Baltimore, MD 
Druid Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: dashiellx Hole #15 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 372ft.   3 / 372ft.   3 / 474ft.   3 / 474ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Diamond in the rough...

5+    7/31/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: Us Tubes
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/9/2010
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: 27 holes, and over 30 baskets. Always someone playing. Great place to practice your game.
Cons: Grass is always high everywhere, always strange people sitting in their car. Used condoms and trash are a common sight while walking. Aside from the derelicts hanging around the road of the park, and the numerous homocides the area is no stranger of... I'd say your safe until the street lights come on.
Other Thoughts: Lots of holes, lots of activity. Great park for being in the middle of Baltimore city. The park is decent for being so old.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 It was ok

1    8/27/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: Acid Elvis
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Nice scenery. It is quite challenging for a newbie like me. Always ppl playing. Nice mix of grip and rip to precise shots.
Cons: Too many baskets everywhere!!! Print a map a take one with you it'll help.
Other Thoughts: We lost a disc over the fence on the X5 hole but we manged to get under it and retrieve it. Played Rockburn two weeks before and still is my favorite course so far

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable couse, good for beginners

5+    6/5/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: dcleve
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The park is very pretty, with rolling open slopes dotted with majestic trees. The course is well laid out, with little overlap between holes, and relatively intuitive flow from hole/hole. Most holes play differently form each other, so there is no feel of sameness.
Cons: Tees get muddy in wet weather. Limited parking.
Other Thoughts: Most holes are relatively short, and the more open nature of the park means that tree obstacles are usually not a significant challenge. This makes the course a good beginer course.

Several years ago the course managers extended several of the holes near the central woods region, which put them into a lot of poison ivy. I was pleased this year to see the PI had been eradicated.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 2 courses 1-18 and 19-27

1    7/12/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: prerube
Played: 217  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 8.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads and multiple tees. Multiple basket positions.
Nice amount of obsticles for any level player. Chance of dics loss is there, but very slight unless you need to take a risky shot. holes 18-27 are more isolated, wooded, and interesting (but not on the map)
Cons: There were tees and baskets everywhere! I always second guessed if I was heading to the right baskets and had to find the next tee. Signs are worn out and many baskets are not labeled. It is one of those courses you have to play numerous times to enjoy it with out confusion.
One of the tees for 7 was painted on the road and very hard to find.
More dogs than people out on the course and a few holes smelled strong of urine. An overflowing trash can of beer greeted guests at hole 1.
Several holes require you to throw across roads, walking paths and towards parked cars.
Other Thoughts: Course often holds tournaments on the weekends so check the schedule before visiting. Print out the directions to Rockburn just incase the course is too crowded.
(Course is very similar to Ellison Park in Rochester, NY)

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 like my 2nd home

5+    6/1/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: brooksjames80
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 2 sets of concrete tees.
Multiples pin locations.
A variety of different throws.
9 more x-holes in the woods to make 27 total holes.
Cons: Trash cans would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful in the Spring! Someone is always there ready to throw.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Pitch-n-Putt

1    5/23/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: BeauRoch
Played: 57  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Loved throwing from the cement tee pads and the layout was pretty good.
Cons: My only complaint was that it was too short.
Other Thoughts: Being a short course it was easier to find your way around but it could still use more signage to help with tee box location and the map signs could use an update since they basically weren't very helpful.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice variety

1    5/23/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 50  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First I should note that I only played the "normal" 18, I did not have the time to play the extra holes. I saw several of them and they looked like great advanced wood holes, but I can't really say more than that. So, my review only concerns the 18.

The course has many creative holes that force a lot of shot variety. The elevation is used well throughout the course along with the woods. Everything (except the one mangled basket) is in okay repair: the standards do the job and the tee signs, though faded, provide the par, length, and hole diagram information you need. The course isn't hard to follow except for a couple places where the tees are on the sidewalk without tee signs.

There are "metal" and "wood" tees that do not seem to follow the normal red/white/blue differentiations of distance and challenge, they looks more to be just a different way to play the hole. There are also multiple pin positions so there seems to be plenty of replayability here.

The course has the feel of a quick, fun round for an advanced player and a great course for beginners to work on their skills. I played on a Thursday night when they have that Triples event and all of the locals were cool and even let me play in the middle of their event.
Cons: Parking is lacking, most people park along the street that runs between the two nines. The tee signs are sometimes missing and occasionally feel a bit inaccurate. For better players, if your game is on, this course is a lot of easy birdie opportunities so may not be enough of a challenge (again, this is excluding the extra holes).

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 18 or 27?

2-4    5/8/2009   5/9/2009
Review By: Scoopy
Played: 190  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: concrete pads, beautiful land, nice rolling elevation changes, the option to play 18 or 27 and mix it up a little, awesome atmosphere, locals were supercool, good mix of shot selection, nice practice area
Cons: singage could be updated, looked a little worn out, no trash cans or benches, trash was scattered in the woods
Other Thoughts: Overall this was a pretty fun course to play. Nice mix of open and tight shots in the woods. The X-holes are nice to use to switch up your rounds and play the course in different ways. The course is layed out very well. I will definitely play this course any time I am in Baltimore!!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 B+ for Bery Bery Nice Urban Course

1    7/19/2005   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 371  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 21.1 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 One of my first courses played

5+    10/30/2008   1/30/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33.9 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple Tees and Pins
well Maintained
Decent signs and teepads
Nice use of elevation
Large mature trees occupy the plot that was formerly part of the Baltimore Zoo - so it is very pleasing to the eye.
Beginner friendly, but also has the flexibility to provide a nice challenge for pro level players.
Very little impact from other park users - fairly isolated in terms of user groups.
Cons: Not such a good neighborhood - but surprisingly isolated so that neighborhood impacts are minimized.Still, be sure and lock your car and stow your valuables.
No bathrooms or water.
Other Thoughts: I reall enjoy this course. It's an easy walk, and has some beautiful holes. Not terribly difficult, but definitely fun. The locals run an interesting format called TNT (Thursday Night Triples) during the summer months, that gives newer players the opportunity to be teamed up w/local pros in a fun competitive atmosphere. Definitely worth a visit if your passing through Baltimore.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.