Baltimore, MD 
Druid Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 264ft.   3 / 264ft.   3 / 249ft.   3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Armed Robbery by 4 Black Males with Guns!!! Be Careful!!

5+    5/9/2014   5/10/2014
Review By: MarkNizzle
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This has been one of my favorite courses since playing in 2010, It is always well kept, baskets move around every few weeks, good replay value and a feel good course after a bad round elsewhere.IMO this place has the best disc golf vibe. played here many times and often hang out after rounds to putt and socialize with other players.
Cons: Last night after a round i decided to putt for a few extra minutes before heading home. next thing i know is 4 males come running out of a marroon mini van like wild wolves with guns to rob me and and another player sitting on the picnic tables. this happened around 715pm we both outran the attack and got away okay but discs bags were taken with wallets and keys etc. Please be careful out here and leave all valuables in the car and not in your disc golf bags!
Other Thoughts: be on lookout for non disc golf players on the fields, be smart and safe! Might never play this course again unless with a big group of people. This course does surround rough areas and i would imagine the attackers made out well and will return again if not caught!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Druid Hill

5+    7/25/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: PapiChullo
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Even though I'm in the county, Druid is the place I drive to and play at least twice a week. It's the best course in the Baltimore area, IMO.

- Multiple tee pads and baskets. The baskets get changed pretty regularly, so there's always a new challenge out there. Concrete tee pads are in great shape.
- Great place to introduce new players to the game. It has plenty of opportunities to score for better players, but is manageable enough for beginners to not get them discouraged.
- Few holes where you can get out and bomb it.
- Island green on the 18th is an option, but fun to play and has the potential to be the difference maker in a close competitive round.
- For the most part the people you come across are some of the nicest you can meet in Baltimore. Lots of older guys that have been playing the course for years that make the course great.
- Lots of practice baskets and practice space.
- Utilizes the elevation well for some uphill/downhill shots.
- 9 "X-holes" in the woods for added challenge.
- Signage on most holes and indicator for which position the basket is in.
-Parking is in between the first and last holes of each 9.
Cons: - Quite often very large groups (5+) play and can slow the course down, but generally not too bad.
- I've never had any problems in the park, but people come and chill in the back part, just can seem a little shady at times.
- X-holes are a little overgrown.
Other Thoughts: Druid is the best course in the area to hang out and meet lots of DGers of all skill levels in the area. Lot of guys that are willing to share knowlege and help out newer players. Lots of variety with the different tees and pin positions.

A couple of the holes when in the longest pin positions could probably be par 4s.

Play a round here if you're in the area!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 It was ok

1    8/27/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: Acid Elvis
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Nice scenery. It is quite challenging for a newbie like me. Always ppl playing. Nice mix of grip and rip to precise shots.
Cons: Too many baskets everywhere!!! Print a map a take one with you it'll help.
Other Thoughts: We lost a disc over the fence on the X5 hole but we manged to get under it and retrieve it. Played Rockburn two weeks before and still is my favorite course so far

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 like my 2nd home

5+    6/1/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: brooksjames80
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 2 sets of concrete tees.
Multiples pin locations.
A variety of different throws.
9 more x-holes in the woods to make 27 total holes.
Cons: Trash cans would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful in the Spring! Someone is always there ready to throw.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice variety

1    5/23/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 48  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First I should note that I only played the "normal" 18, I did not have the time to play the extra holes. I saw several of them and they looked like great advanced wood holes, but I can't really say more than that. So, my review only concerns the 18.

The course has many creative holes that force a lot of shot variety. The elevation is used well throughout the course along with the woods. Everything (except the one mangled basket) is in okay repair: the standards do the job and the tee signs, though faded, provide the par, length, and hole diagram information you need. The course isn't hard to follow except for a couple places where the tees are on the sidewalk without tee signs.

There are "metal" and "wood" tees that do not seem to follow the normal red/white/blue differentiations of distance and challenge, they looks more to be just a different way to play the hole. There are also multiple pin positions so there seems to be plenty of replayability here.

The course has the feel of a quick, fun round for an advanced player and a great course for beginners to work on their skills. I played on a Thursday night when they have that Triples event and all of the locals were cool and even let me play in the middle of their event.
Cons: Parking is lacking, most people park along the street that runs between the two nines. The tee signs are sometimes missing and occasionally feel a bit inaccurate. For better players, if your game is on, this course is a lot of easy birdie opportunities so may not be enough of a challenge (again, this is excluding the extra holes).

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 18 or 27?

2-4    5/8/2009   5/9/2009
Review By: Scoopy
Played: 175  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: concrete pads, beautiful land, nice rolling elevation changes, the option to play 18 or 27 and mix it up a little, awesome atmosphere, locals were supercool, good mix of shot selection, nice practice area
Cons: singage could be updated, looked a little worn out, no trash cans or benches, trash was scattered in the woods
Other Thoughts: Overall this was a pretty fun course to play. Nice mix of open and tight shots in the woods. The X-holes are nice to use to switch up your rounds and play the course in different ways. The course is layed out very well. I will definitely play this course any time I am in Baltimore!!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 B+ for Bery Bery Nice Urban Course

1    7/19/2005   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good Use of Features

5+    11/26/2008   11/27/2008
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2009
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Multiple pin locations. Multiple tee locations. Concrete/asphalt tee pads. Fairly natural flow. Multiple practice baskets. Area to "air it out" during warm-ups.
Cons:
No bathrooms. Non-golfing walkers ... with dogs ... who answer nature's call ... and the owners leave it instead of cleaning/removing it!
Other Thoughts:
Fairly open - makes good use of the few OB-areas, and gently flowing landscape. Good use of the trees - large ones with annoying branches to interrupt direct flight paths on most holes

Playing from the alternate tees, in addition to increasing the distance, will require more (an)hyzer shots

Updating the signage, and putting next-tee arrows at each basket would be nice

Favourite hole #6:From atop a hill, throw directly across the top between large trees, then will your disc to turn right, then left, and drop, while it is going down the hill, hopefully landing in a small clearing not far from the basket.

Update 6/27/09: Played the X-holes for the first time today - must have the map to find them! Never found the tee "pad" for X-2 and X-9. Very wooded compared to the "standard" 18 holes. Lots of trash, mostly bottles, in the woods. Walk from X-6 ) or X-3, depending upon your sequence of play) to standard-7 is a bit long. Numbering is a bit off - trust the map.

Update Oct-09: New signs at tees make it easier to see/envisage the basket location.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Home away from home

5+    11/12/2008   11/20/2008
Review By: Disctoad
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Varied terrain and pin placements make DHDGC a real gem! Long to long this track is pretty tough. Add the X-holes and you've got your work cut out. Concrete tees, well marked, easy to follow. o.b. in play -- some locals play the new JFT as an OB line on holes 2,3,and 4 making holes 3 and 4 much tighter.
Other Thoughts: #15 long to B might be my favorite hole in MD. Glo golf at the hill is fun an amazingly safe! TNT (Thurs. nite triples) is da bomb!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Classic City DG Course

2-4    11/30/2002   9/11/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained, beautiful trees, good use of landscape, mostly open but not easy.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice, city course, with good teepads, well-maintained, plenty of space, good layout, good variety, and a good bit of up and down. The course plays mostly in the open, but enough trees come into play to make it interesting. Some of these oaks are HUGE and beautiful. A road, a graveyard, and the Baltimore Zoo also provide OB areas to watch out for.

This course is laid out well and akin to a ball golf course, with each nine coming back to the parking area. The variety is good too - in the course of a round you have to throw far and with precision, uphill, downhill, left, right. Pro tees and am tees are well marked and consistent, and the course is easy to follow. No hole is REAL long, but none are too short either. The only thing missing are water hazards.

I recommend anybody in the Baltimore area hit Druid Hill, especially if you're right in town. This course is well worth the trip.

Favorite Hole - #6 - Down a steep hill crowned with big old oak trees to the edge of a small forest.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.