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great Variety

5+    10/27/2013   10/31/2013
Review By: euclidbr549
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well kept grounds, nice signage, best concrete tee pads ever. Biggest pro is the variety of holes. Long, short, open, wooded, uphill, downhill, hyzer, anhyzer, tunnel.
Cons: Most of the wooded holes are in one block 13 through 18. 1 and 2 are also wooded holes, so that is a really large block if you are in a tournament and begin between 3 and 13.

There are several places where golfers on different holes will get in each others' way, especially 11 and 12, and the walk to 11 from 10. There are a lot of long walks from basket to next tee.
Other Thoughts: I found myself using every throw in my bag, and wishing I had developed a few more.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Course

5+    8/24/2013   8/24/2013
Review By: Shooter14
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is an awesome course for all skill levels! There are Short holes, long holes, wooded holes, open holes and the whole nine yards!! Excellent course for anyone looking to just have fun, Highly Recommended
Cons: You have to walk too far from tee box to tee box
Other Thoughts: Could use more trash cans spreaded out across the course!! Pleasseeee!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

nice course

1    6/30/2013   6/30/2013
Review By: benwilly
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1 Nice wooded course with lots of shade
2. has short and long holes
3. has 2 pars one for experienced players and one for beginners
4. signs telling you where the next hole is
5. score card and map at the start
6. mowed course so its easy to find your disc
Cons: 1. all par 3 for experienced players
2. have to cross the street quite a few times
Other Thoughts: overall great course would recommend playing this course

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Technical with nice length

1    6/19/2013   6/19/2013
Review By: NPCTour
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I feel the use of elevation, pin placement, tee, and variety of shots make this course worth playing. You start off with a few technical holes 1-4 and walk across the street to #5 for a bomb hyzer! #8 requires a long roller and without that, getting a 2 on the hole is almost impossible. #9 had a small version of USDGC back gate around the basket, which was unique. Really appreciated the OPEN air shots especially #11 (555ft) and #12 (430ft+). Depth perception is a must to figure out on the open holes. They play longer than they look. Once you enter back in to the woods, you are required to place a series of short shots. Almost relieved to see once you play the open holes. The wooded holes are the birdie holes for sure and shooting a hot round of -4 to -9 is very possible here. The short wooded holes probably keep this course from being listed as a 5 star championship course, but is worthy of an excellent annual event!
Cons: Navigation is good, but I still got lost from #4 to #5. Didn't know it was across the street. Walking from #10 to #11 crosses by hole #13 tee. The mosquitoes are relentless in the woods. I played in a 90 degree weather day and was shaded all the way through course.
Other Thoughts: I believe players will enjoy this course and want to come back. The risk of losing a disc is minimal. The "fun" factor will keep you coming back. Having a course like this will help the players learn how to grow as better disc golfers.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Decent stop off I-30

1    6/16/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 34  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is clean, well-marked, course maps and scorecards are available near the first tee, there are few navigation issues if you pay attention to the signs and much of the course is shaded. There are some very interesting holes, 2, 7 and 8 come to mind. There are a few (3-4) longer holes for airing out your drives. Mostly, this course rewards accuracy over distance.
Cons: There are a number of holes that are in a semi-cleared/forested area to the east of the roadway that leads to the tubing/kayaking staging area. These holes are all mostly very short with difficult lines to the basket (some are actually nearly impossible). However, the difficulty level is diminished due to the very short length and the fact that all underbrush has been cleared. So if you miss your line with your midrange or putter off the tee, it is no problem to put the second shot under the basket in most cases. These holes get repetitive and even though I am writing this shortly after playing, the holes left little impression to distinguish them by. It may be that there was simply not enough land, but many of these holes were just too short and too well mowed for the technical nature to make them the difficult holes that they should be IMO.

There are several wide open holes. Though I think the backstop on 9 is a good addition to prevent it from being wide open too.

Oh, and did I mention the mosquitos. Much of this course is in prime mosquito habitat. Bring plenty of repellant in the summer.
Other Thoughts: There seems to be some areas that contain elevation changes that were not utilized. Still some holes, 2, 3 and 18 do have not completely insignificant elevation changes.

This is a fun little course and certainly worth the stop if you are on 30, but Cedar Glades is a better experience if you are on the way to Hot Springs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

well done

1    3/10/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was recently expanded from 9 to 18 holes

very nice tees

great signs

kiosk in parking lot with course message board

awesome color scorecards with map (facilitated easy navigation. otherwise, navigating this course would have been confusing)

loved the wooded fairways with a good mix of distances and shot shaping

there are also a couple open holes( i like a few open holes where you can just go for distance)

really close to the freeway if you're on a road trip

scenic and well kept park that we had to ourselves

Cons: not much elevation, but what can you do?

all par 3 makes it less interesting
Other Thoughts: they have done a beautiful job with this course. the new holes had temporary signs that were laminated paper. they were great, but i'm sure they are working on new signs that will probably match the old ones, which are very nice color signs on metal which should hold up forever. some have criticized the the horshoe shaped backstop that guards hole 9. I think it makes for an interesting hole that would otherwise be wide open.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

2-4    3/13/2013   3/17/2013
Review By: SuperBorg
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.6 Years
Pros: We stopped to play this course on our way north from Selah Ranch. What a great surprise. At the first tee you can grab nice maps and scorecards and start your game. Nice large cement tees and great signs show the care that has gone into this course.

After a few holes through the trees, the course opens up into some nice open holes. Hole 9 has a unique basket, surrounded on 3 sides by a crazy fence contraption. Some may not like it, but I thought it was a fun change of pace. Our group had some real fun with it.

After the first 9, you head back into the woods for some tight fairway action. Course layout was easy to follow and the new back nine brings you right back to hole one, for a nice wrap up.
Cons: Not a lot of elevation. A hill right after the 18th could have made for a good last hole.

Other Thoughts: No holes that you can really go for the basket on. One or two would be fun.

Totally worth the drive

2-4    3/10/2013   3/12/2013
Review By: Disc chaser
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played this on a road trip that included 7 courses from Selah Ranch to Little Rock. This course was a favorite right behind Selah Lakeside. (Yes it's that good). It has something for everyone including a good balance of open, wooded, long, medium, DL right and DL left guarded tee and guarded basket. The only players who will leave wanting are those who love water hazards. Despite proximity to a large river, water doesn't factor... Unless you experience a severe and powerful grip-lock on #1 and manage to miss all of the protective trees and shrubs guarding the far-off river. (one of our guys actually did this but it was a fluke). There is a large sign structure that holds a large map of the course and an offering of smaller scorecard maps. Course layout was easy to follow and the new back nine wooded holes had decent and obvious fairways. Good baskets, solid tee boxes and phenomenal views of the giant spillway.
Cons: Some good elevation potential may have been overlooked in the woods, however, there are still several elevated tees and baskets that are more out in the open.
Other Thoughts: I felt this course was worth a drive. We played until dark and wished for more daylight.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun, great risk reward shots

1    3/10/2013   3/10/2013
Review By: Disc Buddy
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great right and left hand shots. Very easy to follow and clear directions. Super fun new holes. We came from out of state and with eight of us, it gave us enough of a challenge for every person.
Cons: I loved the long holes but I wish I would have seen a couple of holes under 200'. The park could use some extra trash cans scattered at some of the holes. It's only been a couple of months since the course added more holes and already there is trash scattered throughout.

I would have loved to see a hole with more elevation back in the corner by hole one.
Other Thoughts: The walk was not far at all. Great use of the park with good flow from hole to hole.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

First time

1    10/4/2012   11/2/2012
Review By: Matty Ice
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 11/5/2012
Pros: Beautiful park and well maintained settings. The hole placement lines up well with the structure they have. The lst hole is a little weird with a backstop behind the cage but i liked it and plan to go again soon.
Cons: It is very short for a niner. If you set a good pace, you can finish easily in 30 mins. A lot of walking from the last hole to the first hole back to the car. Wind from the lake makes it a difficult course.
Other Thoughts: I wish it was 18 but space in this park is a premium. Talked to park manager november 2012. He hopes to have the course expanded to 18 by Christmas.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.