Glenview, IL 
Community Park West DGC Share
Uploaded By: juanbond Hole #3 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 350ft.   3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Long Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Squeezed in by other activities

1    7/30/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: heywillard90
Played: 29  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well marked and maintained
-A few tough, technical shots with OB
-Decent distance
Cons: -I constantly felt squeezed in by everything else. For instance, holes 1 and 2 were very short because they were shoved in between the streets and parking lot, then hole 3 plays beside the parking lot and a soccer field, then hole 4 plays beside the soccer field and the highway.
-A number of holes are completely open without many obstacles
-Even calm winds are amplified at this open course that plays beside the highway.
Other Thoughts: I assume that this park has been there for years with all kinds of different activities. They put this course in the little nooks and crannies that were left after all other activities took up land. When there are holes that have plentiful space, they are too wide open. There is not much that can be done to improve this course. Indeed it is difficult in the suburbs to find a park that can handle a disc golf course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

10 hole fairly new course

5+    6/19/2013   6/19/2013
Review By: Zaklipsey
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Bright orange baskets
Practice hole with bricks measuring 10-50ft
Challenging compared to other courses in the area
Can really air your driver out and see how far you can drive on a few holes
Concrete pads
Wind flags on tops of baskets
Close to my house otherwise I wouldn't play here much at all
Course has potential in 3-5 years the trees can develop and grow to make more exciting as I know many were just planted 2 years ago.
Cons: Wind, wind , wind and more wind its the worst course for wind as the highway runs right alongside and creates at wind draft that will take your disc for some wild rides but mostly it's just annoying. Wind can be so bad making course unplayable.
This course needs some renovations of weeds as the rough is crazy to have to look for a disc in it.
Other Thoughts: During the fall and early spring when the weeds are not bad i rate this course a 2.7 but otherwise is barely a 2.5

Always WIndy... ALWAYS

5+    6/9/2013   6/17/2013
Review By: chrismilano
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6
Pros: I have played this course over 20+ times so I will try to list all that this course has to offer.

+The pros of holes 1 & 2 is that they require a lot of accuracy. A precise mid-range or putter shot is needed as there two holes have trees that need to be navigated. Both holes are under 250 feet.

+Number 3 is probably the hardest hole on the course. It would be challenging for any type of golfer. Requires a 375 ft. drive with lots of accuracy.

+Hole 4 there is a mandatory shot through a tree.

+Hole 5 is a huge bomber across a field into some bushes.

+Holes 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 are more of the same bombers over open terrain with virtually no trees.
Cons: -This course is always windy. There has never been a time where I have come here where in has not been gusting.

-Flat park, with no trees that backs up to a major highway.

-Geese frequent the park by the masses so there can be goose poop heavily dispersed throughout the course.

-Long walk from holes 1 and 2 to the rest of the course which is located on the other side of the dog park.

-Oh yeah, i forgot to mention that this course is a total disc eater. If you have an errant shot on holes 1 or 2, you will be searching for your disc. The story is the same on holes 4, 6, 8, and sometimes 10.



-The course is boring and really not worth checking out unless you live in the area.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course over 20+ and have come to the conclusion that this course is below average. Too much wind, goose poo, and chances of losing a disc. Not to mention the loop of 9 holes leaves you feeling totally unsatisfied.

 Another 9 (oops) chicagoland 10 holer

2-4    6/29/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 172  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some really nice bright orange baskets. Hole 3 is pretty interesting with OB left and right. It's kinda like a tunnel shot if you squint a little ;). Hole 4 has OB long and on the left which adds a little interest. The greens on 7 and 8 are somewhat interesting being slightly elevated. The practice basket right by hole 1. is very nice with bricks marking distances for practice putting.
Cons: This course is mostly short. Most of the holes are open. There are a few long tees in addition to the regular pads. The beginning and end of the course are especially boring. 1 is a short hyzer. 2's green is kinda silly, there is not really a visible line to the basket. 5 is wide open and 6 is a simple hyzer. 9 and 10 are both short and open. Even though 9 has an elevated tee, the hole is so short it does not add much interests. This course is right next to Interstate 294 which is very loud. I can also see an inexperienced player shanking one onto the highway which could be disastrous. This course has some awkward walks particularly from 2 to 3 and from 10 back to 1.
Other Thoughts: The land really does not lend itself to a good course here. I'm not sure why there are 10 instead of 9 holes. I would prefer improving 1 of the holes then having 10 mediocre holes. A course is always better than no course though.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Tough to define what is missing

1    8/11/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Orange powder coated DGA baskets are attractive and help with visibility.
2) Wind indictor flags on top of the baskets (many were on the ground though).
3) Nice signs with Hole Par, Distance, Map, and next tee along with Ace boards right on the posts too.
4) Nice large concrete tees are always appreciated, especially on longer holes.
5) Mulch rings were used around the baskets effectively to keep down on the compaction and erosion of the soil.
6) Garbage cans are readily available on the back side of the course.
7) Turf is in good condition where it is mowed grass.
8) This is a mix of open to prairie holes with a few trees incorporated into a few of the holes. Nothing would be considered densely wooded except #2 green and #1 fairway if you throw a low shot.
9) #3 is a challenging hole with a mando left and OB to the right, the effective fairway is only about 20'. I kept it in bounds and passed the mando but ended in the trees on the left and had a tough shot out of there.
10) Dual tee on #7 makes for a much better hole. It backs you up and gives you some elevation to throw from.
11) Distance variation is decent ranging from 200's to mid to upper 300's with some in between.
12) Practice basket is available by the first tee as well as a nice course map.
Cons: 1) It will be interesting to see what #1 looks like in a few years if those trees are intended to be permanent or if they are also nursery trees. It's ok now, but over time those trees will make an almost impossible shot.
2) Freeway noise on a couple of the holes, it isn't a huge deal but that is as close to an interstate as I have ever played a course before. There is no barrier to the noise on a couple of the holes either.
3) Since I much prefer wooded courses this course isn't quite up to my level of enjoyment. There are a few good fun holes, but a lot of the others are fairly lacking. Overall this is a middle of the road course, just not my style.
4) Overall I would say this course feels a little awkward. The layout is fine around the fields and such, but it plays strangely because of a few features. #1 the trees in the fairway, #3 the OB right and mando left make for a good challenge but force a strange looking shot and a contrived feeling hole, I just prefer natural feeling holes (like #2), #5 and #6 tree nursery. It just doesn't feel like a disc golf course, it feels like individual disc golf holes placed around some soccer fields and other activities.
5) This course lacks natural beauty. It's hard to define this, much like in #4, but it just feels strange on this course.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is decent, not necessarily my cup of tea, but it is something. I am sure a lot of people will enjoy this course. I did enjoy the throws, but the experience and the ambiance leaves a little to be desired. I am glad there is a course here, but in the end, it lacks a lot of what brings me back to courses. I certainly have played worse in the Chicago area so I cannot be too harsh here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good if local

5+    6/16/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: Chicagolandlefty
Played: 79  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As someone from the north suburbs of Chicago I was very excited to see this course pop up so close to home. Some of the other local 9s aren't all that thrilling and this one seems to have more effort behind it. Since it first opened they've included concrete tee pads (which have been in since about May) and they've made some tweaks to the course including some landscaping and planting more trees.

The first couple holes are pretty cool because there are trees in the way on hole No. 1 (which in 5-10 years when those newly planted trees grow up a bit could be tough and fun) and No. 2 is a blind shot that creates a very difficult line off the tee and the pin is buried within a bunch of trees.

No. 3 is a well-designed shot that the course designers apparently nicknamed 'Catalpa Alley' for the two rows of catalpa trees they installed on each side of the tee. If you play OB, this can be a tough drive that demands you be fairly straight.

No. 4 is another shot that can test you because you have to split a pair of trees (mando) and don't want to hook to the right for fear of throwing into a pile of dense weeds.

You tee from elevation twice (and kind of a third time because the pin on No. 2 is lower than the tee) and the pin for No. 8 is on top of a hill to make for a fun approach shot.
Cons: With the exception of the first four holes the drives are basically wide open with little to no punishment for spraying to the left or right. This makes it a fairly generic and easy course on a day when the wind isn't a factor.

The long walk from No. 2 to No. 3 is a bit of an annoyance.

If you lose a shot in the weeds to the right on No. 4, good luck. I haven't lost one in there, but I've spent a few minutes searching for a disc on several occasions, whether it was my shot or someone I was with.

The boarding dog park to the right on No. 9 can be a pain. You tee from the top of a hill just a bit away from the pin for No. 8 and there's a tree that is good in one way because it creates a challenge for a RHBH player, but that also means you can wind up over a fence. The fence can be fairly easily hopped, but it's never good to have to do that to track down a drive.
Other Thoughts: If they continue to make minor improvements this can become one of the best 9s (10) in the area (admittedly sort of a tallest midget statement). However, I really want to support my local course that seems to have a good backing behind it. If you are within 20 minutes of this course, play it. It's worth a short trip and there are a few unique holes that make it better than most in the north suburbs. It's not exactly worth taking a long trek to though. I play it on a regular basis and enjoy it, but it's pretty easy. If you're an intermediate or advanced player it's a forgettable course. If you're a beginner it's a good place to practice your drives because you won't get punished often for spraying shots.

Also, if you play on a windy day this can become a very difficult course. The open field that 3-10 play on make for a nasty draft when it's even just a moderately windy day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 soon to be even better

1    3/31/2012   3/31/2012
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great to have a course in this park. As a DG'er I appreciate another place to play. This fills a void on the map in this area. Land avail was used quite well. Once the trees mature a bit this will be even better. For now, big kudos. Nice new baskets are excellent. Bright color is a welcome gift. Wind flags are a neat-o touch. Tee signs are complete and excellent. Names have event been given to fairways, clumps of trees, etc. to add personality and whimsy. Ace boards for throwers to chalk up their names when they get an ace… Sweet addition. Have not seen that just yet. OB signs and mando signs add playability and an element of completeness not found elsewhere. DG needs more serious courses. Will help to popularize the game and get more ppl playing. The more people that play, the more and better courses we will see pop up. See other comments box for hole by hole comments. Update... concrete tee pads have been poured. Landscaping needs to be finished around pads. This will be a nice improvement. 5.24.12
Cons: The tee pads are wood chip. Not as big a negative as some here would make it out to be. Yes. I would love concrete tee pads. The nature-y nature of the whole park is such that the wood chip tee pads just make sense, though. Besides, Cuniff up in Lake Forest has wood chip tee pads and they work just fine. It feels like some of the holes (4, 5, 7, 8, 9) might play close to ball fields. 4, 6, 7 play close to or cross paths as well. It is a big busy park and I can see some of this being an issue on some days. 4, 5, 6 way be a bit windier along the highway… Just factor it in and throw.
Other Thoughts: 1 - is a nice start. Once the trees grow in a bit and leaf up you will have to make shot choices here and there will be more than a few good ways to play this hole. Nice start.
2 - This is the sig hole of the course. Great basket placement. Nice wood chip basket area. Great tuck of the basket into the tree area. Nice slight elevation to the tee pad from the basket area. Sweet hole. Transition to 3 labeled well.
3 - Great tree tunnel with mando and OB side. Again, once trees mature… game on! This also could become a sig hole here.
4 - Good rise to shoot from for the tee box. Nice 2 tree gap for mando. When the trees leaf up this will be an even better shot.
5 - Interesting basket placement in the shrubbery here… once the trees come in… again I am saying that. We will see how this hole shapes up… But I have high hopes that it will be quite fun.
6 - This is your best opportunity to chuck a disc onto 294… Hole is pretty straight forward. Likely the least interesting hole on the course. Will be an issue waiting to tee off with a pack od slow walkers coming towards you along the path.
7 - 2 tee choices. Upper tee is short, little room to run up, but on an overall short course/hole, not much run up needed. I am concerned that the path down form the tee will erode away fast. Basket on the berm works well. Trees provide a natural backstop.
8 - Plays up another berm. Nice use of what little elevation we have to work with here.
9 - Down the berm. Nice ace opportunity here… I will keep trying.
10 - Feels like a bonus as the course does not stop at 9. Again, wait for the trees to make this one a great shooter in a few years.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Just add cement.

1    10/22/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The land is fairly flat and open. This is a heavily used and well kept multi use park. There are scattered trees throughout. Several of the baskets are located on the side of berms. A couple tees are slightly elevated too.

There is a practice basket near hole #1.

The baskets are orange Mach 5's & sweet looking! Each basket has the DGA flags on top marking 5, 10, & 15 mph wind.

Tee signs are pretty good and indicate OB on this course. Course map near hole #1.

The course has a variety of distances. I threw my putter, mids, fairway, and long range drvier. It's beginner friendly but has some longer holes that experienced players will like.

There are wood chip walkways leading to the next hole on a few of them.

There were next tee signs and out of bounds signs on the course.

Hole #3 is a really nice hole.

Hole #7 has 2 tees.
Cons: The biggest con are the tee pads. The wood chips are very soft and hard to throw from.

Being a right hand back hand player I threw mostly flat shots and hyzers. There are no shot shaping to the right.
Other Thoughts: Besides not having concrete tee pads this park district got the job done right. I thought the course maximized the potential of the land avaliable.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 tons to do other than disc golf here too!

2-4    9/18/2011   9/20/2011
Review By: jivey311
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great multi-use park with a variety of extraneous activities such as a dog park, play ground for kids (with a sweet climbing wall), and skate park.
-Makes good use of the terrain, holes 1-3 make for some decent woody shots especially once the saplings grow in.
-Hole one has a TON of saplings littering the fairway in what almost seems to be like laid out on a chessboard. Once they grow in it'll be a crazy shot!
-Hole 3 is probably my favorite shot, slight downhill anny into the woods. (the basket is chillin in a clearing between some trees)
-After the 1st 3 holes, the remainder of the course is pretty open and does not offer much obstacles to get in the way. Most of them can be reached with a mid/fairway. Overshooting might land you in the expressway!
-Still even though the rest of the course offers wide open shots, they made good use of the land and mixed in some elevated tees and made use of existing "grown up trees".
Cons: -The wood chip tees are horrible. They are mushy and you have no grip in doing your run up. Potentially a twisted ankle waiting to happen. I'd rather drive from the grass next to the tee.
-Watch out for overshooting and landing your disc in the expressway.
-While this course should be no problem for rec players, some beginners could potentially be stifled by landing in the rough. It's not too well manicured and bit of a pain to go walking through.
-Doesn't have enough balance between right turning shots and left turning shots. Definitely favors the RHBH player.
Other Thoughts: This is a great park to take the family for the day. Tons of activities once you get done with your game. Teepads need work, but I hear they will be putting in brick pads eventually (this would easily raise my rating).
I love the practice basket with the distance bricks.
-The baskets are also phenomenal, bright orange with wind flags. You can see them from a mile away!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hey look another Chicago suburban course

2-4    9/17/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: whitechocolate
Played: 394  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Amazing overall park
-New DGA Baskets
-Flags on top of basket
-Woodchipped under basket
-Practice Basket
-Good signage and overall map at hole 1

This course was put into a multi-use park that sits just off Milwaukee Ave and I-294. The park is loaded with a playground, basketball hoops, skate park, walking paths, dog park, soccer and baseball fields. There are brand new DGA baskets that play on play on a small hill and around the soccer fields. There is decent exposure for this course because you can actually see people playing for I-294.

There is a practice basket near hole one with putting bricks with distance so you can work on your distances or play a putting game. The first two holes offer some fun challenges with trees and a rolling hills which make it fun without be punishing for newer players because there is still plenty of opportunity to still get a 3 with an errant shot. Hole 3, when the trees grow in will make the tunnel shot a lot more difficult. I like the woodchips under the basket. It will help with erosion in the high traffic area of the putting circle. The little bit of elevation that is there is brought into play.
Cons: -Long walks between a couple holes
-Too much pedestrian things can come into play
-Wood chip tees are horrible

This course was stretched out to maximize the land. This is a good thing generally, however, this bring a lot of other things into play. On Hole 3, an errant throw could go onto the parking lot or along the walking path. Hole 4, a bad shot could actually end up on the expressway (or walking path). This continues with the ability to hit the soccer fields, walking paths, and throwing into the dog park throughout most of the remaining holes. I understand that the were trying to maximize the course potentially, but there are definitely people with different levels of abilities and there are going some mishaps at this course. I am only a REC level player, and I choose to throw a forehand roller on 4 just to make sure I did not end up hitting a car on the tollway.

For Hole 5-10, the only real challenge that is there is distance for some weaker armed players (like myself). There are not really any real obstacle that get in the way. However there are many reachable holes where if I bogeyed, there were opportunities to still deuce and get my stroke back. Future planting could help with some of this problem. There is also currently some planting that has occurred that will help a few years down the road.

The wood tees are horrible. They are uneven and unsettled. Hopefully the winter will help pack them down. It was unsafe to do a x-step on mostly of them. I played from either next too, in front of, or in back of the tees the second round to protect my ankles.
Other Thoughts: This course is a decent place to come and work on your drives (with the exception of the teepads). There is some distance on the open holes that give you potential to work with you mids and drivers to hone your skill without punishing you for an errant shot. Holes 1 and 2 are fun holes, although short. Hole 3 is decent and will be stronger once the saplings grow bigger. Holes 4 through 10 leave something to be desired. This land was stretched to maximize distance and get some longer holes (275-375) for you typical Chicagoland course. This course will challenge beginners to some REC player. For an Pro/Advanced it will no offer much challenge at all. You will need to be able to hit a couple of lines, but overall it's fairly beginner friendly. My only concern with beginners is the risk of hitting others, cars, or dogs with a bad throw.

I will play this course again, but it is not worth going out of the way to play. It is nice to have an addition to the I-294 corridor. There is definitely a slight void of course in that generally area. This course will become nicer and it grows and the absolutely finishing touches are added. However, the challenge does not have a lot of opportunity to change. It would be a good place to bring the family (and the dog) for an afternoon of disc golf and fooling around outside.

I wanted to rate this course higher, but I couldn't give it more than a 1.5 (Passable). The effort was there, it's just not an exception place for disc golf. Possibly when I revisited and the teepads settle and some of the "new construction" elements of the course go away I will bump it up. But it's current conditions, wide open holes, and amount of safety issues, I have to give it a 1.5 (Passable). It's not horrible by any stretch of the imagination, it just don't have that "wow" factor ability.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.