College Park, MD 
Calvert Road Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
5 / 356ft.   5 / 364ft.   5 / 376ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Blue Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Tight. Confusing. All over the place.

1    9/19/2014   9/19/2014
Review By: neanderthal85
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is one of the only options in the immediate DC area (Bluemont Park in Arlington being the other).

It's length makes it a great starter course while still challenging those who are seasoned. With the blue tees, you can get some near 400 foot shots in that require some maneuvering.

I saw lots of parents with their kids, which was great! If you want to scream "NOOBS!" and say they are going to slow, don't go here. But seeing the next generation of disc golfers was cool and this is a great course to do that at.

There are three separate pads at each hole, so you can really vary your length.

You won't lose any discs here. It is very wooded, but no undergrowth or brush.
Cons: This course is as confusing a course as I've ever seen. Even after playing it, I couldn't tell you where some of the holes are. Several of the signs show holes that aren't really where the holes are (#7 - I would have guessed the hole is 200ft left of where it actually is). Because of this, the holes are all over the place. People are throwing across fairways, throwing at the wrong holes, etc.

If you are off target, you WILL go into another fairway. Be prepared to yell "FORE!"
Other Thoughts: The low rating is simply because this course is too compact and too confusing to be enjoyable to play. I get that it harkens back to the old days of disc golf, but there is not a map, the signs are wearing out, and it's so tight, I can't figure out what is what without lots of experience playing it or binoculars.

I am going to try to find a map online to upload here. Also, as others mentioned, the par here is really high. As in, I played well, but not a 938 rating well. I also didn't shoot well enough to have a score of -8.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice Old School Feeling

1    8/29/2014   8/30/2014
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very manageable, relatively short 18 hole course in a well-maintained township park 5 minutes from the University of Maryland. Course is mostly open with plenty of mature trees scattered about on each hole giving you flight options. A nice course information board sits by the parking lot and a porta-john rests on the other side of the lot. There are 2-3 decent sized concrete tee pads- red/blue/white- at every hole for varying levels of difficulty. Old school tee signs (white fiberglass with basic lettering and flight path) are sufficient. Mach III baskets are older but work well and are all numbered. Brown wooden blocks with a number and arrow pointing you to the next tee are secured to the base of each basket. Several benches are located at various holes.
Cons: There are some safety issues here as many fairways play close to one another, necessitating the presence of several mandos. Course is flat and not overly challenging to the advanced player with nothing over about 350 feet in length. Signage should be upgraded with pars being accurately reflected and the colors designating the multiple tee pads should be re-painted for better visibility.
Other Thoughts: Played this course after a recent visit with my niece at U of M and was not disappointed. Nowhere is it written that every "good" disc golf course has to be a monster, and I appreciate playing a course like this once in awhile. Nearly 35 years old, Calvert Road Park is a tribute to disc golf's humble beginnings and a reminder of what the game looked like before modern disc technology and today's infatuation with distance. This is a fun course where casual players can achieve success. Bad drives can be erased with a real good approach shot. And though it will not sufficiently challenge most truly advanced players (birdie opportunities galore here even with the longer tees), one must still execute basic shots off the tee and have a sound short game to score as well as one would like. An ideal course to learn the game and an enjoyable playing experience.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Lots of disc golf here for your efforts

5+    1/14/2014   2/14/2014
Review By: danielccockerspaniel
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very accessible, and is even Metro accessible. It is rarely crowded, and can handle a lot of groups before it feels crowded. Nice level tee pads, three pads per hole. Moderately low canopy encourages good form on most shots. You will almost never spend time looking for lost discs here, which is a huge bonus. This is a dense course, so you will get a lot of disc golf in for a given amount of time spend on the course. Lots of good restaurants in the area, it's a college town.
Cons: No elevation changes, poor drainage leads to lots of mud almost year round, especially around the pins.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Course grows on you METRO accessible

5+    10/5/2013   10/13/2013
Review By: Montanaman
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course to take beginners on. Recently moving back east, I've corralled a number of friends to go folfing (DC) and this course provides a decent opportunity to just grip it and rip it for someone who asks why the disc is so small.

Signage is straight forward overall, grass is well mowed. Multiple Tees are available and concrete pads.

The course is METRO accessible too. It's about 1 mile walk on sidewalk from the college park METRO station.

Holes 1 and 10 start near the parking lot giving you a good chance to play front and back 9 without walking half way around the course.
Cons: The course is flat.

While there's trees and obstacles, there really never is a feeling that the course is all that difficult.

It's basically a pitch and putt course by today's standard.

It's a tight course as well. Easy chance to have a misfire land in other DC lanes.
Other Thoughts: If you are at a conference or just need a folf fix this course is a great little toss.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Old School Course With Old School Pars Listed!

1    7/13/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Calvert Park is your classic old school course built in 1980. It's held up pretty well through the years but offers a glimpse back to what designers were thinking in the early years of disc golf.
It was very typical of courses then to be shorter then as discs were much more basic, more like your standard mid-range today. Tee pads were often made smaller. The basic fiberglass signs were the rage. The pars listed were laughable by today's standards. There were far more holes ending in hyser left turns than the more creative hole configurations seen today. So this course, which would have "State of the Art" when built in 1980 looks more like a recreational course today. Because players weren't throwing nearly as far, designers were able to place fairways much closer together.
I loved the helpful navigation aids like the wooden next tee sign hanging from the chains. Those wouldn't have been there in 1980. And you really don't need them as navigation is pretty easy anyway.
Cons: The course isn't going to challenge anyone intermediate level or above. It's just a simple, fun recreational course playing through a flat, semi-wooded park. It has no glaring design flaws. Granted, there are a couple of silly Mandos. Skip them if you're not down with them. I really didn't like the one threading the needle between the two trees up ahead.
Other Thoughts: This is another of those course where the listed Pars are totally out of whack with today's standards. These were created by 1980 discs and distances being thrown. Instead of scoffing at them, I like to play them and see how many eagles I can rack up. And how far under Par I can score. I know it's a false sense of accomplishment but I think it's kind of interesting. So let the old man have his fun and shoot a -16. I'm only going to play Calvert Park DGC once in my life.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

mando central

1    10/16/2012   11/6/2012
Review By: manglin
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course was beautiful; there were many old, large trees.

I like the three tee options and the multiple pin locations; that's a huge bonus.

The tee signs and markers to the next tee were very helpful.

The course was fun and the layout was good considering the area of land into which it fit.
Cons: Some fairways were very close to others.

I could see there being problems in a tournament setting with how close some of the baskets were to other tees, etc. There's probably an ideal layout for a tournament, but's that's going to limit which tees and pins you could use.

Mando's - there were too many. I know mando's serve a purpose, for instance safety. Some of the mando's seemed like they were for safety; however, many were a bit ridiculous. It's like someone got bored and said "I want to make people throw this stupid shot before completing the hole".

Another con on the mando's: I didn't understand which ones to shoot for. Some were marked different colors, so I thought maybe that corresponded to which color tee I was playing from. Some holes had multiple mando's - of different color - per hole, so it got confusing at times.
Other Thoughts: Below I have shared a rating system I use to help me calculate a course's score. I use many categories then an importance to me. The importance is a weight in a calculation, with 0 - 10 possible. Then I assign my rating for each category, with 0 - 5 possible. I use a spreadsheet to determine a score that fits in the DG course review stars system.


Baskets...........................8 imp, score: 3.5
Tee Pads..........................7 imp, score: 5
Tee Signs/Maps/Markers....6 imp, score: 4.5

General Course Design.......9 imp, score: 2
Foliage Maintenance..........7 imp, score: 4
Benches & Trash bins........7 imp, score: 4

Elevation...........................5 imp, score: 0
Epic Holes........................5 imp, score: 1
Camping...........................1 imp, score: 0
Restrooms........................6 imp, score: 2.5
Running water...................3 imp, score: 1
Variety of hole distances....7 imp, score: 1.5
Variety of shots required.....7 imp, score: 2
Mix of tight & open.............7 imp, score: 2
Overall challenge................7 imp, score: 3.5
Parking..............................5 imp, score: 3.5
Scenic beauty....................3 imp, score: 4.5
Crowded or not...................4 imp, score: 4
Regular events...................1 imp, score: 2.5
Attitude of locals................1 imp, score: 4

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Oldie but Goodie

1    10/23/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: KimBrennan
Played: 55  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 34 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2013
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained. Beautiful lightly wooded course with grassy fairways. No rough to speak of. Well marked. Multiple tee pads for every hole. Very little littering noted.
Cons: Short. It's an old course and most pins are completely drivable with modern discs (some might not consider that bad.) The death of many of the original trees has opened up the course more (the hollies that used to be on 16 are particularly missed.)

Mandatories are not always clearly marked.

No water, no restrooms. A Jiffy Jon is over by the picnic area in the rest of the park.
Other Thoughts: I noted a few replanting of young trees. It would be good to see additional ones planted in the stumps of the old trees to help rejuvenate the course.

Practice basket is oldest basket on the course, an original DGA basket (shallow basket and all). Rest of course uses Mach IIIs.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Pretty and Flat

1    10/17/2012   10/19/2012
Review By: noahat
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful Course
Well Maintained
Good Baskets
Multiple Tee Pads, and Good condition
Multiple Pin Positions
Tee Signs
Cons: No Elevation Changes
No Epic Holes
Pretty much every hole is technical
Not a lot of shot variety
Other Thoughts: The Mando usage is a bit ridiculous. Most of the Mandos aren't even used for safety purposes, they're just used for the sake of having more mandos. Some of the Mandos even force you to throw toward another hole more than if there was no mando. However, overall the course was still pretty fun, and definitely pretty.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    8/24/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: jgonzale2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 8/31/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Really a fun course, short but fun.
The course is maintained really well.
There are multiple tee and pin placements that get changed pretty frequently. The better majority of the course is fairly technical, because of the lay out of the trees.

Cons: Completely level, so if elevation change is your game you won't like it. Depending on time it can be a bit full of people.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good upkeep, beginner friendly

1    7/8/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: crandellfamily
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park had taken an obvious beating from a huge storm a few days previously, but the course was in good playing condition when I visited. Some very large mounds of fallen trees and branches, but nothing that hurt playability. Congrats to the folks who did all that work and keep the course in good shape.

Good tee pads, easy to navigate. Fun for a very quick round. I played my first 18 from the whites in about an hour, and never got off track from one hole to the next.

Good use of the trees to add variety. There's no thick woods to shoot through. Almost every hole is short and semi-wooded, but I don't agree with the impression that most of the holes feel the same. The targets often require a specific angle of approach. Several baskets are well-placed to make you think about your throw from the tee. A few examples:

the huge tree that can block the basket on #8

the line of trees that run along the left of #9, and eliminate any use of my typical forehand anhyzer

the low-hanging branches on #10 that beg for a low trajectory

Favorite holes:

3 - plays a little longer, with the fairway and basket favoring a straight shot through an alley of trees

13 - curls slightly right, following the angle of a slight depression

14 - a more pronounced and protected curl right; trees well-used to frame both the fairway and the basket

16 - one of the shortest holes, but the trees are well-scattered to threaten the drive/approach

18 - enough open space for a longer drive, with the basket again well-placed among a few larger trees
Cons: Overall the course is short, straight, very flat, and crammed into a tight space. Very little challenge for better players. The course suited my hacker's game just fine, but this is far removed from a championship-level test. Not much variety in play between the white and blue tee boxes overall.

The mandos can get incredibly gimmicky. 17 is an extreme example. The gap between the double mando is very tight and far left of the natural trajectory of the hole. Even worse, it's about 15 feet from the tee, and nowhere near in line with the angle of the tee box. To get any hope for a successful drive, you have to throw a banana anhyzer across your body, and just hope you have the arc peaking at the right moment to both shoot the gap and avoid the branches beyond.
Other Thoughts: Not a scenic layout. Almost the entire lay of the land is visible from the parking lot. And even though the setting is clean, the baskets and signage are showing their age. It can be a fun course to play, well suited to beginners, but I don't see much reason to go out of your way to find it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.