Davenport, IA 
Credit Island Share
Uploaded By: xsjunkie Hole #6 (Taken 9/2011)
-- / --   -- / --   3 / 260ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Awesome course.

5+    3/23/2014   3/24/2014
Review By: TRyan
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/31/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Credit Island utilizes an entire nine hole ball golf course. A challenging layout using the mature trees will test even the best of players with this long course. Large tee pads with a fault line allow for comfortable follow through. The flat ground around the tee pad allows for more steps up to the pad if needed. This course isn't heavily wooded, but uses the trees that are available. When the grass/prairie grass grow tall, shots can be harder to make because of the 4-6' tall "rough." After the grass grows, and then trimmed back, the fairways change. The past few years, the fairways have been dramatically different each year. Multiple basket locations vary from long to longer (usually). This course is HUGE! I would recommend this course to a seasoned player over a beginner. There is a great view of the river, plus, there's a tank on the park. Yes! Really, a tank.
Cons:
-Seasonal downtime due to flooding of the Mississippi.
-Extremely flat.
-As other have stated, goose excrement.
Other Thoughts: Take a picture of the layout, the flooding has knocked out a couple signs.

With the course being on the river, there is a added challenge of wind. The wind speeds at Credit Island typically are higher than posted wind speeds.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

distance is the main challenge here

5+    11/24/2012   1/23/2013
Review By: IHearChains
Played: 117  Reviewed: 19
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a long course built on an old ball golf property. Mature trees define some fairways nicely in order to provide an easier line for left-to-right or right-to-left throws, although other options are usually available. On some holes there are only one or two trees that come into play, but the design still requires putting some thought into the shot. For people that like a pure distance challenge, this is a great place for it; there are a couple of holes where there is no other interesting feature other than distance.

There are multiple basket placements on every hole, with one set of really high quality baskets. The teepads are also excellent, with hole number and fault line indicated in the concrete.

The parks dept does a great job mowing this course. The fairways are closely mowed, and there is a lot of "no-mow" area bordering fairways throughout the course. You could call it "rough" I suppose, but it's not really thick, and doesn't really present much of a problem with lost discs. If the "no-mow" is played as OB, this course becomes MUCH more interesting, requiring careful shot placement in addition to distance. In spring, there is sharply contrasting yellow color in the "no-mow" area, which makes it easy to identify OB lines during casual play (some lines might need to be marked for tourney play).
Cons: Cons
The park is really flat, and too wide open for my preference. For a course built on an island in the Mississippi, it is a little surprising that water hazards weren't included in the layout. Water doesn't come into play at all unless you have a really bad throw on one hole (hole 9 or 10?). Although there are opportunities to use a lot of different shots, the layout doesn't really require them. It is a single loop course, and it's a pretty long walk to get back to the vehicle for resupply, so if you're out there on a hot sunny day you better stock up on fluids. No restrooms or drinking water on the course.
Other Thoughts: If this course is played along with one of several more hilly and wooded QC area courses, it makes a nice balance. It is not my favorite style of course, I prefer wooded and technical, but I think big arm players might like playing here to gain an advantage.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Monotonous

1    9/17/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 764  Exp: 12.6 Years
Pros: The course plays through a nicely maintained park in what was apparently an old ball golf course. There is some nice length here, plenty of chances to air out a long drive or lay down a roller on the nice short grass. Mature trees come into play on some holes, with a couple low ceilings and some pins with trees guarding the approaches.

There are nice views over the river on several of the holes, and the park is groomed nicely. The concrete tees are in good shape and offer plenty of room on the longer holes. The signs have hole number and distances to all the pin placements. The alternate sleeves offer big distance differences on most holes and some different lines on some.
Cons: The course is very open, with length as the main source of challenge. That gets pretty repetitive, with a wide open drive on most of the holes, and either a basic upshot or another wide open drive after that. The trees don't come into play except on shots that go way off course.

It's cool to have so many alternate pins to change things up, but too many of them feel thrown in. There is often one of the placements that is more interesting and the others are just stuck out in the open to add "variety". The signs have distance, but no marking on which pin placement is in use or what the layout of the hole is. With how open and long this course is, that can make it a little difficult at times to know exactly where to throw.
Other Thoughts: This course offers a great place to practice distance, but doesn't really test other skills. Experienced players who want to work on big drives or rollers will appreciate this place for that, but otherwise it's not an exciting or interesting set of shots. Beginners will find the course long and not all that interesting, throwing several open drives as a new player gets old quick.

 LOTS Of Length -and- Wind

1    9/30/2011   10/2/2011
Review By: sthomas128
Played: 53  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This Course is on (As Its Name Suggests) Credit Island, which is pretty much surrounded by the Mississippi River.
-The wind was "howling" at 30+MPH the day we were there making distance for my 872 rated arm difficult at best.
-Some of the nicest Concrete Tee Pads I've ever seen with the hole numbers stamped right into the basket end of the concrete Tee Pad.
-At least 3 pin positions per hole with LOTS of variety there.
-NICE Green Powder-Coated DGA Mach 2 baskets. I am kind of puzzled with the choice of the Green Powder-Coat because we had a hard time seeing where the baskets were because they blend right in with the surrounding (Green) grass. The Orange Powder-Coat would have been much more visible and a better choice for this course IMHO.
-Several signature holes
Cons: -Seeing the baskets to tell which pin position they are in.
-A few Tee Pads with Goose crap all over them, not much you can do about that on the Mississippi Flyway, it was theirs before it was ours..
Other Thoughts: -Even with the pretty big length of this course (the hole "average" is 495 feet) it was still a BLAST to play and I would play it again.
-Come up with some kind of system to tell which pin position the basket is in from the Tee Pad. It is not that big of a deal on a lot of the holes for me because I'm just hucking it up the fairway as hard as I can for at least the first shot or two (my arm is still sore), but, there are several holes where it definitely makes a difference where the pin is at…

***THANKS :-) to the Quad Cities Disc Golf Club for yet ANOTHER GREAT Course…

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long Cool One

2-4    9/21/2011   9/22/2011
Review By: xsjunkie
Played: 31  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Large tee pads. Green powder coated baskets. Three tee placements per hole. There are a lot of mature trees on this course. Hole #8 is my favorite.
Cons: Goose crap everywhere! So much it smells like a turkey farm. The only difficulty is the distance. There are also a lot of low hanging branches near the tee on many holes that make a decent first drive nearly impossible. There is no playing just 9 holes on this one. Unless you want to walk a long way back to your car.
Other Thoughts: I will continue to play this course as it is close to my work. It will require a long lunch. As stated above, #9 is nowhere near the parking area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 new credit island course

1    9/17/2011   9/18/2011
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 363  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Credit Island is a fairly nice park directly on the Mississippi River.
-The course plays in an area that used to be a public ball golf course with large, mature trees and large, open fairways.
-3 pin placements per hole each offering different lengths, and shot varieties.
-Huge concrete tees.
-Nice green powder coated baskets.
-Off the tee there is a decent variety of shots required. A lot of wide open stuff where you can throw however you want, but there are a couple holes ie 6 and 11 where there are trees directly off the tee and you either have to choose to pick a low line (6) or throw a high turning shot for rhbh (11).
-One hole where water potentially comes into play if you get reckless with your line choice.
-There are dueceable holes out here despite the overall length. My favorite of these was hole 8. It has cedars all around the tee area and the pins is 250 straight ahead and the only hole you can throw through is down the length of a bridge you have to cross.
Cons: -Lack of length variety: every hole except for the handful of holes under 300 was a driver then either a mid or putter upshot. Although there were a lot of trees (think Creve Couer in STL), the fairways are big enough where they are easily avoided.
-The course is very flat. Some of the pins are on a bit of high ground, but nothing resembling a hill is present at this course.
Other Thoughts: All this being said I think the designers (I'm guessing MDR, Sprague and Calloway had a hand in it) did a fantastic job with the design on the mediocre property. This course will be awesome for the top distance cats and for beginners. It just wasn't all that exciting for me because I don't have quite the d to get the 400-450 holes in 2 and the longer ones in 3 so a player like me takes a lot of easy pars and bogeys. There just isn't the scoring variety for me. This is just the nature of the course.

The course is a longer Eastern Ave park.

I did hear some interesting stuff about prairie grass OB in the future, which will definitely bump the course up for me.
All this being said, I'm playing it again tomorrow. So it's not like I didn't like the course, it's just not my favorite type of course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.