Caddo Valley, AR 
DeGray Lower Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: dogbetter Hole #1 (Taken 1/2013)
4 / 285ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Great Course

2-4    3/13/2013   3/17/2013
Review By: SuperBorg
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.5 Years
Pros: We stopped to play this course on our way north from Selah Ranch. What a great surprise. At the first tee you can grab nice maps and scorecards and start your game. Nice large cement tees and great signs show the care that has gone into this course.

After a few holes through the trees, the course opens up into some nice open holes. Hole 9 has a unique basket, surrounded on 3 sides by a crazy fence contraption. Some may not like it, but I thought it was a fun change of pace. Our group had some real fun with it.

After the first 9, you head back into the woods for some tight fairway action. Course layout was easy to follow and the new back nine brings you right back to hole one, for a nice wrap up.
Cons: Not a lot of elevation. A hill right after the 18th could have made for a good last hole.

Other Thoughts: No holes that you can really go for the basket on. One or two would be fun.

 Totally worth the drive

2-4    3/10/2013   3/12/2013
Review By: Disc chaser
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played this on a road trip that included 7 courses from Selah Ranch to Little Rock. This course was a favorite right behind Selah Lakeside. (Yes it's that good). It has something for everyone including a good balance of open, wooded, long, medium, DL right and DL left guarded tee and guarded basket. The only players who will leave wanting are those who love water hazards. Despite proximity to a large river, water doesn't factor... Unless you experience a severe and powerful grip-lock on #1 and manage to miss all of the protective trees and shrubs guarding the far-off river. (one of our guys actually did this but it was a fluke). There is a large sign structure that holds a large map of the course and an offering of smaller scorecard maps. Course layout was easy to follow and the new back nine wooded holes had decent and obvious fairways. Good baskets, solid tee boxes and phenomenal views of the giant spillway.
Cons: Some good elevation potential may have been overlooked in the woods, however, there are still several elevated tees and baskets that are more out in the open.
Other Thoughts: I felt this course was worth a drive. We played until dark and wished for more daylight.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, great risk reward shots

1    3/10/2013   3/10/2013
Review By: Disc Buddy
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great right and left hand shots. Very easy to follow and clear directions. Super fun new holes. We came from out of state and with eight of us, it gave us enough of a challenge for every person.
Cons: I loved the long holes but I wish I would have seen a couple of holes under 200'. The park could use some extra trash cans scattered at some of the holes. It's only been a couple of months since the course added more holes and already there is trash scattered throughout.

I would have loved to see a hole with more elevation back in the corner by hole one.
Other Thoughts: The walk was not far at all. Great use of the park with good flow from hole to hole.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 First time

1    10/4/2012   11/2/2012
Review By: Matty Ice
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 11/5/2012
Pros: Beautiful park and well maintained settings. The hole placement lines up well with the structure they have. The lst hole is a little weird with a backstop behind the cage but i liked it and plan to go again soon.
Cons: It is very short for a niner. If you set a good pace, you can finish easily in 30 mins. A lot of walking from the last hole to the first hole back to the car. Wind from the lake makes it a difficult course.
Other Thoughts: I wish it was 18 but space in this park is a premium. Talked to park manager november 2012. He hopes to have the course expanded to 18 by Christmas.

  Very Fun Course

5+    9/30/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: drewdexter81
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is not too long, and not overly difficult with the natural obstacles. It's located within a quaint park that is conveniently situated off I-30. Also has very clean bathrooms.
Cons: It hasn't yet been expanded to 18 holes, but will be in the coming months.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 eh

1    8/5/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 279  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 28.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: easy access from 30.

Nice little park with picnic tables, a decent restroom and a playground.

Very nice tee signs with hangers on all the posts for your bag.

Large cement tee boxes.

Signs pointing to the next hole (much needed on a few of them)

Very nice kiosk at hole 1 with a map of the course.

the land is pretty flat, but the course takes advantage of the what elevation there actually is.

You will need a few good shots to score well on this course
Cons: My biggest con is the walk between holes. This is a short course so I didn't expect long hole, but I would be willing to bet the walks between the holes are actually longer than the total length of the course. Specially if you count hole 9 to hole 1.

Hole nine is also a con in my opinion, the hole is a down hill WIDE open hyzer shot with a PAR course gym turned on it side guarding the basket from the back and sides of the hole. It is basically a fence as tall as the basket 4 feet from the basket around 2/3 of the basket. Land in front of this "fence" or you have to throw a drop in for a putt.
Other Thoughts: In general this is a very nice 9 hole course. Holes 1 and 2 are short, but have a nice left to right fade shot to them. Hole 2 has a nice gully in front to punish a short shot.

Hole 3 is your third lefty hole in a row with the road on your left and shull on your right. I landed basket high, in the street ;(

Hole 4 is a tight hyzer shot in the woods. Now you are done with woods shots.

Hole 5 is wide open and the longest hole on the course. Not really much to it and you have to walk a long ways from 4 basket to 5 tee box.

Hole 6 is a typical hyzer 300 foot open shot.

Hole 7 is a very nice distance through a group of very large trees. there are several paths to this one.

Hole 8 is also a very nice disc golf hole. Great defined fairway, good length and the basket on the left hand side for it to be considered a lefty hole. This is the signature hole for this course in my opinion, specially with views of the lake on the left.

Hole 9 - Ug, I am not much for gimmicks on disc golf courses. there is an old PAR course located in this area of the park. They took one of the stations, turned it on its side to make like a fence surrounding the back and sides of the basket. On top of that, it forces you to throw a hyzer by putting the tee box facing to the side and a tree between the tee and the basket. After that large tree, there are no more trees on this hole, just the fence around the basket.

Now the VERY long walk back to your car or to hole 1 for round 2.

I am not sure why they didn't make this course better other than maybe they could not use some of the areas. For the most part the course is pretty good, but the LONG walks between several holes decreases the value of this course.

I should also mention how hot is was the day I played. I used the rest room before I left, it was so hot in the restroom I turned on the blowers to dry your hand on for some cool air.

**** Edit ******

I have been told the funding for the other 9 holes have been raised and the long walk from 4 to 5 will be eliminated and the new holes will mostly be in the woods.

I will be back when the new 9 are added.

Edit #2

Got to play this course again with 18 holes, MUCH BETTER course now, flows better although there is a few longer walks between a few of the holes. The walk from 9 back 1 problem has been resolved.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course.

1    3/25/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: LookIhitAtREE
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course beautifully resides along Lake DeGray and the dam. Brand new pads, baskets and signage. Plenty of trees to make shot-shaping necessary, but some open shots as well. Very nice mixture of layouts. The last hole is a fun run alongside the dam with a basket that is protected on three sides by a fence to force you to come at it straight. This course is highly recommended for a leisurely stroll through the woods by a lake with some fun disc golf to boot. Bring a picnic, as their were plenty of tables, grills, etc. When you are done you can go down to the water and splash around, nice frigid water after a hot round.
A nice bathroom was also near hole 1.
Cons: Fire ants were numerous and some light poison ivy. Lots of insects flying around, but after all it's Arkansas.
Other Thoughts: Bring the kids, plenty of play equipment and picnic areas. Very nice park, you will enjoy this round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great Little Course

1    1/22/2012   2/13/2012
Review By: tccarneal
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy access off I-30, clean grounds and facilities, Great tee pads, loved the posts at each tee box with hooks to hold your bag up off the ground, Awesome!
Cons: can't really think of any, except wish it was 18 holes
Other Thoughts: This is a really well thought out course that can be played by novices and pros alike. Beautiful setting along the lower lake and dam. Great course!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 DeGray Lower Lake DGC

1    12/23/2011   12/23/2011
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 163  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course had good signage
DISCatcher baskets, most holes have lines for hyzers and flicks.
Cons: after hole 4 you cross the street to get to hole 5 tee pad this is the only hole that was a little hard to find.
Other Thoughts: This course was really fun it wasnt a typical 9 holer where the holes are 150ft. The holes ranged from 250 to just over 300. The course was right off the highway so it was perfect for when your traveling through the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center