College Park, MD 
Calvert Road Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #14 (Taken 10/2013)
4 / 272ft.   4 / 319ft.   4 / 353ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Blue Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Helicopter buzzing the course

1    2/28/2012   2/29/2012
Review By: lilbuddhanic
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed the combo of the open layout and the mandos. This strategy makes the course more mental than physically demanding. the fairways are exciting due to the trees that seem strategically placed right where right hand dominant heizer throwers would tend to huck. so...it's a well rounded challenging course.
Cons: crazy helicopter pilot buzzing the course (looked like the president's helicopter). no elevation change. fetid stream where you definitely don't want your discs to go.
Other Thoughts: seriously cool crowd, took my dog and received no hassling. overall a really nice course with many fun and challenging holes. I would say that if you are an experienced thrower, you should maybe play the course all par three with a couple par fours.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Technical Course!

1    8/30/2011   8/31/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice course tucked away in the heart of Terrapin country, not too far away from the Beltway.

- Even before you play, there are signs pointing you to the first tee, as well as a kiosk with a bunch of information about the sport.

- Concrete blue, white, and red tees provide varied challenge for each hole, although their blue tees are the equivalent of a modern-day red one.

- Signage is present on each hole, although they're showing their years of wear. They are, however, still readable.

- Course flow is very easy to follow since you don't have to do a lot of walking from basket to tee. "Next Tee" signs underneath each basket also help provide direction. Bringing a map is encouraged, but certainly not necessary. Course wraps well from 1-9 and 10-18 to the kiosk.

- There's only about 2 or 3 true doglegs on this course. With that being said, you're going to find yourself using dogleg-like shots due to the placement of trees relative to the tees and basket. I found myself scheming a lot of sharp hyzer backhands and tight forehand shots to manuever around the trees. I even found myself using a roller or two. This challenging aspect redeems the course a litte since it has no real elevation changes or variety in hole types.

- Mandos on numerous holes make your shots more interesting, forcing you on hitting a certain gap or line to the basket.

- Nice manicured grass on fairways. Debris (with the exception of the recent hurricane damage) is clear and is characteristic of a course its age. I swear these older courses age like a fine wine if well-kept by the community!

- Tiny creek comes into play on the last 4-5 holes, although it was completely dried up when I played.

- Not a soul playing here when I was here, which was around 11am.
Cons: - Flat flat flat. No elevation changes at all. In fact, shot variety isn't really different throughout the 18 holes. Sure, there are different lines and gaps you have to thread on each hole, but it's still throwing through trees on a flat surface for *each* of the 18 holes. Gets kinda repetitive after awhile.

- Hole lengths are clearly indicative of a course that's 30 years old (in other words, SHORT!) I think this is negated by the fact that the holes require precision and avoiding hitting tree trunks and low-lying branches though.

- Pars are clearly outdated. I treated the par 4's like par 3's and the par 5's like par 4's to make my scores a little more realistic.

- Course could use some new signs, but I'm not going to consider this a con, per se.
Other Thoughts: This course must have been something else when it was unveiled in 1980. Even by today's standards, it's somewhat technical and challenging (although very very short in length). I can see all the pros back in the day coming here to test their skills. For 2011 standards, it's clearly not your premiere metropolitan course (I suggest going to Seneca Creek State Park for that). But, if you want a fairly quick round with your friends, some practice with your short/technical game, or want to introduce someone to the sport, this course is for you!

I also envy the U. of Maryland students because they have a nice school, a great basketball team, AND this course! Go Terps!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Friendly Neighborhood Course

2-4    8/7/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: Evrock44
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, flat 18-hole course jammed into 4 acres of local parkland. For someone like me, who used to play frequently in college and is now returning to the sport after a long layoff, this course is just what the doctor ordered. After getting beaten up at Seneca Creek the other day, I needed to get back in to the groove, and this course fit the bill.

I played one practice round here where I threw multiple discs to try and re-learn how to throw, and then a second round where I scored 2-over from the middle tees.

So this course is very beginner friendly, but it can still provide a challenge to the more experienced player. . It's very well-maintained with solid concrete tees, and the baskets are in great shape. There are either 2 or 3 sets of tees on every hole. The tees are well marked: red for easy, white for medium, and blue for "World Class", which were featured on about 5 or 6 holes.

There is a small wooden sign at the bottom of every basket pointing to the next hole. Only once or twice did I feel it was unclear where the next tee was, and after one play you get the gist of the layout.

At first I wasn't too receptive to the mandos but I discovered that they forced me to improve my accuracy, so I'll call that a win. I guess this is why this course is often described as one that is beginner friendly and stresses the fundamentals. If you have to thread two trees 30 yards away that are 15 feet apart, you start to concentrate on release and balance, and that can only be a good thing.

Even though I'm still working on my distance off the tee, I found myself with a reasonably realistic birdie or par chance on nearly every hole.

There's virtually no underbrush to speak of, so there's no worry about losing a disc.

It's a 10-minute walk from the College Park Metro.
Cons: It's flat as a pancake. There are no noticeable elevation changes at any point.

One or two tees are missing signs, and some of the ones that are there look like they were installed when the course was built in 1980 - they're weathered.

With such a tight layout, the inevitable crossing of golfers into other fairways will occur here and there, but it's not a major problem.
Other Thoughts: If you do Metro there, don't be like me and put "Calvert Park" as your destination into Google Maps. It will route you to a neighborhood park on the other side of the metro tracks, turning what should have been a 10-minute walk into a 45-minute exercise in frustration. You want to veer LEFT after you go through the fare gate.

On that note, the course is not actually in Calvert Park, despite the name. It is in Paint Branch Parkway Community Park.

I had read that the course gets muddy after a rain, but I played the day after a few big storms dumped a bunch of rain in the area, and I experienced no issues whatsoever with mud or boggy conditions.

About a half mile away, the College Park Aviation Museum has a very healthy selection of Innova Discs, including several championship versions of the more popular models. There were also a few Discrafts on hand.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 TREES!!!

1    4/24/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: it was a fun challenging course. the trees that were everywhere weren't overwhelming but there were plenty of them to challenge yourself
Cons: very flat and condensed. every throw you had to check to make sure you didn't hit someone

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some TLC

1    3/6/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: freshyill
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is easy to get to and a lot of fun to play. The mandos help to make for some challenging drives and having three nice tees for each hole keeps the course from getting repetitive on return trips.
Cons: The course is flat and there's not a whole lot of risk anywhere on the course. If you lose a disc here, you're doing something wrong.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't call this a con *yet*-- but the trees here have taken a real beating over the last two years or so. Big snowstorms and thunderstorms have killed lots of them, and many of the larger trees are hollow. It's only a matter of time until these become victims of a large storm. Decades of being rammed with discs has damaged the bark on many trees, leaving them more susceptible to fungal infections. Park crews have been good about removing the dead and dangerous trees, but unfortunately, this affects the course. A few mandos are gone now because of damage the trees have sustained. Lots more trees are marked to be cut down soon. Look for trees with orange marks at their base--there are lots of them.

New trees need to be planted and protected, but this will certainly be hard to do on an active disc golf course. In a decade, this is going to be a field, not a wooded course, unless new trees are planted.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    11/11/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: jabruzzo3
Played: 71  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Can finish 18 Holes within an hour on a compact course with enough room not to interfere with other golfers. Disc's are never hard to find. A great course to bring beginners to.
Cons: No elevation change. Course stays very damp after heavy rains due to all the shade.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played in 1988 with an Ultimate Frisbee Disc. When I first saw a disc golf disc, I thought how the heck do you throw this with any distance.

BTW - My Bachelor Party begain here with a round of golf followed by many rounds of drinks later in the day!! Love you MB!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Better Hide You're Kids, Hide You're Wife

2-4    9/10/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: kennykaka
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course has long holes and is well maintained. There is a museum that sells a good selection of innova discs and small bag. Had a 20% off sale on discraft, may not be selling discraft anymore
Cons: Dishonest people all around you! I forgot my disc and person called to tell me he left it under info. station. I was 2 minutes away but that wasn't quick enough. People constantly speeding threw the park. No elevation change.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good practice course

1    7/21/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: macqude
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well marked tees and baskets. Lots of shade. The grounds were well maintained at least when I played. This is a great course for practicing and introducing new people to the sport.
Cons: Really did not encounter any cons except a few deer chased my frisbee.
Other Thoughts: Will be playing here again.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 High Flyin Fun!

5+    7/6/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: G Bud
Played: 66  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 31.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Fun & Challenge for all skill levels. Excellent for introducing folks to the game.
*Park / Course clean and well maintained. Good Club Support.
*Multiple tees (Red, White & Blue) Nice good size concrete pads.
*Multiple Pin positions. Mach III Baskets in very good shape & catch well.
*Signage is pretty good. Flow is easy to follow. Benches on many holes.
*Great use of property. Every ounce of DG has been squeezed from the space.
*Flat, moderately wooded terrain works great to practice a variety of shots.
*Design favors the player. Mistakes are not often punished too badly.
*Discs available for purchase up the street at the aviation museum.
*Good Parking / Restroom (Portajohn)
*Fairly easy to get to from DC Beltway / Metro close by. (Green Line)
*Not far from College Park with other trendy amenities.
Cons: *During wet times, course may become soggy & buggy.
*Design is tight. Players need to beware of other players.
*More advanced/pro players may not find this course a challenge. (Still Fun)
Other Thoughts: I've been playing at this course for over 20 years and it is a little gem inside the Beltway. It is a classic old course which has evolved from the days when the hot plastic was the Aero & the 86. A day at Calvert is always a good time! One of the quirky things about the space is the canopy. Though the trees are old and majestic; their tops are cropped due to the property being at the end of the airport. It is often a pleasant distraction to watch the single engine planes come & go.
As you look at the property, you might think that you will be having deją vu on every other hole. Surprisingly this is not the case. The use of the terrain and trees keeps things from getting monotonous. There are opportunities to use a variety of shots with a good mix of left, right and straight pin placements. Of course the trees come into play but you won't be staring down many tight fairways. Often the white tees give an altered look at the pin rather than add distance over the red tees and a few blue tees are shared by white tees. Those that are not shared, with the addition of C pin placements, will even keep the big arms entertained. There may be some confusion finding blue tees just because there are so many tees in view. With a little attention this should not be a problem. The course plays pretty quickly so you could easily play all three tees in a long afternoon.
I haven't had to deal with too much sogginess over the years but the buggy, natty, flying things can be an issue when the course is damp. Coming from NoVA, I usually play the course between rush hours so I have not encountered the course really busy. I bet after work and on weekends the course could really see some traffic. I still don't think it would be a big issue. This course has stood steadfast through the decades and a good destination when visiting DC. Add it on your list of "must see" DC monuments.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Calvert Park 6-12-10

1    6/12/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: indecisivemess
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Three tees. Red, White, Blue.
Well marked holes. Well marked mandos. Somewhat challenging but not too hard to make par. Some long holes some shorter. Flat and wooded.
Other Thoughts: There is a store close by that sells discs.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.