Antigo, WI 
City of Antigo DGC Share
Uploaded By: RLM2611 Hole #3 (Taken 8/2011)
-- / --   3 / 200ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Very nice nine in Antigo

2-4    7/13/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 137  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course plays through two different sections of this park. The first four and the last two are in the more wooded section with 5,6 and 7 being on the old flat landfill section. The wooded holes offer fair lines to the pin with most having only one real line to it though. There were a number of benches and garbage cans located throughout the course which is always nice to see. The baskets were disccatchers that were in great shape and caught well. They had very good signs on this course. The had a nice, colorful hole layout, hole #, par and distances on them. These were in great shape. There's a decent mix in distances here. They range from 555 feet on hole 7 down to 200 feet on hole 3. The navigation here is very easy to follow once you actually find the course itself. The course was all well mowed and maintained when we were there as well. The course is mostly flat but there are enough trees and wind to make each hole challenging enough. They also had a ton of nice scorecards with a nice map on the back of them on hole 1's tee sign. Always a good touch although if you find hole 1 navigation will be a breeze. There's a good mix of left and right turning shots for a nine hole course. Seems like it's used fairly often but I wouldn't imagine it ever being overly busy.
Cons: The tee pads were just dirt and grass. They were dry when I went but they are very slick when dry if you do any kind of run up on drives. I'd imagine they also get muddy after rain. Some of them had about 3 by 3 foot rubber mats near them but most were moved out of the way as they don't offer much more than the natural tees do. Finding the course is the hardest part here. The directions listed are accurate but it IS a pretty long walk to actually get to the course.
Other Thoughts: All in all this was a pretty solid and fun little course. I'd be happy to have this course near me. With that being said it's also not worth traveling out of your way to play unless you like to play every course you can like myself.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/7/2012   5/9/2013
Review By: shay swim
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: a good mix of long and shorter holes some decent challenges to avoid/if you wanted to to throw thru i.e. on 3 instead of throwing the curve try to throw thru the brushy/wooded area there is a parking lot well parking circle/ culdisac near the first hole i dnt remember what street it is on but there is 1
Cons: some of the holes it is easy to lose disks on if you arent carefull where/how hard you throw ur disc ie on 6 there is a big ditch were ppl with bikes cleary hang out with a creek not to far away the trees like to hide ur disks or hole 4 with the swampy area behind the basket ez to lose disk due to sheer amount of brush
Other Thoughts: very nice course wish it was longer but the scenery is nice and there are a few deer living on/near the course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I go to Antigo

1    10/28/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice signs with Hole #, Map, Distance, Par, and hole sponsors. They have all the information you would need to get around this course without issue.
2) There is a nice map of the course at Hole #1 to help show you the general layout of the course.
3) Distance variation is from the 200's, 300's, 400's and 500's . . . a little bit of everything.
4) Nice area of woods on the course coupled with some open areas creates a very nice variety on this course.
5) The wooded holes are extremely clean . . . meaning there is no underbrush. There are mature hardwoods to avoid and that is all you need to worry about. This is the type of natural beauty I can only wish for one every disc golf course.
6) There is hardly any garbage visible on this entire course. It is nice to see a naturally beautiful course taken care of by the players.
7) The solitude of the wooded holes is outstanding. It feels like you are completely on your own and the rest of the course is virtually removed from all other park activities.
8) Nice Discatchers help on the wooded holes for visibility.
Cons: 1) The open holes are virtually wide open . . . the 555' hole is wide open with absolute hard-pan ground because it was a landfill apparently. I like that they didn't focus on this section of the park but that it is included could still be a negative in my mind.
2) There is little to no elevation change on this entire course. I like to see altered elevation whenever possible, this is a negative, but the property does not lend itself to any variation in this regard.
3) There is nowhere to park near the course . . . I don't mind a little extra walk by any means, but some people will not even be able to find the course because they will give up before finding Hole #1. I thought for a moment . . . where am I?
4) Tees are just grass/dirt and left a lot to be desired because they were inconsistent between holes. Some had decent soil some had rocks and some were uneven. All in all just not adequate for a course in my opinion. If anything . . . just be consistent.
Other Thoughts: This is not a bad course . . . it has nice variety and is moderately beginner friendly except for a little distance. It has incredible mature trees on 4 of the 9 holes and some interesting features on a few others. Then it has 555' of hardpan from old gravel in a landfill . . . I threw a roller and only wish the wind was right for it because it could have been a beautiful thing.

It is in what I would deem to be the middle of nowhere . . .but it also provides a break from the standard Northwoods course that dominated the northern part of this state. Don't get me wrong I would much rather play in the Northwoods all the time, but this is a nice change of pace for sure.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Boardwalk course

5+    6/9/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: brywegter
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of variation in obstacles, first holes are wooded, middle holes open up quite a bit. Holes are good and challenging distances, including the massive 7th hole.
Cons: Could use some more mowing / maintenance. Mosquitos can be bad after rainstorms.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent in-town course

1    10/7/2011   10/7/2011
Review By: koogs
Played: 94  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 4.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some wooded holes, some partially open holes, some wide open holes. A couple holes with enough distance to interest the big arms and nothing was ridiculously short. A few holes had some risk in the form of punishing rough. Hole 4 had a dropoff behind the basket which could be full of water during a wet time. Good tee signs and nice, visible Discatchers.
Cons: Most of the holes had wide open baskets once you get past the fairway obstacles. Hole 7 is pretty boring other than to test your arm. Hole 8 had mud and standing water in the fairway, not sure why, since the rest of the course was very dry. Natural tees, which were OK right now, but could be muddy at other times. Navigation from basket 4 to tee 5 was not obvious, also basket 7 to tee 8 was a guess. There are no amenities there that I could see.

Other Thoughts: Holes 1-3 are in the woods and are pretty good. Hole 4 throws from the woods across an open area and the basket sits near the edge of a dropoff. An overthrow here would be bad right now and disastrous during a wet time. Hole 5 and 6 are open with woods on the left side. Hole 7 is wide open with absolutely nothing for obstacles. Hole 8 has a narrow fairway, then a sharp right to the basket. Hole 9 is a long, pretty wide fairway in the woods with a right turning dogleg. It's a bit of a walk from the nearest parking to tee 1and from hole 9 back to parking. I wish they would have used more of the woods instead of the open holes 5-7, but overall, it's decent for an in-town course. I don't know if they have plans for tee pads, but that would be a good improvement. And a couple directional signs. When I played, the weather was perfect, the colors were awesome, and I saw a 6 point buck run right past basket 4 after I made my drive. A local walker said there are 3 bucks living in the woods. It's kind of a step above a beginner course, due to some of the distances, but not a lot of challenge for more experienced players. All in all, I really enjoyed the course and will probably play it again since I'm in the area often.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.