Glenview, IL 
Community Park West DGC Share
Uploaded By: juanbond Hole #7 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 241ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Approach



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
10 hole fairly new course

5+    6/19/2013   6/19/2013
Review By: Zaklipsey
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Bright orange baskets
Practice hole with bricks measuring 10-50ft
Challenging compared to other courses in the area
Can really air your driver out and see how far you can drive on a few holes
Concrete pads
Wind flags on tops of baskets
Close to my house otherwise I wouldn't play here much at all
Course has potential in 3-5 years the trees can develop and grow to make more exciting as I know many were just planted 2 years ago.
Cons: Wind, wind , wind and more wind its the worst course for wind as the highway runs right alongside and creates at wind draft that will take your disc for some wild rides but mostly it's just annoying. Wind can be so bad making course unplayable.
This course needs some renovations of weeds as the rough is crazy to have to look for a disc in it.
Other Thoughts: During the fall and early spring when the weeds are not bad i rate this course a 2.7 but otherwise is barely a 2.5

 Good if local

5+    6/16/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: Chicagolandlefty
Played: 79  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As someone from the north suburbs of Chicago I was very excited to see this course pop up so close to home. Some of the other local 9s aren't all that thrilling and this one seems to have more effort behind it. Since it first opened they've included concrete tee pads (which have been in since about May) and they've made some tweaks to the course including some landscaping and planting more trees.

The first couple holes are pretty cool because there are trees in the way on hole No. 1 (which in 5-10 years when those newly planted trees grow up a bit could be tough and fun) and No. 2 is a blind shot that creates a very difficult line off the tee and the pin is buried within a bunch of trees.

No. 3 is a well-designed shot that the course designers apparently nicknamed 'Catalpa Alley' for the two rows of catalpa trees they installed on each side of the tee. If you play OB, this can be a tough drive that demands you be fairly straight.

No. 4 is another shot that can test you because you have to split a pair of trees (mando) and don't want to hook to the right for fear of throwing into a pile of dense weeds.

You tee from elevation twice (and kind of a third time because the pin on No. 2 is lower than the tee) and the pin for No. 8 is on top of a hill to make for a fun approach shot.
Cons: With the exception of the first four holes the drives are basically wide open with little to no punishment for spraying to the left or right. This makes it a fairly generic and easy course on a day when the wind isn't a factor.

The long walk from No. 2 to No. 3 is a bit of an annoyance.

If you lose a shot in the weeds to the right on No. 4, good luck. I haven't lost one in there, but I've spent a few minutes searching for a disc on several occasions, whether it was my shot or someone I was with.

The boarding dog park to the right on No. 9 can be a pain. You tee from the top of a hill just a bit away from the pin for No. 8 and there's a tree that is good in one way because it creates a challenge for a RHBH player, but that also means you can wind up over a fence. The fence can be fairly easily hopped, but it's never good to have to do that to track down a drive.
Other Thoughts: If they continue to make minor improvements this can become one of the best 9s (10) in the area (admittedly sort of a tallest midget statement). However, I really want to support my local course that seems to have a good backing behind it. If you are within 20 minutes of this course, play it. It's worth a short trip and there are a few unique holes that make it better than most in the north suburbs. It's not exactly worth taking a long trek to though. I play it on a regular basis and enjoy it, but it's pretty easy. If you're an intermediate or advanced player it's a forgettable course. If you're a beginner it's a good place to practice your drives because you won't get punished often for spraying shots.

Also, if you play on a windy day this can become a very difficult course. The open field that 3-10 play on make for a nasty draft when it's even just a moderately windy day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 soon to be even better

1    3/31/2012   3/31/2012
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great to have a course in this park. As a DG'er I appreciate another place to play. This fills a void on the map in this area. Land avail was used quite well. Once the trees mature a bit this will be even better. For now, big kudos. Nice new baskets are excellent. Bright color is a welcome gift. Wind flags are a neat-o touch. Tee signs are complete and excellent. Names have event been given to fairways, clumps of trees, etc. to add personality and whimsy. Ace boards for throwers to chalk up their names when they get an ace… Sweet addition. Have not seen that just yet. OB signs and mando signs add playability and an element of completeness not found elsewhere. DG needs more serious courses. Will help to popularize the game and get more ppl playing. The more people that play, the more and better courses we will see pop up. See other comments box for hole by hole comments. Update... concrete tee pads have been poured. Landscaping needs to be finished around pads. This will be a nice improvement. 5.24.12
Cons: The tee pads are wood chip. Not as big a negative as some here would make it out to be. Yes. I would love concrete tee pads. The nature-y nature of the whole park is such that the wood chip tee pads just make sense, though. Besides, Cuniff up in Lake Forest has wood chip tee pads and they work just fine. It feels like some of the holes (4, 5, 7, 8, 9) might play close to ball fields. 4, 6, 7 play close to or cross paths as well. It is a big busy park and I can see some of this being an issue on some days. 4, 5, 6 way be a bit windier along the highway… Just factor it in and throw.
Other Thoughts: 1 - is a nice start. Once the trees grow in a bit and leaf up you will have to make shot choices here and there will be more than a few good ways to play this hole. Nice start.
2 - This is the sig hole of the course. Great basket placement. Nice wood chip basket area. Great tuck of the basket into the tree area. Nice slight elevation to the tee pad from the basket area. Sweet hole. Transition to 3 labeled well.
3 - Great tree tunnel with mando and OB side. Again, once trees mature… game on! This also could become a sig hole here.
4 - Good rise to shoot from for the tee box. Nice 2 tree gap for mando. When the trees leaf up this will be an even better shot.
5 - Interesting basket placement in the shrubbery here… once the trees come in… again I am saying that. We will see how this hole shapes up… But I have high hopes that it will be quite fun.
6 - This is your best opportunity to chuck a disc onto 294… Hole is pretty straight forward. Likely the least interesting hole on the course. Will be an issue waiting to tee off with a pack od slow walkers coming towards you along the path.
7 - 2 tee choices. Upper tee is short, little room to run up, but on an overall short course/hole, not much run up needed. I am concerned that the path down form the tee will erode away fast. Basket on the berm works well. Trees provide a natural backstop.
8 - Plays up another berm. Nice use of what little elevation we have to work with here.
9 - Down the berm. Nice ace opportunity here… I will keep trying.
10 - Feels like a bonus as the course does not stop at 9. Again, wait for the trees to make this one a great shooter in a few years.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.