Baltimore, MD
Druid Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 264ft.   3 / 264ft.   3 / 249ft.   3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 like my 2nd home

5+    6/1/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: brooksjames80
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 2 sets of concrete tees.
Multiples pin locations.
A variety of different throws.
9 more x-holes in the woods to make 27 total holes.
Cons: Trash cans would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful in the Spring! Someone is always there ready to throw.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Pitch-n-Putt

1    5/23/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: BeauRoch
Played: 47  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Loved throwing from the cement tee pads and the layout was pretty good.
Cons: My only complaint was that it was too short.
Other Thoughts: Being a short course it was easier to find your way around but it could still use more signage to help with tee box location and the map signs could use an update since they basically weren't very helpful.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice variety

1    5/23/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 48  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First I should note that I only played the "normal" 18, I did not have the time to play the extra holes. I saw several of them and they looked like great advanced wood holes, but I can't really say more than that. So, my review only concerns the 18.

The course has many creative holes that force a lot of shot variety. The elevation is used well throughout the course along with the woods. Everything (except the one mangled basket) is in okay repair: the standards do the job and the tee signs, though faded, provide the par, length, and hole diagram information you need. The course isn't hard to follow except for a couple places where the tees are on the sidewalk without tee signs.

There are "metal" and "wood" tees that do not seem to follow the normal red/white/blue differentiations of distance and challenge, they looks more to be just a different way to play the hole. There are also multiple pin positions so there seems to be plenty of replayability here.

The course has the feel of a quick, fun round for an advanced player and a great course for beginners to work on their skills. I played on a Thursday night when they have that Triples event and all of the locals were cool and even let me play in the middle of their event.
Cons: Parking is lacking, most people park along the street that runs between the two nines. The tee signs are sometimes missing and occasionally feel a bit inaccurate. For better players, if your game is on, this course is a lot of easy birdie opportunities so may not be enough of a challenge (again, this is excluding the extra holes).

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 18 or 27?

2-4    5/8/2009   5/9/2009
Review By: Scoopy
Played: 170  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: concrete pads, beautiful land, nice rolling elevation changes, the option to play 18 or 27 and mix it up a little, awesome atmosphere, locals were supercool, good mix of shot selection, nice practice area
Cons: singage could be updated, looked a little worn out, no trash cans or benches, trash was scattered in the woods
Other Thoughts: Overall this was a pretty fun course to play. Nice mix of open and tight shots in the woods. The X-holes are nice to use to switch up your rounds and play the course in different ways. The course is layed out very well. I will definitely play this course any time I am in Baltimore!!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 B+ for Bery Bery Nice Urban Course

1    7/19/2005   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of my first courses played

5+    10/30/2008   1/30/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 181  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 32.7 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple Tees and Pins
well Maintained
Decent signs and teepads
Nice use of elevation
Large mature trees occupy the plot that was formerly part of the Baltimore Zoo - so it is very pleasing to the eye.
Beginner friendly, but also has the flexibility to provide a nice challenge for pro level players.
Very little impact from other park users - fairly isolated in terms of user groups.
Cons: Not such a good neighborhood - but surprisingly isolated so that neighborhood impacts are minimized.Still, be sure and lock your car and stow your valuables.
No bathrooms or water.
Other Thoughts: I reall enjoy this course. It's an easy walk, and has some beautiful holes. Not terribly difficult, but definitely fun. The locals run an interesting format called TNT (Thursday Night Triples) during the summer months, that gives newer players the opportunity to be teamed up w/local pros in a fun competitive atmosphere. Definitely worth a visit if your passing through Baltimore.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Cherry Spring

5+    8/6/2008   1/6/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 111  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.1 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Multiple tees and pins. Great selection of fun, demanding shots with rolling hills, mature trees, and lefty friendly. Good mix of length and variety in a beautiful setting. Great local scene on Thursday nights (TNT). The long tees are especially challenging, although blind at times.
Cons: The neighborhood is a bit sketchy, although I never had any troubles in the 3.5 years and roughly 50 times I played there.
Other Thoughts: Unforgettable in the Spring when the cherry blossoms are in full glory.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good Use of Features

5+    11/26/2008   11/27/2008
Review By: swatso
Played: 327  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2009
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Multiple pin locations. Multiple tee locations. Concrete/asphalt tee pads. Fairly natural flow. Multiple practice baskets. Area to "air it out" during warm-ups.
Cons:
No bathrooms. Non-golfing walkers ... with dogs ... who answer nature's call ... and the owners leave it instead of cleaning/removing it!
Other Thoughts:
Fairly open - makes good use of the few OB-areas, and gently flowing landscape. Good use of the trees - large ones with annoying branches to interrupt direct flight paths on most holes

Playing from the alternate tees, in addition to increasing the distance, will require more (an)hyzer shots

Updating the signage, and putting next-tee arrows at each basket would be nice

Favourite hole #6:From atop a hill, throw directly across the top between large trees, then will your disc to turn right, then left, and drop, while it is going down the hill, hopefully landing in a small clearing not far from the basket.

Update 6/27/09: Played the X-holes for the first time today - must have the map to find them! Never found the tee "pad" for X-2 and X-9. Very wooded compared to the "standard" 18 holes. Lots of trash, mostly bottles, in the woods. Walk from X-6 ) or X-3, depending upon your sequence of play) to standard-7 is a bit long. Numbering is a bit off - trust the map.

Update Oct-09: New signs at tees make it easier to see/envisage the basket location.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Home away from home

5+    11/12/2008   11/20/2008
Review By: Disctoad
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Varied terrain and pin placements make DHDGC a real gem! Long to long this track is pretty tough. Add the X-holes and you've got your work cut out. Concrete tees, well marked, easy to follow. o.b. in play -- some locals play the new JFT as an OB line on holes 2,3,and 4 making holes 3 and 4 much tighter.
Other Thoughts: #15 long to B might be my favorite hole in MD. Glo golf at the hill is fun an amazingly safe! TNT (Thurs. nite triples) is da bomb!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 X-Holes add versatility

5+    11/13/2008   11/14/2008
Review By: turbo
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 26.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Convenient layout with parking between front and back 9s. Always a game on any given day. Several great roller holes. Great drainage-even after heavy rain. Some holes have 5 alternating basket locations. Three extra targets allow placing two targets on three (alternating) holes.
Cons: Dog walkers are on the rise. Some players bring dogs along. Most are careful to clean up after their pets.
Other Thoughts: The 9 X-holes add versatility to the course. They can be played in 3 sets of 3 (3 X-holes between holes #4 & #5; 3 X-holes between #6 & #7; 3 X-holes between #12 & #13), or they can be played in 2 sets (6 X-holes between #6 & #7; 3 X-holes between #12 & #13).

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.