Baltimore, MD 
Druid Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 264ft.   3 / 264ft.   3 / 249ft.   3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Favorite Course to Play

5+    3/23/2012   3/26/2012
Review By: dashiellx
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Excellently maintained
Beautiful Grounds
Awesome community of players
Cons: Lots of opportunities to lose discs.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I played and being less than 5 mins from my home is where I play mostly. The people there are very nice and as a beginner, I've had lots of people offer tips and advice on how to improve.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    5/26/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: sheepforwheat
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.1 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This is a great well maintained course. Most holes are short.
Cons: Lots of opportunities to lose discs
Other Thoughts: When I tell non-dic golfing friends I am playing aat "druid hill" they always ask "is it safe?" I have never had a problem except for one homeless man who was sleeping on the course.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Diamond in the Rough

5+    11/4/2010   4/4/2011
Review By: Jonnysweetness
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is simply amazing! Start off with the community, great DGers! They hold a "Triples" match play every thursday. Great fun, great throwers.

There are three practice baskets located at the beginning/end of the front 9. Great for when the course gets crowded.

The course is a great mix of touch shots, spike hyzers/anhyzers, bomb drives, technical tunnel shots, and all in between. The course does favor LHBH throwers or RHFH. But I like that. I don't want every basket to be in the natural hyzer path of my disc, no fun in that.

The course also incorporates 9 "X-holes" which are deep in "ungroomed" wooded areas. I do reccommend doing the X-holes but bring a course guide, because it will be next to impossible to navigate, but once you learn, they are great for advanced throwers.

The tee boxes are all concrete or asphalt which make for great accurate run ups, with no busted ankles. There are two fixed positions, the "metals" and the "woods." Woods I find to be the longer, more challenging of the two.

Every basket has multiple pin positions which are changed very often to keep the course ever changing.

A great course.
Cons: Parking. The parking is an issue, especially during competitions. Car congestion can add insult to injury on a shanked throw on basket #9.

It is in a rough part of town. They talked about "dumpin bodies in Druid" on The Wire. Just don't plan on any night time Glow Disc adventures.

There is an Animal Hospital on the right side of fairway #3. If you bomb a drive and shank right or the wind grabs your disc and it doesn't flip back, you need to call them and set up a time when you can retrieve your disc. Remember to mark all of your discs with a contact of some sorts.
Other Thoughts: There is talk of clearing out the X holes to make them a groomed, technical addition to the regular 18! I do hope this happens. Also in the works are 18 additional holes on the other side of the road from the entrance. If this happens Druid Hill will be one of the best courses on the East Coast.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Cherry Spring

5+    8/6/2008   1/6/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 126  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.4 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Multiple tees and pins. Great selection of fun, demanding shots with rolling hills, mature trees, and lefty friendly. Good mix of length and variety in a beautiful setting. Great local scene on Thursday nights (TNT). The long tees are especially challenging, although blind at times.
Cons: The neighborhood is a bit sketchy, although I never had any troubles in the 3.5 years and roughly 50 times I played there.
Other Thoughts: Unforgettable in the Spring when the cherry blossoms are in full glory.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

X-Holes add versatility

5+    4/1/2012   11/14/2008
Review By: turbo
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 27.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Convenient layout with parking between front and back 9s. Always a game on any given day. Several great roller holes. Great drainage-even after heavy rain. All holes have 3 or more alternating basket locations. Extra targets allow placing two targets on several (alternating) holes.
Cons: Dog walkers are on the rise. Some players bring dogs along. Most are careful to clean up after their pets.
Other Thoughts: The course is in Metro Baltimore, but the course, itself, is in an idyllic setting. A recent review cited a holdup of two disc golfers at the course. The robberies were part of a crime spree by a group of teenagers in the general area - not specifically targeting the disc golf course. The crooks were caught two days later as their spree spread through north Baltimore. This was the 1st robbery I can recall at the Druid Hill DGC.

The original 9 X-holes (wooded) are being expanded (currently 15) and add versatility to the course, allowing golfers to add some x-holes to the regular round.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice variety!

1    11/2/2008   11/2/2008
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good layout and variety for the first 18 holes. Nice concrete tees and baskets. Lots of elevation changes and trees that make it just difficult enough. Fairly hard to lose a disc here. Lots of space off the tee to air out on most holes. Fairly good hole maps on the tees.

The 9 X holes are like another course back in the woods and offer more difficulty.
Cons: The X holes are a bit confusing as the numbers are mostly wrong and the baskets and tees are not as nice. Lots of broken glass on the X holes. Hole X9 tees off from the pavement and into the woods and into the basket marked 16. The X holes are split so that after hole 4 you start X1-X6 then go back to hole 5. Then after hole 12, X7-X9 is on the right side of the woods and brings you back to hole 13.

Signs for the next tee are very small. The tees do not let you know which way to tee off from. Some paint on the tee off side would be nice. No benches. Lack of hazards and OB.
Other Thoughts: The first 18 look easier than the are. The X holes look more intimidating, but aren't that bad. I thought I would be looking for my discs for a while, but never had a problem here. I could see the sun being a problem in the summer. Druid reminds me of a smaller Codorus. This was a fun course and will be back for more!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Downtown with open space

5+    9/4/2006   9/9/2008
Review By: Huck
Played: 38  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 27.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2008
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course. Nice elavation changes.
Nice mix of long and short, left and right, up and down.
This course will help you develop a complete game.
The holes are laid out to make good use of the trees available, most trees here make you change the shot you would throw.
Cons: There are a few contrived holes (squeezed in with out adding to the course). There are a few places to lose plastic (mostly right on 3 and 11) .
I am not a big fan of blind tees and there are 2 to 4 depending on which holes you are playing.
Parking sucks
Other Thoughts: It is at the ZOO!!! see the animals, play some golf...c'mon its great.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Surprisingly good city course

6/22/2008   6/23/2008
Review By: EggyToast
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Right in the city, full 18+ course, well-maintained, concrete tees and regularly moved pins, good variety
Cons: Limited parking on busy days, some holes close to traffic
Other Thoughts: I was surprised when I first played here, mostly because it's a very large course with no double-pins and very minimal overlap. Lots of big trees on the course provide nice obstacles without much threat of losing a disc, and when I visited recently and noticed all the pins had been moved, it was obvious that the course is well-maintained.

I live 5 minutes from this course, so it's perfect for a nice day when I don't want to be stuck in the car driving in order to be outside. If you're outside the city (beyond the beltway), the course loses a lot of its charm due to the relative closeness of Patapsco and Seneca (I'd knock it down to a 3.5 if I lived in Howard County), but it can't be beat if you live in Baltimore.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.