Glenview, IL 
Community Park West DGC Share
Uploaded By: juanbond Hole #6 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Squeezed in by other activities

1    7/30/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: heywillard90
Played: 29  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well marked and maintained
-A few tough, technical shots with OB
-Decent distance
Cons: -I constantly felt squeezed in by everything else. For instance, holes 1 and 2 were very short because they were shoved in between the streets and parking lot, then hole 3 plays beside the parking lot and a soccer field, then hole 4 plays beside the soccer field and the highway.
-A number of holes are completely open without many obstacles
-Even calm winds are amplified at this open course that plays beside the highway.
Other Thoughts: I assume that this park has been there for years with all kinds of different activities. They put this course in the little nooks and crannies that were left after all other activities took up land. When there are holes that have plentiful space, they are too wide open. There is not much that can be done to improve this course. Indeed it is difficult in the suburbs to find a park that can handle a disc golf course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Another 9 (oops) chicagoland 10 holer

2-4    6/29/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 175  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some really nice bright orange baskets. Hole 3 is pretty interesting with OB left and right. It's kinda like a tunnel shot if you squint a little ;). Hole 4 has OB long and on the left which adds a little interest. The greens on 7 and 8 are somewhat interesting being slightly elevated. The practice basket right by hole 1. is very nice with bricks marking distances for practice putting.
Cons: This course is mostly short. Most of the holes are open. There are a few long tees in addition to the regular pads. The beginning and end of the course are especially boring. 1 is a short hyzer. 2's green is kinda silly, there is not really a visible line to the basket. 5 is wide open and 6 is a simple hyzer. 9 and 10 are both short and open. Even though 9 has an elevated tee, the hole is so short it does not add much interests. This course is right next to Interstate 294 which is very loud. I can also see an inexperienced player shanking one onto the highway which could be disastrous. This course has some awkward walks particularly from 2 to 3 and from 10 back to 1.
Other Thoughts: The land really does not lend itself to a good course here. I'm not sure why there are 10 instead of 9 holes. I would prefer improving 1 of the holes then having 10 mediocre holes. A course is always better than no course though.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Tough to define what is missing

1    8/11/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Orange powder coated DGA baskets are attractive and help with visibility.
2) Wind indictor flags on top of the baskets (many were on the ground though).
3) Nice signs with Hole Par, Distance, Map, and next tee along with Ace boards right on the posts too.
4) Nice large concrete tees are always appreciated, especially on longer holes.
5) Mulch rings were used around the baskets effectively to keep down on the compaction and erosion of the soil.
6) Garbage cans are readily available on the back side of the course.
7) Turf is in good condition where it is mowed grass.
8) This is a mix of open to prairie holes with a few trees incorporated into a few of the holes. Nothing would be considered densely wooded except #2 green and #1 fairway if you throw a low shot.
9) #3 is a challenging hole with a mando left and OB to the right, the effective fairway is only about 20'. I kept it in bounds and passed the mando but ended in the trees on the left and had a tough shot out of there.
10) Dual tee on #7 makes for a much better hole. It backs you up and gives you some elevation to throw from.
11) Distance variation is decent ranging from 200's to mid to upper 300's with some in between.
12) Practice basket is available by the first tee as well as a nice course map.
Cons: 1) It will be interesting to see what #1 looks like in a few years if those trees are intended to be permanent or if they are also nursery trees. It's ok now, but over time those trees will make an almost impossible shot.
2) Freeway noise on a couple of the holes, it isn't a huge deal but that is as close to an interstate as I have ever played a course before. There is no barrier to the noise on a couple of the holes either.
3) Since I much prefer wooded courses this course isn't quite up to my level of enjoyment. There are a few good fun holes, but a lot of the others are fairly lacking. Overall this is a middle of the road course, just not my style.
4) Overall I would say this course feels a little awkward. The layout is fine around the fields and such, but it plays strangely because of a few features. #1 the trees in the fairway, #3 the OB right and mando left make for a good challenge but force a strange looking shot and a contrived feeling hole, I just prefer natural feeling holes (like #2), #5 and #6 tree nursery. It just doesn't feel like a disc golf course, it feels like individual disc golf holes placed around some soccer fields and other activities.
5) This course lacks natural beauty. It's hard to define this, much like in #4, but it just feels strange on this course.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is decent, not necessarily my cup of tea, but it is something. I am sure a lot of people will enjoy this course. I did enjoy the throws, but the experience and the ambiance leaves a little to be desired. I am glad there is a course here, but in the end, it lacks a lot of what brings me back to courses. I certainly have played worse in the Chicago area so I cannot be too harsh here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 tons to do other than disc golf here too!

2-4    9/18/2011   9/20/2011
Review By: jivey311
Played: 40  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great multi-use park with a variety of extraneous activities such as a dog park, play ground for kids (with a sweet climbing wall), and skate park.
-Makes good use of the terrain, holes 1-3 make for some decent woody shots especially once the saplings grow in.
-Hole one has a TON of saplings littering the fairway in what almost seems to be like laid out on a chessboard. Once they grow in it'll be a crazy shot!
-Hole 3 is probably my favorite shot, slight downhill anny into the woods. (the basket is chillin in a clearing between some trees)
-After the 1st 3 holes, the remainder of the course is pretty open and does not offer much obstacles to get in the way. Most of them can be reached with a mid/fairway. Overshooting might land you in the expressway!
-Still even though the rest of the course offers wide open shots, they made good use of the land and mixed in some elevated tees and made use of existing "grown up trees".
Cons: -The wood chip tees are horrible. They are mushy and you have no grip in doing your run up. Potentially a twisted ankle waiting to happen. I'd rather drive from the grass next to the tee.
-Watch out for overshooting and landing your disc in the expressway.
-While this course should be no problem for rec players, some beginners could potentially be stifled by landing in the rough. It's not too well manicured and bit of a pain to go walking through.
-Doesn't have enough balance between right turning shots and left turning shots. Definitely favors the RHBH player.
Other Thoughts: This is a great park to take the family for the day. Tons of activities once you get done with your game. Teepads need work, but I hear they will be putting in brick pads eventually (this would easily raise my rating).
I love the practice basket with the distance bricks.
-The baskets are also phenomenal, bright orange with wind flags. You can see them from a mile away!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hey look another Chicago suburban course

2-4    9/17/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: whitechocolate
Played: 397  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Amazing overall park
-New DGA Baskets
-Flags on top of basket
-Woodchipped under basket
-Practice Basket
-Good signage and overall map at hole 1

This course was put into a multi-use park that sits just off Milwaukee Ave and I-294. The park is loaded with a playground, basketball hoops, skate park, walking paths, dog park, soccer and baseball fields. There are brand new DGA baskets that play on play on a small hill and around the soccer fields. There is decent exposure for this course because you can actually see people playing for I-294.

There is a practice basket near hole one with putting bricks with distance so you can work on your distances or play a putting game. The first two holes offer some fun challenges with trees and a rolling hills which make it fun without be punishing for newer players because there is still plenty of opportunity to still get a 3 with an errant shot. Hole 3, when the trees grow in will make the tunnel shot a lot more difficult. I like the woodchips under the basket. It will help with erosion in the high traffic area of the putting circle. The little bit of elevation that is there is brought into play.
Cons: -Long walks between a couple holes
-Too much pedestrian things can come into play
-Wood chip tees are horrible

This course was stretched out to maximize the land. This is a good thing generally, however, this bring a lot of other things into play. On Hole 3, an errant throw could go onto the parking lot or along the walking path. Hole 4, a bad shot could actually end up on the expressway (or walking path). This continues with the ability to hit the soccer fields, walking paths, and throwing into the dog park throughout most of the remaining holes. I understand that the were trying to maximize the course potentially, but there are definitely people with different levels of abilities and there are going some mishaps at this course. I am only a REC level player, and I choose to throw a forehand roller on 4 just to make sure I did not end up hitting a car on the tollway.

For Hole 5-10, the only real challenge that is there is distance for some weaker armed players (like myself). There are not really any real obstacle that get in the way. However there are many reachable holes where if I bogeyed, there were opportunities to still deuce and get my stroke back. Future planting could help with some of this problem. There is also currently some planting that has occurred that will help a few years down the road.

The wood tees are horrible. They are uneven and unsettled. Hopefully the winter will help pack them down. It was unsafe to do a x-step on mostly of them. I played from either next too, in front of, or in back of the tees the second round to protect my ankles.
Other Thoughts: This course is a decent place to come and work on your drives (with the exception of the teepads). There is some distance on the open holes that give you potential to work with you mids and drivers to hone your skill without punishing you for an errant shot. Holes 1 and 2 are fun holes, although short. Hole 3 is decent and will be stronger once the saplings grow bigger. Holes 4 through 10 leave something to be desired. This land was stretched to maximize distance and get some longer holes (275-375) for you typical Chicagoland course. This course will challenge beginners to some REC player. For an Pro/Advanced it will no offer much challenge at all. You will need to be able to hit a couple of lines, but overall it's fairly beginner friendly. My only concern with beginners is the risk of hitting others, cars, or dogs with a bad throw.

I will play this course again, but it is not worth going out of the way to play. It is nice to have an addition to the I-294 corridor. There is definitely a slight void of course in that generally area. This course will become nicer and it grows and the absolutely finishing touches are added. However, the challenge does not have a lot of opportunity to change. It would be a good place to bring the family (and the dog) for an afternoon of disc golf and fooling around outside.

I wanted to rate this course higher, but I couldn't give it more than a 1.5 (Passable). The effort was there, it's just not an exception place for disc golf. Possibly when I revisited and the teepads settle and some of the "new construction" elements of the course go away I will bump it up. But it's current conditions, wide open holes, and amount of safety issues, I have to give it a 1.5 (Passable). It's not horrible by any stretch of the imagination, it just don't have that "wow" factor ability.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.