Disc Golf Store
Cullman, AL 
Heritage DGC Share
Uploaded By: RedHotCujo Hole #18 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 137ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    7/20/2014   7/31/2014
Review By: Pbrice
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
Pros: Very nice park, well manicured.
Concrete tee pads.
Well marked and easy to navigate.
Restroom facilities available.
Plenty of trash cans spread through out the park.
OB gives this course nice technical challenge.
Cons: It is a sports complex that can be crowded with nongolfers.
Some holes can be unplayable with certain events held at the park.
Hole 8 is played in a narrow strip between the parking lot and road. For those who care, it can be nerve racking to throw, because of the possibility of hitting parked cars.
Holes 1,2,3,17,18 Are very similar.
Other Thoughts: This course has a couple holes marked par 4, and they are straight shot with nothing technical about them. These are easily par 3 at any other course. The Cullman disc league does play these holes as par 3. They also make hole 15 a mandatory island shot, which is really fun.

Fun and Easy

1    7/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 57  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a quick and fun course that basically runs along the perimeter of a beautiful park (counter clockwise). This is likely the shortest/easiest course I have ever played but it is still a very enjoyable course due to its layout and design. The course has a good blend of wooded and open holes. Also, there are some long holes on the course so you can't just take a mid-range. Navigating this course is very easy due to the tee signs and next hole signs. Every hole has a sign and a concrete pad. Probably the best thing about this course is not that it is so easy but instead how many chances you have to score an ace. Over half the course is made up of extremely short and accessible holes, so enjoy.
Cons: This course's Pros are also its Cons. Because it is such a short and easy course, it will not challenge even intermediate players. The signs on the course are acceptable, however many hole distances posted are inaccurate and should be taken with a grain of salt. Some holes cross parts of a soccer field so I could see this posing a problem if games are in progress.
Other Thoughts: There should be a sign to point players to the first hole from the parking lot.
NOTE: park by the farthest right gate entrance and turn right onto the walking/running track, the first hole is by a covered bench pavilion in the woods.
This is a quick play so if you have never played here, then stop by since it right off the interstate.
I enjoyed playing here, but will probably only return to play some ace race with friends.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short, but Fun Heritage Park

1    8/16/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: the_matthew
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very easily navigated by first-timers due to good signs and very well kept. They were trimming the grass even as I was playing. Expect a low score and a boosted self-esteem, because I think I could throw even par LH. The challenge of this course is #8, where the fairway is a ditch next to a parking lot and its width is about 100 ft across with OB on either side in the road or parking lot. All in all a cool course that's great to play if you want an active day and happen to be around Cullman.
Cons: This course is SHORT. Hole 16 is marked 783 ft. So either the sign is reeeeeally wrong and it plays about 540, or I'm more of a beast than I know. Since the first is much more likely, this course is by far the shortest I've played.
Other Thoughts: Honestly, it isn't too much of a complaint that I'm even saying it's a short course. I'm a par player, and maybe a couple under on a good day. I shot 6 under almost effortlessly. So if you're in the area and are itching to play, then this is still a great course. Don't get me wrong, the course is beautiful and fun, just pretty short. Experienced players will find no trouble at all here in Heritage.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice park, mediocre course

1    6/9/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 98  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a new, unique course. It features solid DGA baskets and holes that go in and out of a wooded area of a park. Here is a list of the main pros:

*Good use of available land. The course is not confined to a tiny space. Instead the fairways take you around a very nice park with lots to do besides disc golf.

*Several shots off the tee bring potential OB areas into play, making the golfer decide whether they should play it safe and trust their putts or go for it (usually for an ace run!)

*18 holes!

*Half the course is wooded, half is open allowing for an okay mix of holes
Cons: I rarely give 18 hole courses a 2.5 rating, but there were a lot of things that fell in the "cons" category at this one:

*Distances are not challenging in the wooded holes whatsoever. Other courses have wooded holes are short because they demand challenging lines to be hit. Not the case here. They are all just wide enough that you can pick your favorite shot and run an ace at them (around 180 feet apiece)

*Hole 10 is very bad. It is wildly short and completely wide open. I think it was about 110.

*Signs here are nondescript, or sometimes inaccurate. One of the holes was listed as 783' or something, and it really is about 550' at most (or maybe i can throw 650 ft!!!!)

*Not isolated from the park at all... brings baseball fields, soccer fields, and paths into play. leads to some significant safety issues as well as the loss of the "isolation factor" that I personally enjoy in a disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: Don't go out of your way to play this one, but Heritage Park is a quick fun 18 hole course that is worth playing if you are in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet course

1    12/30/2011   12/31/2011
Review By: frogtown_corey
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great new course. Level solid tee pads and proper signage on each hole. Nothing too terribly challenging about it. Signature Monroe designed course. Very nice place.
Cons: A few holes could be re designed namely 8. YOu have to either be damn accurate or lucky to land on the green and not end up OB. Some of the front nine could be lengthened a bit. Too many holes bellow two hundred feet.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the drive to the middle of nowhere to play this course. Good course for novice to intermediate players. I will surely be back.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Course

1    12/30/2011   12/31/2011
Review By: imneagle1987
Played: 116  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Most of the holes are accessible for players of all levels. The course has a wide variety of holes, wooded holes to very open holes across soccer fields. Also it has some very short birdie holes as well as long holes up to 390 ft or so. Hole 9 is a fun shot from on top of a hill. A lot of ace runs on this course. There are nicely poured concrete tee pads on each hole as well as tee signs.
Cons: I don.t have too many cons to say except for hole 8 was a difficult shot because the landing area was real small. there is a parking lot to the left and a huge ditch to the right and through the fairway. Also the wooded holes could have more length. Hole 2, 3, and 12 could be a little longer to add a little more difficulty.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for beginners as well as intermediate to advanced players. This could be a good course to recruit some new disc golfers and have fun yourself.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  GREAT Course

5+    10/9/2011   10/14/2011
Review By: waid.harbison
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes, starts out in woods and follows park through different settings, has different obsticales including trees, creeks, etc, has a few easy "clear shot" or ace holes, pars are challenging but reasonable, course is not overcrowded or hard to follow, most of the course is on lit holes so twilight play is possible
Cons: A few holes cross the soccer fields so when soccer games are going on, holes must be skipped.
Other Thoughts: All around great course, would recommend anyone of any age to come play. By far the best Disc Golf Course in the area.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Heritage Park Cullman

5+    9/19/2011   9/20/2011
Review By: Discgogolfing
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 1/2/2014
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Concrete pads with good traction.
-3 par 4's.
-Well maintained.
Cons: -Some hole signs are not accurate.
-Lateral hazards on 5 holes (7,8,9,10,11,12) can eat your disc.
-Soccer players and pedestrians can interfere with play.
Other Thoughts: -This is a very fun course.
-There are 3 holes that are almost impossible to par (7,8,12)

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 New Course

1    9/4/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: Spc. Dennis
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Well Kept Course
* Wooded Holes and Open Holes
* Mix of Long and Short Holes
* Great for New Players and Fun for All Skill Levels
Cons: * Course Plays Through Soccer Field so You Can't Play When There is a Soccer Game or Practice Going on.
* Easy to Skip Holes if You Don't Pay Attention
* There are a Couple Holes with no Walking Path From Pad to Basket
Other Thoughts: First Tee is in The Woods Right Beside the Pavilion. 18 is in The Woods on The Other Side of The Pavilion. Glad to Add a New Course to The Area.
There are a Lot of Ace Runs

I Ace'd #17

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.