College Park, MD
Calvert Road Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #11 (Taken 10/2013)
4 / 337ft.   4 / 394ft.   4 / 448ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Blue Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Course

5+    8/24/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: jgonzale2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 8/31/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Really a fun course, short but fun.
The course is maintained really well.
There are multiple tee and pin placements that get changed pretty frequently. The better majority of the course is fairly technical, because of the lay out of the trees.

Cons: Completely level, so if elevation change is your game you won't like it. Depending on time it can be a bit full of people.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Helicopter buzzing the course

1    2/28/2012   2/29/2012
Review By: lilbuddhanic
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed the combo of the open layout and the mandos. This strategy makes the course more mental than physically demanding. the fairways are exciting due to the trees that seem strategically placed right where right hand dominant heizer throwers would tend to huck. so...it's a well rounded challenging course.
Cons: crazy helicopter pilot buzzing the course (looked like the president's helicopter). no elevation change. fetid stream where you definitely don't want your discs to go.
Other Thoughts: seriously cool crowd, took my dog and received no hassling. overall a really nice course with many fun and challenging holes. I would say that if you are an experienced thrower, you should maybe play the course all par three with a couple par fours.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some TLC

1    3/6/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: freshyill
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is easy to get to and a lot of fun to play. The mandos help to make for some challenging drives and having three nice tees for each hole keeps the course from getting repetitive on return trips.
Cons: The course is flat and there's not a whole lot of risk anywhere on the course. If you lose a disc here, you're doing something wrong.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't call this a con *yet*-- but the trees here have taken a real beating over the last two years or so. Big snowstorms and thunderstorms have killed lots of them, and many of the larger trees are hollow. It's only a matter of time until these become victims of a large storm. Decades of being rammed with discs has damaged the bark on many trees, leaving them more susceptible to fungal infections. Park crews have been good about removing the dead and dangerous trees, but unfortunately, this affects the course. A few mandos are gone now because of damage the trees have sustained. Lots more trees are marked to be cut down soon. Look for trees with orange marks at their base--there are lots of them.

New trees need to be planted and protected, but this will certainly be hard to do on an active disc golf course. In a decade, this is going to be a field, not a wooded course, unless new trees are planted.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 High Flyin Fun!

5+    7/6/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: G Bud
Played: 62  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 31.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Fun & Challenge for all skill levels. Excellent for introducing folks to the game.
*Park / Course clean and well maintained. Good Club Support.
*Multiple tees (Red, White & Blue) Nice good size concrete pads.
*Multiple Pin positions. Mach III Baskets in very good shape & catch well.
*Signage is pretty good. Flow is easy to follow. Benches on many holes.
*Great use of property. Every ounce of DG has been squeezed from the space.
*Flat, moderately wooded terrain works great to practice a variety of shots.
*Design favors the player. Mistakes are not often punished too badly.
*Discs available for purchase up the street at the aviation museum.
*Good Parking / Restroom (Portajohn)
*Fairly easy to get to from DC Beltway / Metro close by. (Green Line)
*Not far from College Park with other trendy amenities.
Cons: *During wet times, course may become soggy & buggy.
*Design is tight. Players need to beware of other players.
*More advanced/pro players may not find this course a challenge. (Still Fun)
Other Thoughts: I've been playing at this course for over 20 years and it is a little gem inside the Beltway. It is a classic old course which has evolved from the days when the hot plastic was the Aero & the 86. A day at Calvert is always a good time! One of the quirky things about the space is the canopy. Though the trees are old and majestic; their tops are cropped due to the property being at the end of the airport. It is often a pleasant distraction to watch the single engine planes come & go.
As you look at the property, you might think that you will be having deją vu on every other hole. Surprisingly this is not the case. The use of the terrain and trees keeps things from getting monotonous. There are opportunities to use a variety of shots with a good mix of left, right and straight pin placements. Of course the trees come into play but you won't be staring down many tight fairways. Often the white tees give an altered look at the pin rather than add distance over the red tees and a few blue tees are shared by white tees. Those that are not shared, with the addition of C pin placements, will even keep the big arms entertained. There may be some confusion finding blue tees just because there are so many tees in view. With a little attention this should not be a problem. The course plays pretty quickly so you could easily play all three tees in a long afternoon.
I haven't had to deal with too much sogginess over the years but the buggy, natty, flying things can be an issue when the course is damp. Coming from NoVA, I usually play the course between rush hours so I have not encountered the course really busy. I bet after work and on weekends the course could really see some traffic. I still don't think it would be a big issue. This course has stood steadfast through the decades and a good destination when visiting DC. Add it on your list of "must see" DC monuments.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Calvert Park 6-12-10

1    6/12/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: indecisivemess
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Three tees. Red, White, Blue.
Well marked holes. Well marked mandos. Somewhat challenging but not too hard to make par. Some long holes some shorter. Flat and wooded.
Other Thoughts: There is a store close by that sells discs.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Soggy but fun

1    12/3/2009   12/3/2009
Review By: DrAwkward
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I'll say it up front. I am a newbie. Keep that in mind.

Layout was easy to follow (signs were clear I thought). The park is pleasant to walk around. Holes were open enough not to punish mistakes (except for my one big one, mentioned in "other thoughts).
Cons: I went the day after a rainstorm. It was a total swamp. That made it more interesting, but messy. There was nobody there (it's Dec) but I can see how if it's populated, you'd be ducking a lot.
Other Thoughts: I lost a disc into the creek on the far side of 17. I'm not terribly good and didn't pull the dog-leg right. Sailed straight out from the tee. I spent a good 45 minutes looking and never found it. If anyone comes across a white Valkyrie, please let me know. It's got my phone number and email address on the inner rim.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good quickie!

5+    10/31/2008   11/2/2008
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 87  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 7.7 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to follow course layout and nice concrete tees. Very hard to lose disc. Great for quick round or 2. Very good for a chuck and run(speed golf) as the whole course is flat and can be done in 20 min, but watch out for divots! Good for practicing low line drive shots and accuracy. I love this course on hot summer days cause its almost all shaded! Can play in shorts and sandals.
Cons: Short, simple, not very challenging, can be crowded. Trees are the only obstacle and no hills whatsoever. Some signs are not accurate and can be difficult to figure out which basket to shoot at. Hole 1 holds some water after storms(like a water hazard). Bitting flies especially on hole 10 for some reason loves my bald head. Mosquitoes are nasty during summer. Bring repellent!
Other Thoughts: I wish I had known about this course earlier as it is great for beginners, although I still love this course after 100+ times! I kill my friends on this course with my sidearm. It is cool that you can see the whole course and when it is crowded I often just jump around to other holes and come back. I played this course in a hurricane like downpour as the rain was sideways and it was still fun. I've never had an issue with mud here really.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for families

5+    10/25/2009   8/31/2008
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Low frustration level (once you figure out where to go), little brush to get stuck in, nearly no chance of disc loss, It is a very nice course for the whole family to play, or a good introductory course to get your friends interested in Disc Golf.
There are 3 tees for various skill levels.
Cons: The course is short and open making it relatively simple for advanced players. with one good throw you can land next to the basket on the par 5 holes. There are no major hazards and no elevation. Some mandos, but they are not overly challenging.
Some signs are old, so pay attention to the arrows on the trees for mandos. The tee sign for 15 has recently been torn off the pole. The course is begining to show it's age.
Other Thoughts: Disc for sale just down the road.
lots of family traffic on the weekend
NO TICKS
I took a dozen 6th grade first timers and no one lost a disc, and they really liked the course. It has now turned into a yearly trip. The second year the kids got frustrated with navigation of the course and some gave up because the could not find the next tee.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good starter course

5+    8/15/2008   8/26/2008
Review By: nascent
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice looking course and well maintained. Plays through the trees but is still pretty open. Good for all skill levels. The alternate tee boxes are well placed and add some good distance to the holes.
Cons: Very small space to fit 18 holes into. Keep an eye out for discs when the course gets crowded. Can be difficult to figure out which basket you are shooting to because the holes are cramped. The diagrams for the holes are not always helpful. Not very challenging as you get better with the sport.
Other Thoughts: My first time playing disc golf was on this course and I was still able to have fun and feel I was doing good. This course is great for beginners and poses a few challenges to the more advanced players.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.